We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foten Taxi Tours

Invergordon, United Kingdom
More
About Foten Taxi Tours
Are you visiting Inverness or Invergordon in the Scottish Highlands? We are a small team that care about you having a GREAT day out. We offer a customised tour for up to four people and up to 8 people, going where you want to go, seeing the things you want to see and spending as much time in these places as you want. I am not like the tour buses which shove you on a coach going round at the pace of the slowest person. You control the tour - it's your day after all! If you are arriving at Invergordon on a cruise ship I can meet you outside the port and return you back at the gates or within the town centre for you to explorer the murials. Tours are charged in 2 categories, 1-4 passengers and 5-8 passengers*. Contact me for prices. Some of our drivers are also happy to accept €uro and US$ (based on the Post Office's buy back rate on the day).
Read more

Foten Taxi Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
10Reviews7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
B Y wrote a review Oct 2019
New York City, New York64 contributions83 helpful votes
I had good vibes about this tour before we began because Gary of Foten Taxi Tours was professional, specific and timely in his dealings with me via email. We were a group of 8 strangers who met on the Cruise Critic website and had a fantastic all day tour with Regan Francis of Foten Taxi Tours. Regan met us at the pier in Invergordon in full Scottish regalia. One of the members was in an electric wheelchair. No problem said Regan and it wasn't. I had laid out a customized itinerary for our day but Regan immediately made some suggestions of what he might add to it and we went with his expertise. Glad we did. Our first stop was a drive into a forest and then a surprise walk of about 1/4 of a mile on a dirt path to a rickety wooden bridge over a 300 foot gorge (or something of that depth) where we peered down at the site of the filming of Harry Potter's battle with the dragon in "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire." We were the only people there. No signs. No way to have known where this was. I don't want to list the name of this site lest it become a tourist attraction, but then again tour buses could never negotiate this road. The rest of the next 8 stops of our all day tour were just as good. We did a few of the standard ones too We stopped at the Glen Ord Distillery and if you didn't want to do a whiskey tasting there was an interesting museum to go round while the others drank. We got up close the Hairy Highland cows, a distinct breed in Scotland; had an optional lunch in Inverness or were free to just wander the town; visited the Clava Cairns - the prehistoric settlement; stopped at the Culloden Battlefield (but did not tour the very crowded exhibit); went to Loch Ness and had time to dip our feet in the water of the lake (but no bites from Nessie); and went to Nessieland. I was apprehensive about Nessieland judging from its name, had not read anything about it in advance but had read lots of on-line stuff about the Loch Ness Exhibition Center. Regan suggested Nessieland as an alternative to the exhbition center because it was more all encompassing and half the price for admission compared to the exhibition center, so we went with his suggestion. So glad. From the outside Nessieland looks like an amusement attraction with a giant concrete monster outside that you can climb on, and even when you go into the museum past the gift shop it resembles a preschool kids' zone, but don't let that fool you. It is also a museum filled with the entire history in the form of newspaper clippings, photographs, a documentary film and exhibits about not only the Loch Ness Monster but about the geology of the area, how Loch Ness was formed and why it is unique, and had loads of info about the people who've explored it. A fascinating and informative place which left you with the fact that experts still don't know much about the lake and the questionable creature in it. Our last stop was at a clootie well in a forest. It's an ancient pagan site where rags dipped in water are tied to trees as a healing ritual. Unfortunately we didn't have time to dip and tie ourselves and had to get back to the ship to sail on. Regan was knowledgeable, funny, professional and just an all around great guy. When his wife (who was visiting India) called we all spoke to her and that was a lovely personal touch to end the day.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FotenTaxiTours, Manager at Foten Taxi Tours
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Hi Bonnie Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a full detailed review. It really is appreciated. I love the way that you have kept the gorge a secret. Most of the other tour operators either don't know about it or cannot be bothered with it but we love going there. Regan is a full on character, full of fun and information. He even speaks Hindi, Mararathi and Malayalam fluently! At Foten Taxi Tours we always want to cram in as much as you can handle and will always have an extra stop or two in reserve. Many thanks for Booking with FTT. Gary. Can I also take one line here to thank everyone who left a review this year. 5x5* reviews! This is one of our goals here. If we get a 4* review we have let someone down somehow and that is not what we want. 5* all the way. Thanks to everyone for a great season and for those looking at 2020, better book early as it's going to be a great year.
Read more
JanKF wrote a review Sept 2019
Boston, MA72 contributions46 helpful votes
We were on a cruise, but because I have mobility issues I looked for a private tour as some ship tours have a great deal of walking. I contacted eight tour companies, and after emailing back and forth with Gary, found Foten Taxi Tours was my #1 choice. Gary never considered any of my questions not worth answering, and when he did answer, his responses were on target. We weren’t left guessing about anything. (He also sent us a last-minute reminder with helpful information two days before we flew to Europe). Our driver was Kevin, who turned out to be one of the best tour guides we have ever had on any trip. He was a combination of guide with fascinating information and best friend. He simply had an incredible personality and loved his work. He was unbelievably solicitous with my walking challenges but never in a way that made me feel awkward. When we visited the Culloden Battlefield, we had been driving with him for a while and found we would miss him if he waited outside for us so we asked if there was some way he could accompany us. In the visitor center Kevin directed us to the most important sections and gave additional tidbits of interesting information. When a pop-up speaker showed up in one of the large rooms, Kevin came to get us as we would not have known about the event – one that turned out to be most interesting. He also made sure we experienced the 360-degree battle immersion theatre. Kevin chose a restaurant where the “locals go,” one that was great for the wide variety of options and one that had dining and rest rooms all on one floor. He suggested we see Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness from a perfect viewing spot and took a scenic route to the Glen Ord Distillery where we decided the film that explained the process was better than a tour for us and where we enjoyed a formal tasting. There was really more to our experience than Gary’s tag line, “It’s your day after all.” We found that in addition to making personal requests, the suggestions that Kevin made as we drove about, the easy conversation, Kevin’s sense of humor, and the unique comments Kevin about local history really “made our day.” Kudos to Kevin who was full engaged for six hours and who gave personal attention that was “over and above.”
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FotenTaxiTours, Manager at Foten Taxi Tours
Responded 5 Sept 2019
Thanks very much for this kind review, Jan. At Foten Taxi Tours we take pride in being different from everyone else. Nothing is too much trouble and we will do whatever we can to make every guest feel like one of the family. Contacting some of the local restaurants to see if they had bathroom facilities on the ground floor was easy to check but not every tour operator would have gone that extra mile to make a difference. As I have said in previous posts, Kevin is a great asset to Foten Taxi Tours and I am very grateful to have him with us. He has a great sense of humour and does not inundate you with endless historical facts that no-one can remember. I have passed on your comments (above) to Kevin. Many thanks for using Foten Taxi Tours. Gary, Kevin and the team.
Read more
Karen F wrote a review Aug 2019
Rome4 contributions3 helpful votes
I recently traveled with my mother and my sister around the British Isles on the Queen Victoria and one of our ports of call was to Invergordon, Scotland. My father passed away in 2018 and mum wanted to visit the town of Lossiemouth where they both had been stationed while my dad was in the navy and she was in the WRNS in the 50's. Mum and I both had the pleasure of arranging our trip with Gary in the office. On arrival in Invergordon, we all met up with our driver Richie. Richie was a delight from start to finish! Through information that I provided to Gary, Richie arranged an awesome day for us which included a trip to the Lossiemouth church where they got married and also to the military museum. Richie arranged for both the church and museum to be open for our visit! He also took us to the towns in which my sister and I had been born. We visited the Elgin distillery and other spots along the way. We laughed for most of the trip! Although Richie downplayed his experience as a "tour-guide", this was the most enjoyable excursion that each of us has ever been involved in!! Thanks ever so much Gary & Richie!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from FotenTaxiTours, Owner at Foten Taxi Tours
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Hi Karen. It was a pleasure to organise this trip for you. We take pride in "going the extra mile" to make your visit to Scotland one that you will remember. Despite not having much information to go on (as we were keeping this a secret from your mum) Richie was able to find information and records to make a real difference to your day. Many thanks for choosing Foten Taxi Tours and leaving this positive 5 star feedback.
Read more
YZyz48 wrote a review Jun 2019
Tel Aviv, Israel76 contributions63 helpful votes
Private tour to Highlands North with Foten Services. The contact with Gary was very good. The driver with the new Mercedes was Regan. He was good and punctual. The trip was nice although we did not see salmons jumping in Falls of Shin. (I understood from the driver that the chances of seeing salmons there were slim and even when you see, it is only few.). The visit in Dunrobin Castle is impressive, both inside and in the gardens. The prey birds show is also beautiful.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from FotenTaxiTours, Owner at Foten Taxi Tours
Responded 30 Jun 2019
Hi Thanks for the positive review. We are noticing that each year the chance of seeing the Salmon jumping is reducing. Personally I believe this is due to either Global warming/Climate change or over-fishing in the Atlantic. It is unfortunately something that we have no control over and I sincerely hope they do not stop coming back altogether. It does, however, make spotting them more impressive. Thanks for booking with Foten Taxi Tours
Read more
Myerman wrote a review Sept 2018
Kelowna, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
I contacted Gary at Foten Taxi Tours with a list of sights that I wished to visit on a shore excursion from Invergordon. His response was, “Wow” but he managed to plan the entire day including afternoon tea at Culloden House. My husband and I spent an amazing day with Kevin Gardiner. He was waiting at the end of the pier when we disembarked and our adventure began. We saw everything on my list plus a few extra sights that Kevin thought we would enjoy. Kevin has a great sense of humour and knowledge of the area so the driving time passed very quickly with much laughter and talk about the Outlander series. The highlight of our day was our visit to the Culloden Battlefield and of course, afternoon tea! I highly recommend Foten Taxi Tours.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from FotenTaxiTours, Owner at Foten Taxi Tours
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Kevin is such a great asset to me. He is very funny and knows how to keep you amused during the driving sections. He is also very clued up on the history of the area but will not bore you with too much detail. Thanks for using and recommending Foten Taxi Tours.
Read more
Previous
12