Base Camp
Game & Entertainment Centres
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Base Camp is quite simply the best indoor activity centre in Cornwall and it is open to all 7 days a week, 9am-9pm. With over 2000 square feet of soft play, the only 'clip'n'climb' climbing walls in West Cornwall and free access to iPads and tablets in the Cafe - Base Camp offers hours of indoor fun and also makes a great venue for birthday parties in Cornwall.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles87 reviews
Excellent
61
Very good
9
Average
4
Poor
6
Terrible
7

Laura H
Blaenavon, UK15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
What a disappointment, where to start came Xmas eve and Thursday as on site staying for Xmas all I can say is never again first visit put it down to being Xmas eve but the place is filthy had to have takeaway cups as mugs everywhere, no spoons to stir drinks and don’t get me started on toilets what a dive … I can say I won’t be paying or taking my children here ever again unless improves
Staff more interested in looking busy but not doing much .. waited over 20 mins for flat white when staff more interested in messing about with pastry’s in hot tray.
We visited in 2022 and place was tidy and clean this year what a shock
Written 30 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cindy Lu
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
Great birthday party hosted. Was my niece's fourth birthday party today. Great clip n’ climb instructor, Louie. Making the kids feel safe and comfortable, but yet fun and kind.
Written 28 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarah Smith
29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
The kids had such an amazing time here yesterday. We have been a few times when in Cornwall but yesterday was the best.
Louie was the young man teaching them the climbing. They have enjoyed this before but Louie was a cut above any other instructor they have had there. He spent time supporting them, giving them extra challenges and cheering them on. He took a real interest in their experience being the best it could be. He is most certainly a huge credit to the place.
Written 4 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roleonsummer
Penzance, UK4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
They seemed to be very short staffed. Luckily it wasn’t busy with customers. Very expensive as you have to pay £8.50 per child over 5.

If you want to let them onto the climbing you have to book it on line at a cost of £15 pp for an hour. We feel this is too expensive to be honest.

To be fair, our grandsons loved the soft play area and spent a few hours in there. I just wish the climbing wall was included in the price.
Written 11 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoleonSunshine, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate your understanding of our staffing situation. We understand concerns about pricing and we strive to provide quality experiences. I'm glad your grandsons enjoyed the soft play area. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll consider your comments about the climbing wall pricing in our ongoing efforts to enhance our offerings - Toby @ Cove UK
Written 17 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Logfire
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
Staff helpful and friendly
Cash free zone which should be advertised
Cafe very small
Understaffed for climbing wall with one member of staff trying to deal with 8 children hooking and unhooking - delays time on walls - not the staff members fault at all
Written 23 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you found our team helpful and friendly during your visit. We're sorry if the size of our café didn't meet your expectations, and we appreciate your input about the climbing wall and apologize for any inconvenience caused by the delays. We'll certainly take your suggestions into consideration for improvement. Your insights help us enhance the Base Camp experience for all our guests - Toby @ Cove UK
Written 17 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deia C
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Friends
The place itself is fine but be careful when booking a birthday party there.

I’ve been to many parties there before so decided to book my child’s bday there last year. To our surprise, when we got there, our party was set up in the smallest possible area between the entrance reception and the stairs whilst another party was happening upstairs with a lot more room, chairs and tables for all their guests. We were all squashed up in the tiniest area and no room for all the parents to sit down for a cup of coffee so sadly some parents had to wait in their cars which made me feel quite embarrassed. When I asked a member of staff why our party had been set up downstairs and not upstairs, they said they had been double booked so even though I had paid as much as the other family, our guests barely had a table and chair to enjoy our party whilst waiting for their children. I put in a complaint but was told there was nowhere else for our party to go. Had we been told we were going to be downstairs, we would have definitely booked our party for another day. Fast forward april 2023 and a family friend had the same issue. Upon arriving at Base Camp, she was told their party was being held downstairs which she wasn’t happy about but again, just like me, she was told there was nowhere else for their party to be set up even though she paid same price as the family whose party was being held upstairs where, once again, there was a lot more room for all their guests.

My advice is if you are planning to book a birthday party there, make sure you ask where your party is going to be held to avoid dissapointment as unless the staff is prompted, they won’t mention anything about being double booked and you possibly having your party set up in a much smaller space by the entrance.

A strange coincidence is that I am not an english person and neither is my friend whose party was also held downstairs and you can’t help but wonder if our nationalities had anything to do with the fact that our parties were located downstairs whereas english families’ ones where held upstairs. I wouldn’t like to think that was the case but it’s a strange coincidence so sadly, it does make
you wonder!

Although the place itself is fine, I definitely will never book another party there.
Written 2 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deia, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your child's birthday party at Base Camp. I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with the party setup. Our team strives to ensure a positive experience for all guests. I understand your disappointment in being allocated a smaller area, and I assure you that nationality plays no role in our arrangements. We will review our processes internally and investigate ways to prevent similar situations. Your concerns have been duly noted, and we appreciate your candid feedback - Toby @ Cove UK
Written 30 May 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kelz1611
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Family
Kids had a brilliant morning at base camp on the climbing wall. Their instructor called Louis was absolutely amazing with them both. The other staff were really friendly always clean :)
Written 16 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelz, thank you for your review! It's great to read that your kids had a brilliant morning on our Climbing Wall and found our team member Louis to be amazing with them. We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to welcome you back to Base Camp at Gwel an Mor - Toby @ Cove UK
Written 30 May 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ellie
Truro, UK7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Family
We tried to book and were told we didn’t need to bother. We were told to just turn up. We did with 12 toddlers for a birthday party and were turned away. Not good. Lots of tears. Total chaos with staff stressed out and not really knowing how to deal with the situation. The lady dealing with us said she had already finished work so didn’t really know what to say or do. If you are going to do a midweek deal then maybe staff up so your team are not so overrun and over whelmed. Better communication with Gweal-an-moor who who took original call when we tried to book. Poor show all round. Defo would not return.
Written 5 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review, I would like to correct your review with some facts. You are correct that you were told you would not need to book for our locals special offer, however if you had asked the receptionist if you need to pre-book for a party. They would have informed you that you would indeed need to do so. As it is, you decided to attempt to take advantage of an extremely discounted deal. Designed to give a cheap evening out to local families that possibly do not have much to spare in current times. Instead attempting to bring over not 12 children but a party of over 40 people. It is unfair to blame our team because you attempted to host a party within our discounted evening.
Written 9 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lauren P
Portsmouth, UK7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
My little one had a brilliant time. The whole place seemed really clean and well organised with a good selection of refreshments for the adults.
Written 30 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
Written 9 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anna T
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
My three children (aged 10, 10 and 14) loved their climbing experience. The instructor, Riley, was very helpful!
Written 29 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
Written 9 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 87
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BASE CAMP: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Base Camp

Base Camp is open:
  • Sun - Sat 09:30 - 18:00



All things to do in Portreath
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire