Ban Thai Massage and Spa
Ban Thai Massage and Spa
3.5
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Ban Thai Massage & Spa is a luxurious of wellbeing in the heart of Leigh, with a focus on therapeutic, relaxing treatment to benefit body and mind. The award-winning spa offers treatment that will appeal to both men and women, including sports massage, Hot stone, Pregnancy massage, Thai Yoga and Bamboo massage and the ancient practice of Tok Sen, to name just a few. Immerse yourself in a beautifully decorated and restorative world of and holistic therapy, where highly trained staff offer a caring spa experience that is guaranteed to give the largest health benefit impact possible.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles37 reviews
Excellent
20
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
10

Jackie A
Benfleet, UK2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
Sadly my massage was ruined by the actions of the staff including the manager. I was aware the massage area was open to men and women but asked that the curtains be closed if any men came in. Unfortunately this did not happen. When I spoke with the manager she simply stated that one curtain had been closed and as it was near to the end of my massage they hadn’t seen the need to fully close off the other curtains. Leaving me sitting in a thin sheet when a gentleman walked past. If he had walked through 2 seconds earlier I had lost my “wrap” as the masseur was pulling my arms back and I wouldn’t have had any cover at all.

When I argued the point with the manager she flung £20 back at me and told me to go else where in future, she grabbed my arm and pushed me to the door. Needless to say I was shocked and really upset. I have never been anywhere where staff argued the point so aggressively. It went from a friendly relaxed environment to aggressive and angry because I had been upset with my request for privacy being ignored and then dismissed as unimportant. Please be careful as the pleasantries stop quite abruptly if you voice any displeasure with the service.
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jackie, Thank you for your reviews and providing your feedback. We understand your frustration, however, we apologise that our service did not satisfy your expectations and leaving you feel disappointed with the service you had on 12th January 2020. First of all, we would like to inform you that the room you had been given the massage was Thai style room and it is open plan style which keeps it as Thai Authentic Style we have curtains for decorations only. If you have Thai Traditional massage we will provide a Thai uniform for our client to wear, for other types of oil massages such as Head Neck Back Shoulder, Deep Tissue, or Aromatherapy massages you will be asked to wear Sarong and it pretty much cover your whole body. In addition, we have a private room if you do not want to share a room with another client, you can request when you are making an appointment over the phone. Secondly, our staff and manager were polite and gave back the money that you have wished for nicely. As we refunded the money, we asked you to leave the salon because you were deafening and it disturbed another clients. Our salon is a Quiet Zone area for relaxation. Last but not least, we provide professional massage in which each and everyone of our therapists are fully qualified and trained. At Ban Thai we provide a high standard of service to all of our customers. Kind Regards, Ban Thai
Written 14 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TrevGB
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020
Sadly Ban Thai have refused to allow my wife to use her £45 massage voucher. I bought this last December as a Christmas present for her to use in the Spring. Covid prevented this as we shielded (and continue to stay safe) due to being extremely vulnerable. I contacted Nikki @Ban Thai yesterday to explain and make sure my wife could use the voucher after Covid, but Nikki won't let us. Ban Thai have taken my money and refused to allow my wife to use it when she feels safe to do so. Unfortunately, although I was very polite on the phone this morning Nikki hung up on me, refusing to discuss the matter further, let alone let my wife use the voucher after Covid. I would not recommend using Ban Thai because they may not give you the service you paid for, and keep your money.
Written 18 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Trevor, Thank you for your reviews and providing your feedback. We understand your frustration, However we apologise that our service did not satisfy your expectations and leaving you feel disappointed . The gift vouchers was purchased on 9/12/2019 ( it’s valid 6 months from the date you purchase) In response we have to set the record straight, Firstly, we have been voted European spa of the year. Our professionalism is famous . We do not “ hang up” on people, However challenging the customer. Secondly , we doubled the validity of the vouchers by six months to take into account COVID-19. For this customer to demand that we extend the life a vouchers by a future twelve months ( i.e 18 months after it was purchased) and write erroneous reviews such as this is unacceptable. The matter is closed At BanThai we provide a high standard of service to all of our customers We looking forward to seeing all of our loyal customers as soon as possible once restrictions ease . Best wishes, Nikki & BanThai team
Written 19 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anonymous K
Bath, UK3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020
Lovely place and friendly staff. Enjoyed my back, shoulder and neck massage. The lady knew where all my sore spots were without me telling her, spent more time in area where I needed it and I feel so much better than I went in.

The place was up to Covid-19 guidance, staff were all wearing face mask, they had disposable protective sheet and hair net. Customer will have to wear face mask at all time when inside the shop, had to take off my shoe at entrance and used their hand gel when first entered.
Written 4 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alison F
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023
I have a voucher my Son got me for my birthday in June, we moved house and i lost sight of it. I have now found it, and thought it would be lovely after a stressful move to have a massage.
It turns out the voucher is only valid for 6 months, (nowhere i have been before only has a 6 month expiry on it) and it is out by 10 days!! As it's been Christmas and the shop would have been shut anyway, i called an asked if i could extend the 1/2 hour voucher to an hour, and explained that it was 10 days out of the 6 months.

They said yes you can have an hour, but you have to pay full price as it's expired. I asked if she was joking as the shop was shut anyway so i wouldn't have been able to go in and she no you cannot use the voucher!!!!

Considering how stressful life is at the moment, I honestly would have thought it would have been fine, just 10 days out of date, but she made it quite clear and was quite rude that they would not except it!!!

That is the last time i ever buy a voucher or go into that shop ever again!!!!!
Written 4 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Footprints223522
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Solo
I have been here more than a few times and Nikki gives the best massages! I’ve tried different types of massages and I highly recommend her! She really cares for you and is passionate about treating you. She knows exactly what she’s doing, she’s clearly highly skilled and she really works magic. I feel so great after a massage with her. Will be going back again soon! Rumana.x
Written 28 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joshua C L
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Solo
The best Thai massage spa in the south of England. Tok Sen therapy at it’s finest! I have been visiting Ban Thai massage and Spa once a month for a year now and have always received the most excellent treatment.
Josh
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tom
Southend-on-Sea, UK1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Solo
My wife went for a pregnancy massage at 36 weeks pregnant, the massage itself was good but on entering was told cash only which whilst they have the ability to take card was annoying but ok she would need to go to cash machine up the road. They said not to worry can get cash after.

After the massage they insisted that she left her phone with them as security, this has infuriated me as she should not be out without the ability to call for help at this stage in her pregnancy (which she explained to them and was reluctant to but they would not take no for an answer). Also it was their suggestion to get the cash after the massage!

As you can imagine this experience has really taken away from the purpose of the massage in the first place and we will not be returning and recommending our friends elsewhere after this.
Written 25 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Tom , Thank you for your reviews and providing your feedback. We understand your frustration, However we apologise that our service did not satisfy your expectations and leaving you feel disappointed with the service for your wife had on Saturday 24th October 2020. ( 60 minutes Pregnancy massage ) We have informed you on the phone before you have make a booking appointment with us that our card machine error ( Due to technique issues we waiting for the new machine to replace) otherwise we can Only take cash ( Cash or Bank transfer) Your wife arrived for massage treatment on time. we also advise her again that we can take cash only . And she can have a massage first then she can pay after treatment that’s fine as we don’t want her to loss the hours on her massage treatment For our policy and security we had to asking all our clients to left their handbags or phone etc at our receptionist if their had to go get the cash to pay for service At BanThai we provide a high standard of service to all or our customers. Best Wishes, Banthai Massage
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JackieDic
Alton, UK6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Solo
Congrats on your 2019 award. Well deserved. I visit every 3 weeks and always come away feeling better physically and mentally. Very friendly staff and I wouldn’t go anywhere else. 👍😊
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rachel
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
Really disappointed. My gift voucher was a few weeks out of date, and they would not honour it. I explained as a new mum, working full time, I hadn't found time to book yet, but there was no understanding or compassion. Very poor customer service, the lady was very quick to end the conversation. Terrible service. I can see from other reviews this is a common theme.
Written 18 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

V&M
Leigh-on Sea, UK2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Solo
I've never had a bad massage here and have tried most of the different types over the last few years. Today I had the best massage I've ever had - 90 minute hot stone massage with Nicki. Worth every penny. Wish I could afford it every week!
Written 18 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BAN THAI MASSAGE AND SPA (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All things to do in Leigh-on Sea
Day Trips in Leigh-on Sea
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire