We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Where are all the sunshades?

Cycled along to have some drinks on the terrace and listen to the music last Sunday. Friendly and... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
Trevorthedriver
,
Bolney, United Kingdom
Worst Roast Ever!

The roast look well presented, but tasteless, were the roast potatoes frozen then cooked in old fat... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2018
Harvey1985
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good10%
  • Average12%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible43%
23 Jul 2018
“Where are all the sunshades?”
25 Mar 2018
“Worst Roast Ever! ”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Website
+44 1273 300301
Call
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
10
5
6
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
10
5
6
7
19
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Came for a meal as was recommended whilst in Brighton, have to say I'm very disappointed! Would not recommend the steak, over cooked despite clearly saying how I liked steak & over priced for what was brought out. Ppl I was with had the ribs...More

Thank Birdie J
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that your experience with us on this occasion was not up to our great standards. I hope this hasn't put you off using us again soon. Kind Regards Aishia

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Cycled along to have some drinks on the terrace and listen to the music last Sunday. Friendly and efficient bar staff but just a few tables on the terrace with sunshades. Much too hot to sit out with no shade so sadly we left after...More

Thank Trevorthedriver
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry we could not find you a seat with enough shade for more than one drink, we would have enjoyed to keep you for longer. I hope this doesn't put you off from stopping by again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Although there was a big group for lunch the manager acted professionally to expedite my lunch and checked I was alright after. Interesting to note if you park and eat you get the £1.50 parking fee off your bill, every little helps. The small fish...More

Thank reginakeith42
Maggie E, General Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewed 16 May 2018

Avoid this place as much as possible! Two visits on the same day, 1st round £18, 2nd round £34. Double the price in 5 hours? Queried with staff and received an extremely rude response. Told we can go elsewhere! Manager for 'this week' Vince even...More

Thank L1965CZjulieh
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had a bad experience with us, depending on choices of drinks and quality of drinks our prices do vary unless specified drinks are asked for. Kind Regards Aishia

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner, enjoying the sunshine with family. Four of us had different meals, and all were superb. We witnessed the manager Vince being subjected to rude and confrontational customers. He handled the situation well and professionally. Been coming down here to visit...More

Thank Whoopwhoopholiday
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback on Old English Inns, I am glad to hear that your visit to us was greeted with our friendly and efficient staff, I am sorry that some rude customers always ruin it for the ones enjoying themselves! Myself and the...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The roast look well presented, but tasteless, were the roast potatoes frozen then cooked in old fat (tasted like it)? Nice staff. Amazing location. Prices high. Whole leg of chicken , not a fan of bone on a plate. Disappointed :(More

Thank Harvey1985
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent visit, I am sorry that on this occasion your meal was not a great one, we aim to please all our customers when they visit us in all manners. I hope this doesn't put you off from...More

Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had a great pub lunch here. We chose this location because Brighton is infamous for expensive parking. A month after the visit we got a parking fine. The car park is 'pay & display' but it's not clear when you arrive and park there.More

Thank JPDBKK
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that our pay and display car park is not very well informed, we do keep signage up around the car park and in reception before you leave to remind customers that it is a Pay & Display...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the White Horse and had bar food and the breakfasts. All food was delicious and with plenty of choice on the menu. Well done to the efficient and very friendly staff. Thank you😃

Thank mariaCuffley
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments about the staff and your weekend stay with us, I am glad you had an enjoyable experience. Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Aishia

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Always a fine selection of lagers and ales. 10oz Rib Eye steak cooked to perfection. Helpful staff, great location, reasonable prices.

Thank Darren M
Maggie E, Manager at White Horse Hotel Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Myself and the team hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Aishia

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Went to meet colleagues and parked in their car park and paid 3.00 for it and got a fine in post for 100.00 even though I had got ticket!! Still fighting the cause to get out off 100.00 fine. Just go somewhere else if your...More

Thank Livetolive1
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
White Horse Hotel
625 reviews
.01 miles away
Malmaison Brighton
1,843 reviews
2.07 miles away
The Lanes Hotel
428 reviews
3.27 miles away
Blanch House
1,387 reviews
3.35 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 nearby restaurants
Molly's at the Beach
150 reviews
.07 miles away
Ovingdean Beach Cafe
27 reviews
.22 miles away
The Plough Inn
361 reviews
.19 miles away
Ye Olde Black Horse
354 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Kipling Gardens
77 reviews
.31 miles away
Grange Museum & Art Gallery
38 reviews
.07 miles away
St Margaret's Church
24 reviews
.25 miles away
Undercliff Walk
698 reviews
.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from White Horse Hotel Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines