Tours and Tickets

Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus provided by kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus

LIKELY TO SELL OUT

Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus

Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus
5
Book in advance
from
£35.33
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 9 Jul 2020
A note from Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus
What you can do: Please observe directions from staff at all times. If you are feeling unwell, please do not board the bus. Clean your hands before and after you travel. Avoid touching surfaces inside the bus whenever you can. Do not consume food and drinks on board the bus.
What you can expect during your visit
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4-48 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4-48 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 106463P2
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
48-hour Red Decker Hop-On Hop-Off City Loop Ticket • kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Pass, valid all day (English commentary) • A complimentary copy of Red Decker's The Official Sightseeing Guide to Hobart • Complimentary Wellington Park bushwalking map • Air-conditioned vehicle • WiFi on board
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Entrance fees • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Duration
4–48 hours
Departure details
4 Elizabeth St, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia The bus stop is located opposite the Tasmanian Travel and Information Centre (outside Hydro Tasmania building).
Brooke Street Pier, 12 Franklin Whrf, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia Outside Brooke Street Pier on Hobart's waterfront.
Inclusions
48-hour Red Decker Hop-On Hop-Off City Loop Ticket • kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Pass, valid all day (English commentary) • A complimentary copy of Red Decker's The Official Sightseeing Guide to Hobart • Complimentary Wellington Park bushwalking map • Air-conditioned vehicle • WiFi on board
Exclusions
Food and drinks • Entrance fees • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Departure details
4 Elizabeth St, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia The bus stop is located opposite the Tasmanian Travel and Information Centre (outside Hydro Tasmania building).
Brooke Street Pier, 12 Franklin Whrf, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia Outside Brooke Street Pier on Hobart's waterfront.
Duration
4–48 hours
Return details
Brooke Street Pier, 12 Franklin Whrf, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia Outside Brooke Street Pier on Hobart's waterfront.
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Most travellers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 27 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    4 Elizabeth St
    4 Elizabeth St, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia
    The bus stop is located opposite the Tasmanian Travel and Information Centre (outside Hydro Tasmania building).
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Fern Tree Playground
    The Springs Wellington Park
    Organ Pipes Circuit Trail
  • 1
    Mount Wellington
    Stop: 30 minutes
    kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour: Travel to the summit of kunanyi/Mt Wellington, 1270 metres above Hobart. Here you'll have 30 minutes to take in the spectacular views over Hobart and the east coast, and to the west, looking over the World Heritage Area of Southern Tasmania. • The summit of kunanyi/Mt Wellington features a sheltered observation area with interpretive signage, multiple lookouts and toilets, including disabled access toilets. • Take the Zig Zag Track across the plateau to a lookout (20-min return), taking in spanning views of Tasmania’s alpine environment. A short, easy walk. • Take a short, difficult walk downhill on the steep stepped Zig Zag Track and Pinnacle Track to The Springs (1.5-hr one-way). Great views of the Organ Pipes and Hobart and the River Derwent below. Hop-on a later bus at The Springs to return to Hobart. Hop-on and hop-off the kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus to explore a variety of short alpine walks and mountain bike trails on the mountain. Bus stops include Fern Tree Park, The Springs, The Chalet and Big Bend.
    Read more
    Pass by
    Brooke Street Pier
    Salamanca Market
    Wrest Point Casino
    Cascade Brewery
    Cascades Female Factory Historic Site
    Village Cinemas
    Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
    MARITIME MUSEUM OF TASMANIA
    Hobart Convict Penitentiary
    The Hobart Aquatic Centre
    Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens
  • You'll end at
    Brooke Street Pier
    12 Franklin Whrf, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia
    Outside Brooke Street Pier on Hobart's waterfront.
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

5.0
30 reviews
Excellent
29
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Ellery
3 contributions
Incredible Local Knowledge
Jul 2021
I booked a return ticket on the Explorer bus in order to access the hiking trails around Mt Wellington and the trip exceeded my expectations dramatically!

I was expecting a typical bus service, pick-ups and drop-offs at the designated stops. This the shuttle definitely did do, but it was also so much more.

Greg, the driver, was incredibly knowledgeable about a huge number of local landmarks - his guided tour ranged from historic events to the typical vegetation and current goings on. He paused for at particularly scenic spots in order to tell us more about them and allow for phenomenal pictures. He also dispensed unique advice to travellers disembarking about what was best to see and do in the areas they were headed.

In particular, Greg gave me fantastic advice about which trails were open and worth a look. I had a number of enjoyable hours seeing a much larger portion of the mountain than I anticipated in a very efficient manner before meeting him at the top and riding down again.

11/10 would recommend to anyone, providing your bus driver is Greg. Friendly and approachable; what a champ.

The shuttle also operates when the road is closed due to ice, so it's a fantastic way to get up the mountain if you wouldn't be able to in some weather conditions.
Written 18 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Ellery, thank you so much for taking the time to write this comprehensive review and your glowing comments for your driver and guide Greg. It’s fantastic to hear that you had an excellent experience while using our kunanyi/Mt Wellington bus service. It is also wonderful to know that with Greg’s expert advice you were able to explore more of the walking trails on the mountain than you had originally planned. That’s the benefit of taking a tour with an experienced guide! Thank you so much for your recommendations. We hope your able to join us again for another trip up the mountain. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 25 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Samtrepid
51 contributions
The only way to travel up to Mt Wellington
The best way to get up to the Pinnacle. John, our tour guide was extremely engaging and informative, especially with all the commentary during the tour.
The drive both up and down was comfortable. It was a cold day, so we got to spend the right amount of time to look around. I would highly recommend this tour. You will not be disappointed especially with the stunning views from the top!
Written 11 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Samtrepid, thank you so much for your glowing review of your kunanyi/Mt Wellington tour with extra praise for your driver and guide John. I’m so pleased that you recommend our tour as the best way to travel to the summit of kunanyi/Mt Wellington. It sure is a stunning place to visit and without having to drive yourself you can really take it all in. Thanks again and I hope you’ve had a wonderful holiday in Tassie. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 18 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liv E
1 contribution
Worthwhile!
Jul 2021 • Couples
Very good! Easy to access on the main road of Hobart. Christian our instructor was very knowledgeable, and made the experience laid back and fun. Really enjoyed our trip!
Written 8 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Liv E, thanks so much for your review. I’m so pleased you had a great time on tour with your driver and guide Christian. He always ensures his passengers have the most enjoyable experience. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope you’ve had a lovely holiday in Hobart. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 18 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sarah b
3 contributions
Mountain to ourselves
A clear morning so the best for views but therefore cold, -6°c at the summit, so wear everything. The advantage of taking the bus is it can still still reach the top when the road is closed to cars. A fairly interesting commentary. For those large of girth (such as me) seatsbelts were impossible to use and seats are squashy to share. Some confusion over / difference between timetables (what's on website, on stops and verbally given) as a changeover is occurring. The impact for us was hurrying a walk we didn't need to.
Written 7 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear sarah b, thank you so much for your review and feedback. Please be assured that we do take all feedback onboard in an effort to ensure the best possible experience for all of our passengers. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the tour and were so lucky to enjoy the serenity of kunanyi/Mt Wellington without the busyness you might expect on a clear summer’s day. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort onboard the bus and any confusion that was caused regarding bus times. That is correct, we have recently increased our winter departures to 4 times a day (previously 3 times a day) and I’m sorry that all communications were not up to date on the day that you travelled with us. Thanks again for highlighting these issues. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Hobart and hope to see you again. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 12 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ray B
2 contributions
My Wellington bus trip.
Jun 2021 • Family
Fantastic trip up to Mt Wellington. Tony the bus driver was great. Beautiful place. Freezing. But beautiful. Would recommend to anyone
Written 28 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Ray B, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your kunanyi/Mt Wellington experience with your driver guide Tony. Your photo is magnificent too! There’s no denying that it does get cold up the mountain, but we have to agree, it is such a beautiful place to visit. Thanks again for your recommendation. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 11 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Charmaine A
152 contributions
Gorjuz views and tour guides were very informative
These bus tours were fantastic. Value for money and the individual guides had a wealth of knowledge. We hit Mt Wellington to start with and the top was cold, wet, slippery, icy and snowy - everything you'd expect from Tassie in the winter. We were appropriately dressed and it wasn't too bad. Our second day we took the red bus around Hobart. Lovely views, so much history and great weather. Would recommend this group ticket and we would do this tour again.
Written 5 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona G
Hello Charmain A. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent kunanyi/ Mt Wellington and Red Decker city loop combination tour. We really appreciate your tour feedback. Winter is a great time to visit Hobart. The kunanyi/ Mt Wellington Explorer bus is the only tour company authorised to take people past the closed public gate when Pinnacle Road is shut due to snow. We love taking people up as close to the snow as possible so we are pleased that you enjoyed your tour. Thank you also for your fantastic photos! We hope to see you in Hobart again soon. Many thanks. Kind regards, Fiona Gregory Tour Manager.
Written 11 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lachlan R
166 contributions
Amazing experience highly recommended
Great tour. Greg was a great guide and driver. Very knowledgeable, learnt so much and enjoyed the whole trip.
Written 3 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona G
Hello Lochlan R, Thank you for the time you have taken to write your tour review and we appreciate the tour feedback that you have provided. We are pleased that you enjoyed your tours. I will pass on your compliments to our driver operator Greg. He will be equally pleased that you enjoyed your mountain tour with him as your tour guide. Please visit Hobart again soon! We would love to have your onboard one of our tours again in the near future. Many thanks for your fantastic tour review. Kind regards. Fiona Gregory Tour Manager
Written 11 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

phillip m
4 contributions
Amazing tours
May 2021 • Couples
Mt Wellington tour was really great the driver was excellent explained the history of Mt Wellington.Hobart hop-on hop-off bud was great way to export the city.
Written 26 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Naz
1 contribution
Excellent service
Apr 2021 • Couples
It was really good experience!!..The drivers were knowledgeable and really helpful..definately recommend it
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Naz, thank you so much for your review and recommendation. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed our combined kunanyi/Mt Wellington and Hobart hop-on hop-off tour. Thanks again and I hope you had a wonderful holiday in Hobart. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 26 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robbo
Brisbane, Australia12 contributions
2 Great days around Hobart
Mar 2021
One of the best Hobart trips for the week. The driver was a born and bred local with all the local knowledge. The commentary was light hearted and funny.

We then had 2 days of Hobart tripping on and off the Double Decker bus every driver was helpful with the best adivce and local information to suit our needs.

Must do
Written 21 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Robbo, thanks so much for your review of our combined kunanyi/Mt Wellington and Hobart Hop-on Hop-off tour. It’s fantastic to hear that you had such an great time and enjoyed the commentary and local knowledge and advice imparted by each of your drivers. I hope you had a lovely holiday in Hobart. Louise V, kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus.
Written 19 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 30
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus
Curious20785570620
Curious20785570620
00
Thanks Greg
We had the most amazing time, Greg was an amazing driver/ Guide got us there an back safe and sound. The snow was s
Kbas81
Kbas81
00
Fantastic tour and views
What a fantastic tour. Our driver was very informative and engaged well with all passengers, I would highly recomme
USAtraveller020
USAtraveller020
00
Best Way to see Mount Wellington
Great and relaxing. The driver provided great commentry all the way and was so obliging. One of our trip highlights
mjW4004TK
mjW4004TK
00
Great little trip up the mountain.
A brilliant little trip. We were a bit worried it would be to cloudy to see anything but it didn't affect the view.
Lyndonsinoz
Lyndonsinoz
00
A fantastic experience.
The bus driver was very knowledgeable about the Hobart and Mt Wellington areas. His friendly nature and humorous ap
VanessaNorrisPhoto
VanessaNorrisPhoto
00
A great way to see the mountain!
We had a great time on our trip up the mountain! Our tour guide was friendly, entertaining and informative. The kid
FSi111
FSi111
00
Best tour we did all weekend!
This tour was incredible. We only had the afternoon free so wanted a short tour and this was the perfect one. The b
debrahs2020
debrahs2020
00
Excellent
The company was amazing and their tour guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. The bus was immaculate and ve
Shane0237
Shane0237
00
Greta place
Loved the ease of booking this tour online ! Amazing experience and our tour guide was amazing . Can’t remember his
boof1969
boof1969
00
Amazing place to visit
You feel like you are above the clouds here, with amazing views as far as the eye can see. A must visit
Norrie2003
Norrie2003
00
Great Half Day tour
We traveled here on a beautiful though windy day. View was spectacular and the bus driver/guide was very helpful t
Nadine F
Nadine F
00
Mount Wellington one-way
Easy to book online and convenient departure point. We took our bikes to the top of Mount Wellington on the bus for
NiaG1990
NiaG1990
00
Great tour to the top of Mt Wellington
Our tour guide John was fantastic - very informative, great sense of humour and very welcoming. We went up on an o
niinae2013
niinae2013
00
Worth it even on a cloudy day!
Went up on an overcast day, even with no views the tour was fantastic. Informative and local guide was very knowled
Sevin_nej
Sevin_nej
00
Great tour
The best way to see the icons of Mt Wellington in just 2 hours. John the driver explained each part of the journey
Frequently Asked Questions about Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus


Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus price starts from £35.75. Discover and book Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus on Tripadvisor

Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus on Tripadvisor

Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus is hosted by kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact kunanyi/Mt Wellington Explorer Bus on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Kunanyi/Mt Wellington Tour & Hobart Hop-On Hop-Off Bus on Tripadvisor