Tours and Tickets

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights provided by Tromso Arctic Reindeer

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights
4.5
Book in advance
from
£153.77
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Enjoy a special evening of delicious food, and a reindeer sleigh ride
Duration:
4h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
60
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    4h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    60
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
This magical evening tour really has it all—a reindeer ride through the snow, a chance to spot the Northern Lights, and a delicious three-course dinner that includes a traditional Sami stew. Experience the ultimate stress-free evening of Sami culture without any logistics to organize as round-trip transport is included. After a tasty feast and a sleigh ride, round the evening off with songs and storytelling.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Try local cuisine such as Sami stew—a three-course dinner is included
  • See around 300 reindeer up close, and get to chance to feed them
  • On a clear night, you may be able to spot the Northern Lights
What to expect
  • Travel out into the wilderness and walk among 300 reindeer (with the opportunity to feed them too) before enjoying a 15 to 20-minute sleigh ride. Afterwards, enter a candlelit Gamme to enjoy a relaxed three-course meal followed by the sounds of joiking (songs), Sami history and stories. On a clear night, you might be lucky enough to catch the majestic northern lights.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Try local cuisine such as Sami stew—a three-course dinner is included
  • See around 300 reindeer up close, and get to chance to feed them
  • On a clear night, you may be able to spot the Northern Lights
What to expect
  • Travel out into the wilderness and walk among 300 reindeer (with the opportunity to feed them too) before enjoying a 15 to 20-minute sleigh ride. Afterwards, enter a candlelit Gamme to enjoy a relaxed three-course meal followed by the sounds of joiking (songs), Sami history and stories. On a clear night, you might be lucky enough to catch the majestic northern lights.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 29507P8
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Pickup and drop-off at designated meeting points
  • Transportation to camp
  • Guide
  • 15 to 20-minute reindeer sleigh ride
  • Snacks
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Dinner
  • Use of warm overalls
Exclusions
  • Anything not covered in Inclusions
Duration
4h 30m
Departure details
  • Sjøgata 7, 9008 Tromsø, Norway Please meet at the reception area of the Radisson blu hotel. You will see our guides there waiting for you in blue jackets with our Tromsø Arctic Reindeer logo on.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • What to bring or wear: Warm clothes (at least two layers), gloves, hat, and good winter boots
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Vegetarian option available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travellers
Inclusions
  • Pickup and drop-off at designated meeting points
  • Transportation to camp
  • Guide
  • 15 to 20-minute reindeer sleigh ride
  • Snacks
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Dinner
  • Use of warm overalls
Exclusions
  • Anything not covered in Inclusions
Departure details
  • Sjøgata 7, 9008 Tromsø, Norway Please meet at the reception area of the Radisson blu hotel. You will see our guides there waiting for you in blue jackets with our Tromsø Arctic Reindeer logo on.
Duration
4h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • What to bring or wear: Warm clothes (at least two layers), gloves, hat, and good winter boots
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Vegetarian option available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Face masks provided for travellers
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Popular mentions

4.5
26 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
6
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Bethan23
30 contributions
Dec 2021
The tour went very smoothly and was good fun. Everyone involved was very friendly and informative: the tour guide who met us, the bus driver and then the Sami guides at the camp. We saw lots of the reindeer and were each given a bucket of food and could feed them, stroke them and walk around amongst them. We were also told lots of information about them and could ask any questions. The sled ride was also great and was a good length.

Dinner was included and was a salmon salad, delicious reindeer stew and then chocolate cake. There were also plenty of hot drinks. After we'd eaten, we gathered round the fire and were told more about the Sami culture which was really interesting and the guy talking to us (ashamed to say I've forgotten his name) was very good at entertaining the whole group.

The only negatives were it did feel things moved quite slowly at points in order to fill the whole evening. Like sitting around with hot drinks when we'd just arrived. And also although it advertises Northern Lights this isn't really part of it just a possibility because you're away from the city (I know no one can get them to be there on demand but we were inside for a lot of the tour and nobody was trying to see if they were there or anything... not a problem, just a note for inexperienced visitors like us).

Overall, we really enjoyed it and would recommend to other visitors.
Written 4 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you for your lovely and thorough review! 😊 We are so happy to hear you had a good time with us. We are sorry you didn't get to experience the Northern lights during the tour! Our guides do keep an eye on the Northern lights and would let the guests know if they appeared even if guests were inside in the gamme or lavvo. Perhaps they had seen that the probability of the lights wasn't that great that night. We will of course also take your feedback about the slow pace of events during the tour and see if we can improve the tour. Thank you for pointing this out. Hopefully you can return some day and have a full experience with the Northern lights as well 🙏
Written 5 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kitty C
London, UK40 contributions
an Amazing experience with the Sami people
looking after the reindeer herd
keeping they safe and happy and healthy
Johan took us in a magical slide in the nearby land
we only missed the aurora boreal but we had an exiting and excellent Sami dinner
and if you want to know more put this trip in your bucket list ! !
but go in winter with the snow and almost full moon .. the magic is guaranteed!!!
Written 23 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the visit so much. Hopefully next time when you come back you will also catch the Northern Lights. Welcome back anytime!
Written 24 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gian paolo u
13 contributions
Jan 2020
It was heavily snowing so no northern lights but the experience and welcome has been fantastic. Great hospitality and organization.
Written 2 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you for writing a review for us! We are more than happy that you felt welcome and had a good experience at the camp even though it was snowing. You are warmly welcome back and let's hope you would catch the northern lights that time!
Written 8 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John S
1 contribution
Dec 2019
This was an amazing experience. I went twice, the first on Christmas Eve. What better way to spend Christmas Eve than by feeding reindeer, sledding with reindeer, then having the reindeer feed you? While I did not anticipate the experience also being educational, I really enjoyed learning about the Sami and their culture while there. This is a great activity for individuals, couples, and families.
Written 2 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you for your lovely review! It is much appreciated. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at our camp. We always strive to meet the expectations of our guests and these feedbacks make us really happy. It is great that you enjoyed learning about the Sami life and their culture! We are happy that you chose us twice as a place to visit during your trip to Tromsø, and hope to see you again one day! You are warmly welcome back!
Written 8 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michael R
Fairford, UK8 contributions
Mar 2020
What a great experience. From the moment we were welcomed on the coach until we were safely returned the people hosting our visit were all amazing.
The hospitality and entertaining introduction to feeding the reindeer was a great start. The feeding was good fun, the sled ride terrific, the meal, delicious. The follow up talk about the Sami people beside a roaring fire was informative but also helped us get a feel for the good and not so good experiences the people have come through, hopefully now more positive
Written 2 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy to know that you felt warmly welcome from the moment the tour started. Also it is great to hear that you enjoyed our Sami storytelling and the meal, we really appreciate it. We hope you will visit Tromso again, and we will warmly welcome you!
Written 7 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Christian T
7 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
The transfer was good organized, but it was a big group.
The three course menu was more a fake then a good dinner. The sledding trip was only 15 minutes and there was no time to look for northern lights.
We wouldn't book it again.
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thanks for your review. The dinner is mainly a traditional Sami reindeer stew. This is what the sami eat at all major celebrations, especialy weddings and is reindeer meat, vegetables in a brown sauce cooked over the open fire to let the smoky flavors come in. As for the northern lights it appears on the night you joined us they did not show. If they had of been out our guides would have made sure you saw them. We try not to focus on the lights but instead on the reindeer and sami culture but all our team are constantly keeping an eye out when you are eating dinner or listening to stories round the fire and of course we will interupt the program if the northern lights appear. We are definitely not a tourism money maker and we are sorry you felt this way. Please get in contact with us at info@tromsoarcticreindeer.com and we would like the opportunity to make this up to you.
Written 10 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kay and Norm
4 contributions
Feb 2020
Enjoyed the Sami culture part and feeding the reindeers. Bit cold waiting for sleigh ride as large group was split into 3 sleigh trips. Northern lights appeared at the end but coach was waiting so had to rush.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our Sami storytelling and reindeer feeding! We apologize that you had to wait for your sledding. But there is plenty of activities to do before the sledding experience - for example throwing a lasso, enjoying cookies and warm drinks by the fire in lavvo (traditional Sami tent), or having a chat with our Sami guides. It is amazing that you got to see the Northern Lights! You were very lucky to catch it. Thank you for your comments, we will use it for our further improvement to have the best customer experience. Hope to warmly welcome you in Tromso again!
Written 1 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mike G
1 contribution
Feb 2020
After having read some of the excellent reviews, we were left wondering if we were indeed on the same tour. Our advice for anyone looking to book is to think carefully about what else you could purchase for the same money. The reindeer sledding is described as "thrilling" . Our experience is that it is anything but. We were taken for a walk around the field for about 10 - 15 mins. If you are thinking about paying extra for this activity, then don't. You will be disappointed. My 21 month old grandson would have been bored. We were going that slow that It would have been possible to get off of the sled and walk back to the camp faster than the sled. Feeding the reindeer was fun, but no more so that feeding the animals at our local garden centre. Because we were having dinner at the camp we decided not to have dinner at any of Tromso's restaurants or at the hotel. This was a mistake. The starter allegedly, contained salmon. You will never see a smaller portion of salmon. We did not bring a microscope, and so cannot provide 100% verification that there was actually any salmon in the wrap.The bidos was not as expected, and looked and tasted more like a shepherds pie, without the mash, than the traditional stew that was advertised. Do not Goolgle bidos before going on this tour. You will be disappointed if you do. On the plus side, I do actually like shepherds pie, and so still enjoyed the food. The cake desert was good, but very small. I'm not sure why the tour had "chance of northern lights" in the title. There was no mention, and no time allocated to any sky watching activity on the tour. There was a 30 minute talk at the end by a 23 year year old member of the Sami family, but, apart from being dressed in traditional clothing there were no other clues to the authenticity referred to in some of the other reviews we have read about this tour. Overall, we wish we had done some other activity.
Written 8 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R
Sorry to hear that you feel this was not a good experience. As you mentioned we mostly get excellent reviews so most of the time we do get it right but in your case it appears we did not manage to meet your expectations. Your comments are quite simmilar to our only other negative review this season so i guess you were maybe together or at least at the same evening with us. As mentioned in the other review the reindeers go as fast or as slow as they feel. We do of course always have a guide with the sleigh ride and this is for your safety. The food we serve is traditional sami stew called bidus. This is served at all Sami weddings and celebrations. We cook it over the open fire so the smoky flavours combine with the reindeer meat and vegetables. This is the Sami national dish and it is important that we share this with you. We are not sure what shepherds pie is but we are glad you did enjoy it. The sami culture normally lasts around 45 minutes but if you felt this was too short then we take this comment on board but we also have to find the balance between the reindeer feeding, sled ride activity and the culture. Depending of the day or evening you visit the number of sami reinder herders varies. I hope you understand that not all the sami reindeer herders can be there every day and evening. If there had been northern lights we would stop the activities and focus on them. On the night you joined us unfortunately there was no northern lights so that is why it was not included in the program. We do take your points very seriously and we will continue to do all we can to make sure all guests have a 5 star experience. We would also like to offer you a full refund. Our intention is that guests leave with a memorable experience and a better understanding of sami culture. Please send me an email at info@tromsoarcticreindeer.com and we will give you a full refund
Written 11 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisa M
7 contributions
Dec 2019
We were very lucky and got to see an amazing display of Northern Lights after dinner. The reindeer sledding was very peaceful and enjoyable. The reindeer feeding was interesting and you could participate as much or as little as you were comfortable with. The food was good and they have a vegetarian option. Don't expect it to be necessarily enough to be your meal for the evening. The vegetarian option was good but some in our group didn't pre-request and then wanted the vegetarian option resulting in there not being enough for those who had pre-selected vegetarian.
Written 2 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. It was a pleasure having you in our camp. You are lucky to have seen the Northern Lights! We are very sorry to hear that there was not enough of vegetarian option for all of the customers, we will take a note of that and improve our services, so that every customer is satisfied. Hope to see you again at the camp!
Written 3 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rylly
1 contribution
Booked the nightsledding, with dinner & Sami culture evening and chance of Northern Lights.
The reindeer encounter & feeding was scary. Should have skipped that, not the reindeers fault.. animals are animals. The sleighride was exactly 10 minutes. To the second. The group before us went around 11-12 minutes. Which is fine if the information on their website states this. It states 25minutes of sleighride, not even close.
The lady telling us about the Sami culture was enthusiastic, informative and entertaining. Interesting stories and great voice! I'd say skip the "sleighride" & feeding. Do visit the Sami & try their stews:)
Written 28 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Sami Culture and the Traditional Sami Reindeer Stew. Sorry to hear that you found feeding the reindeer scary. All our reindeer are wild but we do of course make sure that everything is done in a safe and controlled manner and there is nothing to be afraid of but we should have done better to recognise that you were not comfortable and provided more support. Having a wild reindeer eat from your hand is an amazing experience once you realise they are a kind and gentle animal. It also appears that the sledding ride was shorter than you expected. I must admit that we don't really time how long we go for and the reindeers tend to decide how fast or slow we go. We are sorry that it was not as long as you expected and we don't want you to feel dissapointed with us so we are more than willing to refund you the price of the reindeer sledding part of the experience. Can you please contact us at info@tromsoarcticreindeer.com so we can process the refund. We are still very happy that you still recommened to visit us even though you gave us a 2 star.
Written 29 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Tromso Arctic Reindeer
Coastal51982880254
Coastal51982880254
00
Nice experience
Very nice experience! The reindeers are very lovely! The Sami culture is very interesting! The staff in the camp ar
NikJMarsh
NikJMarsh
00
Wonderful Experience in Beautiful Setting.
We were a little worried on booking this trip and seeing how popular it was that it would be too touristy. These t
alejog893
alejog893
00
100% recommendation
This was such a beautiful activity. Feeding the reindeers was a lot of fun and if you are gentle, you can even pet
travelingammonite
travelingammonite
00
Absolute gem of an activity
Absolute gem of an activity. The ground was a bit icy, so our guide lent us spikes for our shoes, which made it muc
98ezras
98ezras
00
Nice people, nice animals
Great experience with the reindeer, great cultural seminar. Very nice guides and good customer service. Especially
melissagnb
melissagnb
00
Great experience!
Getting to know the Sàmi people and being around the reindeers was an amazing experience. The guides were ready to
Daniel M
Daniel M
00
Amazing experience
We were very satisfied with all organisation from The start with guide who gave us all information. The experience
Leonidastra86
Leonidastra86
00
An unforgettable evening
The day before we were looking for polar lights in the wildness but without success. So we booked the evening reind
Sbroo93
Sbroo93
00
Magical day out
Relaxed, lots of time with reindeers Great food in nice restaurant Authentic and genuine Sami culture information
popescu_andreea
popescu_andreea
00
Fun and magical time!
We had an amazing experience seeing the reindeers so close, petting and feeding them. The scenery was very beautifu
VeroMS_91
VeroMS_91
00
Wonderful evening plan
I was on that tour the 19th November and I had such a great time! I went alone and immediately I felt engaged with
65cindyv
65cindyv
00
Great experience but not covid safe
Had a great experience feeding the reindeers eating reindeer stew and learning about the Sami culture. My only cr
M7ffib
M7ffib
00
Great experience and the reindeers and learning about Sami culture
Really great experience with the Reindeers and learning about Sami culture. The reindeers are really cute and nice,
Karen F
Karen F
00
A magical experience
Despite the lack of snow and the fact we couldnt do the sledding this was a magical experience for all ages. The r
Laurentiutd
Laurentiutd
00
A heart-warming experience
After living in Norway for some years I finally managed to visit Tromsø and experience the life up here. Seeing th
Frequently Asked Questions about Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights will start at 6:00 PM. Discover and book Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights on Tripadvisor

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights price starts from £154.49. Discover and book Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights on Tripadvisor

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights on Tripadvisor

Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights is hosted by Tromso Arctic Reindeer. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Tromso Arctic Reindeer on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Night Reindeer Sledding with Camp Dinner and Chance of Northern Lights on Tripadvisor