South AmericaBrazilState of Rio de Janeiro (RJ)Rio de JaneiroThings to do in Rio de JaneiroTours and Tickets

Walking tour in Downtown - with unbiased reviews

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Walking tour in Downtown

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$48.65
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Cinelandia
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    After visiting Santa Teresa neighborhood by tram, Selarón Steps, the tour goes to Downtown, visiting Cinelandia, Cafeteria Colombo, stop for a Brazilian coffee, then passing through Praça VI, Cultural Center, Boulevard Conde, and Candelaria Church. Around 15 minutes each stop. The tour ends at the Museum of Tomorrow and those interested in visiting the museum are on their own.
    Read more
See Important Information for details
Important Information
Duration
3h
Inclusions
  • Bilingual guide and transportation to and from the Starting Point
Exclusions
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
6Reviews
0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Mette2100 wrote a review Nov 2016
13 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a really nice tour through the Rochina favela with our local guide. She was born and raised in the favela and knows the inns and outs. It was a very interesting walk that took us through main streets, back alleys and into the maze of all the small alleys between the
Read more
Date of experience: November 2016
Response from Exotic_Tours, Proprietário at Walking tour in Downtown
Responded 27 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. Our main goal is to provide a sustainable return to the community we visit. The best way we found to provide this was to socially include the young residents, giving English classes and notions of tourism so they can have an opportunity to study and work. We hope to see you again in one of our tours. Best Regards, Rejane Reis
Read more
Jaylee59 wrote a review Aug 2016
28 contributions3 helpful votes
A bit disappointing! After speaking to others we decided that Exotic Tours would be good and we even requested the guide they had. We altered our time so that we could have this same guide. Our guide (not the one requested) arrived almost an hour early and two of us had been out
Read more
Date of experience: August 2016
Response from Exotic_Tours, Proprietário at Walking tour in Downtown
Responded 27 Aug 2017
Dear Jaylee, We're sorry that you had a bad experience, no matter what company you chose. For your description of the tour, we found it very difficult that it was done with Exotic Tours, because we do not have cars with open top and much less we pass through the places you described in our itinerary. You may have made a mistake in booking the tour. Did you book directly with the company or asked for someone to do it for you? Either way we always worry about offering an incredible experience of sustainable tourism. Our tour is done only with locals trained by us and our tour is done all on foot, walking through the main points of the community. If you return to Rio de Janeiro, you are our guest to take the tour with our company. Best Regards, Rejane Reis
Read more
jloh003 wrote a review Sep 2015
7 contributions4 helpful votes
We took the Favela tour in mid-Aug. I would rate our wonderful tour guide Luiza 5 stars but since the review is about Exotic tour and our experience, we think two stars are fair for the Favela tour we took for the following reasons:- 1) We came across this from google search
Read more
Date of experience: August 2015
Response from Exotic_Tours, Proprietário at Walking tour in Downtown
Responded 5 Mar 2016
Dear Custumer, We are very sorry that your experience wasn't as you imagine. For sure we had some missunderstood as we are used to have very good comments about ours services and crew. Reviewing your comment should clarify that on our website we always give an estimate of schedule because we will never know about the traffic that we have ahead. Also on our website we clarify that to have internet discount the reservation must be made 2 days in advance and your booking must have been made on the same day of the tour. On driver behavior we appreciate your comment and thank you for having warned us because he is no longer part of our team. For the guide speaks just in your language, we also have options for private tours. Best Regards Analisando o seu comentário devo esclarecer que no nosso website nós sempre damos uma estimativa de horário, porque nunca saberemos o transito que vamos ter pela frente. Também em nosso website esclarecemos que para ter desconto de internet a reserva deverá ser feita com 2 dias de antecedência, e a sua reserva deve ter sido feita no mesmo dia do tour. sobre o comportamento do motorista nós apreciamos o seu comentário e agradecemos nos ter avisado pois ele já não faz parte da nossa equipe. Para um tour feito apenas em seu idioma, nós também oferecemos opções de tours privados.
Read more
Mylene1234 wrote a review Nov 2014
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We went on a tour with RioColours Tours and it was great! It's sooo impressive, and gives you a good sight of how people with normal jobs dont have a choice but to build a house and live in the favelas, as of the height of the minimim wages. They are happy, look after eachother.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2014
Globetrotter123123 wrote a review Oct 2013
20 contributions15 helpful votes
The tour was really interesting and I definitely can recommend this trip to everybody. We started up the hill and walked down on street number one. On our way down we stopped to look at arts, people dancing or to try the local food. We never felt unsafe and it was just a great
Read more
Date of experience: October 2013
12
About the operator
By: Exotic Tours
Thomas J
Solroed Strand, Denmark
1715
A great day in the favela
We got picked up at the hotel and then they drove us to the favela were we where alone with the guide. The guide
Read more
fschoenaers
Leuven, Belgium
10
Fantastic Tours
We made three activities with exotic tour and the three were fantastic: favela tour, samba night and "Centro"
Read more
Maria K
2023
Rocinha Favela Walking Tour with Luiza
This was a really interesting walk through the Rocinha Favela. Luiza, my tour guide, is a native of Rocinha, and
Read more
Lucas Phan
Horsens, Denmark
30
Exciting tour through Rocinha favela
We wanted to finish off our amazing travel to Rio de Janeiro with a tour inside a favela. Exotic Tours was
Read more
Mette2100
94
Favela tour - Rochina favela
We had a really nice tour through the Rochina favela with our local guide. She was born and raised in the favela
Read more
Beth S
Toronto, Canada
141
A fascinating perspective on Rio
We took a really nice tour that covered quite a cross section of Rio. We started at the lovely botanical gardens
Read more
Jaylee59
Bunbury, Australia
173
Favela tour
A bit disappointing! After speaking to others we decided that Exotic Tours would be good and we even requested the
Read more
Marie C
Sydney, Australia
6030
A must for all travellers
Our guide Leo was a gem - from the moment we meet he was welcoming, reassuring and knowledgeable. He was born and
Read more
jloh003
London, United Kingdom
74
The tour guide was amazing but not the overall tour experience.
We took the Favela tour in mid-Aug. I would rate our wonderful tour guide Luiza 5 stars but since the review is
Read more
Leïla S
Paris, France
31
Favela tour in Rocinha
We did a tour in Rocinha favela with our guide Luiza, it was very interesting and we were happy to be there.
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English, French, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Tripadvisor
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
$USD
United Kingdom