We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

White-Water Sledging Adventure

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$84.42
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    After pickup from your hotel in Rotorua, you will be transferred to the sledge base situated in the picturesque Kahikatea Forest. Receive a safety briefing from your river guide before you're provided with all of the necessary clothing and equipment to keep you warm and safe.

    Snap on your life vest and helmet, then jump into the Okere River with your floating sledge, a purpose-built riverboard that will steer you through a challenging section of Class III rapids. Your guide will ensure that you are confident before taking you out for the ride of your life. Use the flippers on your feet to propel you through the white water then float through tranquil sections past the pretty scenery. This tour is a must-do for anyone looking for a great thrill no matter their skill level. 

    Spend about an hour enjoying the adrenaline-fueled ride before you're brought back to the base where you can 'chill out' for a bit and view souvenir photos snapped by a professional photographer (available to purchase). Change into dry clothes and relax while transferred to your starting point.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Central Rotorua accommodations, the Rotorua Visitor Centre, and i-SITE
    Duration
    3h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
    • Professional photographer guide
    • River clothing and equipment
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    14Reviews0Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 13
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    My boyfriend and I had done white-water rafting before, so were looking for something different this time. Boy was this different! Using a body board/snow sledge-hybrid you go down the river and its rapids, while trying your best not to get flipped over or swallow half the
    Read more
    Popped in for my final activity in NZ. Had previously done the rafting trip with Katiaki. Friendly reception and great banter on reception. Crusoe (?spelling) and Kyle were my guides on the river. Despite my best efforts to the contrary (lol) Crusoe was always calm and got me
    Read more
    Response from kaitiakirafting, Front Office Manager at White-Water Sledging Adventure
    Responded 3 weeks ago
    Kia ora Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a great finish to your holiday, we hope you had a good one:) Justin is a 1 of a kind definitely Nga mihi nui
    Read more
    What an awesome experience, made even better by the exceptional crew. A riveting experience actually riding the rapids. Shout out to guides Caruzo, Nui and Rocky for always having our back, and making it easy. Loved it!
    Read more
    Caruzo and Rocky are both awesome guides! Both are very helpful and have a great sense of humour! Had a lot of fun sledging with them. I would recommend doing this activity. Sledging is a blast!
    Read more
    I've always been put off whitewater rafting by the prospect of falling in due the incompetence of others. Going it alone on a sledge down the Kaituna river provided just the right amount of danger/ difficulty to make it feel like a good challenge without risking life/ limb. And
    Read more
    Response from kaitiakirafting, Manager at White-Water Sledging Adventure
    Responded 30 Jun 2019
    Tena koe Mike! Not many brave the winter waters to sledge in June but you smashed it! Hope the rest of your NZ trip was epic and maybe we'll see you again one day. Kia ora
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: