Tours and Tickets

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour provided by Athens Walking Tours

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour
4.5
Book in advance
from
£44.84
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
93% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Explore Athens’ Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum on a walking tour
Duration:
3h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
18
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    3h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    18
  • Near public transportation
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Athens’ Acropolis is one of the world’s top archaeological sites, with so much to see it can be overwhelming. Cover its highlights with a guide who adds in-depth insight and context to the Parthenon and other monuments, and follow a route that avoids the heaviest crowds. Round things off at the New Acropolis Museum, where your guide showcases its must-sees. Includes a choice of start times for flexibility.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • View the Parthenon, Propylaea, and other antiquities with insight from a guide
  • Guided tour of museum ensures you cover and learn about every must-see
  • Choose from various start times to suit your schedule
What to expect
Meet your guide in central Athens, and stroll to the base of the Acropolis, the city's UNESCO-listed citadel. Avoid the main crowds by heading for the southern slopes, where you visit the Theater of Dionysus and Dionysus Sanctuary and hear about their history. Then, pay your admission (own expense) and head into the Acropolis. Explore key sights such as the Propylaea, Erechtheion, and Temple of Athena Nike, and marvel at the Parthenon as your guide explains its significance. Then, gaze down on Athens and learn about the monuments below, including the agora and Odeon of Herodes Atticus. Continue to the New Acropolis Museum, considered one of the world’s top five museums. Purchase admission and enjoy a guided tour of its highlights, including its statues and glass-floored galleries that reveal excavations on the Acropolis’ slopes. Your tour finishes in the museum, leaving you free to continue exploring independently.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • View the Parthenon, Propylaea, and other antiquities with insight from a guide
  • Guided tour of museum ensures you cover and learn about every must-see
  • Choose from various start times to suit your schedule
What to expect
Meet your guide in central Athens, and stroll to the base of the Acropolis, the city's UNESCO-listed citadel. Avoid the main crowds by heading for the southern slopes, where you visit the Theater of Dionysus and Dionysus Sanctuary and hear about their history. Then, pay your admission (own expense) and head into the Acropolis. Explore key sights such as the Propylaea, Erechtheion, and Temple of Athena Nike, and marvel at the Parthenon as your guide explains its significance. Then, gaze down on Athens and learn about the monuments below, including the agora and Odeon of Herodes Atticus. Continue to the New Acropolis Museum, considered one of the world’s top five museums. Purchase admission and enjoy a guided tour of its highlights, including its statues and glass-floored galleries that reveal excavations on the Acropolis’ slopes. Your tour finishes in the museum, leaving you free to continue exploring independently.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2906NEWACROPOLIS
Important information
Inclusions
  • English speaking professional guide
  • Skip-the-line service
  • Athens guide magazine
  • Athens map
  • Small Group tour
Exclusions
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
  • Entrance fees to the Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Acropolis
  • Entry/Admission - Acropolis Museum
Duration
3h 30m
Departure details
  • Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli, Dionysiou Areopagitou 3, Athina 117 42, Greece Your guide, holding an orange Athens Walking Tours sign, will be waiting for you at "Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli" located at 3, Dionyssiou Areopagitou st. Please be careful as there's also another Fresko in Athens. We are meeting at Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli
  • Acropolis Museum, Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please wear comfortable shoes and clothes
  • ENTRANCE FEES (TICKETS) ARE NOT INCLUDED - Please make sure you have cash (euros) as well as hold a valid ID or Passport for verification of age and nationality to purchase the tickets
  • IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT BABY STROLLERS: Please have in mind that baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis, archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Bring a hat and wear sunscreen lotion
  • Brinng a bottle of water
  • Please note that this is Athens off-season period and our tours operate with a minimum capacity. If the tour has not reached the minimum number of participants, we will inform you and offer you the following possibilities: a) move the reservation to another tour or another day b) run the tour as private with an agreed new fee c) cancel tour and refund booking fee
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • The Covid19 Measures set by the Greek Government frequently change. Thus, it is advisable to check local restrictions applicable to indoor and outdoor activities.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travellers
Inclusions
  • English speaking professional guide
  • Skip-the-line service
  • Athens guide magazine
  • Athens map
  • Small Group tour
Exclusions
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
  • Entrance fees to the Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Acropolis
  • Entry/Admission - Acropolis Museum
Departure details
  • Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli, Dionysiou Areopagitou 3, Athina 117 42, Greece Your guide, holding an orange Athens Walking Tours sign, will be waiting for you at "Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli" located at 3, Dionyssiou Areopagitou st. Please be careful as there's also another Fresko in Athens. We are meeting at Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli
  • Acropolis Museum, Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece
Duration
3h 30m
Return details
  • Acropolis Museum, Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please wear comfortable shoes and clothes
  • ENTRANCE FEES (TICKETS) ARE NOT INCLUDED - Please make sure you have cash (euros) as well as hold a valid ID or Passport for verification of age and nationality to purchase the tickets
  • IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT BABY STROLLERS: Please have in mind that baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis, archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Bring a hat and wear sunscreen lotion
  • Brinng a bottle of water
  • Please note that this is Athens off-season period and our tours operate with a minimum capacity. If the tour has not reached the minimum number of participants, we will inform you and offer you the following possibilities: a) move the reservation to another tour or another day b) run the tour as private with an agreed new fee c) cancel tour and refund booking fee
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • The Covid19 Measures set by the Greek Government frequently change. Thus, it is advisable to check local restrictions applicable to indoor and outdoor activities.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 13 May 2022
A note from Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour
The Covid19 Measures set by the Greek Government frequently change. Thus, it is advisable to check local restrictions applicable to indoor and outdoor activities.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli
    Dionysiou Areopagitou 3, Athina 117 42, Greece
    Your guide, holding an orange Athens Walking Tours sign, will be waiting for you at "Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli" located at 3, Dionyssiou Areopagitou st. Please be careful as there's also another Fresko in Athens. We are meeting at Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli
    See address & details
  • 1
    Acropolis
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 2
    Parthenon
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Theater of Dionysus
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Herod Atticus Odeon
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Erechtheion
    Temple of Athena Nike
  • 5
    Acropolis Museum
    Stop: 75 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Acropolis Museum
    Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
201 reviews
Excellent
170
Very good
17
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
6

Kevan H
16 contributions
Jun 2021
Our guide Stavrula was very knowledgeable and friendly, spoke good English, and she knew exactly when we needed to take breaks for water and bathrooms. The Athens Walking Tours booking staff were also super helpful. We were returning from the islands to catch an early morning flight the next day, so we had an afternoon to kill in Athens.

We contacted Athens Walking Tours, and they arranged to send a taxi to collect us from the ferry terminal in Piraeus, take us to a left luggage place close to the Acropolis, and directed us to lunch nearby before our tour.

It was extraordinarily hot in Athens that day, so we arranged to start the tour at 4 p.m. inside the very comfortable and impressive Acropolis museum, then we went up to the top of the Acropolis after 5:30 p.m. when the sun was dropping and the heat had let up a bit.

Stavrula gave us a thorough overview of the site from inside the museum, so by the time we went up, we knew what we were looking at. It was less crowded in later afternoon, and the sunlight angled attractively through the ruins. The views of Athens from the top are extraordinary, as are all of the ruins.

After the tour at around 7 p.m. Athens Walking Tours had the same driver waiting back at the left luggage to take us out to the airport hotel so we would be in position to catch our early morning flight.

If you have a special problem or travel circumstance, or if you just want a private tour, I would recommend e-mailing them. They are quick and responsive, and they have probably seen your circumstance before and can make good recommendations.

Given that we would probably have spent the day sitting an an airport hotel otherwise, I'm very glad that I reached out to Athens Walking Tours, as we were able to see such an amazing site and do it with a knowledgeable guide and a good plan that kept us out of the heat.
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia_AWT
Thank you so much for your great review and 5-star rating, and of course, for sharing this beautiful experience with us. The Athens Walking Tours team works hard to achieve perfection, and we are very happy when we succeed. We hope to see you again soon!
Written 28 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Vicki B
Columbus, OH15 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
We booked tours with a couple of tour companies but Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour with Athen Walking Tours was our favorite.

Hermes with Athens Walking Tours was outstanding. He was very knowledgeable, flexible with the order of the tour and easy to communicate with. Our experience with this company was far better than what we had with the other tour companies.
Written 6 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah CG
2 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
Our guide Kostas was very knowledgeable and funny and he paced the tour perfectly. Skipping the long lines and opting to go into the museum with a guide was well worth the money. I would recommend this tour to any family member or friend visiting Athens.
Written 19 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

wrldtrvlerCopenhagen
Hedehusene, Denmark51 contributions
Oct 2021
Our Acropolis tour was booked on a day where the heavens decided to open up and almost drown the city of Athens. Despite the pouring rain and thunderstorms over us, we took the tour as planned.
There were many things we probably didn't get to see, due to the rain, but on the other hand, there were also few people at the Acropolis that day.
Our tour guide was competent and knowledgable and really tried to be sure we experienced the most important parts of the acropolis itself... and we got some amazing videos of the acropolis stairs functioning as a raging waterfall :).
Following the acropolis tour, we went to the museum. Unfortunately we had a group who didn't quite stay together during the tour, and as we were all soaked through from head to toes, we all became very cold in the museum.
Despite this, the tour guide was still very knowledgable and personable, and highly recommended.
My only suggestion would be - if this weather phenomena happens in the future, it would be nice to be given the option to take the museum tour at a later time, either on the same day or the next day, so that there is at least the possibility to get dry and warm and actually enjoy the tour.
Written 21 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anna
New York City, NY14 contributions
I rated this experience 5 stars because of the quality of information I received from our guide, Kimon
If you’re on the fence due to price, I will comfort you in that you are getting your money’s worth because our guide was clearly very invested, passionate, and extremely professional. When I started my day I was hesitant, hoping I didn’t just toss a lot of money. By the end, I felt I got a total experience that was multifaceted in the range and type of information. I feel like I walked back in time and actually learned very very much. I would never have gotten what I got out of these tours if I did not decide to go with a tour guide like Kimon. I am sure the other guides are equally knowledgeable and wonderful, and I recommend this trip to anyone with anywhere between no knowledge to average knowledge of ancient Greece and Athens.

The tour was several hours, so make sure to wear comfortable shoes and eat and drink well before. Read the “before you go” info so you are well prepared.
Written 16 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sruthy M
2 contributions
Feb 2020 • Family
We booked for two adults and the entire page did not mention about the trip being not stroller friendly . We lost over 110 euros as we were told at the time of tour that we have to park the stroller and walk up . With two kids this was not an option . We were given feedback that at the time if booking we did not mention kids . So when our friends booked with kids we waited until 24hrs to receive a notification about the trip being not stroller friendly . We received none ! They then cancelled 10min before the deadline to receive the refund . While our guide empathized and asked us to request for refund , the lady with the local tours was very unfriendly and she would just hang up without listening . I would just take a guided tour at Acropolis and go to museum directly as museum is very self explanatory . No need to pay 50euros for such hospitality. (Also entrance tickets are on the top of this )
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, We are sorry about your experience. However, we cannot accept your description about our tour as a ''not child friendly'' and this is why: Firstly, before you booked the tour, it was clearly stated under the Additional Info that ''Please have in mind that baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller.'' Furthermore, even though you booked the tour for 2 adults, and not for 2 adults and 2 infants/children, we did our best to accommodate you. We showed you where you could store your strollers and even offered to wait for you to sort everything out. Acropolis is an archaeological site with an uneven terrain and strollers are not allowed both for security reasons as well as to prevent damage on the ancient pathways. This is why we make sure we inform parents with infants about the stroller policy prior to their arrival. Provided of course that we know they have infants with them. In any case, we hope your overall stay was great!
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jhoanna
Frankfurt, Germany33 contributions
Dec 2021
As big fans of Greek mythology, the highlight of our trip to Athens was the Acropolis - and our guide Natasha was a wonderful guide to take us and our small group through this iconic location and its historically valuable sites. From the start of our tour to the end 3.5 hours later, she kept us entertained and enthralled with all the stories and histories (such as of the Parthenon during the Roman and Ottoman periods) and some philosophy from the ancient Greeks ('what is beauty?'). While the tour of the Acropolis Museum felt quite fast (we couldn't really walk around and read the signage), Natasha took us through the important exhibits and told us their histories.

Overall, it was an easygoing, fun and interactive tour and we got to ask her many questions which she knowledgeably answered. Thank you, Natasha, for an unforgettable tour of the Acropolis!
Written 13 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia_AWT
We are grateful, dear guest, for your hearty enthusiasm! Reading how much you enjoyed your experience with Natasha made us both happy and proud. We were blown away by your positive words, and we really appreciate the time you took to write such detailed feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon for more mythological storytelling and pure fun. Take care!
Written 10 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark K
2 contributions
Aug 2021
We enjoyed our tour of the Acropolis and the museum very much. Athens was experiencing a serious heat wave during our visit, so the tour company reached out and offered to move our tour time up to 8:30 AM. This worked out well, and our tour guide Eli made sure that we stayed in the shade and had chances to fill water bottles, etc. She did an excellent job of explaining the highlights of both places without overwhelming us with too much info. Highly recommend this tour!
Written 13 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthoula G
Thank you so much for this review! We indeed experienced a heatwave in Athens on those days, so we took precautionary measures to make sure that all our guests will still enjoy their tour without missing out on anything due to the heat. That meant starting the tour earlier, giving out water, and as always our expert guides make sure you are kept in the shade as much as possible! We are glad that you felt it worked out well for you! Hope to see you again soon!
Written 23 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Glenys123
Wokingham, UK144 contributions
Easy to find offices and very helpful staff. We used a headphone to hear Anastasia and we’re in a group of 14. We had a short walk to the Acropolis and paused regularly as Anastasia told us the story of ancient Athens and we started to understand what we were looking at. I would thoroughly recommend a guided tour as there is so much history to understand and she made it fascinating. By pausing and walking we got our information in bite size chunks.
Written 11 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fiona Steel
Oxford, UK4 contributions
An amazing tour of the acropolis and the new acropolis museum with Daphne. Daphne was an oracle of information at just the right level of detail to engage our 3 teenagers. Her experience as an archaeologist and experienced classicist gave us brilliant insights into the long rich history of the city and its ancient places. Daphne completely understood when we needed a drink abs break from the heat and was very happy to accommodate. We all feel our experience was completely enriched through the tour and would highly recommend to anyone.
Written 18 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia_AWT
'Oracle of information' is such a fitting expression for your historical tour guide! We are very happy that everyone in your company, including restless teenagers, equally enjoyed the tour! Our tour guides, apart from licensed professionals, are well-educated archeologists or historians, which makes them really apt for the specific task. Of course, our Daphne is no exception, while her natural empathy and kindness really adds to her guest-oriented guiding skills. Thank you for the amazing feedback and your recommendation! We hope to see you again very soon in Athens having fun with our activities!
Written 21 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 187
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Athens Walking Tours
Q651MZchrisc
Q651MZchrisc
00
Half and half!
Ours was Athens City Tour and Acropolis tour WITH ticket. We started in a small group with Hermes. He was fantastic
auriclux0
auriclux0
00
Morning Mezes with Georgia
(This is titled "Afternoon Athens Food Tour", but I do not see one for the morning when we went.) Georgia is a gre
614pattyw
614pattyw
00
Knowledgeable guide
The guide was very knowledgeable about the subject. She spoke English well. She was friendly and personable. We
caitlinrJ5402KS
caitlinrJ5402KS
00
Great experience
Really great experience and we really liked our tour guide Fotini! It's a lovely and interesting part of ancient At
ojerio
ojerio
00
Fun Tour
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Acropolis. We are grateful to Athens Walking Tours for being proactive and a
SUE H
SUE H
00
Food Tour
Georgia was a fabulous guide, so bubbly and knowledgeable. She really made the tour very enjoyable. I would highly
JaggsK
JaggsK
00
Amazing private tour
We booked this tour from the UK and we were not disappointed. Our guide Cese was beyond amazing. She is a qualified
62AndyS6
62AndyS6
00
Excellent informative trip
Very good trip. Started at 8.30am to beat queues , a small. Group of 12. Guide very pleasant and informative, use o
Omar O
Omar O
00
Great time and great food with Sophia!
Excellent time with Sophia as our our tour guide through the back streets of Athens and tasting local food that we
NicoZ91
NicoZ91
00
An immersive, emotional and fun experience into the heart of Athens and its people
This was exactly the type of tour I was craving for and there couldn't have been a better match than Sofia to host
isabelletravel2022
isabelletravel2022
00
Excellent tour - one of the best parts of our trip!
Our tour was with Sophia, and she was absolutely incredible! We had a lovely time hearing about her experiences and
fitterbrian
fitterbrian
00
A perfect way to learn Athenian history.
Our guide was a lovely lady, PhD in history, so easy to listen to. The day flowed, with ample breaks during the cli
Pedro R
Pedro R
00
Great tour to start our visit to Athens
We started our stay and visit to Athens by going on this guided tour, and it was the best decision we could make. W
abaileym
abaileym
00
Great Guide
Very knowledgeable and worth the extra information in a site visit that needs to be explained. Very accommodating w
J2698ZOpeterl
J2698ZOpeterl
00
Worth paying extra for a guided tour
Excellent tour. We started at 0830, the meeting point is easy to find and a short walk from the subway station. Eve
Frequently Asked Questions about Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour


Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour price starts from £45.34. Discover and book Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour on Tripadvisor

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour on Tripadvisor

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour is hosted by Athens Walking Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Athens Walking Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour on Tripadvisor