We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plough Inn

282 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9LN, Wales
+44 1492 515387
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Service and food not great

My fiancé and I visited the plough last Sunday after a glowing recommendation from one of her work... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2017
dave1105dave
,
Chester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Poor tasteless food.

We went for the 2 corse deal. I had the pasta. There was items missing from it. Also very bland and... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2017
david c
,
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Great pub & restaurant in the centre of Old Colwyn! DINNER SERVED: Wed & Thu 6-9pm Fri & Sat: 6-9:30pm LUNCH SERVED: Wed - Sat: 12-2pm SUNDAY ROASTS SERVED: 12-6pm
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good11%
  • Average11%
  • Poor33%
  • Terrible0%
28 Aug 2017
“Service and food not great”
9 Aug 2017
“Poor tasteless food.”
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 21:00
LOCATION
282 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9LN, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1492 515387
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited the plough last Sunday after a glowing recommendation from one of her work friends. We booked a table and we're sat in what felt like a corridor next to the toilet (in fairness the lady we spoke to did offer...More

Thank dave1105dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjmartins82, General Manager at Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi thanks for the review. I do think there may be some confusion with which Plough you were at. We don't have tables situated as you describe or have high tables with high stools. We are also a lot further away from Chester than 20...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We went for the 2 corse deal. I had the pasta. There was items missing from it. Also very bland and heavy. I had creepy mushrooms as the starter and the sauce was the same bland disappointing flavour. That new young chief has a lot...More

Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

this is the 2nd time , went for Sunday lunch on the 23rd July as we've always loved the food, very disappointed 1 small slice of beef 2 roast potatoes and a small helping of veg between 2 nothing compared to the other times we...More

Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017

went for a meal in the plough inn old colwyn Saturday 29th april 2017 chicken wings not cooked red and blood on the bone, lasagne just was minced beef no tomato or garlic and the garlic bread was just butter bread maybe MARG. the attitude...More

Thank fred1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Nice place, good choice of menu, friendly staff. They do plenty of social events too, mothers day fully booked.

2  Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely food excellent service and a place I felt I could relax and eat alone. The staff are fantastic warm and friendly. More people need to go here. Its a home from home

1  Thank garty1wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The website needs up dating advertises hours when not open.. only advertises on FB.. how do people know it exists? Ate there on Friday night, ;lovely waitress couldn't of been more friendly or helpful, even calling us a taxi and barman was helpul and friendly...More

Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Being a local resident, I have visited this pub in the dark old days when it was all shot-offers, and groups of less desirables . So when my girlfriend decided she needed a Sunday lunch, it was with trepidation I was taken to The Plough....More

3  Thank Elgan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I couldn't believe how good this pub/bar was I had read some reviews on trip advisor that recommended I did not go but I thought well u only live once , the staff were lovely to me and my grandmother and could not believe how...More

2  Thank RY4AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Old Colwyn Hotels
Marine Hotel
37 reviews
.18 miles away
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
63 reviews
.39 miles away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
594 reviews
.89 miles away
Bryn Holcombe
161 reviews
1.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Tamarind Thai Restaurant
97 reviews
.46 miles away
Ken's Kitchen
57 reviews
.22 miles away
The Plough Inn
109 reviews
.00 miles away
Cadwgan Bakery
58 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Red Lion Hotel
36 reviews
.09 miles away
Colwyn Bay Beach
360 reviews
.79 miles away
Fairy Glen Local Nature Reserve
10 reviews
.15 miles away
The Cuckoo
6 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Plough Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;