Trentham Gardens
Trentham Gardens
4.5
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
About
The Trentham Estate is home to the award-winning Trentham Gardens featuring The Italian Garden by Tom Stuart-Smith, and the Floral Labyrinth and Rivers of Grass by Piet Oudolf and vast wildflower and woodland meadow plantings by Nigel Dunnett. A fascinating wire fairy sculpture trail, fab childrens adventure playground with the UK's first barefoot walk, a family-friendly maze, mile-long Capability Brown lake with seasonal boat and train trips. Trentham Monkey Forest, Trentham Treetop Adventure and Trentham Shopping Village with 50 shops and 14 cafes and restaurants can also be found at The Trentham Estate. You'll find something for everyone here.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from £13.00
All you need to step foot in the door.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience Trentham Gardens and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Laura L
    20 contributions
    Pleasant
    Enjoyed the gardens.went to the restaurant for lunch. Tasty food but cutlery was dirty and glasses didn't look clean. Think they need to check dishwasher and polish cutlery in future. There should also be a sign up to let customers know that they will be rushed out at 3:30pm.
    Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Trentham. We're very pleased that you enjoyed the gardens overall, but we're sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to the restaurant. We'll pass on your feedback to Totally Delicious, who will rectify the issue as quickly as possible, if they haven't already. Thank you for visiting, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
    Written 27 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Travelled with friends
    Written 14 December 2022
  • Lulu
    Burntwood, United Kingdom234 contributions
    Christmas grotto by the bins
    Booked for my 3 Yr old and 18 month old to see santa. First of all we struggled to find the Santa's grotto, there was a big white tent which looked like it had christmas stuff inside to take photos on but it was all closed, there was a small sign outside saying grotto this way and then you walk round the back of some shops and it's next to all the bins. The lights had fallen over and it just felt really rubbish on arrival like not magical at all. It was raining when we went and there is no cover for you to wait outside. The actual experience when your in is good, very quick though. For £30 we were in there for no more than 5 minutes. The santa and elf were really good and we were happy with the Teddy, key and reindeer food was good. For the price and overall experience I will 100% not be booking again.
    We're very sorry that you were disappointed in your visit to Santa's Grotto, the Events team have received your feedback and will use it in their planning process for this year's event. Sadly we believe the storm caused lots of damage to the decorations and shelter facilities, which meant we couldn't resurrect them in the harsh conditions, we're sorry for this and will look to improve this year's experience. We're sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion, thank you for visiting.
    Written 27 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Travelled with family
    Written 20 December 2022
  • bdennehy
    Plymouth, United Kingdom5 contributions
    Christmas Trail too short
    We walked around the Christmas light trail in 40 minutes at a leisurely pace i might add. The music was relentless throughout so much so it lost its effect and became meaningless. The last 200m is absolutely nothing why didnt they have real lights on this bit? Glad i got the fiver off tickets because its not worth more than a tenner. Go to Blenheim or Kew for a proper light show To end on a positive note, the garden does look stunning as you enter and parts of the trail are very good but they can do much better and add at least 400m extra onto the trail.
    We're very sorry that you were partly disappointed in your visit to Christmas at Trentham, the Events team have received your feedback and will use it in their planning process for this year's event. Thank you for your positive comments regarding your visit. We hope to welcome you back to Trentham soon, thank you for visiting.
    Written 27 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 29 December 2022
  • Nigel S
    1 contribution
    Ripped off
    Today I became a member of Trentham Gardens after seeing the many posters offering various discounts which included up to 10% of in stores, this is very much not the case. Each individual store offers their own interpretation of this ie Pavers you get no reduction unless you spend £50 the Millard store does not offer a discount and so on. In others words they are misleading the public in to getting membership offering discounts that aren’t there
    Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your feedback. We are very grateful to our friends in Trentham Shopping Village who are kind enough to offer discount for our members. We respectfully disagree that we have advertised that all shops and cafe's offer a discount. Each business on the estate independently decides if they want to offer a member discount, we don't have any bearing on that. In total, 32 businesses here at Trentham kindly offer the benefit of a discount for members, which over the course of a 12 month membership can offer great value. We accept your comments and apologise that you feel mislead, thank you for your feedback.
    Written 27 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 4 January 2023
  • valiant72
    Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom11 contributions
    Ibiza Orchestra.
    Well booked my tickets. Looked forward to seeing the show. Allowed 4 cans of beer or 1 bottle of wine per person to take in with you, Fine. Don’t mind that at all. Sell out, loads of people and 1 bar!!! With 4 people serving. Spent the last hour queuing missed half of the show and still haven’t got near to been served. I don’t know who’s organised this shambles but I would give your notice in if I was you. A lot of unhappy customers. Won’t be coming again.
    Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your experience at Ibiza Orchestra. All feedback has been reviewed, and actions were immediately put into place for our subsequent concerts. We offer our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. Best Wishes, Team Trentham
    Written 28 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 1 July 2023
  • helen
    Nantwich, United Kingdom5 contributions
    Disappointing play area
    Visited today with family. Although we enjoyed the visit it was disappointing that at least three family's were blatantly ignoring the signs about dogs not being allowed in the children's play area. One family had a particularly jumpy dog on a long extension lead and stayed in the area at least half an hour. During this time at least two maintenance staff went past in trucks but didn't appear to notice anything. Unfortunately there was no one around on foot to alert of the situation. Had a child been attacked or had an accident it would also be helpful to have some signage to show where first aid could have been obtained.
    Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your recent experience at Trentham. We have passed your feedback onto senior management to raise with the relevant teams who look after those areas. We have direct emergency contact with the Tearooms, so if you have cause to raise alarm and there is no one around in a purple polo top, please speak to the team in the tearooms who will be able to raise any issues with a member of Trentham staff who will attend immediately. We offer our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. Best Wishes, Team Trentham
    Written 28 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 6 July 2023
  • HydeSeek
    Macclesfield, United Kingdom98 contributions
    40 minute queue. Not much in flower (mid July). Sadly, buildings being allowed to decay.
    Pleasant gardens and lake to walk around but very little in flower in mid July compared with many National Trust gardens. Had to queue for 40 minutes to buy a ticket to get in as not enough staff manning the ticket desks. The derelict hall and conservatory make a nice backdrop but I am appalled that these wonderful buildings are being left to decay and fall to pieces. Given the vast amount of money that this place must rake in from pricey admissions, shop leases, concerts, etc. they must surely have more than enough money coupled with almost certain lottery funding to at least arrest the decay of this part of our national heritage if not restore it. Glad I went once to see the place but I won't be going back.
    Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your recent visit to Trentham. We will take all of your feedback on board regarding the issues you have raised, we appreciate your comments and constructive criticism. There are ongoing plans behind the scenes for the Trentham Hall buildings, and when we are in a position to progress further, we will be able to provide further details. Thank you for visiting, we're sorry to hear that you won't be returning but we appreciate your feedback. Best Wishes, Trentham
    Written 17 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 26 July 2023
  • MightyMacc
    Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom65 contributions
    Shocking!
    Summer Concerts 2023 5/8/23 Attended this event earlier tonight and all i can say as a quality auditor is that it was an absolute mis-managed shambles! It Gave out rain all day so i had a drink with family in newcastle under lyme beforehand, went in wilkos in newcastle and bought two brolleys (because it was p!$$ing down) for me, the mrs and son and gets to trentham and because the brolleys i bought were not of the small, retractable nature they were converscated on the gate! Unbelievable! Yet two couples infront had garden chairs (in carry sacks stuffed with a bottle of gin! ) for which they could have done a lot more damage with if they wanted. Spoke to security on the door and i may aswell spoke to a brick wall, absolutely no common sense whatsoever! Will definately never be returning! A totally mis-managed joke!
    Dear MightyMacc, We're very sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion, we published a full list of prohibited items on our website alongside ticketing information so we're sorry to hear that this was missed or caused confusion in any way. Following feedback from previous events, large umbrellas were banned to ensure that no one's view during the concert was obstructed, many visitors have complained about this in the past. For our Summer concerts, we allow small 1 person umbrellas to ensure that the visitors can have adequate shelter but this doesn't obstruct or interfere with other visitors personal space or viewing area. We will take your other feedback on board, we're sorry that you didn't have a good experience but we hope you'll reconsider visiting our events or estate in the future. Best Regards, Team Trentham
    Written 17 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written 5 August 2023
  • Sam
    Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom29 contributions
    Nicer places for free.
    Absolute shambles of a place, no organisation may aswel be ran by the monkeys. One exit on entrance which is an absolute nightmare. No structure to the place at all, majority of staff clearly don’t want to be there. Can go for much nicer works in the area without paying
    Dear FoodmanSam93, We're very disheartened to read your review. If you would like to contact us at enquiry@trentham.co.uk, we'd like to discuss your feedback further, and the incidents that have occurred which have lead you to write your review. We're sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion. Best Regards, Team Trentham
    Written 17 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 10 August 2023
  • Sambuca S
    15 contributions
    Food shocking
    Avoid the cafe belle in Trentham garden centre. £28 for 2 x shocking ciabatta and 2 x large coffees that wouldn't normally pass as small. Food was just awful and we're not fussy ppl. Staff are kids with very little ppl skills, unfortunately I couldn't give a below zero rating. August 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to review Caffe Bello. We do as a company check and action all reviews for a restaurants as all feedback helps us to improve our already high standard of food and service going forward. I can only apologise that you were disappointed and is something that I will look into to avoid this happening in the future. Please do not hesitate to make us aware at the time of visit as we will always do our upmost to rectify any problems for you as we want all of our customers to leave feeling happy and not disappointed. I would like to offer my most humble apology that you did not enjoy your experience at Caffe bello. Kindest regards Kelly McGlynn Restaurant Manager
    Written 10 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Written 12 August 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
3,871 reviews
Excellent
2,373
Very good
1,008
Average
269
Poor
102
Terrible
119

Steven W
Stoke-on-Trent, UK1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Solo
Really enjoyed the hole experience..got to see lots of wildlife, gray Heroin, white egrets, Bucks, Swans. Kingfisher, little cormorant. And the fairy trail was amazing. All them different fairy's. And the qr reading's was great. Loved the place that much I got the annual pass for the hole year. Good price too. And I brought 3 prints of the fairy's and 3 more badges to my collection. Staff were really good. I enjoyed the full English at the restaurant. Can't wait to see what's next one show, and monkey forest too. Something to look forward to as it's not open this time. Thanks for an outstanding experience.
Written 26 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Valerie W
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
The entrance and exiting from trentham gardens is diabolical! We spent 45 mins yesterday,queuing to get off and there was no special event on? Why on earth don’t you open the old entrance to enable a smooth exit!
Written 12 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear valw900, Thank you for your feedback, we regret the frustration caused to you last weekend while exiting the carpark. It was an exceptionally busy weekend due to the beautiful weather. Our staff volunteered themselves to assist in the carpark and did the best they could in difficult circumstances. We will pass on your comments to our senior management team for them to review and hope we can improve the visitor experience for future busy weekends. This week we have external carpark management marshals on hand to assist. Best Regards, Trentham
Written 18 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

timatten
Cheltenham, UK21 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
The atmosphere in TG is lovely. It is quiet, relaxed and the only sounds were those of the birds. At this time of the year, the colours are fantastic and throughout there are useful notes and guidelines to add to the interest.
Paths are good and solid so no problems there. An amazing day out with some history thrown in around the ruins of the old house.
Thoroughly recommended!
Written 30 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear timatten, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Trentham Gardens. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the estate! This time of year is so special, and the woodland and gardens look spectacular in their autumn colours. Thank you so much for visiting. All the best, Trentham
Written 18 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Philippa S
20 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Visited today with the family for halloween. I didn’t realise until I got home why they had restricted comments on their social media, advertising this event. Avoid at all costs.
£13 per adult
£7 per child entry to the gardens
£7 per adult and £3 per child to the maze - with a free pumpkin.
£2 a Marshmello to toast
£2 wand making
£3 broom making and £4.95 per coffee!

Wouldn’t allow the kids to make a wand or broom, but they did toast a Marshmello.

£74 in total! Absolutely scandalous.

Luckily both kids got in free!
And the gate was left open to the maze so we got in free there too! ( saving £20! )
£20 to walk a maze….!!!!!
All these activities should be included in the price to the gardens.
Over rated and over priced.

Written 28 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Philippa112a, We're very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at the Hide & Spook Maze. We will pass your feedback onto our events team for planning consideration for next year's seasonal activities. Best Regards, Trentham
Written 18 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tim B
1 contribution
Oct 2023 • Couples
Dreadful customer service. Membership arrangements are just dire. Put us off completely. Went to join but there was a power cut. Still managed to take payment for day visit and told we could put this against membership cost when next go.
So c 2 weeks later we went. Yes you can put your day pass cost (with receipt which we had kept) but only against the one off annual payment. Guess what, if you go for direct debit it is 15% less but you aren’t allowed to put your previous day pass (which we would not have had if the power had been working) against direct debit. No offer of any sort and just told to lump it effectively. So we left.
I messaged Trentham on their website complaints section and never had a response.
Really very unimpressed.
Written 22 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear timbS3495VE, We're very sorry to hear that you have not received a response to your enquiry, we don't appear to have a received a complaint of this nature so we'll raise this with our web provider to investigate. We would dearly like to make amends for your experience, if you would kindly email enquiry@trentham.co.uk directly we are more than happy to help and honour the agreement regarding our power outage. Due to the extenuating circumstances, we can honour the 15% discount, and take off the day ticket price that you purchased. If you email us with your name and ticket reference we can make our Welcome Team aware of our arrangement. Best Regards, Team Trentham
Written 26 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lauralee477
Doncaster, UK8 contributions
Sep 2023 • Couples
Loved Monkey Forest, so great to see them in their natural habitat, Trentham gardens are lovely and enjoyed all the outlet shops there
Written 16 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear lauralee477, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Trentham Monkey Forest, Trentham Gardens and our wonderful Shopping Village. If you have time, we're sure the Monkey Forest would love you to review their own Trip Advisor page! We really appreciate your lovely feedback and hope you'll enjoy more visits with us in the future. All the best, Team Trentham
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deb128160211
Congleton, UK11 contributions
Sep 2023 • Solo
I purchased a gift membership for a family member online, expecting the voucher to be posted out. I was sent an email saying I would need to go into the centre and purchase the voucher. I wouldn't have gone online if I knew this was the case.
Went into the centre to "purchase" the voucher and was told the recipient of the gift would need to come and purchase as a photo ID would need to be taken, fair enough. I was given a lovely gift box with a bag and a brochure inside.
However, I was then given a till receipt and told this was the gift voucher. Who gives a torn off till receipt with the price on as a gift? I later sent an email to ask for clarification and was told "we don't do gift vouchers, and we advertise prices at the centre so they'd see the price anyway" ?? Absolutely bizarre process. True, my family member does know the price of memberships, as if it was anyone other than a family member, I'd be too embarrassed to give them a torn off till receipt as a gift.
Please sort this out Trentham and get some gift vouchers printed, people pay good money for them.
Written 27 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Deb128160211, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding our gift membership. We will take your comments on board regarding the receipt format of our gift voucher and the purchasing process. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback. Best Regards, Team Trentham
Written 28 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike S
Cromer, UK439 contributions
Add the gardens to the shopping complex at the entrance and you could easily keep yourself busy for a day. I think we missed the gardens at there best but with the lake it was beautiful. Good walks. Well located cafes. Most of the walls looked as if they were wheelchair friendly.
Written 18 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We're so pleased to hear about your recent visit, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Visiting the Gardens alongside the Shopping Village makes such a fantastic day out, with something for everyone. We have a full accessibility guide which can be accessed on our website for anyone with mobility difficulties or concerns about accessing the site. We're always happy to help with tips and advice. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at Trentham in the future. Best Wishes, Team Trentham
Written 19 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

suzanne B
Leek, UK6 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
The day time wildlife boat trip at Trentham was well worth £5 charge as it was above and beyond my expectations! You think it’s just a boat across the lake and back but then this guy ( the beaver ranger Harvey) starts talking. I was mesmerised! He was so knowledgeable and passionate about not only the beavers but all the wildlife there, the biodiversity , the history of the estate, the historic information about the extinction of beavers from uk and Europe and the importance of this reintroduction project and it’s effect on the biodiversity - that will encourage other insects, amphibians and wildlife turning back the clock restoring these habitats. We got to to the cafe at the other side of the lake and he stopped talking and I was actually sad!! But fortunately he started talking again and on the way back it was another wildlife discovery. At the end of our journey many of the visitors continued with more questions for him and he was able to answer them all. Well done Beaver ranger Harvey - if all young people had your knowledge, understanding and passion about wildlife the future of our world would be in safe hands.
Written 13 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for writing such an amazing review about our Wildlife Cruise experience. We're so glad to hear that you had a wonderful visit. Harvey is over the moon with your feedback, and we would all like to thank you for your fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Trentham very soon. Best Wishes, Team Trentham
Written 19 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liz A
Bradford, UK708 contributions
We went for the first time on Thursday. The size of the gardens and the lake is immense. I really liked the statues and the otters carved into the tree. We were on a coach trip and were told to meet the driver at the entrance to Monkey Forest, but the map wasn't very clear so it was confusing where we had to meet him and how long it would take to walk there. Apart from that we had a very enjoyable day.
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for writing a wonderful review of your recent visit to Trentham. We're glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable day overall. We'll definitely review your comments about our map and visitor information in the hope that we can make it clearer in the future. Thank you for visiting, all the best. Team Trentham
Written 19 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,850
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

TRENTHAM GARDENS: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Trentham Gardens