We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bourton House Garden

288 Reviews

Bourton House Garden

288 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Full view
Location
Contact
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AE England
Get to know the area
Cotswold Farm Experience, Walk & Demonstrations
Cultural Tours

Cotswold Farm Experience, Walk & Demonstrations

1 review
Robin Dale is a local legend and one of HRH Prince Charles' countryside champions last year for his work in the countryside. Robin opens up the farm to offer you a private walk explaining the land that you see, from the wildlife to crop rotation, Robin is here to show you life as a local farmer on a Cotswold farm and give you a rare chance to understand the Cotswolds countryside.
US$30.22 per adult
288Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 53
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
VHMW wrote a review Oct 2020
UK198 contributions89 helpful votes
Nice garden, but lacked information for all the borders and plants displayed, not as good as expected, bit disappointing. Visited having seen garden in magazine and in tv but no prior booking, queued on arrival and quite busy, one way system in place. No plant information, only a leaflet for woodland walk opposite house. Lacked content and recommend advance booking/time slot.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BourtonHouseGarden, Administrator at Bourton House Garden
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Dear VHMW, We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit to the Garden; we try to keep the borders going as long as possible but towards the end of our open season (end of October) there may be less interest - so we reduce the admission cost accordingly. We don't have any plant information in the borders as we feel it would detract from the overall effect and having a leaflet providing information would be impractical due to the number of different plants and that they are not laid out the same every year. We have also looked at advanced booking/time slots but we felt this was restrictive to visitors - some people come for a few hours, others stay all day; and we want people to feel relaxed to enjoy the garden and not be rushed with a time limit. We have monitored the queues over the season and on the few occasions people did have to wait we felt they were not excessive waiting times. Again, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit.
Read more
heather wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
Lovely garden and wood walk, especially the trees that smell of candy floss! Definitely worth a visit, and lovely coffee shop as well.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BourtonHouseGarden, Administrator at Bourton House Garden
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for your kind review. Just in case anyone reads this; the cafe is now closed for the winter (open May to end of September/early October).
Read more
Lee H wrote a review Oct 2020
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom42 contributions16 helpful votes
What an absolute gem of a garden. As soon as you walk in you are met with the most glorious herbaceous borders. They are full of Autumnal colour and the gardens are a delight to walk round Their Covid protocol is excellent and there are delicious home made cakes and other refreshments available too. From the car park across the road is a 20 minute arboretum walk along mown paths.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BourtonHouseGarden, Administatorr at Bourton House Garden
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Dear Lee, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it - it is always much appreciated to receive kind comments.
Read more
Dave B wrote a review Sep 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom795 contributions131 helpful votes
In the last week of September the garden is still very colorful. I'm sure it would have been even better a few weeks before. The walk through the trees on the other side of the road is very good but could be improved if the trees had name tags on them. According to my wife the apple and sultana cake was really good. If you have been to the Batsford arboretum in the last year and have your receipt (or Friends card) one gets 2 for 1 admission.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BourtonHouseGarden, Administrator at Bourton House Garden
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review - we do have a small brochure for the Field Walk which details the trees? - apologies if you weren't given one with your admission. But glad you enjoyed the visit nevertheless!
Read more
Martin T wrote a review Sep 2020
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom2,428 contributions422 helpful votes
A most impressive garden surrounds the house (which is not open to the public). The Grade 1 listed tythe barn is also worth seeing with its small café and shop.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BourtonHouseGarden, Administrator at Bourton House Garden
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Thank you for your kind review!
Read more
Previous