Whitchurch Silk Mill

Whitchurch Silk Mill

Whitchurch Silk Mill
4.5
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Mill and Riverside Cafe are open Tuesday to Sunday 10.30am to 5.00pm. Please check our website for details. A gem of industrial heritage in beautiful, rural Hampshire, Whitchurch Silk Mill is a 19th century water mill that weaves British silk fabrics using Victorian machinery. The Mill is the oldest working silk mill in Britain, still weaving in its original building. An historic silk mill. Whether you're machine-mad, an admirer of silk fabrics, a child learning about the Victorians, or just looking for a delightful day out in Hampshire, Whitchurch Silk Mill has something for you:> the original mill wheel and Victorian machinery;> fabulous fabrics on the looms;> a shop to indulge in silk products from the Mill, and much more;> peaceful setting by the River Test, with tearoom for lunch and refreshments.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
104 reviews
Excellent
65
Very good
34
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
1

MichaelChew
London, UK255 contributions
Educational visit
Jun 2021
The visit to the silk mill in Whitchurch was interesting and educational. We learnt a lot about how silk is spun from the interactive displays. It was a shame that the water wheel was not working and there aren’t any workers demonstrating the different aspects of weaving as that would have been much more illustrative.
Written 19 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you ever so much for leaving a review and sharing this with others. We are really pleased we have been able to raise enough money to repair the waterwheel which was damaged during 2020. Its repair will start in July and we are very much looking forward to having this back in full working order.
Written 19 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian
Andover, UK2 contributions
Overall very good experience.
May 2021 • Couples
The information in the mill is very informative and we met a member of staff who explained the process in great detail.
All of the staff were lovely and we purchased two scarves in the shop.
We did find the apple and black currant cake quite dry and the latte was very milky with little coffee flavour.
Overall the experience was very good but sadly the cafe was not quite up to our expectations.
The garden is lovely and it was good fun feeding the ducks and fish.
Written 16 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you ever so much for leaving us a lovely review. I'll pass on your comments about the coffee to our team in the Welcome Building. The coffee machine can make weak and strong coffee and it might just need a little bit of adjustment.
Written 16 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MarciaB
Westfield, UK18 contributions
Highly Recommend Visit
Jun 2021 • Friends
Beautiful place with interesting exhibits detailing the work of the silk mill. Very informative with lots of interactive exhibits - definitely worth a visit - will definitely return with my daughter who is studying weave at Uni ☺️
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review and for taking the time to share your review. We are looking forward to seeing you back with your daughter, she would definitely love it!
Written 15 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KVJ166
Southampton, UK818 contributions
Well worth a visit
May 2021 • Couples
An essential place to visit for anyone with the slightest interest in history, fascinating exhibits and I really enjoyed the opportunity to try my weaving skills! After our tour of the mill we enjoyed sitting in the beautifully tended gardens enjoying a rare summer’s day watching the ducks on the river of course we had to take advantage of the really great cafe that serves some amazing refreshments.
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review and for taking the time to review every aspect of a visit to the Mill. I am so pleased you thought so much of the gardens and I will make sure that the gardening volunteers know. Thank you
Written 15 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Geoff K
Basingstoke, UK1 contribution
Plant Based Offerings for Customers
May 2021
Visited on Sunday afternoon 30/5/21 for a coffee & some cake - was disappointed with the cafe.

1. No Oat Milk
2. No plant-based cake ( Vegan)

Not that we are awkward people, we just felt we were putting the staff out by our request. It was not their fault "it was as it was" !!

Please for the sake of future visitors have some fresh vegan cake options/sandwich options and a range of milk. You'd be very surprised what a difference this would make to your customers.

Offering us an Americano with topped up Soya milk wasn't appealing at all and with a wrapped up for how long bit of a cake bar was limited.
Written 1 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Geoff, I am very sorry that you were disappointed by our range of plant-based milk and the lack of vegan cakes. We offer a very limited range, it is a small cafe, but the team is extending the menu all the time. I am so sorry you felt the team was put out. I hope that was not really the case, they literally always go the extra mile, I see it every day. However, I work in the cafe myself and know it is incredibly difficult to understand one another through two sets of masks and at least one perspex screen and we cannot see each other's smiling faces. Hopefully, with the easing of restrictions, we can get back to normal and exchange smiles when things are going well and when they aren't going as smoothly as we would all like.
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephen E
Herne Bay, UK40 contributions
Weaving
May 2021
As a philistine of long standing, I booked this visit for my wife's birthday because she loves crafts and fabrics and all those things. Prepared to be bored, I persuaded my wife to enjoy the coffee shop first. Delicious Victoria sponge and a superb latte for elevenses. I was slightly intrigued on entry to the main museum because a young woman was winding silk onto a wooden frame and the explanation boards were actually interesting. We made our way to the top floor past the mill wheel (second floor) and met Brian. Brian began to explain to the two of us what everything did and how the machines worked; how they were powered over time and also, about how they were staffed in operation. It was really interesting and he made the mill come alive for me. I had no idea what the mill made such as costumes for TV dramas and QC's' 'silks'. On the second floor descending after the talk and a film, I had the opportunity to work a weaving machine. It was a real experience for someone who is not mechanically minded and I really enjoyed it. This visit lasting nearly 90 minutes was well worth the entry price. I recommend it for anyone. There were games for kids as well.
Written 25 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review and for taking the plunge into the world of fabric and crafts. I'll let Brian know too that you enjoyed his talk, he really enjoys telling everyone about the Mill and how it works. Thanks are due to our volunteer team.
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Naima
1 contribution
Fun way to spend a few hours
Oct 2020 • Family
I rarely leave reviews but the staff were so lovely and friendly i had to. They provided packs and activities for children to complete. I had a pushchair and they were helpful in sorting out the lift. It was interesting learning about the history of the mill and seeing how it functions. The exhibition was good and the family enjoyed feeding the ducks.
Written 28 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you ever so much for leaving us such a lovely review and taking the time to share it, From the Mill Team
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anne D
3 contributions
Whitchurch silk mill
Oct 2020 • Friends
My friend and i had looked forward to this visit but how disappointed we were the food ....was so stale the rolls so cold and filling sparse when I complained the manager was completely indifferent no offer of a refund. She said the menu was limited but there was no mention of this on the website. There was no one to give an explanation of the mill which wasn’t working. There was a big sign to say how they had lost custom I’m not surprised I think one visit was enough such a pity.
Written 4 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, it is very different to the many satisfied and happy reviews we have had recently. Even with the Covid19 restrictions we have in place, we aim to delight every visitor. I was told by my colleague that you had said you would leave a negative review, we are always happy to receive feedback in person and via TripAdvisor, and learn so I am pleased you left this. The rolls were not stale, they are fresh daily. It was chilled as it was a meat filling, you cannot be too careful with chicken. We could have warmed this for you and been able to address any concerns if you had let us know before you finished it. Our seasonal menu is available on the website, if you found it a little limited for your taste there are pubs offering really great hot meals within a few minutes walk. My colleague did offer a refund as you were not content, but you declined this.
Written 5 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bob L
Banbury, UK205 contributions
a silky experience in every sense of the word.
Sep 2020
This historic working silk mill has undergone a huge restoration programme and only reopened in its full glory a couple of years back, thanks to a large £1 million + grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The presentation of the whole mill, arranged over three floors is of the highest order and well worth a visit. £7 for adults with a reduction for children and senior citizens - all for a good cause and they have gone to great lengths to absorb all the Corvid regulations which don't detract at all from the visitor experience. Shame the water wheel was not working - they are waiting for a special part because it can trundle round again. The interpretation boards were really excellent - easy to read and most informative. Finish with a visit to their cafe which currently has a range of covered outdoor seating. Full marks to director Sue Tapliss for overseeing a great job with the help of her band of trustees and volunteers. Bob Langton - former chairman of the Banbury Museum Trust.
Written 25 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Bob, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to visit the Mill and review your visit. The Mill Team have worked incredibly hard to create a sustainable future for the Mill and we are incredibly pleased with the results and are committed to keeping it to the same high standard. We all wish you the very best of luck with your next heritage project. We are very happy to help in any way we can, With best wishes,
Written 26 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steam
5 contributions
Real England
Oct 2019
What a treat! Whitchurch and the Silk Mill. The real England as I remember it!
Wonderful to see old crafts kept up together with a walk by the stream .
Written 2 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you ever so much for visiting the Mill and leaving us a 5* review.
Written 26 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 104
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Whitchurch Silk Mill

Whitchurch Silk Mill is open:
  • Tue - Sun 10:30 - 17:00