Tours and Tickets

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill provided by Amazing Borneo Tours

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill
5
Book in advance
from
£43.76
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
About
Located in Tamparuli about an hour’s drive from Kota Kinabalu City, the beautiful St. Veronica’s Hill towers over the rustic Tamparuli town and surrounding villages at 278 meters above sea level.  The locals of Sabah call it Bukit Perahu, which means “Hill Boat” in Malay, because of an inverted boat-shaped rock that sits near the summit’s clearing. St. Veronica’s Hill offers a leisure trek up to the peak on a rocky terrain.   While the majority of the trail leads through trees and bushes, occasional shrub openings towards the top afford a splendid bird’s eye view.    In the early morning, a sunrise hike will be rewarded with a spectacular view of Mount Kinabalu overlooking the misty low lands - giving you a true “Top of the World” experience! A combination of scenic views, exercise, and a little bit of mystery thrown together, this hill catches the fancy of both hiking enthusiasts and leisure explorers alike.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
Chinese, English, Chinese
What to expect
  • Located in Tamparuli about an hour’s drive from Kota Kinabalu City, the beautiful St. Veronica’s Hill towers over the rustic Tamparuli town and surrounding villages at 278 meters above sea level. The locals of Sabah call it Bukit Perahu, which means “Hill Boat” in Malay, because of an inverted boat-shaped rock that sits near the summit’s clearing. St. Veronica’s Hill offers a leisure trek up to the peak on a rocky terrain. While the majority of the trail leads through trees and bushes, occasional shrub openings towards the top afford a splendid bird’s eye view. In the early morning, a sunrise hike will be rewarded with a spectacular view of Mount Kinabalu overlooking the misty low lands - giving you a true “Top of the World” experience! A combination of scenic views, exercise, and a little bit of mystery thrown together, this hill catches the fancy of both hiking enthusiasts and leisure explorers alike.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
Chinese, English, Chinese
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
  • Located in Tamparuli about an hour’s drive from Kota Kinabalu City, the beautiful St. Veronica’s Hill towers over the rustic Tamparuli town and surrounding villages at 278 meters above sea level. The locals of Sabah call it Bukit Perahu, which means “Hill Boat” in Malay, because of an inverted boat-shaped rock that sits near the summit’s clearing. St. Veronica’s Hill offers a leisure trek up to the peak on a rocky terrain. While the majority of the trail leads through trees and bushes, occasional shrub openings towards the top afford a splendid bird’s eye view. In the early morning, a sunrise hike will be rewarded with a spectacular view of Mount Kinabalu overlooking the misty low lands - giving you a true “Top of the World” experience! A combination of scenic views, exercise, and a little bit of mystery thrown together, this hill catches the fancy of both hiking enthusiasts and leisure explorers alike.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 31593P15
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Meals (01 Breakfast)
  • Kota Kinabalu City Hotel Pickup & Dropped Off
  • English Speaking Guide
Exclusions
  • Personal Travel Insurance
  • Any Items Not Mentioned
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • • Pick Up Time: between 04:00hrs - 04:15hrs • Pick Up Point: Your Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City
 • Dropped off Time: To Be Arranged • Dropped off Point: Your Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City • Actual pick up timing will be provided 1 day prior to your departure • An additional charge of MYR 30 per pax is chargeable for outskirt hotel pick ups. Outskirt charges applicable for hotels outside of Kota Kinabalu City. To be paid upon pick up
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
Inclusions
  • Meals (01 Breakfast)
  • Kota Kinabalu City Hotel Pickup & Dropped Off
  • English Speaking Guide
Exclusions
  • Personal Travel Insurance
  • Any Items Not Mentioned
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • • Pick Up Time: between 04:00hrs - 04:15hrs • Pick Up Point: Your Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City
 • Dropped off Time: To Be Arranged • Dropped off Point: Your Hotel in Kota Kinabalu City • Actual pick up timing will be provided 1 day prior to your departure • An additional charge of MYR 30 per pax is chargeable for outskirt hotel pick ups. Outskirt charges applicable for hotels outside of Kota Kinabalu City. To be paid upon pick up
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

5.0
3 reviews
Excellent
3
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Coffee1
Hobart, Australia2 contributions
Great experience
Aug 2019
This hike is a bit steeper and harder than we originally thought it would be but so worth it. It was lovely seeing all the crosses on the way up and our tour guide Richard was very informative. We missed out on the sunrise due to mist coming and going but the scenery was still beautiful. Breakfast afterwards was wonderful with the locally home made noodles and delicious Sabah coffee.
I have to say that Amazing Borneo tours are just so well organised and the tour guides they have are very well informed and friendly. We had Andrew in Sarawak and Tan and Richard in Saba, these guys made the whole experiences so much better. We also had a lot of help from the Australian team giving us advice before we left, couldn't ask for a better organised holiday!
Written 26 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the great review AlwaysNeedsCoffee! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us! Our guides are trained to give a meaningful experience to all of our guests - let us take care of your holiday so all you have to do is enjoying your time in Borneo to the fullest! We will forward the kind words that you mentioned in your review to Andrew, Tan and Richard. We hope to serve you again in the future. Have a good day and take care!
Written 4 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cromized
Singapore, Singapore9 contributions
Best Experience!
Jun 2019 • Couples
We had great time enjoying sunrise + Kinabalu park tour with captain Allen on 3rd June.

I would like to take this opportunity to praise captain Allen. He was very dedicated, kind and attentive guide. Thanks for his hard work.

Thank you. Hope to visit Sabah again soon.
Written 9 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi cromized, Allen is delighted that you mentioned him ! We hope you had a memorable experience with us and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future. See you !
Written 18 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fadilah_Yusoff
Singapore, Singapore9 contributions
AMAZING PEOPLE WITH AMAZING TOUR GUIDE in 1 Jam pack itinerary day!!
Apr 2018 • Friends
This is kinda late. me and other 2 friends went for a trip to Kota Kinabalu earlier this year. (Our trip took place on Good Friday between 29april - 1april) Our plan was to climb Mount Kinabalu, but because of the recent earthquake 2 weeks prior our main trip, I had to replan/change with my friends to still have our feet climb some mountain. And I came across this tour from Amazing Borneo and decided to go with it on our 1st day.

- Sunrise Leisure Hike St Veronica Hill + Kiulu White Water Rafting (Grade I-II)

~~Day 1~~

~St Veronica Hill hike~
So the actual day came was our flight was delayed for 4hrs. (Initial to reach KK on 29 April 8pm, we could spend a bit of time exploring the city at night) We finally touchdown at KK airport at 1.30am on 30 April. And our tour starts in a couple of hours. So we didn't sleep (or maybe took like 30mins nap before heading out again.)

And we head down from the hotel to find our guide Reynold waiting for us with a huge minibus. Off we went. Introduce ourselves and was told that the journey to St Veronica would take about 1.5-2hrs to reach and snapped, we were fast asleep off like a bunch monkey. At about 4.30am we woke up to reach the site. As dark, it was, no light. (I have forgotten to grab my headlight along) as we relied on our guide touch light and our tiny phone light. Pitch dark as we started climbing up the hill.

Our guide Reynold was fantastic, he explained to us on how the hill came about and told us that today was even a special day to climb. (We didn't think much as we were still quite sleepy) With each step we took the place became clearer to walk. Stumbling along the crosses along the way, and finally reached the peak of the hill.
Wonderfully it was beautiful, Sunrise view, we could see everything!! From such a small hill we could see Mount Kinabalu just across us and a few other mountains/hills along it. Can't resist the sight and yes the cold air was coming directly from Mount Kinabalu.

So here comes the interesting part, we decided to descend down towards the starting point after spending 2-3hrs above going crazy over the view. (We love hiking!!) to notice a group of Catholic people climbing up along the way with the huge cross sign on their back. They were singing their prayers towards the peek. It was truly the most interesting event as we totally forgotten that it was "Good Friday". As daylight shine downwards you could see the description of the 13 (or was it more) crosses along the way to the peek. Truly an interesting event

(So after we exercise on our legs, time to exercise hands!!)

~Kiulu White Water Rafting~
So, right after the hike towards St Veronica's hill, we descend down for breakfast. As our guide brought us to a recommended local food stall to eat. It was delicious. (I have forgotten what I bought) As we share our travel trip around the world, it would go on for about 1hr or more. Even Reynold shared his dangerous trip in Mount Kinabalu and around the world. It felt enriching and good to have people who love to hike and travel.

Reynold then drives towards the Kiulu River, for about 1.5hrs. Getting us ready for the rafting session. What's more, a 9km long river as we were guided by 2 other expert rafters and set of that long 1.5hr rafting trip down the 9km Kiulu river. We had a great time splashing water and racing against a few other rafters along the way. Even when our legs were as stive trying to secure our feet to the rope on the raft.

Reynold waited for us at the ending point of the Kiulu rafting area. We took a quick bath and drove us back towards our hotel. It was the best tour jam pack on the 1st day. I would highly recommend hiker lovers to go hiking with Reynold. He shares all the awesome facts, jokes and laughter on hiking and travel. We love it!!

~ Day 2 - KOTA KINABALU / TAMPARULI TOWN / NABALU MARKET / KINABALU PARK / PORING HOT SPRING & CANOPY TREETOP WALK / KOTA KINABALU ~

We continue our 2nd day on tour with Amazing Borneo again. Guess who was our guide again. Reynold!! hahahaha!! AWESOME!! He shares with the rest of the group on our hike to St Veronica. :D

We look forward to visit Mount Kinabalu again with Reynold as our tour guide again!! :D
Written 18 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Fadilah_Yusoff, WOW ! What an amazing feedback.. We are really glad that your friends and you enjoyed the day trips with us and having such positive review motivates us to do better. We look forward to see you again for the Mount Kinabalu climb !
Written 12 December 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travellers have to say about the operator.

By: Amazing Borneo Tours
z3hsiungz
z3hsiungz
00
A 5 Star experience.
This is my first Mount Kinabalu (Aki Nabalu) hike. This is my third trip/ package in Sabah with Amazing Borneo, si
sarasB1094RW
sarasB1094RW
00
Visit to Sabah...amazing Borneo!
Amazing Borneo were fantastic, booking was great, detailed itinerary was sent and the tours and guides were superb.
lynnmano
lynnmano
00
Excellent Service!!!
We booked few tours from this company. We booked the 2D1N tour to Kinabalu Park and Canopy Walk and Snorkeling from
applesmith89
applesmith89
00
An Amazing Group Trip with Amazing Borneo Tours
Highly recommend Amazing Borneo Tours. we booked our whole 5 days stay with them from the starts of our arrival in
AniaMaciejAla
AniaMaciejAla
00
Proboscis monkeys!
We were more than happy to join this Amazing Borneo tour. We were picked up by a mini bus, taken to Beaufort, near
yusno
yusno
00
2D1N Mount Kinabalu Climb Package
It was indeed a great trip. Everything was taken care of from the morning I was picked up at the hotel (on time),
Brenda_Chenu
Brenda_Chenu
00
Unforgettable trip
We had a great 3 day wildlife observation trip with Amazing Borneo Tours. It is indeed one of our best trips ever.
heidisally
heidisally
00
2 day 1 night summit trek
Excellent choice for 2 day 1 night summit trek. Our guide Rony was fantastic. The trek is very hard but I wasn’t st
JaWa70
JaWa70
00
Very disappointed
I chose Amazing Borneo Tour because of one guide we met on a trip to Klias River. Although he was not our guide, he
gbrigitta
gbrigitta
00
A really nice day full of experience in Kinabalu Park
My friend and myself spent a whole week in Borneo (Sarawak and Sabah) in early March. We booked all of our tours wi
Hannah S
Hannah S
00
Birthday Celebration in Borneo Cruise
Was an amazing day with my friends on North Borneo Cruise ! Thank you so much Joey for assists us and being so help
Hannah S
Hannah S
00
Birthday Celebration in Borneo Cruise
Was an amazing day with my friends on North Borneo Cruise ! Thank you so much Joey for assists us and being so help
Mark S
Mark S
00
Superbly organised overnight trip to Bako National Park
Nothing but praise for Amazing Borneo Tours. My wife and I recently traveled from Kuching to Bako National Park, ac
Getaway13772791652
Getaway13772791652
00
Unforgetable experience
This was my fourth time using amazing borneo. My 1st experience dealing with AB was excellent, great sales manager
ShamusC
ShamusC
00
Best Tour Company!!
We booked our trip with Amazing Borneo Tours. Covered a number of tours and activities with them during our 5D4N st
Frequently Asked Questions about Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill will start at 4:00 AM. Discover and book Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill on Tripadvisor

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill price starts from £43.87. Discover and book Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill on Tripadvisor

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill on Tripadvisor

Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill is hosted by Amazing Borneo Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Amazing Borneo Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Top of the World - Sunrise Leisure Hike St. Veronica Hill on Tripadvisor