ABC Boat Hire

ABC Boat Hire, Alvechurch: Address, Phone Number, ABC Boat Hire Reviews: 4.5/5

ABC Boat Hire
4.5
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
332 reviews
Excellent
269
Very good
43
Average
9
Poor
6
Terrible
5

scfcboy
Bridgend, UK17 contributions
Cheesed!!
Oct 2021 • Couples
Nice boat and friendly staff. Hired the boat for four nights and travelled from Alvechurch to Gas street basin in Birmingham and back. Nice relaxing break. However this was spoilt somewhat with the cost of fuel used for about a twenty mile round trip. Over £90 was spent on Diesel and Red diesel at that - the fuel costs are eyewatering to say the least and cannot be climate friendly at those prices. Will not be using that company again that is for sure!!
Written 22 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sheeerab
London, UK3 contributions
Wonderful staff, great boating experience
Aug 2021 • Family
Husband, my sister and I, took my elderly parents for a 3 nighter from Gailey marina and we had a wonderful time!
The boat, the Rodulf, had everything you need for a weekend trip and was well appointed.
We stopped at a couple of pubs along the way and had decent meals; the Hartley at Wheaton and the 3 hammers golf club bistro which also had good decent food.
Apart from the wonderful, thrilling and sometimes terrifying experience of driving the boat, what made the trip so enjoyable was all the staff; the abc staff at Gailey we’re so heart warmingly fabulous that we want to go there again, also the staff we met at the golf club and later at the 1911 cafe. Plus, all the other boaters we met on the way, just a great experience.
Thank you abc boat hire.
Written 24 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Richard
World1 contribution
Steer Clear of Gailey Marina
Aug 2021
Hired a boat through ABC Boat HIre for a week from Gailey Marina. Boat clean and tidy, but engine noise very intrusive when driving, due to very outdated installation. Not really the quiet relaxing way to enjoy the coutryside you hope for on a canal trip. More like having a London bus follow you round for seven days. Most marina staff friendly and professional, but sadly one very off-hand and unwelcoming, and one yelling crude abuse across the canal at a mate on the opposite bank. Not cheap either at £2400.
Written 13 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

André
Bristol, UK85 contributions
First Timers on the canal
May 2021
Finally, as Covid restriction are lifted, we get a chance to do something with a difference. ABC Boat Hire were fantastic from the start, great communication, reassurances of their Covid policies and very helpful, as we were first-timers in the Canal Boat Hire world.
Their advice on directions and managing locks was second to none and our hand over / boat run through by our Engineer was delivered perfectly. We’ll be back for sure, probably for a little longer and see how far we can get from Hilperton Marina. Thank you for a FABULOUS day.
Written 29 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tokyo brit
London, UK40 contributions
The perfect socially distanced weekend away in the English countryside :)
Oct 2020 • Couples
Just come back from a lovely three night narrow boat trip with ABC. The staff at the marina (Worcester) couldn't have been more helpful, and the company have made various changes to their briefing procedure, cleaning regime etc. to accommodate customers in the midst of COVID. Our boat was well-equipped, clean and comfortable, and the trip was the perfect way to enjoy the English countryside (easy to forget the troubles of the world at the moment, which was much needed!). Despite being first-timers, we had no problems operating the boat and making use of things like the central heating because everything is fully explained in the check in/ briefing. Just make sure you're paying attention at the marina before you set off and read up a little on what to expect from a narrow boat holiday before you rock up (obviously!). We would definitely consider using ABC again but would like a longer break next time!
Written 19 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Janboy21
Nottinghamshire, UK56 contributions
Llangollen from Whitchurch
Oct 2020 • Couples
a week on the Llangollen canal taking the boat from Whitchurch Marina.
The marina staff in reception and on the jetty were fantastic. They gave us a great, friendly
welcome and dealt with all of the admin quickly and easily. The engineer gave us a full briefing on the boat and it's systems and accompanied us novices to the first lift bridge on the canal to check we were ok.
Our boat, 'Inca Wren', was clean, had a great layout and was warm and comfortable. There was everything you could need in terms of equipment, bedding and towels. There was a small welcome pack of essentials like toilet roll, cloths and washing up liquid too.
The canal to Llangollen is twisting and shallow in places and the boat handling does take a bit of getting used to. Do expect a few bumps and knocks to the boat as you go along and try to keep patience with those onboard!
We did meet some very kind and helpful people as we progressed along but there were also a couple of so called "canal people" who were quite vile to us for reasons known only to themselves. Thankfully they were in the minority. We managed to get to our destination and back safely (it was most definitely more relaxing on the way back!) and arrived back in Whitchurch in good time to hand the boat back. Again the staff in reception and on the jetty were great and we even got a refund on our unused fuel. All in all it was a nice experience and certainly a different type of holiday to what we've done in the past. ABC boats at Whitchurch Marina were great to deal with and I'd happily recommend them.
Written 3 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DKHE2010
United Kingdom195 contributions
Red Rooster- Time for retirement?
Sep 2020 • Couples
My family and I hired the day boat Red Rooster from Goytre Wharf on the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal recently. Having significant experience on the canals of England and Wales (Hiring and Ownership) over many years I was looking forward to our day on the Mon and Brec.
We arrived at Goytre Wharf as instructed, shown to our day boat and given the mandatory safety and boat operation instruction. The staff member was very thorough and covered everything that would be expected.
The boat is obviously quite old and is starting to show its age, inside the seating is uncomfortable and there are no front doors to keep the cold/rain out. We were unlucky with the weather on our trip (wet and windy) the small (car type) heater did nothing to heat the cabin so our party sat inside wrapped up trying to keep warm.
The engine really struggled powering the boat at times, almost stopping around bridges (I gave the boat many blasts of reverse to clear the prop- as advised) we found ourselves clock watching as we were fearful that we wouldn't make it back to base in time as we didn't appear to be making sufficient headway.
We have hired other day boats from ABC and Red Rooster falls well below the standards set by these, maybe it's time to retire Red Rooster and replace with a shiny new one?
Written 3 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jane h
5 contributions
A great day out - so relaxing!
Sep 2020
Three of us (and a dog) had a great day out on the Mon and Brec Canal starting from Goytre Wharf through wonderful countryside. People on other boats and the towpath were very friendly and it was all lovely, peaceful and relaxing. We chose a good day weather-wise too.

The boat itself - Red Rooster - was a bit shabby and it would have been good if the floor had been cleaned and the leaves swept off the top (yes, I know it's autumn but it didn't look as if the leaves had just fluttered down that morning), but these are small quibbles; everything worked and it didn't affect our enjoyment at all.

I would thoroughly recommend it for a day out.
Written 30 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris A
Witney, UK33 contributions
Delightful, friendly team and very comfortable boats.
Sep 2020
ABC boat hire - friendly, professional, informative and welcoming.

It was our first canal boating holiday so we were suitably nervous. We arrived to a beautifully equipped and prepared boat.

The staff could not have been more helpful with tips and advice. We had an incident with malicious damage and a broken window early in the trip. The team were caring and traveled our to replace the glass as soon as we could meet.

Everyone was delightful - the engineers, the cleaning staff, the receptionists and the crew who gave us instruction.
Written 7 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for lovely feedback we are glad you enjoyed your hoilday.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PadiP
Poole, UK1,847 contributions
Trowbridge fun
Sep 2020 • Friends
Went on a big narrow boat in a group of five. We went via Bradford-on-Avon to Bath and back in four days, five nights with lots of time to spare. Really good company - lots of little thoughtful items to make it better such as the welcome pack. They provide loo roll and the correct loo cleaner. My advice is to pay the £30 and take their bed linen and towels. Makes it even more of holiday!
Written 6 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello thanks for your feedback and glad you had a good time. Bed Linen and towels are included in our prices. We dont charge extra for bed linen or towels.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 330
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing