We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cueva Ventana

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Road PR10, KM 75 | Beside Puma gas station, Arecibo 00612, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
+1 787-322-3554
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

Cueva Ventana means Window Cave. Take a hike to and through this cave...

Cueva Ventana means Window Cave. Take a hike to and through this cave (bring a flashlight!) for a view that is out of this world.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.99*
and up
Cueva Ventana Tour from San Juan
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Full Day Cave Adventure from San Juan
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Cueva Ventana and Indian Cave Combo Tour from San Juan

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 626 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 319
    Excellent
  • 124
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Awesome and unique experience

This ended up being a lot more fun than I thought it would be. I didn't realize you had to do this with a guided tour in order to go in, and I usually hate tours. It was $19 each... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
Krista R
,
Halifax, Canada
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 516: English reviews
District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Extremely Poor Customer Service. In addition to the expensive cost. If you are a Puerto Rican living out of Puerto Rico you'll pay price as a tourist, which is crazy. I've been promoting this activity in my BnB rentals and not even because of this I payed as a local.

Helpful?
Thank YonathanRojas
aventuracuevaventan, General Manager at Cueva Ventana, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied. Puerto Rico residents get a discount only with ID proof of local residency, most likely you follow rules everywere else without further complaints. Our regular price is not high at $19.00 plus sales tax and you get a 75 minute guided tour, free parking, helmet, flashlight and much more...plus, the experience... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This ended up being a lot more fun than I thought it would be. I didn't realize you had to do this with a guided tour in order to go in, and I usually hate tours. It was $19 each, and I didn't much like how we couldn't stop and look around like we normally would, since there was a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Krista R
aventuracuevaventan, General Manager at Cueva Ventana, responded to this review

Hello. Exploring a cave on your own is not posible due to safety reasons, we hope you can understand this fact. The natural untouched enviroment of Cueva Ventana provides a unique oportunity that has to match the safety of our guest. We are proud to say that besides a muscle spasm or a minor bruise we have never had an... More 

Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a world treasure. The present caretakers are doing a wonderful job of preserving it for visitors and future generations. like any adventure, you get out of it what you put into it. Total time is about 1.5 hours. You could combine this with a trip to Lago Dos Bocas (just up the highway) or Caguana Indigenous Park in... More 

Helpful?
Thank JibaroTraveller
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unique view, great stop for site seen plus admire nature! the only draw is the charge fees are too high due to a private company!

Helpful?
Thank Enzorios
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you have trouble with steps do not go or go with caution. There are two caves you go through. The first is pretty slick going down but not too bad. The second cave, the main cave, has some very difficult steps to go down. It's slippery and there are some big steps. About 3-4 feet in a couple cases.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justin1015
bslk18
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It was awesome sight. The hike isn't that bad, my mom did it just fine. It would have been nice to spend more time there though, the tour guide rushed us out quickly. I would recommend bringing gloves. Some cheap gardening gloves are perfect if you don't want to touch bat droppings.

Helpful?
Thank bslk18
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were two groups, mostly waiting to get together and to hear an inaudible guide, we've seen far better organized tour of caves. Because of the living bats there is barely any lighting so unless you have a super night vision capacity. Yes you get at the end to the window, well it's a big opening and you see a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pitpit2564
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were about 40 people in our tour group. We would walk for 1-2 minutes, wait 10 minutes for the group to assemble, and then hear a canned 1-2 minute talk by the guide (English and Spanish). He was about as excited by his topic as I am about details of the tax code. I was surprised that anyone could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FayeJ42
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place was amazing, and once you get to the window it is absolutely breathtaking!!!!! It's a small hike, my 70 year old mom did it with no issues. You go through 2 caves, see bats, roaches, hieroglyphics.... then you arrive at the window!!!! No words to describe!!!!! They have parking, but since it's right on the highway, next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank vbar1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with a toddler, and carried him most of the way. Can't take a buggy, child will need to wear a hard hat. If that's all okay then go for it. Lovely view from the window cave. We saw bats and cave birds. The empanadas from the stand at the bottom were also good. We turned up when it opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank SD2006uk

Travellers who viewed Cueva Ventana also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cueva Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cueva Ventana and other visitors
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Cueva Ventana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?