Tours and Tickets

Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin provided by AAT Kings

Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin

Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin
4
Book in advance
from
£179.00
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 6 Jul 2020
A note from Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin
Please bring your own washable face mask and gloves. Should an unexpected situation arise, additional face masks, rubber gloves, antiviral sprays/wipes are available for guest distribution. Group sizes will be continuously reviewed to align with government recommended protocols.
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
About
Kakadu, Australia’s largest national park, sees many visitors opting for a multi-day tour. This tour is ideal for those short on time or on a budget, allowing you to take in the highlights on a day trip from Darwin. Admire the desert museum of Nourlangie Rock, discover Kakadu’s Aboriginal history at the Warradjan Aboriginal Centre, and spot crocodiles on a cruise along the Yellow Water billabong.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 13h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 13h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Guided Kakadu tour leads you right to the enormous national park’s highlights
Visit three top sights in one day—Nourlangie, Yellow Waters, and Warradjan
Close encounters with wild crocodiles under the supervision of an expert guide
Hassle-free: hotel pickup and round-trip transportation from Darwin
What to expect
Your tour begins with an early-morning pickup from your Darwin hotel and an around 2-hour drive to Kakadu aboard an air-conditioned bus. During the journey, listen as your guide tells you about Kakadu National Park, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site spanning an incredible 20,000 square miles (32,180 square kilometers). Hear how the park is famous for both its natural wonders—including its large population of crocodiles and other wildlife—and its cultural heritage, with a long history of occupation by Aboriginal communities. On arrival, the first stop of the day is Nourlangie Rock, a dramatic sandstone monolith nicknamed the “desert museum” for its remarkably preserved examples of ancient Aboriginal rock art. Take a guided scenic walk around the rock, stopping to peek into ancient cave settlements, admire the artworks etched into the cliffside, and learn more about the park’s earliest inhabitants. After a break for a picnic lunch (included), hop aboard a boat for a cruise along the Yellow Water billabong. Take in the unique landscapes of Kakadu as you glide through its wetlands and mangrove swamps. Along the way, look out for native wildlife, most notably the saltwater crocodiles that can often be seen lazing along the banks. The final stop of the day is at the Warradjan Cultural Centre, where you’ll gain an even deeper understanding of Kakadu’s indigenous heritage and the importance of the native lands to the Aboriginal community. Return to the bus for the return journey to Darwin, where your tour ends with drop-off at your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2230D31L
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Super comfortable luxury vehicle including: free wifi, in seat USB and air conditioning • Yellow Waters Cruise • Lunch • Warradjan Aboriginal Cultural Centre • Driver/guide • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Entry/Admission - Kakadu National Park • Entry/Admission - Kakadu National Park
Duration
13h
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Hotel pick-ups commence prior to the tour start time. You will be collected from the hotel you have selected in the drop down list during the booking process. Your hotel pick-up time will be displayed on your voucher. If you wish to change your pick-up location from the one selected, you must call the operator at least 24 hrs prior to travel. If your hotel does not appear on the drop down list, the operator does not pick-up from your hotel. Please phone the operator to arrange an alternate pick-up time and location.
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Inclusions
Super comfortable luxury vehicle including: free wifi, in seat USB and air conditioning • Yellow Waters Cruise • Lunch • Warradjan Aboriginal Cultural Centre • Driver/guide • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Entry/Admission - Kakadu National Park • Entry/Admission - Kakadu National Park
Departure details
Traveller pickup is offered.
Hotel pick-ups commence prior to the tour start time. You will be collected from the hotel you have selected in the drop down list during the booking process. Your hotel pick-up time will be displayed on your voucher. If you wish to change your pick-up location from the one selected, you must call the operator at least 24 hrs prior to travel. If your hotel does not appear on the drop down list, the operator does not pick-up from your hotel. Please phone the operator to arrange an alternate pick-up time and location.
Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
13h
Additional information
Entry to Kakadu National Park is a Government enforced fee and is payable on the day.
Infant are free provided they do not occupy a seat
Children under 18 must be accompanied by an adult
Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark. Driver is unable to assist passengers boarding and disembarking due to insurance regulations
Not wheelchair accessible
Infants must sit on laps
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • Pass by
    Djukbinj National Park
  • 1
    Warradjan Cultural Centre
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Yellow Water (Ngurrungurrudjba) Cruises
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Nourlangie Rock
    Stop: 45 minutes
    See details
+
Popular mentions

4.0
64 reviews
Excellent
30
Very good
17
Average
8
Poor
3
Terrible
6

Graeme L
8 contributions
Other tours better
Jun 2021
I cannot fault the driver/guide or the places we stopped but I think that perhaps Kakadu is overrated compared to other places. All we really saw was the rock/art and the Yellow waters cruise which was excellent, although the third croc cruise we had done. The cultural centre was good as was the stop at the Lodge for lunch but we just thought the Katherine Gorge Tour, that we also did with AAT Kings had a lot more to see. This tour has a lot of driving with few highlights.
I should say that the Yellow waters tour was superb and Dennis (2 n's) was exceptional.
Written 25 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear Graeme L, Thanks very much for taking the time to review our tour, although we are disappointed that there were aspects of the tour you didn't enjoy. Kakadu and Katherine offer two very different experiences for our guests, and the highlights of Kakadu include the Yellow Water and the Rock Art and we are delighted that you enjoyed experiencing both of these despite the distances we cover. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Top End, and thanks for choosing to travel with AAT Kings. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 1 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David H
Ingleburn, Australia27 contributions
Lots to see
Great too see so much of the NT in one day. Great locations and lots of useful information provided. The commentary when in yellow waters was exceptional and explained the aboriginal culture very well.
Written 31 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear 525davidh525, Thanks for your review and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time visiting Kakadu with AAT Kings, and the Yellow Water River Cruise is a spectacular part of the trip. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Top End and thanks for choosing to travel with AAT Kings. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark W
Forresters Beach, Australia15 contributions
Don’t waste your time or money
Long day.. didn’t start well with the bus 50 mins late, needless to say we were rushed nearly all day because of this.

We started at 6.30am ( actually 7.20am by the time the bus arrived) and returned back to the hotel at 8.15pm. I would really thinks twice about forking out over $300 per person to spend most of the day travelling on a bus.. !!

We stopped at Nourlangie rock for 20min - by the time all the people got off and on the bus that was really about 10 mins - absolute waste of time.

Lunch was ok.. the highlight of the day was the cruise - the guide “Dennis - with two N’s” great character and really made it fun but also interesting.

For me if I visited these places again, I would hire a car a drive my self and stay overnight in Kakadu ( probably would cost you nearly the same) and be more enjoyable.

Written 20 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear Z2343VMmarkw, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and we are glad that you enjoyed the Yellow Waters Cruise, but disappointed that there were other aspects of the tour that you didn't. We would like to investigate this further, and if you haven't already done so, could you email guestrelations@ttc.com with your name, booking reference number and date of travel. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 10 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pauline C
1 contribution
If you want to be late book here
May 2021 • Couples
Late pick up, it took over an hour after pickup before we left Darwin. They picked up people for 2 different tours, then took us all to the Mantra on the Esplanade, unloaded us, did another COVID check in, piled us back into our buses, did another head count, people on the wrong bus had to get off and change buses, another head count, finally away he rushed us at every destination reminding us that we're 20 mins late here, 20 mins late there. Driver was distracted. Get organised people. We missed attractions. When we finally were on time, he held us up another 20 minutes because he couldn't remember how many pax went on an additional activity and thought we were waiting for someone else to get on the bus. Did a roll call to finally remember. Had to change buses at Jabiru to come home, that bus driver yelled at one of the passengers from our original tour as he and his elderly parents were late getting onto his bus. When I tried to help, he yelled at me, no apology. He got better after that though. Will never book AATKings again. Had a nice experience with another tour company though on a different trip
Written 19 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear paulinecQ8503SS, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and we are sorry to read there were aspects of the tour that you didn't enjoy, and we would like to investigate this further for you as your feedback is important to us. If you haven't already done so, could you email guestrelations@ttc.com with your name, booking reference number and date of travel. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 10 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BMAM
1 contribution
Don't waste your money!!!!
May 2021
**I have previously emailed this feedback directly to AAT Kings allowing them the opportunity to respond in private, but since following up with them today i've been advised that it will take 6-8 weeks to respond which seems unreasonable**

On Monday 10 May my family (husband + 2 children) along with my parents were passengers on your Kakadu day trip departing Darwin. This was scheduled for our last day in Darwin, and we were all very excited and couldn’t wait to go. Unfortunately, this tour was a disaster from start to finish. To begin with we were advised to be at our collection point (Argus Apartments) at 6.05am, where we then waited for approximately 20 minutes. After our pick up, we then spent almost another hour driving around Darwin picking up passengers and waiting on the side of the road whilst our driver sorted out issues. Once all of the passengers were finally on board we were advised by XXXX our driver (who by this point was in a foul mood) that our itinerary had to change, visits would be cut short and that there was “nothing he could do about it!!!” We were given no explanation for this change! Everything was a problem for XXXX from the get go, and every passenger request was met with a lecture. We were told that the toilets weren’t available due to covid (this makes no sense at all), that we weren’t allowed to close the air vents, we weren’t allowed to have milk based drinks, we weren’t even allowed to talk whilst XXXX was giving us his extremely boring commentary, because if we did he would reprimand passengers. We were lectured about not being late to hop on the bus at our first stop, yet XXXX himself was late.

Everything about this trip was rushed. We had such a short time at the aboriginal rock painting sites, we were told that we weren’t even allowed to walk on any further to see additional paintings. We didn’t even receive any commentary, XXXX lectured us about it on the bus leading up to the stop as we “wouldn’t have time once we were there”. After we left this stop we had to travel to lunch where our visit was again cut down to 40 mins, but again we were lectured about how there was nothing he could do about that. We were then rushed to the spot for the yellow water cruise, where we sat in the bus for 15 mins waiting to park – why all the rush? Once on board this cruise it was lovely, and the guide Ella was the one highlight of this tour. On the way home we had a 15 minute stop at the cultural centre, with no commentary or guide. Hardly what we expected for the $1200+ I’d paid in tickets.

Overall this tour was a huge disappointment. Nothing at all felt authentic, and our driver was rude beyond belief. Earlier in the day he advised that the toilets would be unlocked and available for emergency use only, yet when my young daughter was busting and couldn’t hold any longer just as we entered Darwin we found the toilets to be locked. When asking for the key, XXXX initially refused asking if she ‘really even needed to go’ before finally handing it over in a huff. This appalling behaviour was noticed by a lot of passengers. To say we couldn’t wait to get off was an understatement.

We are heartbroken that this was how our last day in Darwin ended up, and that we spent so much of our spending money on what was a huge disappointment!!!! What was meant to be a wonderful day sightseeing and learning turned out to be a day of rushed stops and ongoing lectures from a driver who clearly needs to hang up his keys!!!

I am doing you the courtesy of allowing you to respond privately rather than posting this publicly on Trip Advisor as per your text message asking for a review.
Written 13 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Hello L8855NRamberm We're so sorry you've been given incorrect information about our response times. As we do have to look into these matters properly, it can take a couple of weeks to respond as the relevant crew are often away from base and hard to contact. We did respond to your private email but we haven't heard back yet. Could you perhaps check your spam folders? If you can't find anything from us just drop us a line at guestrelations@ttc.com and we'll happily resend it. Kind regards AAT Kings Guest Relations
Written 10 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Glenn N Colleen R
1 contribution
Terrible
May 2021 • Couples
Sad to say the worst tour we have done.Tour guide gave confusing instructions, so over 50 people got off the bus at places not sure what to do. And then we were made to sit on the bus for 50 minutes waiting for people that took the scenic flight
Written 10 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear Glennncolleenr, Thank you for your review, although it is very disappointing to learn about your recent experience with us. If you wish to talk about this in further detail then we would be happy to liaise with you by contacting internationalsales@aatkings.com.au. If you could provide us with your name, booking reference number and date of travel. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 26 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete C
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
Had a great day
Apr 2021 • Solo
Had a very enjoyable day on this tour. Our tour guide was named Youngy, & although it was a long drive to Kakadu, he kept everyone entertained with his knowledge of the area & sense of humour. The rock art at Kakadu was very interesting, & the boat ride was very enjoyable. The basic buffet lunch was nice too
Written 8 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Hello petecP5188BU, Thanks very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and although it is a long distance it is definitely worth seeing the rock art, and experiencing the wildlife in Kakadu National Park. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Top End. Thanks, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 10 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simone J
9 contributions
Kakadu day trip
Apr 2021 • Couples
This was a great day trip with AAT King visiting the Kakadu National Park, The Aboriginal rock art paintings and the Yellow River. A very educational tour and beautiful sights and surroundings to take in. We also did the scenic flight over the park taking in the two waterfalls that can only be seen by air.
Deb was our tour guide and she looked after us all extremely well during the day. Lots of fun had by all. Don’t be put off by the travel times, there are plenty of stretch leg times and bathroom breaks.
Thank you for driving safely and a fantastic day.
Written 23 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AATKings_Sales_Team
Dear 176simonej, Thanks for your review of our Kakadu Trip, and we agree that the Aboriginal Rock art and the trip down the Yellow River is just exceptional. At AAT Kings we pride ourselves on our Guides, and we are happy that you enjoyed touring with Debs. She really does love what she does and sharing the Top End with our guests. Thanks for the tips as well for other travellers, and we hope to see you on board again soon, The Team at AAT Kings
Written 26 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christophor J
Greensborough, Australia6 contributions
Disapointed
Jan 2021
If you like seeing Highways and short stops then this tour is for you. I left feeling like I never saw Kakadu. The yellow waters cruise was wonderful and seeing the Aboriginal rock art but basicly thats all you get to do ! Lunch was below standard buffet covered in flys . The tour also never included all stops advertised like the Warradjan Cultural Centre which is cloesed down. Big waste of money tours to Lichifeld National Park are much better value and in my oppinion a mch better use of time, If going to Kakadu I would recomend doing a 2 day tour instead as a day tour will leave you disapointed
Written 23 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Christophor J, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is unfortunate to hear that you had a disappointing time on or Kakadu National Park tour. We understand that travelling to Kakadu is a big day and we try to create the itinerary so you can still view the amazing aspects of Kakadu within a reasonable timeframe. - unfortunately during your visit the Warradjan Cultural Centre was closed for refurbishment which resulted in more time at the Mercure Crocodile Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will look at what we can do for future touring to make the most out of our Kakadu National Park Day Tour. Many thanks, The team at AAT Kings.
Written 18 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vannessa J
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions
A big day, but worth it
Dec 2020
The driver, Gordon, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour itinerary was great and well organised so those who did not take a flight were not left waiting for our return.
Was a pity there wasn't too much in the way of wildlife on the cruise, but it was still a very relaxing trip
Written 3 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Vannessaj2016, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us in Kakadu National Park and to see such wonderful comments about our Driver Guide Gordon is amazing! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Gordon. We hope to see you in the Top End again! Happy Travels from the team here at AAT Kings.
Written 6 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 61
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: AAT Kings
Wes B
Wes B
00
Amazing scenery and wildlife
An amazing experience. All tour leaders were knowledgeable and professional. They showed us some amazing scenery
Michael775
Michael775
00
Disappointed
So disappointed with this trip. Fortunately we didn’t take the overpriced art experience but still had to fork out
Eine_Wandererin
Eine_Wandererin
00
Informative Cultural Day at the Tiwi Islands
We found this tour very informative about the Tiwi culture and enjoyed hearing directly from the Tiwi guides and lo
Cazbarre13
Cazbarre13
00
Excellent Educational and Adventurous
Wow, what an amazing trip. Our driver Garry had extraordinary knowledge on the regions and the indigenous sites we
jendo1961
jendo1961
00
Tiwi Islands and Kakadu Tours
While lazing about in Darwin we decided to really immerse ourselves in the culture by doing these two amazing tours
Bel662015
Bel662015
00
Great experience
Seeing the crocs in the wild was a great experience. The guides were very entertaining yet at the same time informa
193serenas
193serenas
00
Great overview of Darwin city and key tourist attractions
This is a great half day tour that gives you an overview of the history and key tourist spots around Darwin. Troy,
491pamm
491pamm
00
Cultural Experience
We went on this tour on the 17th June 2021, it was wonderful. Our tour guide Lyndon , was so informative. we learnt
Bridget G
Bridget G
00
Mary River sunset cruise
Fantastic cruise. Beautiful scenery. Incredible part of the world. Knowledgeable and interesting guide. We got to s
robertcZ2914NS
robertcZ2914NS
00
Just fantastic
This tour was excellent. Well organised and driver excellent both in safety and knowledge. His assistance whilst o
robertcZ2914NS
robertcZ2914NS
00
Excellent
Well organised and very well informed driver. All facilities we were taken to was as explained. Lunch was well re
KawanaTravellers
KawanaTravellers
00
A six hour tour, five of which was spent on the bus
Once you finally get to the spectacular crocodile jumping boat it is absolutely wonderful. However the two hours on
Coltonvic
Coltonvic
00
Spectacular Katherine Gorge but a very long day
This is a must do, but be prepared for a very long day. We boarded the bus t 6am and didnt get back until after 9pm
Bunbury33
Bunbury33
00
Dreadful 1 day Kakadu Tour
Coach was late picking us up. Trip across Darwin then transferred to another, totally full coach. As a couple, we c
17jennag
17jennag
00
A stunning introduction to Kakadu
This is a brilliant way to see Kakadu if you're not in the market to drive yourself. Our driver/guide Deb was aweso
Frequently Asked Questions about Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin

Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin will start at 6:30 AM. Discover and book Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin on Tripadvisor


Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin price starts from £179.40. Discover and book Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin on Tripadvisor

Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour from Darwin on Tripadvisor