Tours and Tickets
Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace
3.5

Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace

By KeyTours S.A.
About
Visit Chamonix and see famous Mont Blanc on a guided trip from Geneva to the “roof of Europe.” The group tour handles all the logistics for you so you can enjoy the sights and free time to explore the town without the hassle of navigation.
from
£78.13
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 40 per group
Duration: 8–10 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Written guide
Print or digital reading material such as a guide, map, brochure, etc.
: English, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Explore Chamonix and Mont Blanc on a half-day trip from Geneva
  • Enjoy free time for shopping and sightseeing in Chamonix
  • Option to add a cable car or train ride to get a different view of the town and mountain
  • An included map and guidance enable you to see the highlights and avoid getting lost

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Cable car to Aiguille du midi or Brévent - If option selected
  • Mountain train to Mer de Glace - If option selected
  • Incredible views on the Alps mountain
  • Sightseeing in the alpine village of Chamonix Mont Blanc
  • Entry/Admission - KeyTours S.A.
  • Entry/Admission - Aiguille du Midi
  • Entry/Admission - Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
  • Guaranteed to skip the lines
What's not included
  • Food and drinks
  • Guide


Start:
  • Gare routière, Pl. Dorcière, 1201 Genève, Switzerland
    There is a sign for excursion at the geneva bus station, our office is also situated just across on the 8 rue François Bonivard. The bus has the name of the tour with the brand Swisstours on it.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2510P75

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Not recommended for child under 3 years for the cable car
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
    • Not recommended for pregnant women for the cable car
    • Please note that if you take the Aiguille du Midi and Mer de Glace options, you will be provided with a multipass. Multipass which gives access to all the facilities of the Mont Blanc company. If you use this Multipass for a single activity, it will be considered by the Compagnie du Mont-Blanc as used and cannot be refunded if the other activities are closed. The Mont Blanc company offers alternative activities but does not authorize refunds of the multipass.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace?
    Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace price starts from £78.36. Discover and book Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace on Tripadvisor
    What is the Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace cancellation policy?
    Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace?
    Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace is hosted by KeyTours S.A.. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact KeyTours S.A. on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2510P75

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Gare routière
      Pl. Dorcière, 1201 Genève, Switzerland
      There is a sign for excursion at the geneva bus station, our office is also situated just across on the 8 rue François Bonivard. The bus has the name of the tour with the brand Swisstours on it.
      See address & details
    • 1
      KeyTours S.A.
      Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
      See details
    • 2
      Aiguille du Midi
      Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
      See details
    • 3
      Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
      Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
      See details
    • 4
      Mont Blanc
      Stop: 2 hours
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • KeyTours S.A.
      960
      Switzerland
      Joined in February 2008
    • Jite O
      0 contributions
      Worth every penny
      Very well ran, tour guide was very informative & pleasant. Coach was clean & comfortable The views & experience was profound
      Written 21 February 2024
    • 539sharimas
      0 contributions
      Expensive
      Expensive and wasn’t worth the money worth. They knew about certain developments and never mentioned it online. Wasn’t able to experience the ice room or have a proper guided tour with the amount of money spent
      Written 20 February 2024
    • Jet01509054366
      0 contributions
      9hrs journey for a 3 hrs experience :(
      We started at 8am and were dropped at 5.30pm. When we reached the peak, we were given literally 2hrs on the dot and thats including lunch and toilet break. Within that time we have to finish everything including sight seeing. Once we reached to the river, we were only given 1hr to roam around. No toilets in the bus. Very poor experience for the money we paid
      Written 20 February 2024
    • LW200599
      0 contributions
      Amazing day in Chamonix
      Trip of a lifetime! This was an amazing experience and made so easy by our guide, Chris, and key tours. The pick up location was easy to find and the coach was very nice with reclining seats and USB charging ports. Everything was explained clearly to us and given a map and itinerary and contact number if we got lost. The cable cart was really good to the top and the views were breathtaking. We didn’t have to queue long to get into the glass box (20 mins) and then had plenty of time to take more photos outside, have lunch and a beer and take in the atmosphere. We then took the mountain train and our guide took us straight there and told us which side was best to sit for the best views. It was a shame the ice cave is closed this time of year but, other than that, the trip was faultless. Chamonix was gorgeous and we even had time to go on the alpine coaster/ luge and the Chamonix amusement park. We were incredibly lucky with the weather and was worth every penny. Our guide even got us a free ride back to the airport (our hotel was near here) once we had arrived back at the drop of point. All round great service and would highly recommend.
      Written 18 February 2024
    • yiannostephanou
      0 contributions
      Beautiful Trip, Logical Prices
      Amazing Trip, logical prices. I wish we had more time in Lauterbrunnen and little less in Interlaken. The transfer van was brand new. And the driver very helpful.
      Written 15 February 2024
    • dinahM8281XY
      0 contributions
      Great Tour to Chamonix
      Very good trip, bus was waiting at bus station, easy to find, tour guide was nice, bus was comfortable and clean, very well organized.
      Written 12 February 2024
    • Ektram
      0 contributions
      This experience was amazing!
      This experience was amazing. They made it so simple and easy from getting on the bus for the day to getting off the bus to go home that evening. Chris was a wonderful guide! He was very knowledgeable and friendly. The mountains were beautiful and would definitely recommend this tour!
      Written 1 February 2024
    • bethmad
      0 contributions
      Great tour!
      Gabriel was a great tour host. He knew a lot about the tour and gave us great tips about everywhere we visited. He allowed us to stop off at all attractions and take our time with the views/experiences. 10/10 would recommend!
      Written 22 January 2024
    • Adventure65724161969
      0 contributions
      If only.
      This would have been a 5 as we enjoyed our trip yesterday though nature did not go well with us as it presented strong winds and rain which dis not allow us to go to the expected cable car ride to the glass box on top of the mountain. However, the lady who guided us to the bus yesterday was a bit rude. I was just clarifying my ticket with her and she responded unpleasantly; not expected of a tour staff. One should be prudent and pleasant when asked with questions, not pathetic and rude. This would ruin the whole journey of a tourist. She should try to be approachable and kind when asnwering to queries. The bus driver and the guide have been quite well-mannered and welcoming.
      Written 17 January 2024
    • eringP8738AA
      0 contributions
      GORGEOUS ONCE AND A LIFETIME VIEWS AND FUN GUIDE!
      To say the view was breathtaking is an absolute understatement. This will forever be one of the most wonderful, gorgeous, and well worth it experiences of my life. It is impossible to describe the beauty of this destination but you absolutely must go! Roger was phenomenal! He was kind, funny, efficient, and extremely knowledgeable. He genuinely made the whole experience that much better! I once again, cannot recommend this tour to you enough. If you are thinking about going, go! It is easy to find the meeting spot and a quick and beautiful drive to the first cable car taking you up. I absolutely loved going up to this great height and the way up is so much fun! It is cold of course so wear appropriate clothes. There is a small shop at the top of the mountain where you can purchase gloves, souvenirs, etc., which I loved. You can also walk out to the glacier which is stunning as well. Oh, the best part! They have an alpine coaster! Which is so much fun! I did it multiple times because I absolutely had a blast going down and controlling my speed! So fun and super safe! After we came down Roger had a nice bottle of wine for us and some local snacks to munch on! It was wonderful! I absolutely cannot wait to go back!
      Written 15 January 2024
    • anbreena2018
      0 contributions
      Best day trip ever
      Absolutely amazing! Best day trip ever. Just magical from start to finish. Highly recommend . Guide was so good. Friendly and knowledgeable.
      Written 10 January 2024
    • 726gabriel
      0 contributions
      Amazing Experience-Just book it
      The trip was very well organised. The guide was great, enjoyed his humour. We were lucky with the weather so we managed to see everything on the itinerary and I cannot describe what a great trip this was! Totally recommend it. Book it and you won’t be dissappinted.
      Written 9 January 2024
    • mohanede2014
      0 contributions
      Terrible and thieves
      Totally in organized , giving you wrong information and they will drop you in Chamonix and disappear , Please AVOID AVOID AVOID !!!!!! If you don’t know your way around Chamonix and taking a ski trip , they had us carry the SKI equipments for all day giving us the wrong information and just couldn’t find them the whole day , Missed the cable ride due to weather and they refused to claim the mo yeah back because they say I used it in a different cable car in Brevent which I never even visited , they are Thieves avoid them or consider them a bus trip from Geneva to Chamonix and do t rely on them in any thing , The worsttttttttt agency ever , can’t believe that this is a Swiss company
      Written 7 January 2024
    • wanfarhanis
      0 contributions
      Enjoyable
      An experience that I could never erase. Tour guide were very comprehensive in explaining and we left to Charmonix and came back to Geneva on time. Love it!
      Written 5 January 2024
    • Pioneer65760664106
      0 contributions
      Don’t do this!
      Too miserable of an experience to write about it. Call me if you really want to know. I would like to get a refund. Call me only if that’s even an option
      Written 2 January 2024
    See all 960 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    3.5
    21 reviews
    Excellent
    9
    Very good
    4
    Average
    3
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    5

    Ankita B
    Singapore3 contributions
    Feb 2020 • Solo
    Although the trip says that my return for the bus ride back to Geneva is at 6:15, what it does not say is that if you take the 6:15 bus, you have to come back to a different bus stop (not the one you started from at Chamonix) all by yourself and fend for yourself during the entire ride back, since Neil would be gone at 5. Hence, in essence, if you don't want to get lost, you might as well come back by the 5:05 bus, which leaves very little time to explore the otherwise picturesque town of Chamonix.

    The guide, Neil, was never inclusive. He wasn't available during the forward journey and during the return journey, just catered to 2 people who were in the front row. He never made an effort to connect to people outside the region, and wasn't helpful for someone like me visiting the region for the first time to figure out the place. If anything, the locals at Chamonix were more helpful than Neil.

    Although they mention that they will make you travel in "a group of just 15 people for less waiting and more interaction", what actually happens is that you are crammed into the front of a public bus, with the rest of the bus filled with other people, and if you can't grab the front 2 seats, you'll not be able to hear anything that Neil says amidst the cackle of other people behind you in the bus.

    All told, I don't realize what they took all the money for. If you buy the tickets individually, it will be much cheaper, and the value added by KeyTours is zero anyway.
    Written 1 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Sarah Bjorkman Harris
    Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates21 contributions
    Dec 2019 • Family
    Wonderful trip and stunning views. My only complaint would be that it would have been helpful to know that you don’t need much time to see what you need to see. We very well could have taken the same train back down that we came up on instead of waiting a full hour for the next. We were starving and the little cafe is just that...small and serves snack. Given you arrive around lunch time, especially with young children, it would have been ideal to get back on our train to go back into Chamonix for a proper lunch. Just a heads up for others in similar situations: get out take your pics and hop back on the train!
    Written 12 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good Morning. Thank you so much for your message. Our clients opinions are very important for us, in order for us to became better. Hope see you same day. Have a nice day.
    Written 13 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Boris R
    3 contributions
    Apr 2022 • Couples
    The views of Alps were gorgeous. The tour guide (Niel) was MIA - when we asked for his phone number (just in case) - “can’t do that as my phone is not working here” 🤬 Really? Everyone from the bus had a decent service there.

    We would have a better piece of mind regarding transportation if would we choose it ourselves.
    Written 15 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good morning, we are sorry to hear your review. As you can see, you booked an independant tour, meaning there is no guide because you didn't to pay for it. You cannot expect a service if you don't book for it. The was the better price as you booked a round trip transfer. best regards
    Written 9 May 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Tuppy C
    4 contributions
    Sept 2022 • Friends
    Tour operator did not show up. Tried to ask for help and customer service was ineffective. Attempted to get money back and asked for refund and gave said no. Working with credit card company now. Just horrible waste of money and didn’t get anything that was promised. Had to buy another ticket to go up the gondola. Stay away from this tour and company. I wish I could give zero stars.
    Written 22 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good morning, thank you for your review. We will just clarify the situation, You booked the tour with Keytours from Geneva, our ticket office is situated at the bus station, huge double arcade with information desk, waiting room. How can you say there was no one? even if you google the place, you see the office and our buses. You never showed up. You went to Chamonix is another company, the driver didn't send you here because he was not from the company. You claim you bought the cable car ticket again, we never saw you, you never called, you never showed up. Even if you took another company, you could have call, we have a host in Chamonix who could have receive you. You NEVER called. Your review is unfair and will be reported.
    Written 24 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Jose Ignacio
    Madrid, Spain9 contributions
    Be careful!!!

    Our main interest was the Cable Car as friends recommend us to do it. They sold us a package to Chamoneix with Cable Car and the Glaciar Train the day before the excursion. Our surprise was that the Cable Car was under maintenance since a few weeks, so they already knew it, and still sold this trip on the website. When we told them we won't like to go, they doesn't allow us to cancel the trip.
    Written 8 December 2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good morning, We thank you for your request. We sell of products including cable car and mountain train. however if one cable car is close we take another one. Unfortunately, we had bad weather thos past few weeks and the cable car were all closed. We cannot know before departure if they will open because Chamonix gives the informations only around 11 depending on the ice and snow falls. Bad weather can happen on a trip to the mountain and we never know before leaving. Do not hesitate to contact us if you come back once to geneva. Best regards
    Written 20 December 2017
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Thejenst
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK36 contributions
    May 2018
    This trip is worth it for the spectacular views which are amazing. The cable car journey was surprisingly smooth. Chamonix is pleasant also but didn't spend much time there.
    Written 12 May 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    GRUK99
    London, UK19 contributions
    May 2019 • Family
    Must visit!!!! Its amazing, so beautiful. Pictures dont tell the real story, you have to see it to believe it.
    We are enjoyed the experience and will be visiting again soon 😬👌
    Written 5 June 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Sara
    Hong Kong, China11 contributions
    Apr 2019 • Couples
    Beautiful view along the way from Geneva. Very charming village surrounded by gorgeous mountains. Can do it by yourself as well.
    Written 6 June 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good morning, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed Chamonix town, the views and the places. We wish all the best for the future
    Written 1 October 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Barbara B
    1 contribution
    May 2019 • Family
    We enjoyed the scenery and the beautiful village. The cable ride was exciting. Being in a long queue to get a cable ride ticket was not fun at all
    Written 2 June 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good mornig, Thank you for your review. The cable car is a unique experience which gives you a nice view over the Alps. If you book in advance the cable car with us, we have a reservation on a special gondola. We are glad you enjoyed your day on the trip and we wish you a nice day
    Written 1 October 2019
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Danny S
    Purchase, NY17 contributions
    Dec 2023 • Couples
    My wife and I went on our own via cablecar up to top of Aiguille du Midi... It was an amazing few hours of looking down at all the mountains and watching off piste skiers as little specs below our vantage point... would not miss it...
    Written 29 December 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about your trip and our guide. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience. Your kind words inspire us to continue delivering exceptional experiences for all our guests. If you ever plan to travel with us again or have any friends or family looking for a similar adventure, please don't hesitate to reach out. We would be delighted to welcome you back or assist in any way we can. Once again, thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future. Best regards
    Written 7 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 13

    Self-Guided Chamonix with Aiguille du Midi or Mer de Glace provided by KeyTours S.A.