We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Stephens Dolphin Watch Cruise

Highlights
  • 90-minute tour leaves time for additional activities in the day
  • Travel with an experienced guide who knows where to find the wild dolphins
  • Choose to ride in shaded or open areas on the boat
More
Port Stephens Dolphin Watch Cruise
From US$18.39
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
12:15pm Dolphin Watch CruiseMost Popular
1.5 hour dolphin watch cruise
From US$18.39
10:30 am Dolphin Watch Cruise
1.5 hour dolphin watch cruise
From US$18.39
4:15pm Dolphin Watch Cruise
1.5 hour dolphin watch cruise
From US$18.39
Overview
Look for wild bottlenose dolphins in the waters of Port Stephens on a 1.5-hour dolphin-watching cruise from Nelson Bay. You can also get great photo ops of the Tomaree and Yacaaba Headlands, ride in the boomnet, and snack on the provided morning tea. Learn from the guide about the region's abundant marine wildlife as you ride in comfort on an all-weather boat with indoor and outdoor seating.
What to Expect
Sail on for sightings of wild bottlenose dolphins exploring the magical world of Port Stephens, above and below the water. Cruise the harbour and meet the resident dolphins on the daily Dolphin Watch Cruise. There are approximately 160 dolphins living in the harbour! 
Enjoy fantastic views of the Tomaree and Yacaaba headlands

This cruise operate a 1.5 hour dolphin watch cruise at 10:30am and 12:15pm every single day (except Xmas Day) from Nelson Bay.
  • See the world famous resident wild bottlenose dolphins
  • Exciting boomnet rides
  • Expansive open decks or covered all weather indoor viewing
  • Complimentary morning or afternoon tea
  • Licensed bar and snack food available
  • Live, informative, fun, captains commentary
  • 99% success sighting rate, free return cruise if no dolphins sighted
Show More
Reviews (274)
1 - 5 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile
Dolphins in their natural habitat

What an incredible day! Spotted a mother with its baby - such an incredible experience. Highly recommended!!!!

Thank SeanArapeta
Reviewed 3 March 2018
Dolphin cruise for granddaughter's birthday

The cruise was very enjoyable, our granddaughter had a ball on the water slide & swimming in the boom net. We saw several dolphins & the staff were really lovely with Annabelle, giving her a small token for her special day & taking her to...More

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Ann H
MoonshadowTQCCruises, Owner at Moonshadow - TQC Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hi Ann H, Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a positive review for us, we sincerely appreciate it. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the Dolphin Watch cruise with us and we hope to see you on board again...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile
Joanne

Cruise was really nice , unfortunately didn't see any dolphins so we're given a return trip . Seen dolphins in second trip . Even without the dolphins a nice cruise . Very crowded though . Great for overseas tourists .

2  Thank Joanne L
MoonshadowTQCCruises, Owner at Moonshadow - TQC Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hi Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Dolphin Watch cruise in Port Stephens. We hope to see you again. Regards, Dianne

Reviewed 4 February 2018
Disappointing

This was sold to us as a dolphin watch cruise where they find Dolphins 99% of the time you obviously can't guarantee nature but were surprised to learn from a crew member once on board that they " hadn't seen dolphins for days". The cruise...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Paulaf119
MoonshadowTQCCruises, Owner at Moonshadow - TQC Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your cruise As written in our previous reply to the review before yours; I am bewildered as to why our crew member would say to you "not see dolphins in days" as this...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018
"Not seen any dolphins for days"

The public address system was such poor quality that we couldn't hear what was being said over it, safety briefing, commentary, whatever. Moonshadow nosed out of the bay and, finding the sea quite rough, quickly turned back into the bay then stayed next to the...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank IanF1UK
MoonshadowTQCCruises, Owner at Moonshadow - TQC Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

We are naturally disappointed to read your review and that we did not reach your expectations on our Dolphin Cruise in Port Stephens. We were unaware of any problems with our on-board PA system and because of your review our maintenance department has checked out...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Port Stephens Dolphin Watch Cruise staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines