Tours and Tickets

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise provided by South Sea Cruises

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise
2
Book in advance
from
£76.05
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
Cruise through the spectacular Mamanuca Islands to one of the most popular destinations in Fiji, Beachcomber Island, and immerse yourself in an island paradise. Fill your day with endless activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. You can choose between Full Day cruise and Half Day cruise which departs daily from Port Denarau. A free Nadi/Denarau return coach transfer to/from Port Denarau and transfer to the Beachcomber in our modern catamaran that have air-conditioned lounges, outside viewing decks and fully licensed bars, meaning you’ll feel on holiday, even enroute to your island escape!
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6-9 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
  • Begin your day's adventure with convenient pickup at your accommodations in Nadi, Denarau Island, or the Coral Coast. From the Denarau Marina, hop a ferry for a cruise through the Mamanuca Islands, a protected marine sanctuary.  Go ashore at Beachcomber Island and spend the day however you wish. Lessons in traditional Fijian crafts and glass-bottom boat excursions are available as well as a host of water sports. Use the provided snorkel equipment to explore the underwater world or just relax on the beach and soak up the sun. When you get hungry, pause for a buffet lunch (included) and follow it up with a cocktail at the Barefoot Bar.  Return to Denarau Marina the way you came, ending your trip with drop-off back at your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6-9 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Begin your day's adventure with convenient pickup at your accommodations in Nadi, Denarau Island, or the Coral Coast. From the Denarau Marina, hop a ferry for a cruise through the Mamanuca Islands, a protected marine sanctuary.  Go ashore at Beachcomber Island and spend the day however you wish. Lessons in traditional Fijian crafts and glass-bottom boat excursions are available as well as a host of water sports. Use the provided snorkel equipment to explore the underwater world or just relax on the beach and soak up the sun. When you get hungry, pause for a buffet lunch (included) and follow it up with a cocktail at the Barefoot Bar.  Return to Denarau Marina the way you came, ending your trip with drop-off back at your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5204P21
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Vessel transfer in an air-conditioned catamaran with free WiFi on board
  • Buffet lunch
  • Morning and afternoon tea (depending on departure time chosen
  • Complimentary WiFi
  • Morning Tea or Afternoon Tea
  • Free Hotel Pick up/drop off to most Denarau, Nadi & Wailoaloa hotels
Exclusions
  • Use of snorkelling gears (additional charge)
  • Watersports (additional charge may apply)
Duration
6–9 hours
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Complimentary coach transfers are provided to/from most of the Nadi/Denarau & Wailoaloa resorts. Should you miss the complimentary coach transfer, you will need to find your own way to/from Port. Denarau at your own cost. Please check with your hotel concierge for the exact pick-up time. * Fiji Gateway Hotel / Trans International Hotel - Bus bay outside Fiji Gateway Hotel * Nadi Downtown Backpackers - Courtesy transfer to be confirmed at time of booking * Ratsun Nadi Airport Apartment Hotel - Bus bay in front of the hotel * Grand Melanesian Hotel - Bus bay in front of the hotel * Mercure Hotel Nadi - Bus bay outside of hotel * Hexagon International Hotel / Capricorn Hotel Nadi / Travellers Apartments - Bus bay in front of the RB Jetpoint Shopping Complex. * Nadi Bay Resort / Nalagi Hote - 7:40am guests depart from Nadi Bay Resort. South Sea Cruises guests to meet coach at bus stop opposite Nadi Bay Resor * Club Fiji / Oasis Palms - All South Sea Cruises transfers will be by shared transfer to Nadi Bay Resort to meet coach transfer to Port Denarau at 7:15am * Bamboo Travellers Beach / Beach Escape Villas / Bamboo Bluewater Lodge / Aquarius on the Beach / Smugglers Cove / Ramada Suites by Wyndham / New Town Beach Motel - Please wait for your transfer outside Ramada Suites by Wyndham
  • Port Denarau Marina, Port Denarau Terminal, Denarau Island, Fiji South Sea Cruises check-in counter located in the Passenger Terminal at Port Denarau
  • Ports:
  • Port Denarau, Denarau Island, Fiji
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • You must contact South Sea Cruises at least 24 hours before your activity date to confirm your reservation and arrange Transport. Use the contact details on this voucher. Upon check in please present your confirmation or voucher in exchange for your tour boarding pass
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Vessel transfer in an air-conditioned catamaran with free WiFi on board
  • Buffet lunch
  • Morning and afternoon tea (depending on departure time chosen
  • Complimentary WiFi
  • Morning Tea or Afternoon Tea
  • Free Hotel Pick up/drop off to most Denarau, Nadi & Wailoaloa hotels
Exclusions
  • Use of snorkelling gears (additional charge)
  • Watersports (additional charge may apply)
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Complimentary coach transfers are provided to/from most of the Nadi/Denarau & Wailoaloa resorts. Should you miss the complimentary coach transfer, you will need to find your own way to/from Port. Denarau at your own cost. Please check with your hotel concierge for the exact pick-up time. * Fiji Gateway Hotel / Trans International Hotel - Bus bay outside Fiji Gateway Hotel * Nadi Downtown Backpackers - Courtesy transfer to be confirmed at time of booking * Ratsun Nadi Airport Apartment Hotel - Bus bay in front of the hotel * Grand Melanesian Hotel - Bus bay in front of the hotel * Mercure Hotel Nadi - Bus bay outside of hotel * Hexagon International Hotel / Capricorn Hotel Nadi / Travellers Apartments - Bus bay in front of the RB Jetpoint Shopping Complex. * Nadi Bay Resort / Nalagi Hote - 7:40am guests depart from Nadi Bay Resort. South Sea Cruises guests to meet coach at bus stop opposite Nadi Bay Resor * Club Fiji / Oasis Palms - All South Sea Cruises transfers will be by shared transfer to Nadi Bay Resort to meet coach transfer to Port Denarau at 7:15am * Bamboo Travellers Beach / Beach Escape Villas / Bamboo Bluewater Lodge / Aquarius on the Beach / Smugglers Cove / Ramada Suites by Wyndham / New Town Beach Motel - Please wait for your transfer outside Ramada Suites by Wyndham
  • Port Denarau Marina, Port Denarau Terminal, Denarau Island, Fiji South Sea Cruises check-in counter located in the Passenger Terminal at Port Denarau
  • Ports:
  • Port Denarau, Denarau Island, Fiji
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
6–9 hours
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • You must contact South Sea Cruises at least 24 hours before your activity date to confirm your reservation and arrange Transport. Use the contact details on this voucher. Upon check in please present your confirmation or voucher in exchange for your tour boarding pass
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 9 Sep 2021
A note from Beachcomber Island Day Cruise
All passengers over the age of 17 are required to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 with a WHO-recognized vaccine. Customers will need to complete and submit a pre-cruise health declaration form & provide a form of Government-issued evidence of their COVID-19 vaccination status at check-in.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
What you can expect during your visit
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas

2.0
5 reviews
Excellent
1
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
2

Teresa S
San Diego, CA6 contributions
Disappointing, but tried to make the best of it
Jan 2020
The entire reason for booking this cruise was because it said there was parasailing (for an added cost). When we got there, I asked the guy about it immediately because it was important to me that we get to do it. The guy said the man who drives the boat for parasailing was not there and should be back later after lunch and that he would let me know when he gets back. I asked about it two other times during the stay and he finally told me the guy wouldn't be coming back in time so we wouldn't be able to do it. This put me in a sour mood and kinda ruined the day...

The cruise to and from the island was fast, efficient, and cool. It was nice that they had the air conditioned area below and the open seating area on top. We rode in the A/C area on the way there because it was super hot in the morning, but it cooled down by the time we returned and it was nice to sit on the top deck and have the fresh air and breeze as well as nice views.

The staff on the island were pretty rude, especially the bartender. The drinks were really expensive and you even had to pay for water. The buffet had very few options, was very low quality, and was kind of gross. I basically ate pineapple and overcooked rice because the meat looked sketchy.

The snorkeling and glass-bottom boat/fish feeding were really fun at least. We brought our own snorkeling gear and the water was really nice and warm, so we had a good time. We saw a lot of fish, especially when feeding (tossing old bread into the water). The guys on the glass bottom boat were really friendly and were the only staff who seemed like they wanted to be there and they wanted us to have fun.

There was a "turtle viewing" which sounded like a fun activity, but we just walked to the back of the island and they had some small enclosures with turtles in them. We just stood there and looked at them for ~5 minutes and all walked back to the bar area. It was cool seeing them, but was pretty hyped in my opinion.

To sum it up, the staff weren't very friendly, the food sucked, they didn't have the one activity I booked the trip to do, and the day felt super long. The cruise to and from the island as well as snorkeling and glass-bottom boat were the only positive parts of the experience.
Written 25 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not have the best time. Should you come back to FIji in the future, please come and see us and we can recommend a day cruise (we have loads to choose from) that suits your expectations and needs. We have passed your feedback onto Beachcomber Island (our supplier). Vinaka, The team at South Sea Cruises
Written 19 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Explorer
2 contributions
Not as advertised
Dec 2019
Nothing like the brochure advertised.
The staff were rude, the lunch wasn’t much good with drinks running out and limited choice.
The activities such as kayaking is all additional, the snorkelling 5 minute adventure whilst some kids threw bread to the fish would have been better if it had lasted longer and we snorkelled a better area of the reef.
Lots of time with nothing todo, no crafts or afternoon tea.
A LOT of money for not a lot of experience.
I believe my mum has written to them and not heard back from the company which is pretty bad service.
Written 4 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bula 1215Hlkarenm We are truly sorry you did not have a great experience on the Beachcomber Island Day Cruise. As you booked on line all of the information was provided there for you as per what is sent to us by the resort to advertise on their behalf, but as the promoter of this product I can understand your point of view. Please be reassured I have addressed your issues with the resort management. We have indeed heard from your mum and not quite true that we have not responded. Unfortunately a lot of the issues you and your mum have raised we could not answer due to not actually operating the resort so as advised we have had to wait for the resort management to respond to us so we in turn could respond to your mum. She was aware of this from the original email. I have however, been in discussions with your mum and she is aware of the efforts we are making to ensure this product meets future travelers expectations. Vinaka
Written 9 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

K M
11 contributions
Terrible waste of a valuable day and appalling customer service
Dec 2019
Don’t do it, in short avoid this day and company.
We went last week and from start to finish it was awful!
We arrived on the island which was full of schooling’s, we were ushered into a dark room upstairs whilst other groups arrived and the schoolies went out for the day.
I went to use the toilets and they were covered in and full of vomit.
After about an hour we finally got a coffee and a single pancake..
We went on the morning snorkel which lasted no more than 30-40 minutes and we were shouted at if we went outside of a 10 m x 10 m area next to the boat (the fish didn’t know that’s where they were meant to be...).
We went back to the island and had ‘free time’until lunch. We were not able to walk around the island because 3/4 of it is huts and many were occupied.
Lunch was good to be fair.
In the afternoon we were offered to go and see the turtles.... there are six turtles in a small pond! Don’t be under the illusion you will see them in the sea!
We went on the afternoon snorkel that lasted less than the morning snorkel and that was it...
There were no drinks or afternoon tea... there were locals in the bar (that is massively over priced - captive audience) and they had music playing for them... there was nothing else to do other than sit on the sand.. which was littered with rubbish and cigarette butts.
Our boat never picked us up... apparently they had not phoned the staff on the island to let them know they were on the way...
We then sat on a small transfer boat bobbing about for an hour waiting for the next passing boat to take us back.
Once aboard the return boat a crew member started slapping my back (not gently) as i had a bit of sand on me....!
I have emailed south sea cruises three times to attempt to resolve this matter and each time I am told that they are waiting for the staff at beachcomber to get back to me.
Their customer service is ‘if we wait long enough they will leave the island and forget about it’.
This was meant to be a special trip as my son (who I haven’t seen in a year) had travelled from Australia and we had flown from England... so sad.
On speaking to my hotel and other holiday makers that have returned to Fiji year on year I have been told that none of them have ever heard a good report about either beachcomber or south sea cruises.
This trip is sold by misleading customers and overselling.... don’t do it!
Go with coral cats! They have been amazing!
Written 4 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bula kmF3126GR We are truly sorry you did not have a great experience on the Beachcomber Island Day Cruise. As you booked on line for this day trip all of the information was provided there for you as per what is sent to us by the resort to advertise on their behalf, however as the promoter of this product we can understand your point of view. Due to not owning and operating Beachcomber Island Resort we have had to wait for their management response to be able to come back to you as advised. We apologize this has not been a quick response as per your expectations however it certainly wasn't for want of trying to resolve this quickly for you. Please be reassured I have addressed your issues with the resort management, as you and I have discussed. Our recent email correspondence which has addressed the efforts we are making to ensure this product meets future travelers expectations, has met with your approval. Vinaka
Written 9 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

annieant34
Maroochydore, Australia51 contributions
Fast, efficient and totally professional.
Oct 2019
We did 2 separate cruises over a week and thoroughly enjoyed both. From the check in, to the return journey - so polished. We recommend this company emphatically.
Written 4 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Renee O
Gold Coast, Australia87 contributions
Misleading brochures
We went on a full day Beachcomber Island Day Cruise. The brochure promised us a lovely 'resort' with lots of extra activities available (for varying costs). They promised trips to go fish feeding, coral viewing & snorkelling. Our day included a buffet lunch and morning tea.

The boat to the island was fine, fast, with good views. Beachcomber Island itself was magnificent; with crystal blue waters and lovely sand. However, the 'resort' described was not that at all. In fact, it was more like a backpackers hostel. Our morning tea was a muffin and OJ in a communal dining area. The lunch was not a very good buffet, with limited options. The buffet also ran out of food multiple times- they didn't seem well prepared as there was only about 50 people eating (at most)! We lined up to get food and we were given 1 of the food items we selected (1 piece of taro, 1 piece of pumpkin etc). The water dispenser also ran out and when asked to refill it, the staff advised to walk over to the bar to get water. Very disappointing.

The activities were very limited. Firstly there was a sign near the pool that said we weren't allowed to swim in it. There were only 2 scheduled trips for the whole day to go fish feeding, snorkelling and coral viewing- we had to choose between fish feeding/coral viewing boat (as it had a glass bottom) or snorkelling boat. We chose snorkelling (thinking we could go on the second trip for the other activities), however, the trip allowed for only 20-25 min of snorkelling. We returned to the island and we were told the second trip was cancelled due to "bad weather". The weather was fine. During the hottest parts of the day where you don't want to be out in the sun/water the whole time- there is nothing to do. No air conditioned areas to sit in. Nothing.

I also found the staff on the island to be a little unprofessional. South Sea Cruises promised us this relaxing resort escape, and we were met with staff who seemed more like guardians of young party-goers. One lady requested to be called "Mama".

I did some research on the resort (including trip advisor) and they, multiple times, described themselves as a venue for the "young, young at heart who travel on a budget". All the information points to it being more appropriate for backpackers and people wanting to party. It certainly did not meet our expectations based on how South Sea Cruises are selling it. If you told me it was a backpackers, I would've gone somewhere else.

It looks like a great resort for people who want that hostel environment, however.

The price wasn't worth it (just over $200 FJD each person). We were basically stuck on an island all day with not much to do! There should've been more snorkelling trips, especially since it is an advertised feature of this trip.

Written 10 December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bula Renee O, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with South Sea Cruises. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so. We sincerely apologise that you felt as though your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We do our utmost to ensure our product is of a high standard and take feedback very seriously so we can ensure a great experience for travelers to Fiji. We are disappointed to hear that this was your experience. We would love to connect with you directly. Our best email address is: customercare@ssc.com.fj. We look forward to talking to you soon. Vinaka
Written 19 December 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travellers have to say about the operator.

By: South Sea Cruises
Anna Lena W
Anna Lena W
00
WTF, why? Just terrible and poorly done.
Bad weather, not their fault, but I tried calling them at 8 in the morning wanting to know if I was going to be abl
Tammyli
Tammyli
00
This is not a cruise! It’s a FERRY
We have emailed this to the Fijian cruise company, let's hope they refund our money and change their adverts! ——— W
C8428BFchrisw
C8428BFchrisw
00
Great day cruise experience
This day adventure was a highlight of our 10 day tour through the Yasawa islands. Easy transfer from our resort to
gaurav s
gaurav s
00
it was fun, but not really greatest of experience
This is a small island which accommodates limited number of people at a time, the package for day tour included ka
Tyranny1057
Tyranny1057
00
Disregard for safety, BBQ food terrible, island facilities dilapidated
It’s well organised with slick on time departure/arrival at South Sea Island. There is a briefing on the activities
907Boots
907Boots
00
Rainy but excellent beach day
Trip over & back on the Yasawa Flyer was great. Unfortunately it rained hard for first 1/2 of the day. But that
ChaddyTobes21
ChaddyTobes21
00
Half day was plenty with young kids
2 adults, 1 child and 1 toddler We did the half day afternoon cruise and it was plenty with a young family. The ki
itsawanderfiolife
itsawanderfiolife
00
Great choice for visiting the islands!
Smooth journey, great and helpful staff who assisted us from boarding to departure and even made sure we had transp
tylersY4577AX
tylersY4577AX
00
No
Why bother you’re much better off staying on Denerau island and enjoying the multitude of great restaurants there t
CJB2inGoodyearAZ
CJB2inGoodyearAZ
00
Would do it again!!!
There were about 10 sharks on the snorkel trip. Got very good video and pictures with my Go-Pro. Snorkelling in fro
advantageintl
advantageintl
00
Fiji Princess
The crewon the Fiji Princess makes the choice and selection a good one. They are friendly as well as attentive. Th
shannonluciano
shannonluciano
00
Terrible Online Service
First of all Id like to state that ive been on their cruises a many times, so i tried emailing them recently for a
hrober789374
hrober789374
00
A day on a Desert Island
A well organised day trip to a tiny island. From pick up to check, in to arrival on Southsea Island, we were looked
Scorpionsholidays
Scorpionsholidays
00
Excellent boat trip to South Sea Island.
Booked a half day boat trip to South Sea Island. Booking desk was efficient and friendly. Was picked up at hotel an
vsamuchev
vsamuchev
00
Sea spray amazing adventures! 15.02.20
Wow, I was on seaspray, excursion for 1 day. We cone to Denorau Port, 1 hour by sea to nex boat (from big to small)
Frequently Asked Questions about Beachcomber Island Day Cruise

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise price starts from £76.83. Discover and book Beachcomber Island Day Cruise on Tripadvisor

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Beachcomber Island Day Cruise on Tripadvisor

Beachcomber Island Day Cruise is hosted by South Sea Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact South Sea Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Beachcomber Island Day Cruise on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 6h. Discover and book Beachcomber Island Day Cruise on Tripadvisor