We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Stunning location

We managed to get a parking space- it is a very small car park- and headed into the bar. We had no... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Angela M
,
Walsall, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good

Nice food and not expensive. Dunno what else to add. Staff were friendly and good pub grub. Is what... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
BENakaSTIG
via mobile
Read all 163 reviews
44
All photos (44)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pub grub”(6 reviews)
“evening meal”(6 reviews)
“sea view”(5 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
18°
10°
Jul
18°
10°
Aug
15°
Sep
Contact
Penwig Hotel South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN, Wales
Website
+44 1545 560910
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
70
45
20
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
70
45
20
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub grubevening mealsea viewlovely roomlovely foodnice decornice pintbank holidayat reasonable pricesmeal dealchildren's menulovely hotelvalue for moneystaff were friendlysmall car parkincluded in the room ratebusy restaurant
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We visit New Quay regularly. I can't believe how the Penwig has gone downhill so quickly. Probably the best spot in New Quay. What a waste. Brains you should hang your heads in shame. We visited a month ago and was very disappointed, didn't even...More

1  Thank Amanda J
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very sorry that on this visit we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to pop in next time you visit New Quay and see me personally Kind rergards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off for a drink after our dolphin trip. Sat on the terrace overlooking the harbour - simply stunning. Reasonably priced drinks and whilst we didn’t eat ourselves, we observed that the food being served to others look absolutely delicious and the waiting staff were...More

Thank 900amanda
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Penwig Hotel. Thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Penny and the team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We managed to get a parking space- it is a very small car park- and headed into the bar. We had no issue with checking in and the manager took us to our room and explained everything. All of the staff we met were extremely...More

Thank Angela M
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review. I have passed your comments to the team regarding the music levels. Hope to see you back again soon. Kid regards Penny

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is excellent, had a fantastic sea view. Breakfast and dinner was very nice. Staff were friendly. A nice friendly pub underneath that did not stay open late thus it did not interrupt our sleep.

Thank Richardec1964
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice food and not expensive. Dunno what else to add. Staff were friendly and good pub grub. Is what it is

Thank BENakaSTIG
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Penwig Kind Regards Penny

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at The Penwig hotel for one night as we were visiting friends who were also staying in New Quay. Check in was nice and quick, we were showed to our room by a friendly gentleman who was from the same area as us....More

Thank Jane T
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your compliment onto the team. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards Penny and the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights as a couple, 13th to 15th June. Check in was seamless and we were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel and then shown to room 7. This was a very pleasant surprise as it turned out to...More

Thank FreddyFBL
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I have passed your comments to the team. We look to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Penny & the team

Reviewed 2 June 2018

Having stayed at the Penwig Hotel many times before, my wife and i decided on a mid week break for two nights, on the Brains offer of 30% off. We always stay in room 7, which is the room looking over the Bay, lovely room...More

Thank mortona
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Having just taken over here these are things that we are working on fixing. We hope you will continue to visit us and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards The Penwig

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Had amazing food here well worth the money ,staff was awesome and friendly Food was hot and presented nice

Thank Lee D
Penwig H, General Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. Kind Regards Penny & The Team

Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Great family room. 2 beds upstairs and 2 beds down. Ideal for a bit of piece and quiet. The hotel bar looks really good but that's where the compliments end. On a sign on the pub wall outside it says 'fine Welsh food' (False advertising...More

Thank Steve P
Penwig H, Manager at The Penwig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your stay at the Penwig Hotel. The family room is indeed a great room and I'm glad to hear you thought so too! I am sorry to hear you did not...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Penwig Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines