United StatesUtah (UT)Salt Lake CityThings to do in Salt Lake CityTours and Tickets

Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City - with unbiased reviews

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$43.58
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Visit one of Utah’s most enchanting destinations, and enjoy a seamless way to explore, when you book this round-trip adventure from Salt Lake City to the Great Salt Lake. Following pickup at one of several downtown hotels, travel via air-conditioned vehicle roughly 19 miles (31 kilometers) to the water’s edge. During your journey, learn more about the region and the lake’s history. Upon arrival, enjoy free time to explore, and even take a dip, if you wish.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Temple Square
122 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USAAt 2:50 PM meet outside the main lobby doors of Salt Lake Plaza Hotel and watch for the CITY SIGHTS tour bus to arrive curbside on the street. Parking available for a fee at the hotel parking garage or there are multiple public parking lots within 2 blocks.
See address & details
  • 1
    Great Salt Lake
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Great Salt Lake State Park
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Saltair Pavilion
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
You'll end at
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Temple Square
122 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USAAt 2:50 PM meet outside the main lobby doors of Salt Lake Plaza Hotel and watch for the CITY SIGHTS tour bus to arrive curbside on the street. Parking available for a fee at the hotel parking garage or there are multiple public parking lots within 2 blocks.
See address & details
Highlights
  • Leave the logistics to someone else on this seamless sightseeing tour
  • Enjoy the freedom to explore the Great Salt Lake at your own pace
  • Round-trip transit from Salt Lake City via air-conditioned vehicle
  • Explore the lakeshore on foot, and choose to go for a quick dip
Important Information
Departure Point
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Temple Square, 122 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Entry/Admission - Great Salt Lake
  • Entry/Admission - Great Salt Lake State Park
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • 15-20% tip suggested. Like waiters, tour guides rely on tips to make a living
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This is a land-based tour, only. It does not travel on a boat on the lake. Currently there are no tour boats that operate on Great Salt Lake
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Folding wheelchairs and walkers may be accommodated but you must notify us by email at least 24 hours before the tour
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
48Reviews
9Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Lesa T wrote a review 13 Feb
8 contributions
If you have a rental car, skip the tour take the trip yourself. I wanted to drive around more to see the lake from different angles. Felt a little let down by this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from CitySightsUtah, General Manager at Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City
Responded 4 days ago
Your guide informs everyone what to expect on the tour. There are only 4 roads that go to the lake and we take the one closest to the city. The other Lake access roads are 90 to 240 mile journeys. As you would find out, in order to see more of the 400 mile shore line from different angles it requires many hours or even days. It is simply not practical to do things like that on a 2-hour tour. You should call the company; explain your disappointment and they will refund you.
Read more
Jennifer M wrote a review 2 Feb
2 contributions
Very disappointed, guide did not stop at Saltaire on return from lake as advertised. There are also no stops on way to lake, while description mentions several stops on the way out. Save your money and take the short drive to the lake, park fee is very nominal.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from CitySightsUtah, Owner at Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Jennifer, we are sorry you expected to stop at SaltAir pavillion. It is closed to visitor's. In our description of what to expect on this 2 hour tour, we do not advertise stopping there. You are always welcome to request a refund. We want to make sure you feel you were treated fairly. Please contact OUR office, NOT VIATOR. Remember: Viator is a seller of tickets; they do not necessarily fully represent our company and often they do not.
Read more
Anna wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
They were very accommodating. We wanted to go but there was only one spot left on the bus (we needed 2). So they changed out the bus for a bigger bus for us. We like guided tours because you’ll never hear many stories and info if you drive to places yourself
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from CitySightsUtah, Manager at Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City
Responded 4 weeks ago
It is nice that you took time to leave your favorable experience you had on The Great Salt Lake Tour. It is much appreciated!
Read more
cfp wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
So glad I was able to go see this great natural site.Just a short drive and so worth it. Might suggest shoes that you don't mind getting a little damp, as we walked to the waters edge and felt the sand and salt in some of the natural occurring places around the lake. But those
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from CitySightsUtah, General Manager at Guided Tour to Great Salt Lake from Salt Lake City
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Great comments! How nice of you to take time and leave us your thoughts about The Great Salt Lake Tour with City Sights. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time. Thank You
Read more
nathaliecaumartin wrote a review Nov 2019
21 contributions10 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our tour with our guide she was just perfect 👌 extremely informative. We enjoyed our tour it was a highlight in our day. Thank you Val Nathalie
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
About the operator
By: City Sights - Salt Lake City Tours
Lesa T
60
So much fun
My sister and I enjoyed this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and personable. It was nice to see all the
Read more
Lesa T
60
Van driver was very personable
If you have a rental car, skip the tour take the trip yourself. I wanted to drive around more to see the lake from
Read more
Kiki1234567891234
Indianapolis, Indiana
10
Great Guide
Our guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. He was very pleasant and full of information about the city.
Read more
ayersma
30
City Tour and Mormon Choir
This was an excellent trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and interested in making sure that we got to see all
Read more
cynthiaannfong
Sacramento, California
61
Grest ove re biew bbn of SLC
This was a great overview of Salt Lake City Tour guide very informative as well as very nice and considerate
Read more
Jennifer M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
20
Not as advertised, only stop is the lake
Very disappointed, guide did not stop at Saltaire on return from lake as advertised. There are also no stops on
Read more
Jennifer M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
20
Tour not as advertised
Tour guide did a good job, but tour is grossly overpriced for what it offers. Duration listed is also incorrect,
Read more
Lorna B
Phoenix, Arizona
10
Activity
Choir performance was excellent, tour guide was great. Learned a lot about Salt Lake City and LDS history.
Read more
Anna
10
Good!
They were very accommodating. We wanted to go but there was only one spot left on the bus (we needed 2). So they
Read more
KevinSul
10
Must see - Must do
Great value for a bus tour! Our family of (5), 16 to 80 years old, all had a terrific time seeing the beautiful
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Tripadvisor
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
$USD
United Kingdom