We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Krabi Town
Post
Inbox
Search

Clear Kayak - Bioluminescent Night Tour

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$67.99
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary

    Expect the unexpected. Every tour with Freebird Paddle Co. is completely unique and caters to your inner adventurer, get ready for the experience of a lifetime!

    Slide into a crystal clear kayak and immerse yourself in the majesty of Railay's underwater world. Set out to sea as the sun meets the horizon and soak up the scenery of the stunning Railay peninsula. As darkness falls high-tech LED lights attached underneath your kayak will illuminate the waters below. If we are lucky, silverfish and a variety of friendly sea creatures welcome you to their habitat before we reach the highlight of the tour ... bioluminescent plankton which thrive in these waters! Our clear kayaks and local guides are ready to give you memories to last a lifetime.

    All ability levels are welcome, a reasonable level of fitness is required.

    Children:

    Little Freebirds 4-8 years old are happily welcomed to join our night tours, they must ride with a parent/guardian on the same SUP board or kayak.

    Meeting Point: We meet at our Freebird shop on the Railay Walking Street between Railay West and Railay East.

    Please arrive 15 minutes prior to your activity to sign in and prepare yourself for the paddle.



    Stop At:

    • Freebird Paddle Co., 623/20 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 Thailand
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Freebird Paddle Co., 623/20 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Mueang Krabi District, Krabi 81000, Thailand
    Departure Time
    6:00 PM
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Instructions
    • Guide
    • Paddleboard
    • Life jacket
    Exclusions
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Child pricing is based on shared paddleboard. If child would like their own board, please book them as "Adult"
    • Near public transportation
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Customers who arrive under the influence of drugs or alcohol will not be allowed to participate and will not be refunded
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    16Reviews2Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 5
    • 1
    • 1
    • 2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We stumbled upon Freebird Paddle Co. on a walk through Railay Beach, and decided to try the bioluminescent night tour in clear kayaks. The experience itself was a little underwhelming, as the water was choppy and it was hard to see any plankton without stirring the water by
    Read more
    Thunderstorm? No problem for these lunatics. They took us out in inclement weather with lightning striking all around us. It was pouring so hard they instructed us to "paddle three times, then turn around and scoop water out of the kayak". So by some miracle we get back to the
    Read more
    Response from gofreebirdteam, Manager at Clear Kayak - Bioluminescent Night Tour
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Dear Dooblord, We are aware that your group of 5 has been seeking to secure a refund. As previously explained, since you have booked through a third party you must take it up with them. We do not have the option to refund guests who do not book directly with us. We also have no proof to provide to the 3rd party provider that you attended the tour as your group refused to sign in with us. We'd like to clarify some points here, and on the reviews left by other members of your group, as to your complaints listed. We are located in the tropics and our guides are experienced watermen who have lived their whole lives on these shores. We take cancellations due to weather seriously, and when we expect weather that would impact our group's safety and enjoyment we do cancel, reschedule, or refund. We carefully assess wind, wave, and storm conditions prior to embarking on the tour as it is also in our best interest to stay safe on the water. As per protocol the tour was safe to embark and the winds were set to be in our favor on the night of your tour, but yes, Mother Nature ultimately is in charge. Keeping our guests safe on the water is our ultimate concern, on the rare occasion weather behaves unpredictably as it did on the night of your tour, we switch from tour guide mode to safety guide mode. Even if our guests prefer not to get to shore and would rather continue paddling a kayak filling with water, we can obviously not allow that and get our guests to safety ASAP no matter what that entails. If we have already completed the majority of the tour in which everyone was having a great time, and weather suddenly forces us to shore early we offer guests to join our tour again if possible or compensate with complimentary transportation or rental boards, all of which your group declined. We work with guests every day to provide a fun and unique experience and ask that our guests follow the basic rules we outline clearly whether booking direct or through a 3rd party. Which include: Customers who arrive late will not be refunded or rescheduled: Your group was late, and we accommodated you anyway, under no obligation to do so. This pushed our tour start time back significantly. The group tour you were supposed to be on arrived on time just before the storm. The second group, which the 5 of you caused to be late, got caught out on the water. Customers under the influence of alcohol or other substances will not be allowed to join the tour they will not be refunded or rescheduled: After the groups returned to our shop we were informed that the guides smelled alcohol on your group, our beach staff informed us that your group was carrying open beer containers on arrival. Though your group has already communicated that they deny. It is worth mentioning here that this is one of our conditions. We only wish we were able to question and catch this potential hazard before we rushed to get your late group out on the water with us. We find that customers under the influence are even more dangerous to themselves, the group, and the guide, than any weather we have experienced, which is why it is important that future readers are aware that it won't be tolerated. Eventually, we suppose, all business and all travelers, unfortunately, will have experiences that neither party is happy with. We are very sorry that it happened in the case, both that it caused undue distress to your group and because these types of reviews are damaging to small businesses. We hope you have a safe return to your country and that you were able to enjoy, in part, your travels to Amazing Thailand, The Freebird Team
    Read more
    I was pretty underwhelmed by my tour with Freebird Paddle Co. 1. We were only at the bioluminescent plankton for 10 minutes. I was pretty surprised by this, but the staff assured me this was a normal amount of time the tour stays at the plankton. 2. The plankton were
    Read more
    Response from gofreebirdteam, Manager at Clear Kayak - Bioluminescent Night Tour
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Dear Blake Johnson, We are aware that your group of 5 has been seeking to secure a refund. As previously explained, since you have booked through a third party you must take it up with them. We do not have the option to refund guests who do not book directly with us. We also have no proof to provide to the 3rd party provider that you attended the tour as your group refused to sign in with us. We'd like to clarify some points here, and on the reviews left by other members of your group, as to your complaints listed. First, we mention across all our platforms the time spent in plankton areas is roughly 15 minutes, because it is not all there is to see out there, if it was so underwhelming for you perhaps 10 minutes was already enough? We also mention that plankton is nearly impossible to photograph due to the low light conditions needed to view it and the natural light they produce. You will have the same issues trying to take a picture of a firefly. We feel no need to post photoshopped images of plankton on our platforms. It has nothing to do with the time of year as readers will see when they scroll above our below to other traveler reviews who have joined us in October. We are located in the tropics and our guides are experienced watermen who have lived their whole lives on these shores. We take cancellations due to weather seriously, and when we expect weather that would impact our group's safety and enjoyment we do cancel, reschedule, or refund. We carefully assess wind, wave, and storm conditions prior to embarking on the tour as it is also in our best interest to stay safe on the water. As per protocol the tour was safe to embark and the winds were set to be in our favor on the night of your tour, but yes, Mother Nature ultimately is in charge. Keeping our guests safe on the water is our ultimate concern, on the rare occasion weather behaves unpredictably as it did on the night of your tour, we switch from tour guide mode to safety guide mode. Even if our guests prefer not to get to shore and would rather continue paddling a kayak filling with water, we can obviously not allow that and get our guests to safety ASAP no matter what that entails. Eventually, we suppose, all business and all travelers, unfortunately, will have experiences that neither party is happy with. We are very sorry that it happened in the case, both that it caused undue distress to your group and because these types of reviews are damaging to small businesses. We hope you have a safe return to your country and that you were able to enjoy, in part, your travels to Amazing Thailand, The Freebird Team
    Read more
    Our group of 5 was excited for this tour to get to see the bioluminescent plankton, but had we known what the experience would entail, we would not have booked because of the price, the short amount of time spent in the plankton area, and the fact that a dangerous thunderstorm
    Read more
    Response from gofreebirdteam, Manager at Clear Kayak - Bioluminescent Night Tour
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Dear Anurag B, We are aware that your group of 5 has been seeking to secure a refund. As previously explained, since you have booked through a third party you must take it up with them. We do not have the option to refund guests who do not book directly with us. We also have no proof to provide to the 3rd party provider that you attended the tour as your group refused to sign in with us. We'd like to clarify some points here, and on the reviews left by other members of your group, as to your complaints listed. First, we mention across all our platforms the time spent in plankton areas is roughly 15 minutes, because it is not all there is to see out there, if it was so underwhelming for you perhaps 10 minutes was already enough? We also mention that plankton is nearly impossible to photograph due to the low light conditions needed to view it and the natural light they produce. You will have the same issues trying to take a picture of a firefly. We feel no need to post photoshopped images of plankton on our platforms. It has nothing to do with the time of year as readers will see when they scroll above our below to other traveler reviews who have joined us in October. We are located in the tropics and our guides are experienced watermen who have lived their whole lives on these shores. We take cancellations due to weather seriously, and when we expect weather that would impact our group's safety and enjoyment we do cancel, reschedule, or refund. We carefully assess wind, wave, and storm conditions prior to embarking on the tour as it is also in our best interest to stay safe on the water. As per protocol the tour was safe to embark and the winds were set to be in our favor on the night of your tour, but yes, Mother Nature ultimately is in charge. Keeping our guests safe on the water is our ultimate concern, on the rare occasion weather behaves unpredictably as it did on the night of your tour, we switch from tour guide mode to safety guide mode. Even if our guests prefer not to get to shore and would rather continue paddling a kayak filling with water, we can obviously not allow that and get our guests to safety ASAP no matter what that entails. If we have already completed the majority of the tour in which everyone was having a great time, and weather suddenly forces us to shore early we offer guests to join our tour again if possible or compensate with complimentary transportation or rental boards, all of which your group declined. We work with guests every day to provide a fun and unique experience and ask that our guests follow the basic rules we outline clearly whether booking direct or through a 3rd party. Which include: Customers who arrive late will not be refunded or rescheduled: Your group was late, and we accommodated you anyway, under no obligation to do so. This pushed our tour start time back significantly. The group tour you were supposed to be on arrived on time just before the storm. The second group, which the 5 of you caused to be late, got caught out on the water. Customers under the influence of alcohol or other substances will not be allowed to join the tour they will not be refunded or rescheduled: After the groups returned to our shop we were informed that the guides smelled alcohol on your group, our beach staff informed us that your group was carrying open beer containers on arrival. Though your group has already communicated that they deny. It is worth mentioning here that this is one of our conditions. We only wish we were able to question and catch this potential hazard before we rushed to get your late group out on the water with us. We find that customers under the influence are even more dangerous to themselves, the group, and the guide, than any weather we have experienced, which is why it is important that future readers are aware that it won't be tolerated. Eventually, we suppose, all business and all travelers, unfortunately, will have experiences that neither party is happy with. We are very sorry that it happened in the case, both that it caused undue distress to your group and because these types of reviews are damaging to small businesses. We hope you have a safe return to your country and that you were able to enjoy, in part, your travels to Amazing Thailand, The Freebird Team
    Read more
    We spent two hours from the (beautiful) subset in the clear Kayaks, and it was a great experience. We jumped off the Kayak, swam in the middle of the illuminating planktons, threw stones on the luck rock, and more. The guides were professional, very nice, and made sure we were
    Read more
    Response from GoFreebirdBaby, Manager at Clear Kayak - Bioluminescent Night Tour
    Responded 22 Sep 2019
    Thank you so much for joining us and for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review! We loved taking you all out and are so happy you loved the experience :). We just posted some great pics of your group on our facebook page /gofreebird, don't forget to pop by and check them out. May your travels bring you back to this magical place one day, we'll be here to welcome you all! Many thanks and best wishes, Team Freebird
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Freebird Paddle Co.
    • Duration: 2h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241