Tours and Tickets

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco provided by Willka Cusco

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco
4.5
Book in advance
from
£33.96
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Trek through the Peruvian countryside to Humantay Lake with your guide
Duration:
12h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
15
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    12h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    15
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
A popular day trip from Cusco, Humantay Lake and its natural wonders are best experienced by hike, but navigating on your own can be challenging. This full-day guided sightseeing tour includes round-trip travel from Cusco, entrance fees, plus breakfast and lunch—everything is taken care of for you to enjoy your trek in full. Admire panoramic views over  Apurimac River and Humantay Lake, and learn of the region’s Inca history.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Highlights
  • Learn more about South America’s ancient Inca civilization
  • Take in views over the Apurimac River and Humantay Lake
  • Entrance fees, meals, and round-trip transport from Cusco included
What to expect
Meet your guide at your Cusco hotel in the early morning, and take a seat in your vehicle. Then, head out of the city toward the village of Mollepata to begin your tour. After breakfast in Mollepata, head onward to Soraypampa—the starting point of your trek—and enjoy sweeping views over the Apurimac River. Follow rugged hiking trails to Humantay Lake, set at 13,800 feet (4,200 meters) above sea level. With your guide to lead the way, there’s no need for a map or electronic navigation. On arrival, gaze out over the shimmering waters of Humantay Lake to the glacier above, and listen as your guide sheds light on the region’s geography and Inca mythology. Perhaps rent a horse to explore the landscape further (own expense). After Humantay Lake, head back to Mollepata for lunch. Your tour concludes with drop-off at Plaza San Francisco Square.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Learn more about South America’s ancient Inca civilization
  • Take in views over the Apurimac River and Humantay Lake
  • Entrance fees, meals, and round-trip transport from Cusco included
What to expect
Meet your guide at your Cusco hotel in the early morning, and take a seat in your vehicle. Then, head out of the city toward the village of Mollepata to begin your tour. After breakfast in Mollepata, head onward to Soraypampa—the starting point of your trek—and enjoy sweeping views over the Apurimac River. Follow rugged hiking trails to Humantay Lake, set at 13,800 feet (4,200 meters) above sea level. With your guide to lead the way, there’s no need for a map or electronic navigation. On arrival, gaze out over the shimmering waters of Humantay Lake to the glacier above, and listen as your guide sheds light on the region’s geography and Inca mythology. Perhaps rent a horse to explore the landscape further (own expense). After Humantay Lake, head back to Mollepata for lunch. Your tour concludes with drop-off at Plaza San Francisco Square.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 29542P3
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup in Cusco city
  • Transport by private minivan
  • Professional guide
  • 1 American Breakfast, 1 lunch ( vegetarian option
  • Polar Blankets
  • 1 walking Stick
  • First aid kit and emergency oxygen
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Drinks
Duration
12h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If your hotel is located outside of the center of cusco you must come to the meeting point, or contact us by whatsApp or call us directly to let us know the name of your hotel. We do not pick up from Airbnbs if you are in Airbnb Be in the middle of Plaza regocijos or ( Plaza el Regocijo ) By the small water Fountain between 4:00am to 4:10am
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required for the Private option
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup in Cusco city
  • Transport by private minivan
  • Professional guide
  • 1 American Breakfast, 1 lunch ( vegetarian option
  • Polar Blankets
  • 1 walking Stick
  • First aid kit and emergency oxygen
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Drinks
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If your hotel is located outside of the center of cusco you must come to the meeting point, or contact us by whatsApp or call us directly to let us know the name of your hotel. We do not pick up from Airbnbs if you are in Airbnb Be in the middle of Plaza regocijos or ( Plaza el Regocijo ) By the small water Fountain between 4:00am to 4:10am
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
12h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required for the Private option
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 1 Jul 2020
A note from Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco
Limited capacity of our vehicles and seats distributed with the correct physical distance.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
103 reviews
Excellent
85
Very good
7
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
4

angelica a
Philadelphia, PA7 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
My friend and I are in excellent shape and still couldn’t do it on our own without the horses. Felt really bad for them but there was no other way to get to the top.
Our trip guide Freddie was amazing, very knowledgeable, caring and patient with us-
He knew a lot about the lake, the history. He stayed with us when we needed breaks. He got us horses when we said we couldn’t do it anymore. Overall, the trip was amazing just be prepared for the challenging hike.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria jose D
Glad you enjoyed your tour with us, Angelica! Thank you for taking your time and writing it to us. We are looking forward to our next adventure time together! Take care!
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jan
Merano, Italy2 contributions
It was a fabulous day. They picked us up at our hotel and then we had a breakfast. After the breakfast we went up the mountain and after a hour we arrived at the Humantay lake. It was very beautiful and we have had a great tour guide.
After the the lake we drove back and had a good lunch. All in all it was a great day and a must do in Cusco. The lake is beautiful when the sun comes out.
Written 23 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria jose D
It sounds like you had a really good experience! Thank you for choosing doing it with us! We are looking forward to our next adventure time together! Take care!
Written 24 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Megan
3 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
The tour was the perfect use of my free day - it was definitely an early morning start but there was time to sleep on the bus. The hike upwards is steep but the views were completely worth it. Breakfast and lunch provided were delicious. Would recommend for nearly everyone. Only issur may be for those who get easily car sick.
Written 2 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Reyna Avila
2 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
Very nice tour from pick-up to drop off. I really enjoyed the services I received, extremely friendly staff, dedicated guide, and excellent breakfast and lunch. The lake is beautiful and the experience was better with WillkaTravel.
Written 9 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria jose D
Oh! That is really nice! Thank you for taking your time to leave a review about us! We are really happy to know you have enjoyed everything! We are looking forward to our next adventure time together! Take care!
Written 24 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Luna-14_T
Toronto101 contributions
Oct 2018
The fact that Laguna Humantay is gorgeous is indisputable; however, there are a few bit "buts" to take into account:

1) Firstly, in order to get there, it is a three hour drive from Cusco and another three hour drive to get back. The first two hours of the drive were alright (lots of twists, turns, ups and downs), but it was the last hour that was really tricky: with a very narrow dirt road that gets extremely dangerous at points when two cars in opposite directions meet or when mules and horses jam the road. The drivers are not very careful and are willing to take risks (especially, when two cars in opposite directions meet)...

2) Secondly, while the vans start collecting tourists at 4am in Cusco, what the reviews fail to inform you is that you actually do not leave Cusco until sunrise if not after (around 6am or later) once all the tourists are collected some of whom were not close to ready to leaving (we had to wait upward of 20 minutes for some). So, by the time you stop for breakfast at the nearest town (Mollepata), and start on the last 1-hour stretch, it is already 9am. You are lucky if your van gets to the entry point by 9:30 or 10am. Then it is walking a couple of kilometres in relatively flat terrain and then hiking two more in very steep terrain at high altitude.

3) Thirdly, I personally did not struggle with altitude sickness, and I was able to hike to the top relatively quickly (you do need to stop for breath every now and then). This meant that I had enough time to hike the hills adjacent to the lake and sit for well over an hour until the rest of those in my group made it to the lake. But, and here's the big "but", those who were late getting up barely had 15 minutes by the lake before our tour guide instructed us to start hiking down back to the van so as to make it for lunch, and then back to Cusco.

Even though I had well over an hour and a half to enjoy my surroundings and while I immensely enjoyed my hike up, I would caution those considering this day trip to be extra careful in their choices and consider that this trip is literally a touch-and-go for some: you are barely up when you are requested to start going down again. But I guess that works for those who simply want that one photo to put on Instagram to instigate jealousy and envy among friend (while the actual story is that they barely had 10 minutes of time by the lake).

In all honesty, I enjoyed a day when I rented a private taxi to take me around several sites in the Sacred Valley much more, and I regretted not continuing with a similar plan instead of Laguna Humantay. I wish there were accurate reviews in this forum to help me with this decision. So, I hope my review will help others.

Written 9 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jlbmpms
Melbourne, Australia55 contributions
Staff were friendly, hike was absolutely fantastic with the most amazing views. Our guide was very friendly and helped us to locate the track and enjoy the sites at the lake. The driver navigated the roads well. However, overall a disorganised tour with insufficient food.

Pick up was chaotic. After confirming a pick up from our hotel for 0400 the day prior, we weren’t collected until 0445 and were told that a different location had been arranged (?). At the end of the tour, we were left in the middle of the town 1.5km from our hotel, despite the tour description advertising hotel drop off and pick up from Cusco hotels.

The quality of breakfast was VERY poor. We received a singular, thin, cold pancake with butter and jam. This was totally inadequate as a meal. I would highly recommend arranging some hotel food the night prior if possible (although pick up is before buffet breakfast). Lunch was completely disorganised. The faster walkers had to wait 45 mins until the slower walkers returned, and there were no drinks or snacks served in the meantime. After this long wait for food, we received soup, rice, potato, and chicken drumsticks but all heavily rationed. Quality was ok but there was not a single piece of spare food and most people were still hungry. It would be great to have some drinks/coffee and basics snacks available to those who had to wait almost an hour to be fed after receiving only the pancake for breakfast.

The lake spoke for itself and was absolutely incredible. You want to bring hiking boots and minimal bags (and a compact water bottle) if possible, we weren’t quite aware that it would actually be an arduous hike. Walking stick is provided and helpful for the steep incline! On the descent there is free flowing water from the glacier that is well worth a taste it was lovely and fresh! Overall the site was incredible and we absolutely loved the hike. However the disorganised pick up/drop off and absolutely inadequate food slightly took away from the experience.
Written 15 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kimberly Q
7 contributions
Sep 2018 • Couples
Humantay Lake was one of the places I was most excited about visiting on our trip to Peru. I decided to book with Willka Travel after reading several reviews. First, I didn't realize that the trek to Humantay Lake is a complete incline with virtually no leveling off points. My husband and I hadn't adjusted to the altitude yet (we come from sea level) so we were a bit slower than everyone else. Even though our guide said he would stay with the people at the back, he went on ahead to the point where we could barely see him. I ended up getting horses halfway up because I felt like we would be left behind. Our guide didn't help get the horses and just went on ahead. When we finally reached the lake, he said we had 10 minutes and then would start our descent. I couldn't believe that we had climbed over an hour and driven 3 hours from Cusco just to get 10 minutes at the lake! The first person who arrived at the lake from our group said she had only been there for maybe 20 minutes before we started going back down. I thought we would have a lot longer time at the lake since it is so strenuous to get to. I was very disappointed with the guide and our visit to the lake. When we got back to Cusco, we were then dropped off at a square that was a 40 minute walk from our hotel...which just added to our frustration. I wish that I had hired a private guide and paid a bit more money so that I really could have enjoyed the hike and the lake.
Written 28 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CoastGuardSteve
Pasadena, MD308 contributions
The place itself is wonderful. Beautiful and amazing. If you are struggling with the altitude at Cusco, do not do it until your good. I was in Cusco for 2 days and thought I was okay, the additional 2200ft wore me out to the point, I had to pay additional money to ride a horse the rest of the way. It’s uphill most of the way to the Lake. Worth going but be ready.
Written 6 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Geng L
12 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
It rained the day we hiked but it was still beautiful (dress accordingly and watch out for mud if raining). Freddy (aka Mr. Krueger) was an awesome tour guide, friendly and informative. Challenging if not acclimated to the high altitude but its a shorter hike (1 - 1 1/2 hours up, 45 mins - 1 hour down). Breakfast was light and lunch was hearty and delicious.
Written 28 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time.
Written 16 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

wdfyffe
Raleigh, NC53 contributions
I hate giving bad reviews, but Willka Cuzco is just the worst. We made several reservations through Viator months before our trip. All the other companies kept in constant contact with us to update us on our trips. They all asked us for specific needs. Willka Cuzco? Nothing. Not a thanks for choosing us, not a who has food allergies, nothing. We assumed the trip had not gone through. We arrived in Peru and started our tours. We really liked one of the companies we had a tour with and scheduled a trip to fill the date that had a hole in it due to our “dropped” trip. On the day of the filler trip, a guy shows up to the hotel looking for me. It’s the guy from Willka Cuzco. After clearing up the confusion about his identity, I tell him that we never heard anything from them and assumed the trip was canceled. The guide puts me on the phone with the owner. I explain everything all over again to the owner. He indignantly tells me “it isn’t my responsibility to keep you informed of your tour, that’s Viator’s job”. And he hangs up on me just like that. The tour guide says if we don’t leave with him right now, he’ll have to mark me down as a no show. I told him he has to do what he has to do. With that, the guide left.

I have lived all around Central and South America most of my life, to include Peru. I speak Spanish as well as I speak English. There was no communication barrier. Willka Cuzco made no attempt to contact us about our tour and as soon as there was a problem, the company tells we’ve got your money, so you can F off. I’ve never been treated so disrespectfully and unprofessionally by a tour company. I am including an image of the first and only communication made to us by Willca Cuzco, which was conveniently sent to us right after I talked to the tour guide and told him that the company had not communicated with us.

My wife has attempted to communicate with them to see if there is a solution, but Willka Cuzco has yet to return an email. That’s the service we have come to know with this company. They have a high rating on trip advisor. They don’t deserve it. These guys are greasy hucksters.
Written 12 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria jose D
First of all I would like to thank you for your time for writing this comment. Second we never knew where you were staying, you never provided the name of your hotel in Cusco and we would like to clarify that guide never look for you at your hotel, you are lying or simply confusing of person I want to clarify also that I have never talked to you on the phone, If I had done I would have told you respectfully, our clients are first if I could post pictures of how many emails and messages I sent to you, I think the reason would be 100% ours, it is very evident that the person you spook with did not know anything about what was happening. We never receive calls to our 2 phones that we have that work perfectly. If you had written the name of the hotel, nothing of this could happen, if you can answer your phone either, we were waiting for your response until the next day also all morning, we left Cusco 1 hour late. Thus, when we did not receive a response from you, we wrote one last message at the time we were leaving cusco, that your tour will be considered a no show. And it is not fair that you claim us for something that was your mistake, and we rejected your refund request We work a long time and our clients always put the information of their hotels to go to look for them. Thank you very much for taking your time!
Written 18 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 60
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Willka Cusco
Natalia P
Natalia P
00
AWESOME
This was the funnest tour I’ve taken!!! Our guide Edgar was amazing, he made sure everyone felt comfortable, stoppe
rachelannunziello
rachelannunziello
00
Beautiful and exciting day
What an amazing day with a beautiful backdrop! The guides were so kind and made it unforgettable. We were glad we d
courtneypS5891AK
courtneypS5891AK
00
HIGHLY RECOMMEND -- AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!
SUCH A FUN TOUR! When planning our trip to Peru/Cusco and the popular sites, I came across this ATV tour and decide
johnpE42RZ
johnpE42RZ
00
A great way to see the Sacred Valley
Great day , well organised . The operating and safety instructions were excellent . It was a perfect way to see the
Jessmxo
Jessmxo
00
Breathtaking views
The overall experience was wonderful. The logistics regarding not having an English guide and leaving late was chal
640zachz
640zachz
00
Incredible trip
These guys were amazing. Treated us like family and made the day unforgettable. Loved to learn about the local cult
Haarc I
Haarc I
00
Group Tour Machu Picchu
Very superb planning, including hotel pickup, and a lovely excursion with our guide Uriel, who was very polite and
I3286VVvaleriam
I3286VVvaleriam
00
10/10
Amazing experience! We couldn’t be more happy with how our day went. The views were amazing, the guide very friendl
Maria K
Maria K
00
Awesome! Definitely recommend
An awesome experience! We went ziplining too and it was amazing. A lot of ATV riding time. It did start to storm so
I6193BNlindsayr
I6193BNlindsayr
00
Must-do!
Amazing experience! The ATV tour was so much fun, and the guide was patient as we learned how to drive. I would hig
theexhuberantfirefly
theexhuberantfirefly
00
A different and super fun experience!
Totally worth every cent!! I was very conflicted between this tour and another full day one, that would include mor
christinah7375
christinah7375
00
SUCH A COOL EXPERIENCE!!!
Hands down - this was one awesome experience! The guides were great. It was so much fun! there's also so much inclu
Amber H
Amber H
00
4 wheelers amazing, zip lining was sketchy
Had a great time! The 4 wheelers were very easy to drive. We started the day at the salt flats which was perfect b
retroflyer9
retroflyer9
00
Good
Had a pickup from The hotel. Was a ride shared with 2 other people so we were sitting close to each other in a 4 pe
Sherpa746011
Sherpa746011
00
Great ATV Tour!
I booked this trip the night before via TripAdvisor and everything went smoothly. They picked me up at the hotel a
Frequently Asked Questions about Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco will start at 4:00 AM. Discover and book Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco on Tripadvisor

During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco on Tripadvisor

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco price starts from £33.43. Discover and book Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco on Tripadvisor

Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Humantay Lake Tour from Cusco on Tripadvisor