We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sand Dune Safaris

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4982 0602
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Sand Dune Safaris offers a number of Adventure Tours in one of their...

Sand Dune Safaris offers a number of Adventure Tours in one of their purpose built 4WD vehicles in beautiful Port Stephens. Tours are taken across the magnificent Stockton Sand Dunes (the largest moving sand dunes in the Southern Hemisphere), and are safe and informative. Discover the history and culture within this amazing ecosystem! Highlights include the Sygna Shipwreck, Tin City, and Sand Boarding. Fun for all ages! Sand Dune Safaris are fully licensed and accredited in accordance with the NSW Dept. of Tranposrt and are members of the Stockton Bight Dune Operators Association.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Great experience

These guys are great! We were a party of 22 (5 families) and we all had a great time. Very well accommodate our needs. Whole group had so much fun and unforgettable experience... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Henry C
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

These guys are great! We were a party of 22 (5 families) and we all had a great time. Very well accommodate our needs. Whole group had so much fun and unforgettable experience. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Henry C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went on a week day so couldn't do the 4 x. 4 experience so just did the sand boarding. Got a great deal $60 for 3 of us. Quick 10 minute drive to the dunes. Here we met Max who gave us our 'training'. Most of the time only 3 of us there so no waiting. We did the easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Squirrelleeds7
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very cool and fun activity! The sand dunes were huge and they give you plenty of time to ride the boards down the hills. I would do this again!

Helpful?
Thank Kasey265
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am a traveler, traveling alone and i was an awkward customers emailing away as i was not sure where i was going etc and also woke up late and missed my bus! But they still got me on a later bus and were very helpful. When i arrived the guy on arrival was friendly and also helpful, the driver... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh V
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Was a great experience. Great trip in van up to the dune. The instructor was very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Kobie B
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Kobie B Thank you for your positive review :) Glad to hear you had a great experience and loved the 4wd trip up there! Hope to see you again for more sandy adventure :) Kind regards Ana More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Lots of fun, beautiful views and nice people. Perfect experience.We had a great laugh. I would recommend it to everyone

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana C
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Ivana Thank you for the lovely review :) We are glad you enjoyed the scenery and had lots of laughs! We aim to ensure that everyone has an awesome experience on the dunes, thank you for letting us know that you had a great time :) Kind regards Ana More 

Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately these guys were pretty rude and offensive in the middle of our tour. Their disrespect and disregard for other people and other tours was rather disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Evan H
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Evan H Firstly I will just clarify that you were not on one of our tours, you were with a different company that specialises in driver training/tag-a-long tours. We have had long standing issues with this company's safety standards. They utilise a sand dune near our sand boarding area to allow their customers to drive their 4WD's down a... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Overall it was great experience, we booked 10am but parking was a nightmare, it took us almost one hour to find a parking spot because the place was so busy. Not their fault though, staff said they've been trying to ask council to extend the parking area but council hasn't done anything. We had so much fun doing sand boarding... More 

Helpful?
Thank sisi3931
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Sisi3931 Thank you for your review. Yes it can be difficult to find a parking spot during the peak Christmas period, but council are working on solutions :) Glad to hear you had such a fun time on the dunes! Hope to see you again for more good times :) Kind regards Ana More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The kids (and mum and dad) had an awesome time. Both boys (9&5) managed to do it for 2 hrs until their little legs couldn't climb the dunes anymore. Go early in the day before it gets warm as climbing back to the top is exhausting but so worth it. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank desinerg
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Desinerg Thank you for the positive review and I'm glad the kids had such an awesome time! Yes it is so much better to go during cooler weather.I bet the boys slept well that night!! Thanks again for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again :) Kind regards Ana More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We rocked up to the carpark at Anna Bay and were able to catch the next shuttle "bus" into the dunes within 15 minutes without prior booking (this was just before school holidays started). For $25 each, we enjoyed a 10 minute bus ride through the dunes to the sandboarding area. After a 5 minute lesson, we were free to... More 

Helpful?
Thank theresamp
SandDuneFun, General Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Theresamp Thank you for the review! Glad you had a great time and hope to see you again on the dunes! Kind regards Ana More 

Travellers who viewed Sand Dune Safaris also viewed

 
Anna Bay, Port Stephens
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Sand Dune Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sand Dune Safaris and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Petaling District, Malaysia
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sand Dune Safaris staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?