Tours and Tickets

Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg provided by Panorama Tours

Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg
4
Book in advance
from
£458.16
per group (up to 8)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Travel to the village of Hallstatt in the stunningly scenic Austrian Lake District (Salzkammergut) on this private tour from Salzburg. Admire amazing views of Dachstein Mountain on your way to Hallstatt, a UNESCO World Heritage Site linked to several ancient cultures. Learn the history of this culturally significant area from your knowledgeable guide. You can take a mountain train up to the world's oldest salt mine for incredible views, stroll around Lake Hallstatt, admire the Mühlbach Waterfall and discover the remarkable Beinhaus (Bone House). Being on a private tour makes for a more flexible, intimate experience.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, English, Italian, French, Spanish
What to expect
  • Since this half-day tour is private, your itinerary can be customized more closely to your interests, if you choose. Feel free to mention to your guide where you’d like to focus your time. Your excursion will begin with pickup from your Salzburg hotel. Hop aboard your private coach and begin your journey to the UNESCO-listed village of Hallstatt. Along the way, soak up views of the famed Alpine peak of the Dachstein, towering 9,826 feet (2,995 meters) from the ground. Arrive in Hallstatt, an area dating back to prehistoric times and renowned for its long history of salt production. Here, coordinate your itinerary with your guide and then venture out independently for 30 minutes if you choose. Check out the Mühlbach Waterfall and sail across the lake on a scenic boat ride (own expense). You can also opt to travel up the mountain by train to see the world's oldest salt mine (admission at own expense), taking in views of the town stretched out below. Or stroll along Lake Hallstatt and sightsee from the crisp blue water. Stop to examine the village’s unique Beinhaus (Bone House), a collection of 1,200 decorated human skulls. Learn how corpses were exhumed and the skulls were painted to preserve the memory of the deceased when the village ran out of burial grounds in the 18th century. After five hours exploring Austria's scenic Lake District, your private tour will conclude with drop-off back at your Salzburg hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, English, Italian, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Since this half-day tour is private, your itinerary can be customized more closely to your interests, if you choose. Feel free to mention to your guide where you’d like to focus your time. Your excursion will begin with pickup from your Salzburg hotel. Hop aboard your private coach and begin your journey to the UNESCO-listed village of Hallstatt. Along the way, soak up views of the famed Alpine peak of the Dachstein, towering 9,826 feet (2,995 meters) from the ground. Arrive in Hallstatt, an area dating back to prehistoric times and renowned for its long history of salt production. Here, coordinate your itinerary with your guide and then venture out independently for 30 minutes if you choose. Check out the Mühlbach Waterfall and sail across the lake on a scenic boat ride (own expense). You can also opt to travel up the mountain by train to see the world's oldest salt mine (admission at own expense), taking in views of the town stretched out below. Or stroll along Lake Hallstatt and sightsee from the crisp blue water. Stop to examine the village’s unique Beinhaus (Bone House), a collection of 1,200 decorated human skulls. Learn how corpses were exhumed and the skulls were painted to preserve the memory of the deceased when the village ran out of burial grounds in the 18th century. After five hours exploring Austria's scenic Lake District, your private tour will conclude with drop-off back at your Salzburg hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3595HALLSTADT_P
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Private tour
  • Transport by private minivan or Mercedes E-Class
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Driver
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Hallstatt Skywalk "Welterbeblick"
Duration
5h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • please wait in the hotel lobby, your driver will meet your there
  • Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria Private tours: pick up & drop off WITHIN the CITY of Salzburg ONLY,. In case you are staying outside from the city of Salzburg: your private tour starts at the Panorama Bus terminal, Mirabell Platz /Hubert Sattler Gasse 1
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Collapsible wheelchairs can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Private tour
  • Transport by private minivan or Mercedes E-Class
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Driver
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Hallstatt Skywalk "Welterbeblick"
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • please wait in the hotel lobby, your driver will meet your there
  • Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria Private tours: pick up & drop off WITHIN the CITY of Salzburg ONLY,. In case you are staying outside from the city of Salzburg: your private tour starts at the Panorama Bus terminal, Mirabell Platz /Hubert Sattler Gasse 1
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
5h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Collapsible wheelchairs can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Central Square Marktplatz
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Hallstatt Skywalk "Welterbeblick"
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
    Pass by
    St Gilgen
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
7 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
2
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Svetlana
Limassol City, Cyprus20 contributions
Good tour, interesting, informative and breathtaking views
Everything was organized very well
Good tour, interesting, informative and breathtaking views,
Skywalk doesn’t include, but I highly recommend
Panama tour has good guides
Written 5 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Svetlana, thank you very much for joining our Hallstatt Tour and for your kind review! We are more than happy to hear that you were fully satisfied with our service and with our staff! We are delighted you enjyoed your time in the picturesque litte town so much! Many thanks for your recommendation and for sharing your wonderful pictures with us and other guests! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on one of our sightseeing tours in the near future! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
Written 6 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ElleRo777
Southwest Gulf Coast, FL23 contributions
PRIVATE SOUND OF MUSIC/HALLSTATT TOUR
Sep 2019
Private 1 1/2 days pre-booked months in advance with PTS because of Rick Steves recommendations-had been working with three companies. Per emails private tours(at great expense) meant according to my wishes but also what had been advertised on website. Day included short stop in Ebensee (will do separate review of Eagle's Nest private tour). One wouldn't have known was SOM tour; did not follow advertised tour. Tour seemed to be what driver/guide chose including much time and almost complete stop at Red Bull site, which was not my choice. Web stated driver/guide "would be knowledgeable & would relate everything related to SOM, history and shooting of movie..." NOT. During day i continued to ask if had time for certain things; guide stated my tour so yes. In actuality it wasn't my tour. And when asked when SOM tour would be, thinking since not in AM would be in PM, guide retorted i had not paid for SOM. He was shown voucher. At end of the NOT SOM tour, at point not at hotel, guide droned on and on about recommendations for restaurant. Even after being told no, i would be staying around hotel due to early tour in AM and checkout and securing of luggage at hotel before so after tour next day a driver would be picking me up to transport to Prague. Finally i had to stop the droning and stated No, I'm done, i'm out of here. During day were many stale canned jokes that guide thought were funny-scripted as though told many times over. Some not appropriate for solo woman. Guide also spoke disparagingly calling FAT the spouse so couldn't travel without wheelchair. Inappropriate. other private guides even during an entire week with them never did this. I had asked at several points to slow down so could photo signs so could ID photos once back in US. NOT. So no SOM, if so certainly not known. Hallstaat - beautiful. Guide drove boat-a positive so could view lake and town. I had wanted the funicular view but settled for boat, which was OK. Thinking SOM would follow Hallstatt i kept thinking needed to hurry but did have time to stop for cold Austrian cola and take photos. PTS was contacted about the issues and about Eagles Nest issues but seemed to take part of the guide. In fact i was told the guide was surprised at my attitude, but an arrogant person often does not have awareness of such. The guide did not seem to know the meaning of No, nor what a private tour would be. Another issue was that when asked longed before leaving US who the guide would be so would at least have a name to call out in lobby if necessary. I was told would have the day before tour. This did not happen. It is discomforting not to have even a name of who is being paid top dollar for a quality tour but this also goes to the fact it wasn't a quality tour. On day 2 at end of day i was given a piece of paper and requested to sign. After asking what it was since not in English was told to sign that I had taken the SOM/Hallstatt/Ebensee tour. I think this was wrong and if expected to sign to have it in English. I think that this was a cover up in that none was given to sign on day 2 after Eagles Nest. It took multiple emails in order to receive a copy since one wasn't given after signing. I signed because uncomfortable already and didn't want to ire someone in a vehicle alone thousands of miles from US thinking PTS would be more welcoming of customer review and issues. As i stated to them I don't write negative reviews but in this case i would in hopes no other solo person or anyone else on a private tour experienced the same. More about this guide under Private Eagle's nest. The name will not be posted, but only initial for protection of the spouse. The initial is "A", paper finally received indicated KAL, and something that was partially erased at top of page AJ or AS Se______was wiped out. This private expensive tour was a great disappointment.
Written 26 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Ms Lynn Rowe, Thank you for the very long and detailed feedbacks you have already sent before to our office. Once again we really tried our best to make this tour a special one. We also replied twice to your comprehensive comments regretting the fact that both tours were not quite what you expected. Yet, please do note, we do not exchange any reimbursements for good reviews. Here our previous reply: Thank you so much for taking your time writing us such detailed feedback. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Addressing our guide with your issue and thoughts about the running of the tours, we must admit he was surprised about your feedback. According to the guide, he even received a thank you letter after tours. We try to our best to reply to some aspects, as we generally receive good reviews about him. He also is rather unhappy and very apologetic if you were unhappy after all as he really tried his best to make this tour special for you. He admits that he maybe did not listen too carefully and therefore was overwhelming you in assisting you. According to the GPS tracking running of the tour was as requested. Please note, we try to be more flexible with private tours, therefore as it is the same direction as to the Eagles Nest in makes more sense to combine this – to avoid detours. The signing of the service order is just for our records and also information for the guide as it states special interests – for example – that you would like to see Ebensee as well Most sights of the film locations are privately owned and this fact we must respect – therefore we see them only from the outside as a photo stop – the only exception the wedding chapel in Mondsee. Once again we really appreciate your detailed feedback and some issue we will defiantly address in our next team meeting We do hope to get another chance of welcoming you onboard Best regards, Salzurg Panroama Tours, Customer care
Written 30 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

rlgreenindiana
Batesville, IN52 contributions
It was ok; have been before with better experience
Sep 2019
Our guide was very nice and had good English. We had a private bus with 10 people for 1/2 day tour. Very expensive. About $1100 Euro, so I expected a great experience. They were on time for the pickup. Its a long day, would have thought maybe they would have had water and/or light snack on board. But nothing. The guide seemed to be determined to do her usual thing without adjusting it to our group. The drive is winding roads, very beautiful. But we were in a van, and the driver went very fast, taking turns fast etc and we had a couple people car sick. The guide seemed to not be concerned and continued her prepared speech that she's probably done many many times. It was a rainy day, which is unfortunate. We have been before when it was beautiful and sunny about 4 years ago. It had been one of my all time favorite, beauitiful, serene places I had ever been. Since that time, Hallstatt has been taken over by huge tour buses of people coming in. It lost its luster for me due to this. Once we unloaded, we needed toilet break; again, long lines and they charge for toilet which we were not informed about, so we were all trying to come up with coin for this. Our guide took us on her predetermined route even after we asked to go to different spot for a view we had done last time. She only left us with about an hour and to explore on our own and shop. We had to ask her to let us go on our own. As we were leaving, there were miles and miles of busses and traffic trying to come in. Our guide estimated it would take them a couple hours sitting in traffic before they would be able to unload. We luckily left earlier in the day so made it out before the crowds got any worse than they already were. So I probably would have given it 3 1/2 stars if allowed. I felt that for an expensive private tour that it would have been more tailored to our wants and some amenities would have been provided.
Written 14 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bagpackersss
Barcelona, Spain155 contributions
Overpriced but they offer a good service!
Jul 2018 • Couples
We booked a 5 hour tour to Hallsttat and it cost us 59 euros per person, and that only includes the 1 hour and a half ride with the bus and the tour guide explains you the history of Salzburg, Hallsttat etc, so that was nice!
You get to enjoy 2 hours and a half on your own in this amazing fairy tale village.

I think is overpriced but at the same time the attention provided was excellent, and Hallsttat is COMPLETELY worth it!
Written 22 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

packmanjr
Houston, TX68 contributions
Hallstatt Private Tour 1/2 Day
Jun 2018 • Family
We did a 1/2 day private tour to Hallstatt. Gunther was our driver and he was a pleasure to be with for the tour. The drive to Hallstatt was awesome! Gunther pulled over a couple of times so we could get pics with the beautiful scenery and gave us good information during the drive to and from Salzburg. Definitely recommend Gunther and the Hallstatt private tour. We tried to add on an extra hour but Gunther was already booked in the afternoon with another tour. Take the early 1/2 day tour to Hallstatt as it was getting busy with other tourists as we were leaving.
Written 29 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DoctorB-dub
Rio de Janeiro, RJ40 contributions
Hallstatt & The Sound of Music! WOW!
Jun 2018 • Family
We had a quick trip to Salzburg and arranged a private tour. Anne Marie was our guide and she was fantastic! We visited the Sound of Music sites and then travelled through the countryside to Hallstatt. What an incredible day! Highly recommend.
Written 23 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Panorama Tours
anniec555
anniec555
00
It is too rushed and short! DO NOT RECOMMEND!
We went with this tour because of the ease of travel from Salzburg to Hallstatt. The tour left at noon and by the t
lisasS9723AN
lisasS9723AN
00
...and it’s a singalong!
Fantastic combination of movie insider information, interactive singalong, and beautiful views of Salzburg and surr
tyw2019
tyw2019
00
Sound of Music Tour Nov 20, 2021 2PM
First, I have never watched the film, although we sang the songs in grade school. However, this does not detract f
EShealy
EShealy
00
Great tour and tour guide
Really enjoyed this tour on a recent trip to Salzburg. It is a very tourist-y thing to do but definitely worth it!
Taylorcolson
Taylorcolson
00
Interesting and thorough!
Our tour was one of the best! We had Elenka, and enjoyed her thorough explanation of Hallstatt and the surrounding
Taylorcolson
Taylorcolson
00
A fantastic time!
Absolutely enjoyed our tour! We had Antonio as our guide and we had us laughing and engaged the whole way. Learning
emilycdillon
emilycdillon
00
Lots of fun
Loved the tour! Great fun, lots of different locations and clips of the film in the coach. Plenty of time at each p
Knummef
Knummef
00
Overpriced and Lackluster
Guide was low energy and lackluster. Sites were seen…but that’s all. Lots of pointing out the the window…few quick
RJSquidly
RJSquidly
00
Beautiful drive to a beautiful village
An amazing drive to a truly stunning village. I’ve never been any place like it. You actually only end up getting
RJSquidly
RJSquidly
00
Fun tour. Great tour guide. Amazing locations.
My only complaint is that there were some movie locations I really thought we were going to get a closer look at th
JuJuH79
JuJuH79
00
Fun tour
We really enjoyed this tour. There were several stops within Salzburg where the guide told us lots of information a
serenenyc
serenenyc
00
Wonderful time
Visiting from New York. I had so much fun on this tour. I learned so much from our guide David and he was really
364izzieh
364izzieh
00
So great!
Thankyou so so much to David for doing the best tour!!! Loved every second, so informative, he was so enthusiastic,
Linda P
Linda P
00
Panorama OriginalSound of Music Tour
This is the very best bus tour of Sound of Music movie sights. The bus stops at all sights for several minutes so w
bporter63
bporter63
00
A bucket list trip
The "office" is a trailer on the street due to construction - this could be clearer in tye directions. The bus was
Frequently Asked Questions about Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg


Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg price starts from £451.54. Discover and book Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor

Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor

Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg is hosted by Panorama Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Panorama Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Private Tour: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg on Tripadvisor