Tours and Tickets

North Shore Turtle Cove Guided Snorkeling Tour provided by Hawaii Real Nature Tours

North Shore Turtle Cove Guided Snorkeling Tour

North Shore Turtle Cove Guided Snorkeling Tour
4.5
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
About
The North Shore of Oahu is a popular spot for snorkeling, with colorful coral reefs and an abundance of marine life. This excursion is ideal for those with limited time who want to maximize their chances of spotting marine life. Head out into the open water from the beach and look out for green sea turtles, eels, tropical fish, and more as you swim and snorkel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Highlights
Fantastic marine life sightings such as green sea turtles
Swim out to North Shore Cove from the beach
Choice of morning or afternoon tour departure times
Personalized experience: choice of private or small-group tour
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 9887P4
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Professional guide • Local taxes • Snorkeling equipment • Life jacket
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
Shark’s Cove, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA Meeting at sharks cove (bike pass) North Shore
Inclusions
Professional guide • Local taxes • Snorkeling equipment • Life jacket
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
Shark’s Cove, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA Meeting at sharks cove (bike pass) North Shore
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
IMPORTANT: If you have never been in the ocean before, are afraid of water, are not able to put your face in the water, or cannot swim/float on the surface, it is strongly recommended that you book the private tour option (please see booking options); if you booked the regular small-group tour and are unable to go into deep water with the guide, you may miss the tour without a refund.
Not recommended for children 8 years and under (a private snorkeling tour can accommodate ages 6 and up)
You MUST be at the meeting place on time; if you are not on time, you may miss the tour without a refund.
From Waikiki, it's roughly a 70-minute drive; from Haleiwa town, it's about 20 minutes; from Turtle Bay, about 20 minutes. Be aware of traffic, especially the 11:30am and 2pm tours, as there is usually heavy traffic on the North Shore; please drive safely. DIRECTION: The meeting place is the North Shore Bike Trail, which can be found on Google Maps (Research North Shore Bike Trail) Address: There is no physical address. Beginning of North Shore Bike Trail you can find on google map (NORTH SHORE BIKE TRAIL). Opposite side (Ocean side) of PUULA ROAD on Kamehameha Hwy at lawn area, find a "green bike pass sign." Directions: From Waikiki or Haleiwa town. Pass the Waimea bay, fire station (on the left) and Pupukea Food Land (on the right), 0.2 mile from fire station. Pass all food trucks (such as North Shore Tacos etc) and car repair shop Pupukea service on your right. As soon as you pass PUULA ROAD on the right, meeting place is on the left (Ocean side) lawn area, there is green "Bike pass" sign. The guide will call your name. From Kahuku (Turtle Bay Resort). Pass the sunset beach, 1.2 miles from the Pipeline and a Sunset elementary school. When you pass KUMUPALI ROAD, slow down you are 0.2 miles to get meeting place. Just before PUULA Road there is lawn area by the Ocean, find a green bike pass sign. If you see the fire station on your right and Pupukea Food Land on your left you already passed. It is 0.2 mile before the fire station. The guide will call your name.
Not recommended for participants with heart complaints or other serious medical conditions.
If you have any disability you must let us know when you book.
Not wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Shark’s Cove
    Shark’s Cove, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA
    Meeting at sharks cove (bike pass) North Shore
    See address & details
  • 1
    North Shore
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Shark's Cove
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Shark’s Cove
    Shark’s Cove, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA
    Meeting at sharks cove (bike pass) North Shore
    See address & details
+

4.5
18 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Shelby S
Quincy, MI89 contributions
Wonderful Experience!
Sep 2019 • Couples
The two guides that helped us with our gear and took us out were so attentive. It was an outstanding experience and the first time I have ever experienced snorkeling as a fun activity. If you are comfortable in the water I highly recommend this activity. We also got to see a sea turtle!
Written 13 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NetNet
1 contribution
North Shore Snorkeling
Jul 2019
This was my first time snorkeling ever and Bob was very patient with me and the other two ladies with me. Unfortunately we did not see any sea turtles but we did see some beautiful fish. I enjoyed it very much and would definitely recommend to anyone going to this area. The only real disappointment is the pics we were supposed to have received via email. Never received them and was really excited about seeing them. Could we still get them??
Written 21 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aloha, thank you very much for review us. We are glad you enjoyed our snorkeling tour. I am sorry for your photo, did you purchase photo package before the tour? Please email us even you didn't purchased. Our guide sometimes take pics of fun or our SNS reason that case we give away the pics.
Written 21 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dalehut
Kite, GA1 contribution
Sharks Cove adventure
Jul 2019 • Friends
Bob was the best guide! There were 3 of us ladies age 55-58 and he was patient and educational. Beautiful water with awesome coral & fish in the cove. Highly recommend this snorkeling trip
Written 16 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FubiniFamily
San Francisco, CA7 contributions
Terrific morning of turtle snorkeling
Jul 2019 • Family
Love, just loved this experience. Easy in and out of the water process. The guide was beyond capable and focus on us having the best time. We could of easily gone on our own, but she knew right where to go for turtles and the best fish viewing. Highly recommend.
Written 1 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel C
Gilroy, CA2 contributions
Awesome experience!
Jun 2019 • Couples
My wife and I had a great time on the snorkeling tour, and saw several turtles along with many colorful fish. Akima was a great guide. She explained everything we needed to know and helped to identify what we were seeing. We even forgot one of our cameras and she arranged to return it to us later that day. She really went above and beyond!
Written 20 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

angit68
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States45 contributions
Great guide but no boat.
May 2019 • Friends
I did not end up doing this excursion but paid full price. The guide tried to help me and was very nice. All you get for the 69.00 is a guide who walks you out from the beach. They changed our meeting place multiple times.
You are basically paying to rent the equipment. There were a lot of other people there with their own equipment, including children, snorkeling and swimming.
There was no boat ride out to a reef like I have done before. I am not a good swimmer and my fin got caught in the reef. You can't put your feet down, and then when I tried again my mask started letting in water.
Other people who went did see 3 turtles and a couple of fish, but if we had bought equipment at Walmart we could have done this ourselves.
Again, the guide was very nice and sweet, but it is not worth 69.00.
Written 1 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aloha, Thank you for your feed back. Please let me say. We do not mention BOAT, our website or other booking agency. We clearly says "Beach snorkeling" "No boat" This place is nature preserve, no boats are allowed. Also we mention if you are not familiar with water strongly recommend book as private tour so the guide can take time with you to getting the water but you didn't I had another guests with us so I just could not take the time to help you to getting the water. (i remember you, I am sorry you couldn't come with us but it is very unfair to review one star, you didn't even book a tour, your friend booked a tour, he didn't tell you it is not a boat.) We appreciate you book as a tour. Your safety is number one priority. Yes there are so many people doing own snorkeling but so many people die or rescue every day in Hawaii this is why we are here. We have great knowledge of the area, water activities, water rescue trained and CPR certified. We know where the sea turtles hang out usually.(You saw few of them, didn't you?) We are here for your safety and enjoyable snorkeling time. Especially with your skill. I do not recommend going to water without guide. I do not understand >They changed our meeting place multiple times. We have never changed meeting place. If we changed just because the Ocean condition (I explained to you right?) that we could not go to sharks cove. yes we did change the place one time and that place you cannot find yourself, also that day there is NO way to swim and see the turtle in the water in North Shore with that water condition. Only the beach I took you guys that is the one of the few places you could go in the water. Aloha Akima
Written 9 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angelina D
San Bruno, CA2 contributions
Such an awesome experience!
This tour was definitely my favorite Hawaiian experience; seeing turtles, colorful fish, and learning about sea life was all so amazing!
Akima did such a great job explaining how to use the snorkel gear and how to navigate through the waters which made us feel so comfortable and confident swimming in the ocean.
I would recommend this to anyone visiting Oahu!
Written 21 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan C
23 contributions
Great fun day
This tour was great. Very interesting and knowledgeable facts along with great scenery. The main guide and the guide in training were great and along with the driver made the day trip better than expected. I would recommend this company to everyone.
Written 16 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cora_duarte
Santa Clara, CA3 contributions
First Time Snorkeling
For this being our first time snorkeling and not knowing what to expect, we had a fantastic time and will definitely do again sometime. Akima did an awesome job as our guide. She was extremely helpful, patient, and made us feel very safe. Akima is very knowledgeable of the ocean, it’s critters, and the area in general which gave the tour great context. We were lucky enough to spot a turtle and Akima was gracious enough to help up take pictures/video. Highly recommend!

Do wear sunscreen and a long sleeved type of wetsuit. You will feel the after burn from being out in the sun for over an hour.
Written 9 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Inkee
6 contributions
Want to Do It Again, Fantastic !!
Aug 2018 • Couples
My wife keeps on telling her friends how wonderful the experience was. It was as if Bob and Akima invited us to their blue water home, introducing their family members - turtles, colorful fishes, sea urchins, underwater cave etc... We are in senior age and not so fluent in water. Bob took care of us as if we were their older brothers and sisters. Akima did her best in trying to entertain us by swimming up, down, and around us to show everything there was. When we went there for 2:00 PM appointment, it happened that it was just two of us, but they still took us so that we had a private tour. It was supposed to be a 1.5-hour tour, but they took more than 2 hours to take us to a deeper open water for our extended pleasure. We could feel that Bob and Akima were doing it purely from their love of their home ocean and to share dearly with all who comes to their home. I highly recommend this tour even if you are in senior age. When I return to Hawaii, I will call them again for another tour and meet them. Thank you very much Akima and Bob for your passions and friendship.
Written 28 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Hawaii Real Nature Tours
PJGELSON
PJGELSON
00
Swimming with turtles and Bob was the Bomb!
Visiting from SF with my 4 teenagers-we wanted to do something fun on the North Shore. Snorkeling with Bob was gre
Karlilloyd
Karlilloyd
00
Amazing day and Awesome tour guide!!
I went on an excursion with my sister and two friends and we had an amazing time! Akima was our tour guide and I hi
Kelli S
Kelli S
00
Excellent time, lots of knowledge!
Akima was very friendly, had lots of knowledge and was very fun! She took us to many local places and shared lots o
445cindyr
445cindyr
00
Great overview of Oahu with fun knowledgeable guide
Akima drove us all over Oahu from our cruise port to the surf breaks on the north shore and all the way around the
paulgraf2018
paulgraf2018
00
Snorkeling in Sharks Cove
Great experience with a patient guide. Very good for people inexperienced in snorkeling. we got to see quite a bi
Nicole P
Nicole P
00
Great Tour Guide Not Great Weather
Akima Kai, our guide was amazing. My fiance does not know how to swim and she made sure we were both comfortable an
MATT G
MATT G
00
Robert was great!
Robert met us in the morning and accessed our skill level. Then we went out. Very comfortable time in the water, a
mgall3
mgall3
00
Turtle Cove Snorkeling
Great snorkeling tour to do with family/friends. Plenty of fish in the water and we were even able to see a few se
Ellen C
Ellen C
00
North Shore Snorkelling tour
This morning I went on the north shore snorkelling tour with Akima. It was fantastic to have a guide show me the si
Elizabeth D
Elizabeth D
00
North shore Turtle Cove Snorkeling
Knowledgeable, friendly and fun tour guide! We were shown spots of high interest we may not have seen on our own, a
kcmehlin
kcmehlin
00
A vacation highlight!!
FOR SURE a “must do” when visiting Oahu!! Although you can go to Sharks Cove on your own, (which we’d done 2 days b
Ann M
Ann M
00
Best snorkel guide ever!
Our guide, Akima, was absolutely amazing! We had two teenager inexperienced swimmers whom she paid very careful, pa
Shane K
Shane K
00
Snorkeling at Sharks Cove, Pupukea
What an awesome experience made better by our awesome guide, Bob! We were thinking of buying the gear ourselves - b
Vicki M
Vicki M
00
Road to Hana...Amazing!
We booked a private road to Hana tour that took about 12 hours and we were not disappointed. Our driver Robert was
aylinodaci
aylinodaci
00
awesome experience!
I booked this tour actually just to get over my fear of being in deep water. Turns out to be one of the best experi