We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Peaceful Visit

If you are looking for a break from the city, this is probably the best place to visit when you're... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2019
Jade C
Sydney city

What a hidden gem in the heart of the city this wonderful peacefull beautiful garden is full of... read more

Reviewed 11 November 2018
BernieK62
via mobile
Read all 406 reviews
317
All photos (317)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees”(38 reviews)
“for sale”(27 reviews)
“water features”(16 reviews)
About
EAST MEETS WEST The Japanese Garden in Cornwall combines the beauty of nature with an artistic refinement using shaping & styling of plants & natural elements. It is a place of tranquillity with a variety of plants and water features, where visitors...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
St. Mawgan, Newquay TR8 4ET, England
Website
+44 1637 860116
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
244
90
44
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
244
90
44
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bonsai trees for sale water features winding paths tranquil garden wind chimes every corner tranquil place koi carp newquay airport eden project worth a visit gift shop running water lovely place to visit my partner staff were very friendly
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2019

We were taken here by our guide as we explained we were keen on visiting gardens. This was rather unkempt, some pathways and wooden bridges were slippery and dangerous on the day we visited. The entry fee did not correlate with the very short time...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Frances G
Reviewed 16 January 2019

If you are looking for a break from the city, this is probably the best place to visit when you're in Cornwall. The staff are super friendly here, and you could probably spend all day just sitting, reading or meditating. It's a real hidden gem...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jade C
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

What a hidden gem in the heart of the city this wonderful peacefull beautiful garden is full of beauty one just has to vist it is a must

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank BernieK62
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I really enjoyed a recent trip, it is a delightful garden in a delightful setting. The azaleas and so forth must be magnificent, and I shall return in 2019

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mandymunch22
Reviewed 7 November 2018

it behind a little village .my wife loves Japanese garden .when we went to japan in 1985 the garden where beautiful and colourful and this place is just like it the tree losing there leaves but still nice and welcome

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank davidwise162
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Beautiful gardens hidden away in a quaint village. well worth a visit. We found by chance browsing through the BBC Gardeners world 2 for 1 offer magazine and to be honest felt a bit mean as addmission was a very reasonable fiver each. The gardens...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank notenoughdays2018
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Very peaceful and colourful bit of serenity in a lovely village .the grounds are well laid out with some beautiful tress and areas of quiet contemplation.Well worth several visits at different times of the year to get the full effect of the colourful Acers,Some of...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank bardavon
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Far from what we expected, certainly did not resemble the pamphlet and was a huge disappointment. Came out quite depressed ! Yes, it could be the time of year but if the garden isnt at its best, close until next spring or dont charge !More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank joannep04
Natalie H, Owner at The Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi, I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. The garden was designed and built by my father and me and my partner have now taken over management of the business. It always breaks my heart when someone doesn’t enjoy visiting the garden...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This is not worth a visit unless you're so bored you want to give £5 away. The garden may have been decent 10 or 15yrs ago as that was probably the last time it was tended. Japanese gardens are supposed to be simple and yet...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank X959UYjohnp
Natalie H, Owner at The Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi, I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. The garden was designed and built by my father and me and my partner have now taken over management of the business. It always breaks my heart when someone doesn’t enjoy visiting the garden...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018

Found this by chance and it made a change from our daily walking. Some lovely specimens to buy from the shop.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mark E
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Retorrick Mill
64 reviews
.53 miles away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
1,461 reviews
1.61 miles away
The Scarlet Hotel
1,818 reviews
1.63 miles away
Watergate Bay Hotel
1,606 reviews
2.02 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
St Mawgan Tea Room
189 reviews
.16 miles away
Scott & Babs
190 reviews
.53 miles away
The Falcon Inn
358 reviews
.15 miles away
The Smugglers Inn
73 reviews
.59 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Cornwall Aviation Heritage Centre
463 reviews
1.26 miles away
Mawgan Porth Beach
127 reviews
1.54 miles away
The Scarlet Spa
117 reviews
1.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mypointofviewis
14 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Adele P | Reviewed this property |
Hello,we travelled by car so I am not sure.But it is a small village and to be honest didn't see a bus or stops.
0
Votes
ymfox
2 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Natalie H | Property representative |
Hello, Dogs are not allowed in The Japanese Garden itself (except guide dogs), but we are happy for well behaved dogs to visit our shop and nursery areas if on a lead. Hope this helps. Have a look at our VISIT and FAQ pages... More
0
Votes
Charlotte B
11 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Natalie H | Property representative |
Hello, We are open 10am until 6pm, last entry to the garden at 5pm, 7 days a week until October 31st. There is lots of useful information on our website. Please find the address on our trip advisor page. Hope this helps.
0
Votes