We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mains of Taymouth Golf Course

38 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Mains of Taymouth Golf Course

38 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
Mains of Taymouth, Kenmore PH15 2HN Scotland
Get to know the area
The Highlands, Whisky and Castles Private Day Tour in a Premium Minivan
Cultural Tours

The Highlands, Whisky and Castles Private Day Tour in a Premium Minivan

This day trip from Edinburgh offers stunning views over the highlands and lochs of Scotland.<br><br>This tour offers some stunning scenery and plenty of photo opportunities as we 'get away from civilisation'. Travelling through glendevon, the sma' Glen, Glen Quaich and The Trossachs all of which have their own unique landscapes.<br><br>Visit Glenturret whisky distillery and learn how they make the 'water of life' before sampling a few drams. <br><br>We stop for lunch at the picturesque highland village of Kenmore at the eastern end of Loch Tay. Whitewash cottages make way to a sandy beach and loch view. <br><br>Visit Balquhidder, the resting place of local hero Rob Roy MacGregor and learn about his story from Sheep Rustler to fugitive and rise to prominence in the film of his life.<br><br>Our final stop of the day is at Doune Castle, a 15th century keep. The castle is full of history and has been used in many TV and film productions including Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Outlander and Game of Thrones.
US$208.05 per adult
38Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GolfStar57 wrote a review Dec 2019
103 contributions89 helpful votes
Nice wee course which we enjoyed playing but had problems with a black dog running free. It was a young dog and kept picking up our golf balls and wanting us to throw them for him. Owner was nearby but couldn’t care less Shame as it spoiled an otherwise nice round
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Golf Course
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Sorry about that, the area is popular with dog walkers and we do request dogs are kept on a lead on the Estate. Golfers with any concerns can call the number on the scorecard for assistance. We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your round and hope this will not deter you from returning.
Read more
Ben Skeet wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
As a PGA Professional this is pretty much the best 9 hole course I have played. Views around the whole course are amazing, course in great condition and a perfect layout. Ladies in the golf reception are lovely and very welcoming. Well worth a visit at any time!!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Golf Course
Responded 21 Oct 2019
It was lovely to welcome you to our course again, glad you enjoyed it and we hope you will drop by next time you're in the area.
Read more
Kipper003 wrote a review Aug 2019
Havant, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
We played while staying at the Mains of Taymouth estate. The course is a decent 9 hole. Quite pretty, flat and forgiving for high handicappers. Hired clubs were very dirty and poor quality though, with a very noticeable bend in one of the shafts.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Golf Course
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Thank you for the lovely review of the 9 hole course here at Mains of Taymouth. Sorry about the hire clubs, they work hard for a living and are available to all levels of golfer. We would have been pleased to replace them had we known you were unhappy and hope this oversight won't deter you from visiting the course again.
Read more
Squasheee wrote a review Jun 2019
Toowoomba, Australia350 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
This is a beautiful golf course in a quiet little estate. Only nine holes, so you play the same nine twice for a round. The grass is an amazingly bright green (something we don’t often see in Australia) and there are a lot of challenges for any golfer. We were lucky there was no cross-wind, only into us or with us. It is a very quiet course, so getting a game will be no trouble. But well worth the trek.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Golf Course
Responded 6 Aug 2019
We're pleased you had an enjoyable round on our 9 hole course here at Mains of Taymouth and thank you for the kind comments. Although pretty much flat it is surprisingly challenging, fortunately we don't experience much in the way of cross winds 'tho there can be a breeze from the West. Although well travelled we do hope we will see you at the course at some point in the future.
Read more
Paradise58045856068 wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions
Booked to play 18 holes here, No mention, when calling about the unplayable state of the course. After travelling over an hour to arrive, 14 of us could not believe how staff never even mentioned issues with the course, apparently 'they are not golfers' so we were told. We walked off after playing 3 holes which wasted a whole day of our golf tour. Shame on you Mains of Taymouth. By far the poorest service we have received whilst in Scotland.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568