Tours and Tickets

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi provided by JEN TOUR

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi
4
Book in advance
from
£95.28
per adult (price varies by group size)
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
In this one-day tour you will visit the most picturesque canyons in Georgia. The main highlight of the Martvili Canyon is boating to the waterfalls. Inflatable boats, life jackets and helmets at the pier hint at white water rafting, but boating the canyon is a pleasant, easy trip, and the equipment is just a safety precaution. The footpath to the Okatse canyon passes through a beautiful forest area where you can see the ruins of the 18th century palace of the Dadiani princes. The walk is very pleasant, as the path is mainly descending. After a tranquil journey through the picturesque canyon, you’ll be excited to see a group of beautiful waterfalls and hear the dramatic sound they make. Around the waterfalls are several walkways, bridges, and observation platforms that allow you to take excellent photographs.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Russian, Portuguese, English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
Russian, Portuguese, English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 138118P10
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Fuel surcharge
  • Certified guide service
  • Transportation service with Minivan or Minibus
Exclusions
  • Entrance tickets
  • 4x4 Jeep Service from Gordi village to Okatse Canyon
  • Entry/Admission - Martvili Canyon
  • Entry/Admission - Okatse Canyon
Duration
12h
Departure details
  • Rustaveli M/S, Kostava Str., T'bilisi, Georgia Rustaveli M/S
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Fuel surcharge
  • Certified guide service
  • Transportation service with Minivan or Minibus
Exclusions
  • Entrance tickets
  • 4x4 Jeep Service from Gordi village to Okatse Canyon
  • Entry/Admission - Martvili Canyon
  • Entry/Admission - Okatse Canyon
Departure details
  • Rustaveli M/S, Kostava Str., T'bilisi, Georgia Rustaveli M/S
Duration
12h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Rustaveli M/S
    Kostava Str., T'bilisi, Georgia
    Rustaveli M/S
    See address & details
  • 1
    Martvili Canyon
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 2
    Okatse Canyon
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission excluded
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.0
4 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

elena
1 contribution
Unforgettable
Jul 2021
It was a wonderful experience with you guys. Really enjoyed this trip with our guide Nika. This is the second tour I took with Jentour and once again had a really great time. Thanks you Love you <3
Written 5 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ᴇᴍɪʟʏ A
1 contribution
Fun and informative!!!
Jun 2021
Anastasia was great person, we love the tour. The company is great. Don't hesitate!!! ........ ❤️ Thanks a lot
Written 3 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mhairi M
Doha, Qatar1,064 contributions
A Waste Of Time
Jul 2021
Ten hours in a minivan - car crash of a tour.

We booked this trip based on the beautiful images posted on Tripadvisor and the two excellent reviews, we were excited to experience the canyons and given our previous private day tours - we had high hopes for a professional and wonderful experience. This trip was neither of those.

The evening before our trip we had concerns relating to the length of the journey to get to the canyons. Our bad - we hadn't noticed the travel times and so we called Jentours to confirm. I think like most families we were so excited to travel and have a holiday after such a long time, we missed the travel detail!

Based on a previous private day tour we'd established that three hours in a minivan there and three hours back was our family limit...so we were concerned as the Canyon trip details showed five hours there and five hours back.

We called the Jentours operator to confirm the travel time and explained that we were ready to cancel the tour and forfeit our advance payment if the travel time was as detailed.

But Jentours explained repeatedly that we shouldn't worry as the maximum time from Tiblisi to the Canyons was three hours only. Excellent we thought and got ready for our private tour the next day.

At this point, my adult son and teenage son - protested that Google Maps showed five hours to reach...we agued that Jentours were local and would no doubt know shortcuts and there was no way these guys would lie about the duration of the travel time.

Isn't hindsight a wonderful thing!

So we pushed on with our private trip.

On the day of our trip we were introduced to our male driver and our female tour guide. Both spoke broken English and this was a little worrying, as our previous private tour guides were listed as bi-lingual and they were fluent.

The mini van was clean but the AC was defective and the vents were broken. But again we were keen to get to the Canyons, so jumped in and headed on our way. Our driver was markedly speedier than our previous driver and we all thought - great we will surely be on track for the three hour arrival time.

Our guide spent most of the trip talking in Georgian to the driver with the occasional break to point and try to explain in English what we were passing. After the usual stops for petrol and W.C we continued on our way - we just wanted to get to the canyons.

Time passed and our guide continued to talk to the driver in Georgian. We gave up waiting for any verbal interaction and all plugged into our devices, just to help pass the time.

Watching the clock...three hours came and went. When we asked our guide how much longer? She shrugged and said maybe another 30 mins ... and another and another. We called Jentours enroute who told us that it was only three hours again! This was after over four hours in the minivan.

It took in total five hours to arrive! Which was the time originally detailed in the itinerary - we were hot, tired and fed up being lied to. The previous night when we called Jentours, they made it were very clear to us that the max travel time to the Canyons was three hours!

If Jentours had simply been honest and said five we would have said thank you and cancelled. BUT Jentours did not - instead they blatantly made false statement after false statement.

This trip also states it is good for avoiding crowds - another big attraction for our family as like everyone else we are Covid aware! Yes another blatantly false Jentours claim. When we finally arrived the supposed natural site was awash with a sea of people. Dis-organised, no social distancing - we were gutted.

As we excited the minivan we were immediately pounced on by other local tour operators. Aggressively touting for our business. This was terrible and our guide who had spoken for almost the entire trip non-stop to our driver was suddenly silent.

The situation was farcical.

We were left to try and explain that we were with Jentours - while pleading with our tour guide to speak to these other tour operators in Georgian. Totally chaos and hugely disappointing. We were in shock and numb from the horror of the five hour drive to reach this place - which was hellish.

Our guide pointed to the office where you had to purchase your tickets - these were not included in the tour (we knew that) but the queue was at least 40 people deep and slow. We asked could we pay extra to avoid the long queue? Our Jentour tour guide said no, we would have to wait maybe another hour for tickets!

We were over it! The lies, the unprofessional behaviour, this was a disaster. We made a family decision to get back in the van and head back to Tbilisi.

At this point our guide called her office and began to offer other options to us;

1. You can visit the Okatse canyon - We asked will it be as busy? I was desperately trying to salvage this horror of a day. Our guide replied it will be the same. We declined.

2. How about Prometheus's Cave? Is it near? We asked. Our guide replied maybe one hour drive? We declined.

3. Do you want to swim? This was offered as we crossed a bridge over a river where a group of men were swimming semi clothed. We declined.

We stopped once on the way back to Tiblisi where we bought coffee and snacks for ourselves, the guide and the driver. They were both sheepish and apologetic. We took the time to explain that sadly Jentours had not only let us down but them also.

What a waste of time.

We arrived in Tbilisi tired, having lost ten hours of our time in a minivan! We fell out of the van and although very unhappy with the tour we tipped the guys as they were also very flat.

In conclusion yes we made a mistake with timing, but when we called to clarify we were lied to - repeatedly!. The tour guide was not fluent in English and she seemed genuinely out of her depth. The driver was fast but safe.

This was our worst day out of 9 other fabulous Georgian days.

So here are my top tips

1. Listen to your children.

2. Check google maps.

3. Do not waste your time or money on Jentours.

No one likes writing a poor review but if it helps another family avoid the waste of time and money - I felt it was necessary to share our dreadful experience.

My family and I wasted over ten hours in a minivan and we will never get that back. I am sure that this is a lovely natural site to visit - just book with another tour operator.
Written 1 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nathan
France2 contributions
Breathtaking experience
May 2021
The Martvilis and Okatse canyons are just beautiful, everything is so green! Our guide made it more interesting telling us informative stories about these places, we learned that Martvili Canyon was a cave with underground river, which then collapsed and made this beautiful natural place which is breathtaking to see. Boat ride was also perfect way to experience the beauty of this magical place, I highly recommend this tour, you will enjoy every minute of it.
Written 30 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Nathan, thank you for your positive review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed a trip to canyons and loved the stories told by our guide. We look forward to seeing you again in the future as we continue to uphold our excellent services.
Written 30 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: JEN TOUR
manjula243
manjula243
00
Brilliant and informative tour in Kazbegi
Had a wonderful trip with my family. Kazbegi is a beautiful place, being close to nature and learning about their c
Taylorthetraveler3
Taylorthetraveler3
00
Most informative tour while visiting top attractions in Tbilisi
This was a fantastic tour, thanks to our wonderful, kind guide, who spoke beautiful English and answered our many q
serena4g
serena4g
00
Fun and friendly
We are happy we choose this tour, everything was great from first time communicating to reaching the final destinat
YvetteHoitink98
YvetteHoitink98
00
Amazing trip!
Awesome experiences! The food was absolutely amazing! So flavorful and tasty in the restaurant near the Gudauri! Ou
shivakathiresan
shivakathiresan
00
Amazing tour, well organized and a lovely team
I can’t recommend the Jen tour enough!! We took 4 different tours from this company and had a great time. The recog
kellyleong4
kellyleong4
00
It was awesome, definitely recommend it!
I have just completed Kazbegi and Kakheti tour. I travelled with my brother not really knowing what to expect but e
velascomay
velascomay
00
Absolutely amazing Tbilisi city Tour
We took 2 tours in Tbilisi and Kazbegi from this company which turned out to be totally delightful experience for o
velascomay
velascomay
00
Very interesting tour, great guide and beautiful landscapes. Highly recommended!
To Jen Tour Travel Agency My family & I would like to thank you so much for the wonderful and inspirational tour. W
yurighazaryan
yurighazaryan
00
A totally delightful experience!
My spouse and I spent a wonderful day touring the Kakheti wine region with Tamar. She is a very nice, professional
marcinkowalczyk2
marcinkowalczyk2
00
Me and my wife had the best adventure ever!
Our tour guide, Tamar is very attentive person and provided an excellent service. Her stories are very entertaining
Rangavenkataramani44
Rangavenkataramani44
00
Great tour in Kazbegi with my family, truly unforgettable experience made by the most friendly guide Tamar
My family and I had a great experience in Georgia with Tamar as our tour guide. She is a responsible and friendly t
Frequently Asked Questions about Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi will start at 8:00 AM. Discover and book Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi on Tripadvisor

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi price starts from £93.72. Discover and book Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi on Tripadvisor

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi on Tripadvisor

Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi is hosted by JEN TOUR. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact JEN TOUR on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Private day trip in Okatse and Martvili Canyons from Tbilisi on Tripadvisor