Tours and Tickets

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds provided by 808 Mopeds

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds
4.5
Book in advance
from
£62.86
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
About
Mopeds are fun and one of the cheapest activities on Maui. Travel to the beach, go snorkeling, hike the blowhole or just drive the roads of our majestic island on Maui's #1 way to do it. MOPEDS! Mopeds are not to be ridden between sundown and sun up! Riding boundaries are south of the shop to the small town of Olowalu and north of the shop to the Nakalele Point (Blow Hole). The driver of the vehicle will need to agree to the following: -I am least 18 years of age -I possess a valid driver's license -I understand the riding boundaries -Only one rider per 49cc moped -I will wear protective eye-wear at all times -I have been instructed to wear the provided DOT approved helmet at all times
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1-14 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Moped rentals from 1 to 14 days. Our Island Cruiser has large storage under seat, lower seat height, and smooth throttle response. Choose the length of time you would like to rent, and let 808 Mopeds provide you with the perfect vehicle for exploring Maui’s white sandy beaches, hidden waterfalls, and breathtaking island attractions. Whether you’re an experienced rider or a beginner, your moped rental will let you get up close and personal with Maui’s amazing scenery.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1-14 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Moped rentals from 1 to 14 days. Our Island Cruiser has large storage under seat, lower seat height, and smooth throttle response. Choose the length of time you would like to rent, and let 808 Mopeds provide you with the perfect vehicle for exploring Maui’s white sandy beaches, hidden waterfalls, and breathtaking island attractions. Whether you’re an experienced rider or a beginner, your moped rental will let you get up close and personal with Maui’s amazing scenery.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 142500P5
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Helmets, Hands on Training, Lock and Chain, map with fun places to go and a lot of ALOHA!
  • Fuel Surcharge - Please bring the vehicle back with what ever is in the tank.
  • Prices do include the $5.00 Hawaii road tax (per day) and service fees
Exclusions
  • Sunblock, Sunglasses, GoPro to Capture your ride
  • Damage Waiver. Includes road side assistance, theft protection and a low deductible.
Duration
1–14 days
Departure details
  • 808 Mopeds, 3481 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA 808 Mopeds is located at 3481 Lower Honoapiilani Rd. Lahaina, Hi. 96761 and open from 8am thru 4pm
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • We offer a Damage Waiver to help reduce the liability during your rental. This waiver covers road side assistance, theft protection and a deductible in case of incidentals. Please ask your agent for information.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Inclusions
  • Helmets, Hands on Training, Lock and Chain, map with fun places to go and a lot of ALOHA!
  • Fuel Surcharge - Please bring the vehicle back with what ever is in the tank.
  • Prices do include the $5.00 Hawaii road tax (per day) and service fees
Exclusions
  • Sunblock, Sunglasses, GoPro to Capture your ride
  • Damage Waiver. Includes road side assistance, theft protection and a low deductible.
Departure details
  • 808 Mopeds, 3481 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA 808 Mopeds is located at 3481 Lower Honoapiilani Rd. Lahaina, Hi. 96761 and open from 8am thru 4pm
Duration
1–14 days
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • We offer a Damage Waiver to help reduce the liability during your rental. This waiver covers road side assistance, theft protection and a deductible in case of incidentals. Please ask your agent for information.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Popular mentions

4.5
21 reviews
Excellent
18
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Elizabeth K
Rochester, NY2 contributions
Great place
Sep 2021 • Couples
This was my first time on a moped. The staff is very friendly and were extremely informative. They teach you how to use it and have you practice in front of them before you take off on your own. Would definitely go back to rent from them again. Thank you so much for making me feel comfortable on a moped, you guys are awesome! 🤗
Written 26 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Molly
1 contribution
Horrible Customer Service
Aug 2021 • Couples
I would choose zero stars if I could. My husband and I had a great time while we were out on the mopeds, but upon return we were charged an additional $83 dollars to replace the moped lock and key. After struggling to get the lock unlocked with the key for TEN minutes, the tip of the key just broke off into the lock with NO pressure. Mind you, I am 5 1/2 months pregnant so it’s not like I can put much “force” into it. The two employees at the store responded by telling us "Oh, we have to deal with this ALL the time. You just have to wiggle it for a bit," after explaining to them we "just wiggled it" for ten minutes. Originally, they said they were going to charge $75 but then later said “Oops, it’s actually going to be $83 because you also have to pay for shipping.” For all the money you are already paying to rent the moped, you'd think the shop would cover a minor inconvenience like this. I hope people choose other moped rentals JUST because of this review. Otherwise, you might be paying for an $83 replacement lock.
Written 18 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alain1020
Long Beach, CA19 contributions
Cruising the 808 the right way
Went solo on this trip starting from my hotel at Aston Ka’anapali Shores just next door from 808 Mopeds and zipped north to Napili, Kapalua, Honolua Bay and to the Blow hole and back.
Greeted warmly by Pi (? spelling) and another female. They are very friendly and professional here. Rental from beginning to end went very smooth. Can’t wait to do it again.

Mahalo
Written 13 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Natalie
2 contributions
Amazing and fun
Jun 2021
So much fun!!!! Friendly and very helpful staff. We rented for five days. The price was great and the ride was amazing.
Written 1 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rusty H
2 contributions
Fun Adventurous Activity near Maui, HI
Mar 2021
The Bigger Scooter is awesome! Great scooter for everywhere. Easy in/ Easy out processing. This is a fun family activity!
Written 29 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure54336008616
Thank you so much for the review:)
Written 30 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

James M
5 contributions
"Moped Gang"
Mar 2021
Renting 808 Mopeds was our favorite activity this vacation. After signing the papers and getting a tutorial in "how to ride, break and rules of the road", we were ready to roll. Of the four of us, I was the novice and in no time at all, I was the official leader of our "Moped Gang". This will be top of the list, of activities for future vacations to the islands!
Written 12 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Momma Char
4 contributions
Awful
So Gil was absolutely fantastic but the other guy was a total jerk and completely ruined the second half of our trip.... JUST make sure u video every conversation you have with that guy because he can’t find the truth even when it is in front of him. Horrible experience, go to another moped shop!!
Written 27 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure54336008616
Aloha, My name is Joe, president of 808 Mopeds. I am also the gentlemen you are referring too in this review. I am sorry that our interaction ruined the rest of your trip and I am also sorry for the way I handled this situation. One can only hope to give the best service when under duress but sometimes (especially during these crazy times) we may not act the way we should have. I set high standards for myself and my staff, so for the rudeness I apologize. What is not being said in this review is what the interaction was about, so here is my take. You were asked three times, once by Gil and twice by me to return the vehicles in the parking lot. You were reminded multiple times verbally, signed our contract, checked the box that says "I will not ride on sidewalks" and shown a poster on the wall for an extra reminder. YES, I could have been more polite on the third interaction when I asked you not to pull up onto the lot, not to drive on the sidewalk but my frustration got the best of me. So again, I apologize. But what also needs to be said, no-one was there but the father and myself. So no-one saw or heard the way this man interacted with me. Using profanities directed at me and about our bikes, back pedaling into on coming traffic, an illegal u-turn cutting off vehicles from both directions and leaning so far that the kickstand scraped the ground and he almost wiped out. I have never, in 20 years, felt so degraded or talked to like that in this industry or by anyone. This is the reason (not a good one) but a reason for my rudeness. Not sure what you are taking about regarding "the truth" but if you are referring to the charge for the damage to one of our vehicles, I am very truthful, most will say too generous when it comes to damages?! (We have a rule that is the vehicle is scratched you pay for our time to sand and paint, if its broken, you pay for the replacement.) You rented 5 mopeds and one had clearly fallen. Had damage to the paint, muffler guard was broken and there was even fresh grass and gravel coming off of the scrapes and in the sections where the plastic parts meet. I have video if need be. If I was not telling the truth, I assure you, I would have charged you much more than $92.65 for the damages based upon our disrespectful interaction. I treat my guests and staff like family. We have nothing but fun out here and that is why we have been here for so long with a plethora of great reviews. I wish you and your family a safe and better year than the previous. I will work to maintain my own and our professionalism under all circumstances regarding 808 Mopeds and again apologize for my reaction.
Written 5 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

markwall2014
Washington DC, DC27 contributions
Vacation fun with 808 Mopeds.
Feb 2021
OK... I'm a 67 year old, and my wife is a few years my junior. We are visiting Maui, and our 25-30 year old children (and significant others) want to rent mopeds and go cruising on the island. Some are new to this, some have done it before, some are a bit nervous, others not at all. But we were all ready for a holiday adventure, so we popped into 808 Mopeds, lucked out that scooters were available for each of us, and after some paperwork, we had an introduction to the machines and the rules of the road. After a warm up under the watchful eye of the staff, we moved to a larger parking lot to practice some more. And after about 30 minutes of getting acquainted with our scooters, we took off down the road.

What a blast!! Speeds are limited to under about 25 MPH, maybe 30 MPH downhill, but they always felt safe, had easy to use controls, and the convenience of pulling over, putting the kickstand down, and exploring anywhere and everywhere made it hard-to-beat transportation.

For anyone looking for a Maui adventure on a scooter, you will not be disappointed at 808. If you are a hesitant first timer - as I was - rest assured you will enjoy the ride.
Written 23 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure54336008616
Aloha, What a great breakdown of a daily rental. This is exactly how it goes lol. We are so glad you had fun. Don’t forget to make a reservation as we are selling out fast now a days. We just so happen to be one of beat social distancing activities on Maui:) Mahalo and don’t forget to cruise with aloha.
Written 25 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Maureen
19 contributions
808 is the best!!
Feb 2021 • Couples
Our favorite activity every time we come to Maui. Joe and his crew operate a top-notch operation. Great service and new mopeds. We highly recommend 808.
Written 20 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure54336008616
Thank you so much. We try to run a smooth and safe operation. Glad you noticed. See you again:)
Written 25 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sam P
Gainesville, FL4 contributions
Fun-filled 3 days!
Jan 2021
So so so fun!! If you didn't rent a car, this is a perfect alternative if you're staying on the west side of Maui. We had unlimited mileage to travel up and down the coast, and there's storage room in the seat of the scooter if you were to leave your stuff while in the water. The scooters ran great and we had no problems!
Written 3 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure54336008616
Who needs a metal box to get around?! Too much like going to work! Lol. Thanks for the review
Written 25 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 21
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: 808 Mopeds
debbiedciaAM
debbiedciaAM
00
Cruzin Lahina in style
If you are wanting to rent a moped in Maui, 808 Mopeds has nice bikes and the service and hospitality my husband an
piper925
piper925
00
As always, great ride to the blowhole on 808 Mopeds!
I have rented from 808 Mopeds in the past, and will continue to do so! The staff is very easy to work with, as is t
Haleytrips
Haleytrips
00
Not returning phone calls
Unfortunately 808 moped rented a moped to a person and that person smashed into my daughters rental car. My insura
courtm3i
courtm3i
00
AMAZING
808 Mopeds was awesome! My family had so many questions about everything and they were so patient with us! They hel
P427PUajs
P427PUajs
00
Must do in Maui!!
My daughter and I went to Maui to celebrate her high school graduation. We rented mopeds from 808 mopeds and we bot
Roe-go-mez
Roe-go-mez
00
Explore Maui like never before!
Truly an experience which everyone must try if on Maui. This was my first stop when I got here and not only was the
abramjef
abramjef
00
Best way to cruise the coast
Great service and quality bikes! Gave great suggestions on places to see and they were beautiful. Easy check in an
BigJohnLongviewTx
BigJohnLongviewTx
00
Great Day on Scooters!
Was a great experience to rent scooters from 808. They made it easy for us to drop off after hours. Had a blast on
Katie N
Katie N
00
Highlight of our trip
This was our second time renting scooters from this place. I reserved ahead (thank goodness!!) and the whole proces
H6955HMmattr
H6955HMmattr
00
Highlight of our trip
This was quite possibly the highlight of our trip. These things are so much fun. We literally ran them all day, d
mmw503
mmw503
00
E-scooters!
Renting e-scooters was a highlight of our family vacation! They are an affordable and fun way to explore the island
Sb7123
Sb7123
00
Top notch A+ Would Do It Again!
Gil and Joe were great. They explained everything ahead of time, kept safety in mind (including Covid protocols), a
410claytona
410claytona
00
Great way to explore the island!
808 Mopeds offers a great product at a great price, not to mention they are good people. This is a small business t
sammU6660WP
sammU6660WP
00
2 great days of riding
Awesome place to rent from. Owner was great and very friendly. We got two mopeds for two days that were really fun
CorbyOnMaui
CorbyOnMaui
00
Had a blast on the scooter
Always wanted to try out one of these little scooters and I finally got my chance. I've had good experiences rentin
Frequently Asked Questions about Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds price starts from £62.59. Discover and book Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds on Tripadvisor

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds on Tripadvisor

Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds is hosted by 808 Mopeds. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact 808 Mopeds on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Island Cruiser Rental - 808 Mopeds on Tripadvisor