We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Yarra Valley

Opens in 2 min: 09:00 - 17:00
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Amazing Food and Service

Glad I’m not in the hospitality industry after seeing some of these reviews! I went to Coombe for... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Davezu
,
Cranbourne, Australia
via mobile
Beautiful lunch

Visited yesterday for lunch. Was given a voucher from children. Lovely attentive staff. We were... read more

Reviewed 11 December 2018
DebDeb58
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 246 reviews
168
All photos (168)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dame nellie”(47 reviews)
“garden tour”(46 reviews)
“scones”(35 reviews)
About
Opens in 2 min
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
25°
12°
Jan
25°
13°
Feb
22°
11°
Mar
Contact
673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
Website
+61 3 9739 0173
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Coldstream
from US$250.02
More Info
from US$101.62
More Info
from US$109.66
More Info
from US$159.37
More Info
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
136
63
24
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
136
63
24
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dame nellie garden tour scones afternoon tea peach melba high tea cellar door yarra valley small museum wine tasting birthday lunch private residence two courses famous opera gluten free beans clock tower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 242 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Glad I’m not in the hospitality industry after seeing some of these reviews! I went to Coombe for a McLaren Drive day and before we started our smallish group ate slow roast lamb, whole fish, the best roast potatoes I’ve ever eaten at a restaurant...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Davezu
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once upon a time, Coombe Farm cellar door was in a little cottage off St Huberts Road where Nicky had all the time in the world to chat to visitors and take them on a leisurely tour of the wine list. There was no tasting...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Quelian
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review; I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the your experience at Coombe and will communicate your feedback to the team. We are extremely proud of what we have created for our cellar...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Visited yesterday for lunch. Was given a voucher from children. Lovely attentive staff. We were given a table facing the garden which was great. Tables well spaced so noise wasn’t an issue. Very paired back menu which was sensible for lunch. Wine was excellent and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank DebDeb58
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we are so grateful you enjoyed your experience at Coombe and hope to have you dine with us again soon.

Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

I just wanted a main but I had to order 2 courses. This is ridiculous! Very noisy and impossible to have a conversation. The lamb shoulder was good. It is really poor choice to have a large gathering of 20 with speeches etc to invade...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Beiqn
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We sincerely appreciate that you have made us aware of your experience so that this can be submitted to management to be reviewed. Despite being disappointed we hope to see you back at Coombe another...More

Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

I loved this place from the moment we parked the car and wandered around. Everything is on point here from the garden to the restaurant to the cellar door. The wines are sooo amazing especially the Chardonnay which is just special. I really wished we...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank wanderlust_rambler
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Coombe, Yarra Valley. Thank you for such positive feedback.

Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely spot. Sat and had a wine before lunch at the cellar door. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Lunch menu is well balanced with a range of options. Two courses for $60 or $70 for three courses. Table service haphazard but staff friendly. We all...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank drtgfnz
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Thank you for such a warm review and we hope to have you dine with at again at Coombe, Yarra Valley.

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We tried this place as a last minute decision. Of course they were booked out but the receptionist was so accommodating and tried effortesly to fit us in and she did. The atmosphere was just beautiful, service excellent and food was amazing. We were a...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Gianna1958
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

A beautiful venue to take an overseas visitor, to explore the history of the property and be served delicious food and wine. Though expensive the three course lunch was superb.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank simcat46
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I've always wanted to visit the place where my most famous relative once lived, however was a little deflated once I arrived. I left without taking one photo. I missed the tour (GPS had time of arrival wrong ) so could only look at the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank wotchewwant
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding Coombe, Yarra Valley. It is a shame that you missed the garden tour, as the first portion of this gives vast insight into the paintings and medals in the gallery. The glass table in the gallery has emphasises on...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Food: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Wine: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Service: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ (Food took too long to come out. Waited over 45mins for the mains). Atmosphere: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Value for money: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Would I come back? 👍More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank iAiver
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and apologise that not all aspects of your experience were 5 star. We hope to see you again soon, to experience a complete 5 star experience which is the standard we aim to uphold at Coombe,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lilydale Motor Inn
35 reviews
2.61 miles away
Yarra Valley Motel
170 reviews
2.91 miles away
Chateau Yering Hotel
382 reviews
3.30 miles away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
198 reviews
4.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 nearby restaurants
The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley
220 reviews
2.41 miles away
OAKS ON MELBA
22 reviews
1.27 miles away
Henry VIII Manor House
6 reviews
2.64 miles away
Meletos
511 reviews
2.46 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 19 nearby attractions
Yarra Valley Winery Tours
123 reviews
2.94 miles away
Skydive Yarra Valley
103 reviews
1.60 miles away
Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail
139 reviews
2.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert B
28 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from pierrekiwi | Reviewed this property |
Our tour was a little over an hour with morning tea afterwards.
1
Vote
lesleyking66
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Carmel S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lesley We were at Coombe Estate yesterday and I re-mentioned your request. They received my email with your request. At first they thought it was someone just having some fun. When Petra noticed that the email was from... More
0
Votes
raelenephilpott
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from josanpu | Reviewed this property |
lunch only
0
Votes