We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • Electronic Voucher Accepted
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Itinerary
At Marina Pier in Glenelg, just 6 miles (10 km) south of Adelaide, hop aboard your catamaran for your dolphin-watching cruise on Holdfast Bay. (One easy way to get to Glenelg is by tram, a 20-minute ride that operates regularly from the city.)

As you depart the marina and set off across the water, watch for the wild dolphins who love to swim around the boat. Thousands of dolphins call Holdfast Bay home, so you are extremely likely to see them. If you select the swimming upgrade when booking, you’ll spend up to one hour in the water with different dolphin pods. A wetsuit, snorkel and mask are provided so you can dip under the water to watch them swim and play.

Your cruise ends with return to the marina in Glenelg.
Locations visited
Temptation Sailing
Overview
Look for dolphins off the coast of Adelaide on a dolphin-spotting cruise from Glenelg, a seaside town just south of the city. As you glide across Holdfast Bay by catamaran, keep your eyes peeled for some of the thousands of dolphins who live in these waters. To enhance your encounter with these lovable creatures, upgrade your tour to include a dolphin-swimming experience from the boat.
Highlights
  • 3.5-hour dolphin cruise from Glenelg
  • Spot wild dolphins in Holdfast Bay
  • Upgrade to swim and interact with the dolphins
  • Onboard commentary and safety briefing included
  • Wetsuit, snorkel, mask and other equipment provided
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
55
17
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
17
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemptation sailingwild dolphinspod of dolphinssaw dolphinswet suitsamazing experiencetheir natural habitatcrew membersgreat boatcouple of weeksmeeting pointhighly recommend this tripgroup of friendspodsdeckglenelgvisibility
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018
Thanks

We would like to say thank you for a great trip with the dolphins. We saw so many dolphins and braved the water for the swim, which, even though was a little challenging, was so much fun. The crew were all very helpful and informative....More

1  Thank Sandra B
Reviewed 16 April 2018
needs to improve

I went on the Temptation “swim with the dolphins” cruise on the morning of Tuesday 10th April 2018 in Adelaide. Unfortunately it was not the pleasant experience that I had expected. I had little contact with the crew but my impression was that the two...More

4  Thank lizziegilbert2018
Stephen W, Owner at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Lizzie my name is Stephen and I was the captain on this cruise. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dolphin experience. The safety of our passengers and in particular our swimmers are our number one priority. Temptation is a surveyed...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018
Great experience

When we first got in the water the weather was slightly overcast so the visibility close to shore wasn't so great, So we had to head further out to deeper waters where we encountered common dolphin (something I have never seen). We saw several dolphin...More

Thank Richard G
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

HI Richard, thank you for your kind review. It is a pity the water clarity was not better on the day you went but glad you enjoyed your swimming. We also thoroughly enjoy seeing the Common Dolphins they are always keen on interacting with our...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile
Plenty of dolphins be patient!

If you find the meeting point you’ve done well! It’s a pain as they are not allowed to put signage up so it’s hidden. However, I have enclosed some pics of a restaurant opposite look this up and you’ll find the meeting place opposite. Outside...More

Thank LukeMcGibney
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Luke, thank you for your review and understanding of our wild dolphin cruise and we are thrilled you enjoyed your dolphin experience, including being bumped by one.

Reviewed 13 March 2018
Saw lots of Dolphins

I booked this trip through my Hostel. I opted for the non swim option as I had heard that you have to hold onto a rope and the boat is still moving and I am not great at being in the sea, therefore chose to...More

1  Thank Amy B
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Amy , thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your wild dolphin experience.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Travellers Also Viewed
Frequently bought together
Barossa Valley Full-Day Tour from...
35 Reviews
from US$84.90*
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from...
231 Reviews
from US$218.60*
Small-Group Adelaide Central Market...
12 Reviews
from US$62.80*
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from...
231 Reviews
from US$218.60*
Barossa Valley Wineries Tour with...
93 Reviews
from US$102.60*
Barossa Valley with Hahndorf Tour...
301 Reviews
from US$105.60*
McLaren Vale Winery Small Group Tour...
70 Reviews
from US$129.20*