Tours and Tickets

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik provided by Reykjavik Excursions

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik
4
Book in advance
from
£61.91
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
The Northern Lights, also known as Aurora Borealis, are caused by collisions between particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. In Iceland they are visible during the winter months, from late August to April, and appear in many different forms and colours although light green and pink are the most common. Our Northern Lights team studies thoroughly the weather and aurora forecasts in order to find the best location each night to spot the lights. The lights are a natural phenomenon and sightings cannot be guaranteed. Please note that indicated return times can vary. The maximum group size is 19 people.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 24308P47
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • WiFi on board
  • Bus Fare
  • Professional local tour guide
  • English Guidance is available every night
  • Spanish guidance is available on Saturdays
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ, Iceland, Reykjavík, Iceland Please be ready and waiting at the BSI bus terminal 30 minutes prior to your scheduled departure time.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Inclusions
  • WiFi on board
  • Bus Fare
  • Professional local tour guide
  • English Guidance is available every night
  • Spanish guidance is available on Saturdays
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ, Iceland, Reykjavík, Iceland Please be ready and waiting at the BSI bus terminal 30 minutes prior to your scheduled departure time.
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ
    Iceland, Reykjavík, Iceland
    Please be ready and waiting at the BSI bus terminal 30 minutes prior to your scheduled departure time.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ
    Iceland
    Reykjavik
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.0
8 reviews
Excellent
5
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Aitor
2 contributions
Please book with somebody else or go on your own
Feb 2020
Very bad experience.
The possibilities to see the Lights were low as stated openly, and they decided to take the "small group?" (more than 20 people) on the tour.
As expected, no lights were to be seen. I claimed my money back in the desk and they gave me a mail where I should write to: Refund@re.is
I wrote them and they refused to gave me my money back after a exchange of mails.
So summarizing: They took me on a bus on a day of poor possibilities to see the Lights, took 150 € from me and refused to refund my money. I paid for something I did not get, in my humble opinion this is a fraud.
So my advice to you: do not waste your time and money and please look for a different alternative if you wish to see the Northern Light and not to be cheated.
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear traveler Thank you for sharing your experience. Reykjavik Excursions has a decision maker´s team which is in charge for deciding whether we head out for hunting the Northern Lights or not on daily basis. They do study it thoroughly and cancel the tour if the odds are not favorable. It is clearly stated on our website that when we go on the tour and we do not see the northern lights, a refund is not possible but passengers are though offered to join our regular northern lights tour again for free. I do hope however that you had an overall enjoyable stay in Iceland. Regards, Helga Bryndís ___________________________________ Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir Quality, Environmental & Safety Control Reykjavik Excursions
Written 10 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Patty
Wahiawa, HI11 contributions
Northern Lights Tour Guide, Stefán Svavarsson: 5 Stars and 2 Thumbs-Up!
Mar 2020
Remember this name, Stefán Svavarsson. Be sure to ask for him when you sign up for your Northern Lights Tour with Reykjavik Excursions. He's fantastic!

Why am I gushing like a school girl? Stefán is a local Icelandic guide, who has the experience, knowledge, and customer service skills to provide his clients with the best possible adventure.

The conditions were favorable for an appearance of the Northern Lights; and while it is NOT a guaranteed showing, as he cautioned us a few times, he DID know where to drive with the best possible outcome. And what an outcome it was! The clouds cleared, the stars shone, and the Aurora made a two hour appearance. While I know Stefán was not the magician, he was certain of the location! It was only 45 minutes out of town, at an old military heliport. He took the time to assist us rookie Aurora photographers with camera settings; he took his own photos with his personal camera, and posted them for all of his clients to download!

I highly recommend Reykjavik Excursions, and in particular, Stefán Svavarsson for your guide on the Northern Lights Tour. I trust both the company and the guide for the exceptional customer service you expect.
Written 4 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE-TEAM
Dear traveler Thank you for the compliment and the heartfelt words about our guide Stefán Svavarsson. He is very knowledgeable and we are so thrilled to have him on our team. We will send him your regards. We look forward seeing you again in Iceland. Best regards Team Reykjavik Excursions
Written 6 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DCharlotte24
47 contributions
Informative company, amazing lights!
We booked onto the small group northern lights tour, praying that we’d be lucky enough to see the lights. We were picked up at the local bus stop and our guide Lily spoke about the lights and Iceland as we drove to a place in the hopes of seeing them. We were pleased the trip went ahead, as other agencies had cancelled that night due to concerns that the clouds would not clear. Well, lucky Reykjavik excursions didn’t cancel as we were treated to over an hour of the northern lights dancing through the sky! Absolutely amazing! Lily took photos and posted them online for us to save - it was disappointing that she couldn’t take photos of us due to GDPR, especially as other companies will do this, but also this wasn’t an advertised service so I won’t score them down for that! Not 5 stars as I’m not sure what the benefit was to do small group - we were just across from a coach and had two mini buses with us, so equal to a coach really. My advice is to layer up for this - most of our buses got back on very quickly and missed the lights as they were cold!
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RETeamLeader
Dear traveler, Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.
Written 13 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lamri B
Wokingham, UK7 contributions
Mind blowing
Amazing experience once in a lifetime .
All the condition were present to see the most fabulous auroras .
Will recommend highly
Written 29 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RETeamLeader
Many thanks for your review and recommendation!
Written 13 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anna Maria R
United Kingdom1 contribution
Northern lights
Jan 2020 • Friends
Even if we wasn't lucky the guide was fantastic she was well prepared and determinated to see them!!I really appreciate and recommend!!
Written 15 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RETeamLeader
Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review, we really appreciate it :)
Written 13 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Zoe W
Cavan, Ireland2 contributions
Perfect night
Oct 2019
Perfect night with exceptional tour guide Stefán Svavarsson, really helpful. and fun. Got see the Nothern Lights which was amazing and Stefan captured the experience for us with plenty of photographs. Thanks a mill
Written 28 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE-TEAM
Great to hear that, thank you very much. Hope we see you on board again in the future! -Team Reykjavik Excursions
Written 29 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Reykjavik Excursions
Julie P
Julie P
00
Dissatisfied
The tour bus leaves at odd times for the bookings into the blue lagoon we had to get an 11am bus but onto blue lago
X4913AMnatashas
X4913AMnatashas
00
Friendly Herman!
Great day sight seeing. The driver Herman was very friendly! The tour guide was very informative and helpful. Long
magdalena M
magdalena M
00
Outstanding views. Much recommended.
Amazing experience! Make sure you wear warm clothes as it’s very windy everywhere in October. Outstanding views. Th
Samantha A
Samantha A
00
Wonderful
I booked multiple tours with Reykjavik Excursions and every single one was amazing. Easy, they are super organized.
markpaddington
markpaddington
00
Iceland doesn’t disappoint
What a fantastic day with a fantastic guide. Regina was brilliant from start to finish and a mind of information. S
bethfE1177RY
bethfE1177RY
00
Great tour guide and great tour.
Standing on Diamond Beach and seeing the chunks of ice in the beach as well as the big chunks floating in the ocean
aliciamed
aliciamed
00
Just a business
We saw a pair of small northern lights during the bus trip, but when we arrived to the place, the sky had got fully
hey_you69
hey_you69
00
There are better tour operators out there
I took their blue lagoon transfer and the northern lights tour. The transfer driver was unfriendly and informative
LeifLarse
LeifLarse
00
All aboard the Albert Express
Albert the tourguide was a brilliant storyteller and an excellent guide and host. With a good sense of humor.
JenniferLou_87
JenniferLou_87
00
Amazing!
We were instructed to be ready for hotel pick up from half 8, bear in mind the tickets say that this could be the s
jean_campana
jean_campana
00
Normal experience with RE.
The bus was very clean and new. Absolutely comfortable. The driver was pretty good. Our guide - Yohanna spoke about
haduff5
haduff5
00
Beautiful Nature on Display!
We had a great time viewing all that the South Shore had to offer! Iceland has so much beauty to share, and we were
Inspiration252767
Inspiration252767
00
South shore experience
Definitely worth it for a full day trip in Iceland. Knowledgeable guide. Well timed trip and the photos you will ta
Traveler26777547935
Traveler26777547935
00
Great Tour When You’re Short on Time
Our tour guide, Hershey, was great! Very knowledgeable, funny, helpful and nice. Driving was great, very comforta
Suzanne M
Suzanne M
00
Great excursions
Went on some great tours with them including the Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle tour and northern lights. Tours are we
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik will start at 9:30 PM. Discover and book Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik price starts from £61.65. Discover and book Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor

Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik is hosted by Reykjavik Excursions. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Reykjavik Excursions on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Northern Lights - Small Group Tour from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor