Tours and Tickets

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík provided by Elding Whale Watching

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
4.5
Book in advance
from £61.33 per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 21 Jul 2020
A note from Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Efforts are made to invite passengers to stay 2 meters apart from others whenever possible.
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
About
Escape the city lights of Reykjavik and embrace the colorful natural light show over the ocean on this northern lights cruise through Faxaflói Bay. The tour is made fun and comfortable with warm overalls, hot drinks, and education details from your guide. Additionally, the boat provides a panoramic viewing platform you can’t get on land-based tours.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Search for the northern lights on a night cruise in Faxaflói Bay
Learn about the natural phenomenon from your guide and a pre-trip multimedia show
Overalls and warm drinks keep you from getting cold
If you don’t catch the northern lights you can take another cruise free-of-charge
What to expect
The Northern Lights Cruise commences at our ticket office by the Ægisgarður pier in the Old Harbour in downtown Reykjavik. A guide will meet you in the Whale Watching Centre, which is facilitated on board an old fishing vessel permanently placed by the pier. At night it takes on a magical form with a multimedia northern lights show. The 10 minute show includes images, time-lapse footage of the lights while explaining the science behind the northern lights. On the tour we will take you out into the dark blue yonder of Faxaflói bay in search for the mystical phenomenon we call the Aurora Borealis or Northern Lights, leaving behind the bright city lights of the capital Reykjavík. Watching the lights constantly change in intensity, colour and movement in the vast starry space with the gentle lull of the ocean beneath is a thrilling, unique experience. Northern lights are best displayed under dark, clear skies. Our open top viewing decks provide the perfect platform for witnessing the dazzling spectacle while our heated indoor lounge is a great place to take a break and warm up in between sightings. Our expert guide will be at hand to answer your questions while you enjoy Mother Nature’s light show and starry skies wrapped up in a warm overall with a hot drink in hand.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 7090P10
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Excellent guidance • Warm floatable overalls • Multimedia show • Wi-Fi on board
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
2h
Departure details
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Meet us at the red and white ticket office at the harbour to collect your boarding ticket(s).
Inclusions
Excellent guidance • Warm floatable overalls • Multimedia show • Wi-Fi on board
Exclusions
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland Meet us at the red and white ticket office at the harbour to collect your boarding ticket(s).
Duration
2h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Northern lights are a natural phenomenon and very unpredictable, so remember to bring patience and optimism with you.
If the northern lights are not seen on your tour you will be given a complimentary ticket, which is valid for two years.
Weather is a bit factor for the Northern Lights Cruises and we may have to cancel the tour.
We recommend wearing good sturdy footwear and warm clothing including; thermals, hat, scarf and gloves.
Wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Transportation is wheelchair accessible
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers
Popular mentions

4.5
125 reviews
Excellent
95
Very good
19
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Connector48771914181
1 contribution
We saw the Northern Lights!
Mar 2020
I appreciate that whether you do or don't actually see the Lights depends upon circumstances that can't be controlled and we were very fortunate. Because the Lights appeared quite late, the boat stayed out longer to enable us to get a good view, which was appreciated. It was a lovely experience. Also Elding forwarded the photographs that the trip organiser took on the night so we have a permanent reminder.
Written 13 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

D Skells
3 contributions
Truly amazing experience all with great customer service.
Feb 2020
Very well organised, with great detail & facts behind the Northern Lights. All staff were very welcoming and friendly with plenty of places on the boat to be able to be to enjoy the experience. Upon seeing the lights, we were absolutely amazed by how they was forming and moving, unfortunately my camera was not able to catch the sight of the lights. But thankfully our tour guide was taking pictures and to complete this truly amazing experience all I had to do was email Elding who replied with a drop box of the best photos of that night. I would very much advise booking with Elding and plan to book again when returning with my kids.
Written 5 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

frangipanni48
Royal Tunbridge Wells, UK28 contributions
Searching For The Northern Lights with Elding
Mar 2020
We were on a cruise ship which was docked in Reykjavík and booked a tour with Elding to see the Northern Lights. The evening was very cold and the skies were almost clear. The boat took us further up the coast where it was darker. We waited and waited but no activity. Just when the boat turned to bring us back there they were. Everyone rushed up to the top deck to view. We were told to photograph the skies where there was a white ark of light as the camera can see far more than the naked eye. Such excitement! The crew were so helpful and pleasant and also gave us the opportunity to request their photographs they took on the night. I’ve done this and there in the sky was a green curl, so beautiful. Also Elding gave us the opportunity to have a free Northern Lights trip during the next 2 years, that is a generous offer. The crew were very friendly and helpful and we recommend Elding if you find yourself in Reykjavík.
Written 23 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Voyage602947
2 contributions
Northern Lights boat trip
Mar 2020 • Couples
We visited on 17th March and had a very pleasant boat trip, but didn’t see the lights. As others have said, we were given a voucher for another trip which lasts for 2 years. We booked again for the following evening though, and had an amazing time seeing a beautiful display of the Northern Lights just after midnight. The crew & tour guides stayed out a bit longer than planned so that we could make the most of the trip. Our own ‘phone’ photos were pretty poor, but our guide kindly shared her photos (taken with a proper camera!) with us the next morning.

An unforgettable experience, which we wouldn’t have been able to see without leaving the light pollution in the city itself.

Thank you, Ian & Anna
Written 22 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon A
Leeds, UK150 contributions
All turned out ok in the end!!
We first went on our tour on Tusday night, but without any success. If you don't see the Lights, you get complimentary tickets for a 2 year period. As most people do, we booked on for the next evening. Unfortunately I mislaid our tickets but the staff at the company couldn't have been more helpful. 2nd night,cno success. 3rd night cruise was csncelled due to the weather. It was 4th time lucky on Friday night when we finally got to see the Lights at last.
All the guides were excellent, friendly & informative. Also, use the thermal overalls which are offerred...it means you csn stay on deck longer.
Great tour!!
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear 732SimonA732, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you had the opportunity to reschedule your booking so many times - since this is a nature dependent tour we never know what to expect and so it important to leave a few nights open. Happy we were able to provide you with excellent service throughout and that you finally got to see the northern lights! All the best, The Elding team
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jo A
2 contributions
Northern Lights
Mar 2020 • Friends
Great excursion, well organised, good explanations and friendly assistance given when taking photos.
Written 13 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear joa291, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We're glad you enjoyed the tour and company of our lovely and helpful team. All the best, The Elding team
Written 14 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gillian H
Billericay, UK20 contributions
Comfortable and informative
Mar 2020 • Friends
A brilliant trip led by am expert. The boat was comfortable and extra warm outer layers were provided.warm drinks were also available. Option to have photos e-mailed (my photos didn't come out). Thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
Written 13 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Gillian H, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you had an enjoyable time with our enthusiastic crew on board our comfortable Northern Lights Cruise! All the best, The Elding team
Written 14 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Scott
Glasgow, UK25 contributions
Great experience!
Very good tour, lots of information given by guide. We were lucky enough too see the lights after 2 and a half hours of waiting was fantastic well worth it!
Written 7 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear scott_guthrie8, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you enjoyed and appreciated the commentary provided by our lovely guide and got to spend an evening looking at the northern lights from our comfortable boat in Faxaflói bay. All the best, The Elding team
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ian W
Bedfordshire, UK349 contributions
Not always guranteed but worth a trip
Mar 2020
Was part of our Secret Escapes package. Boarded boat for 9-00 departure duration was approx two and a half hours. Guide was very informative. please remember to wrap up warm although they have all in one suites you can wear. Unfortunatly the lights didn't want to play on our trip but at least we tried. As we didn't see them Elding gave us a complimentary ticket valid for 2 years so can't complain. Remember anything like this is not guranteed.
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear X8007FGianw, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. Sorry to hear about the lights not being present on your tour. We hope you take us up on the offer to return another night to try your luck again! All the best, the Elding team
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lindsay Z
West Windsor Township, NJ2 contributions
Wonderful experience!
Feb 2020
We did the combination whale watching/Northern Lights cruise from downtown Reykjavik. We were not lucky enough to see whales on the afternoon portion of the trip, but it was still definitely worth doing due to the fact you see the Icelandic coast from a different perspective than when you are on land. The Northern Lights cruise that evening was spectacular. We had quite a display of the Northern Lights! It was amazing! Highly recommend this tour!!
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear lindsayzz12, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad to see you enjoyed our combo tour 'Whales & Northern Lights' from Reykjavík's Old Harbour, despite the whales being shy! Hope you have the chance to return another day and try your luck again with the wildlife in our waters! All the best, The Elding team
Written 6 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 118
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Elding Whale Watching
Fa7-M
Fa7-M
00
Great experience
I loved the spirit of whale watching without annoying the whales and I loved the passion of Sabrina in doing her wo
chriswarthurs
chriswarthurs
00
Good trip with or without whales
We were very lucky with weather so it would have been good trip even without some sightings. Weather, time of year
394wila
394wila
00
An amazing experience
An amazing experience. A must on any trip to Iceland. Worth every penny and I would happily go again. We saw 8 mink
120kelseyj
120kelseyj
00
Beautiful
This was the perfect start to our time in Reykavik! We were provided with warm body suits, ginger tablets and excel
Nasia C
Nasia C
00
So cute!!
Our guide give us many useful info about Iceland! At the beginning of our tour we couldn't find the whales,but they
riccardogT8942LF
riccardogT8942LF
00
Great experience
Great experience and friendly crew. Got to see more than a few whales. Also, Reykjavik is gorgeous from the sea
robbiej951
robbiej951
00
Excellent, thoroughly recommend
The spotter/narrator was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The whole crew was friendly and didn't give up when oth
KalmarMalla
KalmarMalla
00
Kalmarmalla
We can really recommend Eldings whale safari with rib boat! We had the honor to do the trip with captain Reinar and
jacekgruca
jacekgruca
00
We saw all kinds of whale + a number of other species
The team behind Elding really took care of us in this adventure! It was awesome: we saw all kinds of whale + a numb
JBejer
JBejer
00
Excellent boat & very helpful staff
Our trip was cancelled 2/twice due to weather, but the 3rd time it worked out, as it was a quiet morning. We saw se
Footprints97573
Footprints97573
00
absolutely worth it
We went with Elding to see whales - and we definitely weren't disappointed. The crew did well - good spotters, as w
nina874
nina874
00
Very good experience!
Very good experience! We were expecting to see maybe 1 whale if we were lucky but we saw so many! Minke whales, hum
Improindy
Improindy
00
Great service
My son and I went on a traditional whale watching trip today. It was a great trip. Sunny weather and plenty of Spa
akane t
akane t
00
Miscommunication
My husband booked the tour with this company but there was nobody at the reception. Later we found out that they re
Georg_99919
Georg_99919
00
Absolutly recommended!
Wonderfull tour with excellent guide on board. We saw lot's of whales and dolphins, and they shared some wonderful
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík price starts from £60.02. Discover and book Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík on Tripadvisor

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík on Tripadvisor

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík is hosted by Elding Whale Watching. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Elding Whale Watching on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík on Tripadvisor