We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Off the Beaten Track - Glowworm Caving Adventure Tour in Waitomo

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$103.89
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
The top rated, most intimate, and most personalised glow worm cave tour in Waitomo.
Our awesome Waitomo adventure is tucked away “off the beaten track” on our family farm and we LOVE it that way and so do our guests.
Our “Glowing” Highlights
• Amazing glow worm displays!
• Just the right amount of adventure
• Away from the crowds
• Small group sizes
• Cameras welcome
• Authentic eco experience
• Family owned and operated
• Photos, tea, coffee and biscuits included
• #1 Trip Advisor rated tour in the Waitomo District
Highlights
  • Explore untouched, internationally recognized glowworm caves in Waitomo
  • Enjoy an authentic glowworm caving adventure—hiking, wading, and more
  • All equipment—including boots, caving helmet, and headlamp—is included
  • Morning or afternoon tours are available to suit your itinerary
What to Expect
Meet your guide at the Waitomo caving base and begin your adventure in one of only two caves in the Waitomo district recognized by the New Zealand Department of Conservation as having international significance.
Put on warm layers, boots, helmet, and headlamp, and venture into the underground caverns with your guide. This part of the cave system is completely untouched, without concrete paving, electricity, or handrails—you are completely immersed in the natural world.
Clamber over boulders, hike up rocky inclines, and wade through shallow streams. As you navigate the terrain, marvel at the spectacular sight of billions of bright green glowworms twinkling on the cavern roof. As you explore, listen as your guide sheds light on the glowworms’ behavior and lifecycle.
After exploring the caves, return to base for a warming shower. Your tour ends after you collect the photographs that your guide took during your adventure.
Please note: This tour is not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. A reasonable level of fitness is required.
Show More
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
78
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
78
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms small group cave system cookies your feet family farm great guide amazing tour no rush hour tour family run great pictures your eyes hot shower complete darkness small family business rubber boots
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was just such an amazing tour. Its well worth the money. They keep the group small, up to 8 people go on the tour. Being winter we were the only ones, 4 of us. Our daughter (16) had a broken wrist in plaster up...More

Thank 826deannew
Michelle B, Owner at Glowing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our guide Heath was lucky enough to grow up here in the old farm house just around the corner. He remembers his dad taking him and his brothers into the cave when he was around 5...More

Reviewed 26 June 2019

We were originally thinking of doing the standard Glowworm cave tours in Waitomo, but my husband found a great deal for Glowwing Adventures on BookMe and we decided to try this one instead. I'm so glad we did! Glowwing Adventures was so fun and felt...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lindsey K
Michelle B, Owner at Glowing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Thanks Lindsey! We LOVE small groups also, it helps us to get to know our visitors, some have gone on to become great friends with us here at Glowing Adventures :-)

Reviewed 16 June 2019

Decided to take this tour because it sounded a lot more personal than the others and it definitely was, a family farm for over 100 years . This trip would be the highlight of our nz holiday, was a bit physical going through the cave...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Tanya N
Michelle B, Owner at Glowing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Wow, the highlight of your New Zealand holiday! We are so happy that you enjoyed coming to hang out with us. We love having smaller groups to provide a more personal experience. It also gives us a chance to get to know and learn from...More

Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

This is one special tour! Just 2 of us on this tour. The company had amazing communication before hand. Very personal stories and very knowledge staff. The Waitomo caves at the main center are over run with tourists. Here you have your small group and...More

Thank waynecT134PQ
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

I can't recommend these guys enough! A very cool alternative to the larger, overly polished tours companies. They haven't made any alterations to the caves. The guides are fabulous and the whole experience was fantastic.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank carriepc1
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fabdou2006
31 May 2019|
Answer
Response from RandyK1057 | Reviewed this property |
We were there in late December (nice warm summer day). I also do not like cold water (most lakes in Canada, where I live, are far too cold for me for swimming; however, for comparison, I enjoyed the ocean waves on the north... More
0
Votes
Voyager20764262568
24 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Michelle B | Property representative |
Hi there, this is not the main tourist attraction. It is off the beaten track 20 minutes South of Waitomo Village or 15 minutes NW of Te Kuiti. It is away from the crowds on a quiet family farm. You will need your own... More
0
Votes
Anthony O
28 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Michelle B | Property representative |
What everyone has said is correct :-) We have smaller spaces but they quickly open into larger caverns. The guides custom every tour to suit each group for an individualised experience. The guides are very experienced in... More
0
Votes
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: