We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Main Road (B5106) | Trefriw, Conwy Valley, Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0NQ, Wales
Phone Number:
+44 1492 640462
Website
Saturday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

See the weaving and hydro-electric turbine Monday - Friday except Bank...

See the weaving and hydro-electric turbine Monday - Friday except Bank Holidays (10 a.m. - 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. - 5 p.m.from mid February to mid December). Additional machinery in the mill museum (carding engines, spinning mules, warping mill, doubling machine etc. and the Weaver's Garden (with plants which supply natural dyes,fibres and soaps) can be viewed Easter - end October (Mon - Fri except Bank Holidays). Rag rug making Tuesdays (June - Sept) Hand spinning demonstration on Wednesdays and Thursdays(June - September). We manufacture traditional Welsh bedspreads, travel rugs and tweeds plus hats, ladies'garments,bags, purses and soft furnishings made up in our fabrics and which can be purchased in our shop which is open all year Monday - Saturday (and Sundays Easter - October)

.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 52
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
An interesting morning

What a great place. To be able to wander round at your own pace and see how the weaving is done from start to end and all for free. Very unusual in this day and age. Truly... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 November 2016
lizzie1jane
,
North Weald, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
North Weald, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

What a great place. To be able to wander round at your own pace and see how the weaving is done from start to end and all for free. Very unusual in this day and age. Truly interesting for any age. The shop was very good as well. Came away with too much but well worth it for the quality.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizzie1jane
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. More 

Valencia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

Loads of beautiful things to buy - not unreasonably priced. We visited primarily for my husband to buy his 3rd wool blanket in 3 trips to the UK (the 3rd being the best). We spent an hour evaluating the blankets, hats, scarves, and slippers during the first visit. So many choices! The staff were v friendly and helpful (there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank tapastraveller
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review and kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visits and hope you call again. More 

Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Popped in with my granddaughters and we were told by an extremely attentive member of staff, that we could tour around the weaving sheds and looms for free. We were all fascinated. Only took about 10 minutes but held the girls attention. Fascinated by the process from collecting and washing the fleeces to dying and weaving.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad your granddaughters found it interesting. More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

The mill is still in use and there is also a video to supplement the information. Very interesting. Lots of examples of the weaving in the shop too, as well as other souvenirs. Staff very polite too. Glad we decided to visit. It's not really on a major route, but luckily we saw some tourist literature while stopping in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Peroni
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

It was lovely to see the equipment still working, there was not lots of long information boards to read, just simple explanations. It was interesting to see the whole process from start to finish. The cafe only does tea and cake, no light lunches or anything, and was rather scruffy. Shop was interesting and lovely to be able to buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily S
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Most people just go round the mill shop which is interesting but the gem is to go to first and second floor also the turbines driven by water, the dyeing shop as well. The process is interesting though it isn't on view every day of the week so check the days before visiting if you want to see the process... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaurieLuton
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We had the most wonderful visit to this site. Each member of the staff was helpful and pleasant. The looms were not being worked since it was the weekend but there was still lots to see. Nice, big shop with a wide variety of offerings at all prices. Worth the stop.

Helpful?
Thank thoslee
Elaine W, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely remarks. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

A man in a checked shirt was tossing lumps of orange wool, which he had previously dyed in a nearby shed, onto a pile, similarly dyed, of dark and light blue wool. This was how he had spent most days this week and he told us that he was looking forward to a change of colours next week before he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim R
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

What an amazing choice of tweed on a roll to finished items to purchase, Staff very helpful and friendly You can even try peg weaving,felting,etc kits you can purchase Good history of the mill as well if you look up at the spinning wheels high level

Helpful?
Thank CJ4666
Trefriwwoollenmills, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind remarks. We are glad you "passed through". More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I finally visited the mill but was hugely disappointed. We headed straight for the tea room as my son needed lunch but it is literally that - tea & cakes only. I asked for a highchair which they didn't have despite the brochure saying it is great for families! The white plastic disposable spoons for drinks were being washed and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy S
Trefriwwoollenmills, Owner at Trefriw Woollen Mills, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed by your visit on a day when we were having a difficult time with the turbine. There must have been a misunderstanding about the toilets as you do not need to access them via steps. More 

Travellers who viewed Trefriw Woollen Mills also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Trefriw Woollen Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trefriw Woollen Mills staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?