We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plumpton Racecourse

Features Animals
Share
Review Highlights
Good small National Hunt venue

I am going racing about 10 times a year around the South of England but first time at Plumpton for... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Albermarle
,
Surrey
Good day out with somet6for everyone

Went to the family race day which despite torrential rain turned out to be a good day out with... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2018
60Ev
,
Medway, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 106 reviews
101
All photos (101)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good28%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“parade ring”(2 reviews)
“race course”(2 reviews)
“big crowd”(2 reviews)
About
Plumpton is a hidden gem in the world of horseracing. The thrill of Jump racing, the joy of a win, delicious food and drink, and stunning rural backdrop provide a memorable sporting experience for everyone from novice to racing expert. We race 16...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Plumpton BN7 3AL, England
Website
+44 1273 890383
Call
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
67
30
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
67
30
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parade ring race course big crowd food outlets picnic area free parking whole family great fun car park donkey rides small track races plympton riding paddock tote trainers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am going racing about 10 times a year around the South of England but first time at Plumpton for 30 years due to it being a 1.5 hours drive and usually on a Monday. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the...More

Thank Albermarle
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Went to the family race day which despite torrential rain turned out to be a good day out with family activities as well as races. Plenty of parking. Friendly and helpful staff. We booked tickets for the picnic area only so only downside was lack...More

Thank 60Ev
Plumptonracecourse, General Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

We're glad you enjoyed the day and hope to welcome you back in the future! Best Wishes, Dan & The Plumpton Team

Reviewed 23 April 2018

Visited here on the Easter weekend with friends as part of the Family Day. Great day, I thought the venue was great considering it is only a small track. Good facilities, good parking. Food and drink was reasonably priced. Will be coming back again if...More

1  Thank connorw33
Plumptonracecourse, General Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Many thanks Connor - we hope to see you again if you get the chance! Best Wishes, the Plumpton Team

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great place to go for a day out. Would have been even better but for the cold weather. Can imagine going in warmer weather with a picnic. However food and drink readily available at good prices. Parking easy and being able to park within the...More

1  Thank gertie32
Plumptonracecourse, General Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the review and we are delighted you had a good day - hopefully see you again soon. Best Wishes, The Plumpton Team

Reviewed 4 April 2018

I live about five miles away from the course and LOVE the fact that racing takes place on a Monday (every fortnight)) during the National Hunt season. More interesting people go racing on Mondays in the same way that more interesting people go clubbing on...More

Thank Monty M
Plumptonracecourse, General Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the review Monty - and we are glad that you enjoy the racing and your love for the course! However, I am dismayed to hear about the staff comments - could you possibly give us a call in the office on 01273...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

We visited Plumpton on Monday 12th Feb. Racecourse staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The Gentleman by the weighing room was very helpful in getting the Jockeys to autograph the race card for our son. We would also like to thank the trainers,...More

1  Thank 119katy
Plumptonracecourse, General Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for the review and delighted you had a good day. Hopefully we'll see you back at the track again soon! Best Wishes, The Plumpton Team

Reviewed 31 January 2018

...but with a bit of effort it could have been better. As with a number of racecourses, the retired temporary staff employed come from an era when officialdom ruled and customer care hardly existed. The challenge we received when we entered the O/T car park...More

1  Thank cannytraveler
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for the review and we are glad that the journey from Shropshire was worth it. That said, we take on board your constructive comments and they will go into our season review and areas for development too, including staff training and...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018

Went mid October, and the weather was wet, and whilst it could have dampened the day, it didn't as the place is great, the atmosphere good and great facilities. it's an intimate racecourse, which means you are close to the action, easy access and in...More

Thank AntonyHaase
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Many thanks Antony - hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, The Plumpton Team

Reviewed 15 January 2018

1. Poor management - in the morning they say racing is going ahead and no inspection planned - then they call it off. The weather forecast didn't change. 2. Poor communication - even after it was called off there was nothing on the main part...More

2  Thank Brighton9
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Good afternoon, We are of course very sorry to all racegoers for yesterdays abandonment - it was very unfortunate and we can of course understand the frustration of customers. Despite how I am sure it looks and feels, we did everything we could to get...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We headed to Plumpton racecource to surprise my brother for his Birthday I have been before but my daughter and the party we were joining had not. Yes a great result for me with 2 first places and 3 3rds helped but the course didn't...More

1  Thank Ian F
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Bull
305 reviews
2.24 miles away
Newmarket Inn
284 reviews
4.22 miles away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
559 reviews
4.23 miles away
The Shelleys
438 reviews
4.65 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Half Moon Pub
421 reviews
1.52 miles away
The Nutmeg Tree
49 reviews
2.29 miles away
Forget Me Not Cafe & Tearoom
31 reviews
2.85 miles away
Five Bells
306 reviews
2.90 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
UpMarket 22
19 reviews
3.56 miles away
Made and Making
34 reviews
3.95 miles away
Ridgeview Wine Estate
77 reviews
2.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DaveyGEastbourneUK
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Plumptonracecourse | Property representative |
Hi. Yes you can. There is a footbridge which takes you to a path which leads all the way to the gate. It is sign posted. If you would like any more info do please give us a call on 01273890383.
1
Vote