We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: The Stonemasons Harts Close, Ilminster TA19 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
+44 1460 57816

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 45 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 8
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Evening meal

Came here while staying in a near by travel lodge.. With the family. We arrived and the place is clearly popular with family's and workmen drinkers. We were shown a table near... read more

Reviewed yesterday
James C
,
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Ilminster

Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Came here while staying in a near by travel lodge.. With the family. We arrived and the place is clearly popular with family's and workmen drinkers. We were shown a table near to the rear of be venue. The venue could do with a tidy up in some areas.. Light fittings missing bulbs dirty furniture. The staff here seemed very... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I don't know why TA seems to categorise this as an attraction. It's a pub/restaurant. Visited one Sunday evening while staying at the nearby Travelodge. It's a Marstons chain pub with one of those huge menus offering a huge selection. It wasn't very busy and they do table service. They do a "two-for-one" deal on main courses which I suppose... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
Dan C, Director of Sales at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

RichieRock, Thank you for your review, We are always looking at ways to improve our service so I will take this back to the team. Many thanks More 

Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I met up with my best mate for his birthday and to treat him for lunch. We were offered a table immediately without a reservation although the dining area was quiet. We had an attentive waitress service throughout and all enjoyed the two or three courses plus coffees we requested. I thoroughly recommend the Mexican Chilli Chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank rt456gt
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

rt456gt Thank you for your review. The Mexican chicken is also one of my favourites! And who doesn't love chocolate?! We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying nearby for a night only so having to young kids this seemed a fair choice compared to others.... price wise no issues very good.... the actual food was good wholesome and filling. The menu choice very good... kids meals good. Drinks were as normal i always feel drinks are too expensive but thats in all places.... the restaurant spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank tickers24
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Tickers24, Thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Food arrived quickly and tasted lovely, good price 2 for 1. Will definitely be coming again.

Helpful?
Thank Springer16
Dan C, Director of Sales at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Springer16, Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

What can I say I have in the past had a reasonable meal here but not this time, lack of taste and not cheap. Although 2 for 1 the drinks are expensive and the total bill should equate to a great meal not fast food standard.

Helpful?
Thank LoubeLoo
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

LoubeLoo, Thank you for your comments. We will look into the drinks pricing. More 

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Popped In for a Sunday roast. Quite a wait for a very disappointing meal, cold mustard seed mash. Shrivelled carrots. No roast potatoes they were done in skins unlike a jacket potato but this may have what they thought was being presented. My friend asked if they had forgotten us and from what we were given looks as though it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pinkyppurple
Dan C, General Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Pinkyppurple, Thank you for your review. Our Sunday lunches are served with roasted new potatoes. I will take your comments back to the team to ensure any wait on food is kept to a minimum. More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We ate here twice this weekend and it has improved vastly in the last 6 months. The waitresses and waiter were friendly and helpful. They do get very busy at times but try their best. The food was brilliant, lamb chops and steak cooked perfectly and brilliant salads . Well done to the kitchen staff/chef. The wine and beer were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicoladiamond
Dan C, General Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Nicoladiamond, Thank you for your kind, honest review. We have worked very hard over recent months to ensure the Stonemasons is the great local it should be. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Tonight we had an awful meal at the Stonemasons. We had our table booked for 7.15 when we arrived we were shown to our table which was dirty and had grains of rice on it. Our waiter was about to put down our cutlery and napkins so my husband asked him to clean the table first. Our waiter placed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Kelly C, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual high standards. We are constantly looking at ways in which we can improve the service that we provide and i will take your comments back to the team. I am glad that we resolved the issues to your satisfaction... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I've visited a number of times at lunch and dinner times with different groups of friends and their children. This is a family friendly pub with a dizzying array of food options to choose from and they are for the most part well cooked - however my complaint is there are no children's paper and crayons/pencils to keep little ones... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian K
Dan C, General Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this review

Gilian K Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have recently invested in colouring pencils and sheets to keep little ones entertained in the wetter months. We are also very happy to supply more veg if required just ask one of our waiting staff. Many thanks See you again soon Dan More 

Travellers who viewed The Stonemasons also viewed

 

Been to The Stonemasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stonemasons staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?