Tours and Tickets

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari provided by Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari
5
Book in advance
from
£80.81
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
2h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    2h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    20
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
2 Hour Swim nearby Dolphin / Seal & Coastal Snorkeling Safari departs from Christmas Cove Marina, Penneshaw. Have the opportunity to swim nearby wild dolphins or seals and snorkel some of KI’s beautiful coastline. It's a great wildlife watching tour! We provide wetsuits, mask, towels, snorkel, and fins. Arrive at Christmas Cove Marina in Penneshaw 30 minutes prior to departure. You will be fitted into the appropriately sized wetsuit, mask, snorkel, and flippers as well as be provided with a safety brief. Then jump on board our 12 seater vessel in search of the marine life that inhabits the stunning coastline. Seals often become very active which provides a unique snorkeling experience. KI Ocean Safari is the only operator in South Australia that provides the opportunity to swim nearby the Long-Nosed Seals. Also, have the opportunity to swim alongside dolphins in the wild. The guide will also provide an informative commentary along the way.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Have the opportunity to snorkel with dolphins / seals in the wild. Travel magnificent ancient coastline in the comfort of a 12 seater vessel and snorkel some of the most pristine waters in the world. Arrive 30 minutes prior to departure at the Visitor Information Centre in Penneshaw where you will be fitted into wetsuits, mask, fins and provided with a safety brief. Then head on the water for 2 hours exploring the magnificent Dudley Peninsula and the wildlife that inhabit. The wildlife is located in different locations along the coast. The coastline is beautiful and the guide provides informative commentary along the way about the local history and the marine life. Please note wildlife interactions change daily, and these are wild animals. All encounters are on their terms.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Have the opportunity to snorkel with dolphins / seals in the wild. Travel magnificent ancient coastline in the comfort of a 12 seater vessel and snorkel some of the most pristine waters in the world. Arrive 30 minutes prior to departure at the Visitor Information Centre in Penneshaw where you will be fitted into wetsuits, mask, fins and provided with a safety brief. Then head on the water for 2 hours exploring the magnificent Dudley Peninsula and the wildlife that inhabit. The wildlife is located in different locations along the coast. The coastline is beautiful and the guide provides informative commentary along the way about the local history and the marine life. Please note wildlife interactions change daily, and these are wild animals. All encounters are on their terms.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 55642P2
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Wetsuits
  • Life Jackets
  • Jackets
  • Sunscreen
  • Informative commentary
Exclusions
  • Food
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • 43 Howard Dr, Penneshaw SA 5222, Australia MUST ARRIVE 30 MINUTES PRIOR - Meet at the Visitor Information Centre in Penneshaw (opposite Christmas Cove Marina) - There are change rooms at the Visitor Information Centre to be fitted into wetsuits.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Recommended children be over the age of 8 years old to participate in swimming activity.
  • Not recommended for those with a pacemaker
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Not suitable for those who are pregnant (can be on vessel but not in water)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Wetsuits
  • Life Jackets
  • Jackets
  • Sunscreen
  • Informative commentary
Exclusions
  • Food
Departure details
  • 43 Howard Dr, Penneshaw SA 5222, Australia MUST ARRIVE 30 MINUTES PRIOR - Meet at the Visitor Information Centre in Penneshaw (opposite Christmas Cove Marina) - There are change rooms at the Visitor Information Centre to be fitted into wetsuits.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Recommended children be over the age of 8 years old to participate in swimming activity.
  • Not recommended for those with a pacemaker
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Not suitable for those who are pregnant (can be on vessel but not in water)
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Popular mentions

5.0
104 reviews
Excellent
89
Very good
10
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Matt D
2 contributions
Jan 2022 • Solo
Excellent experience which gets you up and close to a variety of sea animals. Seeing the dolphins up very close was cool and the snorkelling was also a great experience. The guides were super friendly, passionate and very knowledgeable which made the experience even better. Definitely worthwhile doing!
Written 18 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RDaquino
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions
What a fabulous experience, we got to see a pod of dolphins in and out of the water. Also then snorkelled to see amazing fish and Marine life.

Staff were amazing with kids.
Written 12 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joanne S
1 contribution
Jan 2022 • Couples
Such a fun experience, will not disappoint. Staff really go the extra mile to make the tour an unforgettable experience.
Written 2 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SpazzJohnson
Adelaide, Australia10 contributions
Supposed to be swim with Dolphins/seals (per all the marketing with "snorkelling" - as a secondary concept) and although we saw some dolphins literally 50m from the ferry terminal, we spent the majority of the time snorkelling in a very average place barely 1km from Penneshaw NOT really a 'safari' per the marketing material - you could literally do the same average snorkelling anywhere on the coast of South Australia..... A lot cheaper!. Should've been looking for seals or dolphins so we could swim with them instead of snorkelling... They made a half arsed attempt to find some dolphins about 500m from the boat ramp then shrugged shoulders and said 'oh well, sorry'. Cost $390 for 2adults and a child. WASTE OF MONEY.
Written 1 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please note we really do care about your experience and are very disappointed you did not enjoy the tour. We had a very challenging week with the wildlife for a week during the Christmas break. This is something that is out of our control and wildlife is not something we can have perform on cue. This is an outdoor snorkeling experience with wild animals, and the animals set the terms and conditions. We do take guests to a beautiful remote location that is inaccessible by land to snorkel, so I am disappointed you did not enjoy this. If you had spoken to us after your tour, we would have been more than happy to put you on tour again. Our terms and conditions also state that if you don't get in the water or have a good interaction from the vessel with the wildlife then you are refunded back to the viewing price. We would honestly never want you to feel like this was a waste of money. We are a family business that go out of our way to ensure you are provided the best possible service and I am sincerely sorry you don't feel this occurred.
Written 4 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lachlan M
1 contribution
Dec 2021 • Couples
Booked this in a couple of days in advance. When we got on the boat they said there would be no chance that we would be swimming with the dolphins due to the wind. It is very frustrating that we were not told this before hand and given the chance to change or cancel our tour as it was definitely not worth $150 to not swim with the dolphins. We were given the chance to snorkel in a cove but we could have done that for $20.
Written 29 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIOcean
Hi Lachlan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your input. I understand you were booked on a day when light south easterly winds were forecasted which are generally perfect conditions. Unfortunately when you were on tour the wind picked up significantly and the dolphins moved to the location where the water was choppy and visibility poor. The skipper advised that it was not safe to put you in the water under those conditions however you did have a great view and interaction with the dolphins from the vessel and then enjoyed coastal snorkelling in a beautiful calm coastal location. As per terms and conditions if you are unable to get in the water with the wildlife a refund is provided back to the viewing price. I do wish you had phoned us after your tour to review your experience as we are more than accommodating to discuss your options post tour. We never want guests to feel dissatisfied as we do really care about your experience. Unfortunately however we cannot control where the wildlife chooses to place themselves and the weather conditions which are not forecasted. We also will not put your safety at risk at anytime and the conditions were not safe for swimming where the dolphins were located on your particular tour, which of course was shame. The skipper hoped the dolphins were going to move into the calmer waters before the tour ended to provide another opportunity however they did not move. Safety always comes first on our tours. I welcome your phone call to chat about this further and do sincerely hope you enjoyed your Kangaroo Island holiday. Kind regards KI OCEAN SAFARI
Written 29 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ken O
4 contributions
Dec 2021 • Family
Swimming with dolphins,lifetime experience you just have to do it urself The guide new where and put everything into perspective, very detailed 👌
Written 22 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andrew Evans
Brisbane, Australia4 contributions
We were so looking forward to this adventure but unfortunately Mother Nature had other ideas. We only had the opportunity to snorkel under a pier with not a lot happening. The sea was rough my friends and neither seal or dolphin was around. The crew was excellent in their duties and enthusiastic to entertain. The team offered refunds and free safari in coming days but unfortunately we are heading home. I can’t fault them for their efforts when dealing with the elements. Missed opportunity for us but don’t let it be one for you
Written 20 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brenton Burton
Kingscote, Australia1 contribution
Nov 2021
Both Brenton and myself loved the experience up close with the dolphins and the seals. The tour guide was amazing explained everything you needed to know. We would highly recommend it.
Written 30 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laura V
Newcastle, Australia12 contributions
Nov 2021
What a great experience! The team worked hard to show us the sights while we waited for the dolphins to arrive and then when they did, the team made sure we had the best possible experience in the water with the pod. They made sure to fit in as much activity as possible during our time on the tour.
Written 23 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David and Lynel... W
Noarlunga Centre, Australia4 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
I was worried about the cold water... but it wasn't as freezing as I expected, and definitely worth it! Watching dolphins cruise by under the water helps take your mind off the temperature, and the wetsuits are also very helpful. Riding in the boat is fun by itself, but the opportunity to see wildlife from the water is just magic - even if the baby seal didn't want to come play with us, I enjoyed getting to watch it snoozing on a rock from water-level.

Thank you for a memorable trip, it was definitely a highlight for us (and I REALLY enjoyed the hot shower when I got back to my hotel 😉).

As another reviewer mentioned - when swimming with the dolphins, the tour uses a long line pulled behind the boat. You hold on to the rope and look down in the water to see dolphins swimming underneath. If you are a smaller person it might be helpful to jump out first so you can hold the end of the rope. Often people push down on the rope while keeping their heads above water, and if there's someone bigger/taller either side of you it can be hard to keep a grip on the rope - I found it was pushed down further than I could easily reach while floating on the surface. The solution for me was to move so I was holding on closer to one of the buoys attached to the rope and had a little more space between myself and the person in front.
Written 15 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 100
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari
150charlieo
150charlieo
00
Great day out
My partner and I very much enjoyed the activity as we were able to see Dolphins and sea lions in the ocean and alon
JasonR3114
JasonR3114
00
A Great Boating Tour.
We really enjoyed the trip in the modern boat used for the tour. The viewing of the wildlife and the scenery along
Mobile16669360371
Mobile16669360371
00
Dolphins did not disappoint
Great tour & fun boat ride …the dolphins did not disappoint :-) …tour guide didn’t overload us with info/endless ta
139drud
139drud
00
Great trip, lots of dolphins
Our Ocean Safari exceeded expectations. We saw lots of dolphins which were happily swimming around and near the boa
AlEbadi7
AlEbadi7
00
Absolutely amazing
It was an incredible experience and one that I will remember for a long time. Driving around in the boat was very e
ashleymZ961EW
ashleymZ961EW
00
Beautiful experience
The hosts were great! They made everyone on board feel very welcome, comfortable and safe! We had the added bonus o
Y2261LWkatiem
Y2261LWkatiem
00
Highly Recommended
The crew were the best! Informative and liked a laughed. Just cruising on the water was great. Saw heaps of dolphin
19elainez
19elainez
00
Dolphins galore
We really enjoyed our time with Ocean Safari. The crew were professional and courteous. They were very friendly, bu
Clairesara
Clairesara
00
One of our favourite experiences on KI. Well worth it!
We had such an amazing time on our adventure with Elijah. We loved hearing about KI from a local's perspective and
Paul A
Paul A
00
Marvellous experience
The dolphins were something else, beautiful green water and Elijah was a treat! There were only a couple of seals
Wander753536
Wander753536
00
Definitely worth it!
Such a fantastic experience on Friday December 3rd at 9am Lucky enough to encounter dolphins close up , good view o
Eddy V
Eddy V
00
Expensive boat trip
No signs to indicate where to park or meet the boat. Boat and staff could not be faulted. Advised on boarding seals
Aussielibs
Aussielibs
00
The greatest day ever
We had so much fun on the safari. We saw all the wildlife we wanted to see and more, it was so amazing when the do
Cheryl D
Cheryl D
00
Amazing experience
Magical experience swimming with the dolphins. Crew were fantastic and knowledgeable highly recommend
danhD7397IH
danhD7397IH
00
Best dolphin cruze ever
The best part was cing how excited my 5yr old twins were and they can't stop talking about how it was the best boat
Frequently Asked Questions about Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari will start at 12:00 PM. Discover and book Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari on Tripadvisor

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari price starts from £81.17. Discover and book Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari on Tripadvisor

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari on Tripadvisor

Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari is hosted by Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Kangaroo Island Ocean Safari - Snorkeling Safari on Tripadvisor