Chaweng Tours
Pig Island Day Trip from Koh Samui by Speedboat
4

Pig Island Day Trip from Koh Samui by Speedboat

About

Ages 0-100, max of 32 per group
Duration: 5h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More


  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Kayaking
  • Water
  • Open Air Thai Style Lunch
  • Hotel Pick Up
  • Local friendly guide
  • Full Insurance
  • Use of Sunbeds
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Koh Madsum Island Fee


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • This tour includes a pick up service from hotels within the hotels list. After pick up guests will be driven by a minivan to the pier where they will meet their guide. The pick up times in each area are as follow: Chaweng, Cherng mon, Bophut, Maenam and Bangrak 8.30-8.45 am Lamai, Baan Tai, Bang Po and Na Torn 9.00-9.20 am
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Not wheelchair accessible
        • Service animals allowed
        • Near public transportation
        • Infants must sit on laps
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 150797P1

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
        • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
        • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
        • Most travellers can participate
        • Dietary requirements or Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 150797P1

        Currently unavailable
        This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
        Explore other options
        Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
        Itinerary
        • 1
          You will be picked up by minivan from your accommodation and dropped to the pier. Here you will board your speedboat and make your way to Pig Island. On the speedboat you will have complimentary water. On the way to Pig Island you will stop off the coast of nearby island, Koh Tan. Here you will have the option to snorkel and swim. This activity usually takes between 45 minutes and 1 hour. After snorkeling you will make your way to Pig Island. Here you will have 2.5 hours to enjoy your complimentary lunch, play and take pictures with the pigs, kayak and chill on the beach. At approximately 2.15pm you will then make your way back to the pier and onto the minivan where you will be dropped back to your accommodation. Please note that a local island fee of 50 baht is not included and must be paid when you reach the island.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        We perform checks on reviews.
        Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
        Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
        When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
        Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
        Learn more about our review moderation.
        4.0
        4.0 of 5 bubbles154 reviews
        Excellent
        68
        Very good
        35
        Average
        16
        Poor
        16
        Terrible
        19

        Moritz G
        Rudersdorf, Germany4 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        If you like not only a waste of time and money but actually waste, then yes, this should be to your liking. After a mere 60 min on the crowded pig island (for which we had to pay an additional 60 THB for some reason?) we went snorkelling in the foggiest of waters. At least we got to see some dead corals whenever we actually got to see further then 3 meters. The big highlight was an average lunch on a dump they called beach. When confronted with the rubbish the manager of the place became rather agitated and blamed us Europeans for the trashed up shores. (Went through the trash, all of domestic origin). Finally, the otherwise friendly tour guide consistently reminded us to give money, money, money because it makes him happy. Happy? Don't think so.
        Written 8 January 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were there on the stormy period, the wind may cause foggy and block the vision under the water. During This time of the year there is the wind from the east that bring trash to land on the island and make the area look unneat. This tour is encourage travellers to support local islander and the living of all pigs and the fee that excludes in the ticket that we mention in tour information is the fee for pig's food also the price you paid is not include tip for the crew and it is customer's choice. We will pass your feedback to the island crew to make sure they maintain the cleanliness and to provide the best experience to all customers Have a nice day
        Written 13 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        jskjoedt
        4 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        This review is hard to write because it has to balance two experiences in one. First part of the trip was snorkeling by Koh Tean. All the boats (at least 10) arrived in exactly the same spot at exactly the same time. We had an hour for snorkeling. With all getting of on the same location and with so many snorklers (most inexperienced) it chaotic both in and out of water. The reef itself was boring and worn out. Most people was out of the water again after 40 minutes and the the pressure started of those who were still in the water (and actually had a small chance of spotting a few colorful fish) and 50 minutes after we arrived we departed in a race with the other boats to Koh Mat Sum.
        On Koh Mat Sum we then just had a wait for 50 minutes before lunch was ready and the activities (hiking/kayaking) did not start until after lunch 🤷‍♂️. Bad priority

        Koh Mat Sun is a beautiful island and the kids found it funny with the pigs running around there. When kayaking was open after lunch - we where informed that we could kayak on in the “harbor” area (maybe 50 meter wide) not go to far out. So kayaking was more or less just sitting in the kayaks.

        Time went and we took the boat back.

        All in all the trip took exactly 4.5 hours from departure from the harbor until arrival - the trip description said 6 hours.

        I rate it two only because the pig experience was as promised and the relaxation on the nice beach but the rest was waste of time and money
        All in all I would not recommend this trip.
        Written 30 July 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're so sorry that the trip wasn't to your expectations. We will make note of your comments and hope that you have an amazing time on the rest of your travels.
        Written 31 August 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        eimearf18
        County Kildare, Ireland3 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Aug 2019 • Couples
        This was the highlight of our trip travelling Thailand. I’ve always wanted to see the pigs on the beach, and they didn’t disappoint! my boyfriend and I loved them
        And the whole experience. Snorkelling was great and our tour guide made the trip, he was Great craic! The trip was really well organised, great customer service from when we booked until the trip ended, it was such an amazing experience and we would 100% recommend. We’re going travelling again this summer and will definitely be back! if you haven’t done this trip, you need to!
        Written 10 January 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Gordon1745
        Dasmarinas City, Philippines52 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Dec 2022
        The description of the tour said it started at 10 am but we received instructions after paying that we’d be picked up between 08.30 and 9.00 am which was earlier than we’d expected. The pick-up was late.

        The first stop for snorkelling was nice but the water was too murky to see anything due to storms the previous days.

        The second stop at Pig Island was very relaxing although there weren’t enough chairs for all the boat guests who arrived at similar times.

        The lunch included was truly awful.

        The reason for 3 stars is that the pigs and the crew on the boat saved the trip. The pigs were entertaining and the boat crew kept things moving, were informative and pleasant throughout the day.
        Written 26 December 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. The tour regularly depart from Thong Krut pier at 10am and we published the pickup time at 8.00-9.00am on Viator for all customers decision. The pickup time is base on where the customer stay, it usually take around 40 minutes to arrive the pier. We make sure all customers aware of pickup time by sending email after they booked. There was a storm and windy week on December so that may cause murky water and block visibility for snorkeling. There are thounsands of tourists on pig island and were crowded during Christmas and new year holiday. We will make sure to share your feedback with our partner, make sure they aware and serve the best.
        Written 17 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Rob
        London, UK9 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mar 2020
        This was one of the highlights of our trip to Koh Samui, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a private tour due to COVID-19 which made this even more special!

        Our guide Kem met us on time at our hotel lobby and we were driven (about an hour) to the port where would get the boat. We had a traditional long-tail boat and I would advise people who are a bit sea sick to take some tablets before! It's not TOO bumpy but there can be a few waves that can knock the boat from side to side.

        We sailed for 30 minutes or so and then stopped for some snorkelling which was amazing, there were lots of fishes and beautiful corals. My wife was not so keen and decided to stay on board the boat (there is no pressure to do this!) as Kem kept reminding us it was our day and he would do whatever we wanted.

        The second stop was the first island called Koh Tam (or instagram island) and it was beautiful, probably one of the most majestic places i've ever been to and what made it more special was we were the only ones on it! Plenty of opportunites to get those 'insta' moments with hammocks, giant swings and white sand aplenty. We had a complimentary drink from the bar on the beach and relaxed for an hour or so.

        We then took the boat about 15 minutes to Koh Mat Sum (Pig Island) which was much busier but still quiet (maybe 30-40 people) we had a delicious lunch already waiting for us with soup, pad thai & fruits and then spent the rest of the afternoon feeding the pigs, snorkeling and making use of a kayak.

        The whole day was well organised, perfectly balanced and a really fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone coming to Koh Samui, easily the best excursion we did while staying here!
        Written 17 March 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Jenn B
        Edmonton, Alberta, Canada7 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2020 • Family
        My family and I went on this tour as our kids wanted to see the pigs and interact with them. Really had a great time! We started with a long tail, which was a cool experience, to go snorkeling. The snorkeling wasn’t great but we all had fun and made the best of it. We then headed to pig island, once we got there we all had fun with the pigs, the tour supplies food to feed them. The island has a cool little drink bar which makes snottiest and sells beer etc. We then got served our food which was brought to our table and just for us which was nice. Food was excellent! Our guide Mew took really good care of us and made sure that we were looked after! (Our tour only had 8 people on the boat and it was nice to have a smalll crew instead of dealing with a lot of people on the boat. There was quite a few people on the island but our tour was there for about 3 hours and most of the people on other tours left so we were there with only about 20 people for the last hour. The pigs are always roaming around and socializing so always a great photo opp whenever. The beach is amazing there to, probably one of the nicest beaches I’ve ever been to! A big shout out to Mew and her crew for giving us a great day if fun and relaxing!
        Written 11 February 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Chantel G
        2 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Sept 2022 • Couples
        Waste of time and money.We purposely did a private toir on this to avoid the time allocations in itineey etc.We were told you can buy food on the island from the restaurant only to find out once there that they tell you its a 2hr wait for food as its cooked on mainland.
        Water is not clear,its dirty,the pictures look better than reality.
        Written 1 October 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, We are so sorry you didn't fully enjoy your experience. Koh Madsum or pig island has gotten very popular over the years. Due to a lot of tourists cause the wait of transportation of food ingredients from the mainland.we will make sure the kitchen know about your comments and work hard to ensure the usual excellent standard. We hope you have a great time on the rest of your travels.
        Written 4 October 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Danni and Mic’s travels
        Brisbane, Australia67 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Incredibly friendly team operating a well run tour. Plenary of time, 1hr, snorkelling on a reef before visiting the island for 3hrs. When on the usual d we have some traditional Thai food which was delicious and there are lots of cute baby pigs, dogs and chickens amongst the adults for sure pictures. There are also opportunities to sea kayak, hike and swim when visiting. Prices can vary so it is worth checking around, we paid around 2200 Bhat.
        Written 25 May 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to hear that you liked the trip. Have a nice day
        Written 15 June 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Dave D
        Hilversum, The Netherlands95 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        This trip was okay but for my taste we’ve spend way too long on pig island +/- 3,5 hours. For the beach and for in the water I would recommend bringing something like water shoes. I think there are 5/6 pigs and one small baby piglet. From the boat crew we received bread to feed the pigs. The lunch was okay but you had to be careful with what you took because the portioning was pretty poor. When I booked the trip they forgot to mention what time they would pick us up. After calling them whole day and in the end a bit more of a serious / less friendly message from me to them I got an answer.
        Written 16 February 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hey Ush, Thanks so much for taking the time to lave a review! Due to the tides we could not do our usual first stop. We're terribly sorry for this inconvenience, however safety is our number 1 priority and if we cannot safety dock the boat on Koh Taen, we spend more time on Koh Madsum. Thanks for your feedback regarding lunch, we have over 100 5* reviews, many of which love our lunch. However, if you were still hungry we will certainly ensure there is enough food for all. Pick up is included in this tour, your pick up time is given at time of booking and then again day before. We reminded you of this in our email :) Have an amazing time on the rest of your travels!
        Written 18 February 2020
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Erika L
        2 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Dec 2022
        This snorkeling and pig island tour was a tourist trap. Our "speedboat" stalled at the beach and ran on one engine the entire trip. The snorkeling gear was used, broken and uncared for. Most of the masks were broken and couldn't be used even if you wanted to. They drove you to the middle of the ocean and tied up to some random bouys and threw crackers into the water so that fish would swim up to the boat. The only reason we got in the water is because we were getting sea sick out in the middle of nowhere.
        We arrived at a small island totally overcrowded with people and not enough chairs. The lounge chairs on the beach were in disrepair and most were broken. It appeared as though this once may have been a nice tour/trip but has not been kept up, maintained and the pigs are not cared for. They appear to be inhumanely treated and neglected. Along with stray dogs who are all trapped on the island. None of the animals have food or water and rely solely on visitors to feed them. The pigs drank from our water bottles as though this was there only source of fresh water. The kayaking was available but not enough for the hundreds of visitors who are all dropped off at the same time to the island. The lunch was disgusting and I have no idea how it's prepared likely in unsanitary conditions. I didn't eat it!

        The attendants in charge of the speedboats were throwing bottles at the stray dogs and pigs who ran off crying. The whole experience was terrible!!! It should be shut-down.
        Written 2 January 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hi there, Thank you for taking time to leave us a feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had bad experience. Madsum island or Pig island was not famous and rarely visited.It is getting famous because the pigs and its beautiful sandy beach, years ago locals and tourists travel there to relax, playing with the pigs and support the islanders. There are an area for the pigs and dog (not stray dog) to eat and sleep but as it is animal and free spirit, they love to walk around, lay on the beach and happy to be fed by visitors. The crew who own and taking care of the island are working hard to maintain neat and cleanliness. The food is prepare by local aunty with hygenic piority. During new year holiday thounsands of people visited the pig island and it was so crowded. We are pleased that you gave us your feedback so that we can pass this to our partner and make sure we serve the best. Thank you
        Written 17 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Showing results 1-10 of 116

        Pig Island Day Trip from Koh Samui by Speedboat - with unbiased reviews

        All Chaweng HotelsChaweng Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chaweng
        All things to do in Chaweng
        Day Trips in Chaweng
        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire