We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Hurst Castle

1,309 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Hurst Castle

1,309 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
1,309Reviews13Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 607
  • 510
  • 143
  • 30
  • 19
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Emily wrote a review Dec 2020
18 contributions21 helpful votes
Very enjoyable day, although tricky to get too. Very impressive during the stormy weather. Ferry ride over was definitely worth it.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason C, Manager at Hurst Castle
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the ferry ride to the castle.
Read more
StoneRose wrote a review Nov 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom157 contributions71 helpful votes
I found this interesting with some useful information about all of the displays and exhibits. Excellent views too.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason C, Manager at Hurst Castle
Responded 10 Nov 2020
Thanks for visiting us and your review. I'm glad you found the information interesting, there is a lot to see and take in. The views are amazing especially from the top of the Tudor keep. Thanks again.
Read more
Paul F wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Hurst Castle is made up of two parts in the main, one part built during Henry 8th's time and the other built during the latter World Wars. Frankly though, in our opinion, it did not appear that English Heritage had done anything much to make this an interesting attraction, in fact it probably just looked like it did when it was abandoned years ago. There is a small shop on site where you can buy a coffee, but you can only have black or white, nothing fancy like a latte! The best bit of the day was actually walking along a windy Hurst Spit from Keyhaven to get to the castle itself and the possibility (if not too busy) to get a small boat back again. Sadly because of this, we wouldn't bother going again :-(
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason C, Manager at Hurst Castle
Responded 10 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review but I am sorry to hear you were underwhelmed by your visit. As you can imagine 2020 has been a difficult year for most attractions, especially one built in 1541! We have unfortunately had to shut off some areas of the castle due to social distancing restrictions, but as we have such a large site there is still plenty to see. Our cafe had to become a take away service this year and we are in the process of upgrading our coffee service and will return to our full menu for the 2021 season which will definitely include latte's! I'm glad you enjoyed your walk along the spit and were rewarded with the fantastic views of the coastline. The castle is currently closed but we are able to offer refreshments outside of the castle on weekends at this time. Thanks for visiting us.
Read more
Barbara Gp wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom293 contributions61 helpful votes
The castle is very old and beautiful The scenery around is peaceful and calm Good for a relaxed morning Take comfortable shoes as the path towards the castle is a bit uneven Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason C, Manager at Hurst Castle
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Thank you for your visit, honest review and recommendation.
Read more
ironhead13 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom97 contributions55 helpful votes
BE AWARE it’s a long walk on shingle from the village. Allow 1 hour. Not recommended in bad weather. The castle itself is a bit run down and not much to see. Good views though.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason C, Manager at Hurst Castle
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Thanks for your review. It is a 2 mile walk along Hurst spit, which is shingle to get to the castle. Sturdy footwear is recommended but you will be rewarded with fabulous views along the way.
Read more
Previous