We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rotorua
Post
Inbox
Search

Waitomo Day Trip with Option to Add Hobbiton from Rotorua

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$130.45
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Pass By: Headfirst Travel, Rotorua 3007 New Zealand

    Enjoy the tour with your Local Legend Guide! They will tell you unique history and interesting facts while you journey with them for the day!

    Stop At: Waitomo Glowworm Caves, 39 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943 New Zealand

    Here you will experience The Waitomo Cave option you have selected:

    Glowworms - Includes Waitomo Glowworm Caves Only with free time to explore in Waitomo and Hobbiton

    2 Caves - For this option you will have a 45 minute Waitomo Glowworm Cave Tour and also a 2 Hour Ruakri Cave Tour

    Black Labyrinth - For this option you will be given a rubber ring and guided down the Waitomo Glowworm Caves.

    Waitomo Glowworm Caves

    Here we'll enjoy a tour of amazing natural wonder and meet the thousands of little glowworms that turn these dark caverns into gorgeous turquoise tunnels! These unique creatures are only found in New Zealand and welcome you to explore their subterranean home.

    Ride a boat beneath thousands of twinkling glowworms in the famous Waitomo Caves. We'll also have free time here to explore on our own

    Ruakuri Caves

    For passengers adding on Ruakuri, you will take a short journey from Waitomo to Ruakuri. Here you Experience the spectacular spiral entrance to Ruakuri Cave. Marvel at the incredible limestone formations and crystal tapestries in an intimate group.

    The original Waitomo black water rafting tour will have you exploring and tubing through the mysterious Ruakuri Cave. Here you will be given a rubber tube, and you will be taken on an unreal underground adventure you will never forget. Float down the underground river in rubber tubes while admiring the glowworm displays above!

    Duration: 3 hours

    Stop At: Hobbiton Movie Set, 501 Buckland Road Matamata, Hinuera 3472 New Zealand

    Follow an expert guide as they lead you through this expansive and amazing village! We'll see all the great and memorable sties from the Shire, including the Green Dragon Inn and field where Bilbo's birthday party was held! Along the way they'll provide exclusive commentary about the films and set, as well as the interesting characters who've visited the set over the years. They will even help take photos of you besides the miniature homes and gardens.

    Only included if chosen!

    Duration: 2 hours
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    1167 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
    Departure Time
    6:45 AM
    Duration
    12h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Waitomo activity of choice (The Waitomo Cave option you have selected)
    • Hobbiton Movies Set tour (if chosen)
    • Pickup from centrally located meeting point
    • Transport by air-conditioned coach or van
    • Glowworm Cave Option includes Waitomo Glowworm Caves Only - (45 minute Tour including boat ride)
    • 2 Caves Option Includes Waitomo Glowworm Cave (45 Minute tour) PLUS Ruakuri Caves (2 Hour Tour)
    • Entry/Admission - Waitomo Glowworm Caves
    Exclusions
    • Lunch
    • Personal expenses
    • Hobbiton, unless chosen at check out
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Child ages 4–14 half price of adult
    • Black Labyrinth: Minimum age 12 years old, minimum weight 99 pounds (45 kg.)
    • Black Abyss: Minimum age 16 years old, 99 pounds (45 kg.)
    • If doing a Black Abyss or Black Labyrinth Tour, a wet suit will be provided for you. However, please bring swimwear to wear underneath your wetsuit as well as a towel and a warm change of clothes.
    • Please note: if you decide to end your day in Auckland and do not want to join the Hobbiton Movie Set Tour you will have two hours at Hobbiton to relax in their cafe.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    19Reviews3Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 2
    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Good for my family holiday in new Zealand and Happy trip and fun for the kids. We are neighbor with Australia and new Zealand.
    Read more
    Response from HeadfirstTravelTeam, Director of Sales at Waitomo Day Trip with Option to Add Hobbiton from Rotorua
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Thanks for taking the time to review us. Yes, this sure is a great activity for the entire family. Kids love the glowworms - It is a proper adventure for them
    Read more
    Convenient trip with lots of things to see and experience. though we had to pay extra for the second route of glowworm caves. Hobbiton was really scenic and extraordinary.
    Read more
    Response from HeadfirstTravelTeam, Director of Sales at Waitomo Day Trip with Option to Add Hobbiton from Rotorua
    Responded 5 Oct 2019
    Many Thanks for the review! We offer a variety of add-ons on our tours. Our most popular trip is the Two Cave and Hobbiton Trip. We provide customers with the option to upgrade on the day if only One Cave has been booked. This is a great opportunity to see the diversity between both caves. Both caves are both very different and unique! Hobbiton is definitely a must-see!
    Read more
    First things first, if you rented a car, buy tickets direct from the caves and Hobbiton, DO NOT take this “tour”. My family and I travel a lot and were highly unsatisfied with our days outing with Headfirst Travel. They do not offer a “tour”, they are a taxi service that
    Read more
    Response from HeadfirstTravelTeam, Director of Sales at Waitomo Day Trip with Option to Add Hobbiton from Rotorua
    Responded 1 Jul 2019
    Hi Todd Thank you so much for your valuable feedback it certainly appears you had a less than an enjoyable day. We endeavour to provide a memorable experience for a range of customers and clearly we got some parts of your trip wrong. We apologise. There are several points in your feedback that we can immediately work on and improve. We take a massive pride in our drivers and consider one of our key differences is the way in which they interact with our customers! One of our key company focuses and passions is that our drivers are BALL promoters BALL stands for Bringing Along Local Legends) to deliver our customers a unique and memorable day. We know our BALL Team driver / guides go out of their way to make every trip an interesting one and we need to give them the tools to help achieve this. In this case it sounds like you don’t think the driver has a acheived this core value and we have already followed up. We are disappointed ourselves that the day trip did not leave on time and that you had to wait so long for your departure / this was due to another passenger being 20 minutes late. Our driver Kristine had also notified us off the battery on the microphone and we have now fixed this. Honestly, we really appreciate your feedback and feel it is the only way we can grow and improve as a business. We have taken everything very seriously and will try to make things more clearly from the start. Regards Headfirst Travel Team
    Read more
    +6
    A huge shout out to Leon in the Res team for helping us coordinate a few different things at such short notice! We were picked up promptly and on time before a smooth ride out to Waitomo with some interesting commentary as we were driving through the hills. Down at the Waitomo
    Read more
    Response from HeadfirstTravelTeam, Director of Sales at Waitomo Day Trip with Option to Add Hobbiton from Rotorua
    Responded 1 Jul 2019
    Thanks for the review Noel! We sure are lucky to have Leon and the res team as part of our team! They are absolute legends at handling all bookings! They have a great ability to help out with any request (Big or small) he wetsuits sure do keep you warm if you choose to do our Black Labyrinth trip! Hobbiton is a great addition to the day! Thanks again for the review! From the team at Headfirst Travel!
    Read more
    My wife and I were visiting and opted to visit Hobbiton and Waitomo. We made the mistake of not booking way in advance for the holiday season and underestimated the demand. Thankfully we found this option through TripAdvisor. When I called a few days out to confirm, Headfirst
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Headfirst Travel
    196 reviews
    dee6jay
    Buckinghamshire
    14393
    Excellent all natural experience
    We chose this over Wai-O-Tapu as everyone at our accommodation said it was a more natural experience...and they
    Read more
    Jason E
    20
    Decent place to visit
    Wai-O-Tapu was OK, very developed and very crowded. Waimangu was far less crowded far less developed and far more
    Read more
    James D
    30
    A fantastic journey with wonderful drivers
    John and Catherine were a joy, start to finish they were informative on the way up and noticed how tired we were
    Read more
    Intae K
    20
    Good for holiday
    Good for my family holiday in new Zealand and Happy trip and fun for the kids. We are neighbor with Australia and
    Read more
    traveltape0
    61
    Trip to glow worm caves and hobbiton
    Convenient trip with lots of things to see and experience. though we had to pay extra for the second route of
    Read more
    pettitwu
    Taoyuan, Taiwan
    20
    Amazing Trip
    Because of no enough time & no Driving in this Holiday trip, I chose to join the Wai-O-Tapu and Waimangu one day
    Read more
    AmandaK1392
    20
    Awesome trip!
    Christine was our driver today, and she was super knowledgeable and enthusiastic! We really appreciated her
    Read more
    5ZBaum
    Chicago
    142
    Amazing park, whatever the weather
    We did the all-day visit to Waimangu, and it was well worth the time. It's a spectacular park with hot springs,
    Read more
    toddmcd17
    Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
    27882
    This is a taxi service, NOT a tour
    First things first, if you rented a car, buy tickets direct from the caves and Hobbiton, DO NOT take this “tour”.
    Read more
    NoelR1991
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    9621
    The best way to maximise your time!!!
    A huge shout out to Leon in the Res team for helping us coordinate a few different things at such short notice!
    Read more
    rachelf1993
    Auckland Central, New Zealand
    123
    Beautiful walks through natures finest
    A fantastic day was had by myself and my family from start to finish. The local guide Christine was fascinating
    Read more
    mariacarminag2016
    1611
    Easy visit in Rotorua
    Excellent customer service! We booked way back in January for 4, but one of us can’t make it and it was so easy to
    Read more
    SharkySA
    Cape Town Central, South Africa
    14733
    Huka Falls
    Really more like rapids than falls. The colour of the water and the surrounding valley make the trip ok. If you
    Read more
    Vimal D
    Madison, Wisconsin
    22
    Great staff with awesome flexibility
    My wife and I were visiting and opted to visit Hobbiton and Waitomo. We made the mistake of not booking way in
    Read more
    lindakT6651GZ
    104
    Great photos to be had
    Did the morning tour to Lady Knox geyser and Wai o tapu. The colours in the thermal lakes were amazing & the sky
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 12h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241