We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carding Shed- MOVED

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Lovely

Called into the new address to buy some Father’s Day vouchers and decided to eat there. The food... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
Sally T
,
Hayton, null, United Kingdom
via mobile
Breakfast visit

We were taken there by friends who live in Hepworth nearby. We enjoyed a late breakfast which was... read more

Reviewed 25 July 2018
heatherrjolly
,
Edzell, United Kingdom
Read all 801 reviews
302
All photos (302)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“vintage cars”(95 reviews)
“cakes”(87 reviews)
“vintage clothes”(27 reviews)
About
The Carding Shed is found in Holmfirth, a multi-venue attraction based around a vintage theme. It's a lovely place to visit for the car, coffee, and vintage enthusiast! Combining a Classic Car Display, Automobilia, Vintage Clothes Shop, Antiques...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Hepworth HD9 2RD, England
Website
+44 1484 680300
Call
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
447
205
81
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
447
205
81
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vintage cars cakes vintage clothes afternoon tea wait for a table china cups sunday breakfast unusual place shops selling retro shops for sale on display peas unique experience pie step back in time lovely food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for the first time, there was 8 of us in total but we had to sit on 2 tables which was a little disappointing when we wanted to sit together as a family get together but never mind. Some of the party wanted breakfast...More

1  Thank Kerry32G
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Great tasting coffee and a good selection of cakes. We tried the Chocolate Snowball and Neopolitan cakes, which were delicious. The portion was generous and the buttercream filling was a little overpowering, so we were unable to finish. Friendly service, although I shouldn't have needed...More

1  Thank Graham M
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

quirky little place. not the easiest to find on a steep hill. my mum had been to the old premises in hepworth but now they have new premises in holmfirth top end of dunford road. great if like vintage cars. my boys liked it,but only...More

1  Thank mcliff
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

A little disappointed , had to wait ages for a table camp bloke who was seating people asked us how many seats (3) then seemed to get lost to come back and ask us again , them said we had to wait a further 10...More

1  Thank Andy B
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Andy, Thank you for your review. Our service is always under constantt review and we can only apologise for the mix up here. However, the inappropriate and homophobic language you have used in your review is quite simply unacceptable. Please do not return to...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Called into the new address to buy some Father’s Day vouchers and decided to eat there. The food was lovely the place was busy and the service was excellent. Will return very soon.

Thank Sally T
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Sally, Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Been twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch. Breakfast was served on a sea of baked beans, and the potatoes and mushrooms were very oily. We attempted lunch and after queuing for 20 mins to place order, our drinks took a further 20 mins...More

1  Thank welovebarbados
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your review. Our food and service is always under constant review and we will most certainly take your comments on board. We are sorry you had to wait to order food and then for your drinks. We do try as hard as...More

Reviewed 25 July 2018

We were taken there by friends who live in Hepworth nearby. We enjoyed a late breakfast which was all good. The guys had the full breakfast and I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. This is an amazing place to visit because of all the...More

Thank heatherrjolly
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to the new place, the first was just a quick drive to find it and decided not to call in but give it time to settle. Well we're do I start, sign posting to the place is...More

1  Thank chalkiewhite58
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of putting in place signage to the cafe, so this should not be an issue much longer. We have designed our new premises to ensure disabled accessibility throughout. The disabled toilet is signposted within...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018

eventually got there after a bit of fun with the sat nav sending us completely the wrong way ending up on top of the hills around holmfirth.cafe area was very well done and the staff looked good in their uniforms food was excellent and with...More

1  Thank richard s
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Richard, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 13 July 2018

We called late afternoon to look at the new centre. We were not disappointed. Washpit Mills gives them a new home. The cafe is similar in layout to the old place. The vintage clothing shop is interesting & a classic car display is a must...More

1  Thank Alan A
TheCardingShed, Owner at The Carding Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Alan, Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. We have put our hearts and soul into the development of Washpit and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Old Bridge Inn
1,074 reviews
1.48 miles away
Durker Roods Hotel
818 reviews
4.21 miles away
Bagden Hall Hotel
861 reviews
5.28 miles away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
721 reviews
5.86 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Spiced Pear
804 reviews
.85 miles away
The Olive Tree Bistro Cafe
178 reviews
.77 miles away
The Butchers Arms
207 reviews
.24 miles away
The White Horse Inn
88 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Summer Wine Exhibition
178 reviews
1.55 miles away
The Clothiers Arms
5 reviews
2.12 miles away
Summer Wine Brewery Tap
23 reviews
3.23 miles away
Woodlands Play Gym
36 reviews
3.98 miles away