We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shore Excursion - There and Back Again: The Full Experience

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$56.70
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Weta Workshop, 1 Weka Street Miramar, Wellington 6022 New Zealand

    Be dropped by your cruise shuttle to Brandon Street, then take a short stroll (allow 15 minutes) to Wellington iSITE, located at 111 Wakefield Street. From here, you'll be collected by our dedicated shuttle driver and taken to Weta Studio Tours. Arrive at the Weta Cave, snap photos with our sculptures, then take a seat for our documentary to learn about the history of the Weta's creativity. A Weta Workshop crew member will then guide you on a tour through a converted area of the Workshop. 

    From your favourite films to larger-than-life exhibitions: during our Weta Cave Workshop Tour learn about the practical effects created for The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, the record-breaking Gallipoli: The scale of our war and more! Wander through Manufacture Alley, interacting with the tools and technology of our creative departments. Hear our tales of filmmaking, see artists at work on our tour stage, and learn secrets of movie magic! 

    Continue your journey with the Miniatures Stage Tour, where you'll visit the authentic Thunderbirds Are Go shooting stage and discover the Weta Workshop models built for the popular TV series. Your talented guide will reveal initial concepts and storyboards, then take you through the unbelievable miniatures built for the show. Includes a rare photo opportunity with the Tracy brothers!  

    Your experience concludes with a drive back to central Wellington. You'll be dropped back to Wellington iSITE, brimming with the secrets of movie magic. We always run to schedule, so rest assured that you arrive in time for your cruise departure. 
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Traveler pickup is offered
    Departure Point: Wellington i-SITE bus park
    Address: 111 Wakefield Street Wellington New Zealand

    Ports
    111 Wakefield Street Wellington New Zealand
    Duration
    4h
    Return Details
    Outside Wellington i-SITE
    Inclusions
    • Guided return transfers from Wellington iSITE - live commentary on board
    • Priority seating to documentary
    • Professional guided Weta Cave Workshop Tour
    • Professional guided tour through the Thunderbirds Are Go shooting stage
    • Entry/Admission - Weta Workshop
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Food and drinks
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Photography is strictly prohibited in all tour spaces, unless specified by the tour guide
    • There is no luggage storage in the Weta Cave or at our tour spaces
    • This tour takes place in a functioning workshop, so it can get a little drafty. We recommend bringing an extra warm layer or two
    • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them on board and disembark
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (1)
    Filter reviews
    1 result
    Traveller rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    Traveller rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

    This “tour” takes exit through the gift shopping to a new level. Total waste of time and money. First they make you watch a 30 minute commercial about how cool they are, then you get shuttled through curtained rooms with more of the same. Worst...More

    1  Thank kathryncO4769GR
    WetaStudioTours, Guest Relations Manager at Weta Workshop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

    Kia ora kathryncO4769GR, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, we appreciate your feeback and are always looking to improve our experiences. If you have any suggestions, please do let us know by emailing bookings@wetaworkshop.co.nz Kind regards, Lolly

    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Shore Excursion - There and Back Again: The Full Experience staff and past visitors.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Submit
    Posting guidelines
    Key Details
    • Weta Workshop
    • Duration: 4h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: