We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scuba Steve's Diving Ltd.

Features Animals
Castries, St. Lucia
More
About Scuba Steve's Diving Ltd.
Now operating in partnership with Dive Saint Lucia! British owned and operated PADI Five Star IDC (Instructor Development Centre) established in 2006 and delivering high levels of Customer service. Situated five minutes from most Hotels in the Rodney Bay area and offering pick up/drop off each day in our air conditioned mini bus or by Dive Boat. We offer daily guided dives for certified divers, snorkeling and PADI Certification courses for beginners and certified divers. We operate two well equipped custom dive boats that get you to the best dive sites in St Lucia quickly and comfortably.Our team are highly qualified, safety conscious and above all fun to be around. Call or email to arrange some of the best diving and snorkeling the Caribbean has to offer. Let us help you to enjoy "Simply Beautiful St Lucia"
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Scuba Steve's Diving Ltd.
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
601Reviews6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 454
  • 81
  • 21
  • 18
  • 27
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JGDG3Kids wrote a review Jan 2021
Southlake, Texas16 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I had an absolutely incredible experience with Scuba Steve’s crew while in St Lucia. The “Superman” dive site is stunning - abundant, beautiful and diverse underwater life - the crew was patient, caring and service oriented for those of you who appreciate a private country club experience.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Kelly McKeown wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Thoroughly enjoyed 4 dives over 2 days with Scuba Steve's. Vanessa was very helpful with logistics and communication. I rented equipment that was of good quality and well maintained. Alton was Instructor on first day. He was highly competent with a calm and pleasant demeanor. Alton shared interesting stories about the history of the area, our dive site at Virgin's Cove, and his own personal journey as a diver. Neil was Divemaster on second day and it was a pleasure to interact with him as well. Neil led us to the Lesleen M wreck and through Rosemond's Trench, pointing out interesting sights along the way. Crew was also an enjoyable part of the team, always helpful, and graciously providing us with homemade sandwiches and refreshments. Overall wonderful experience with Scuba Steve's and I would gladly dive with them again should the road lead us back to beautiful Saint Lucia.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
MJV_12 wrote a review Dec 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom158 contributions84 helpful votes
Dived here three days, 6 dives, quite good, water 27 degrees, visibility went on for ever. One dive a two wreck dive, good. Saw nothing exception but was good to get in the water again and get wet. Dive quide Quinton, funny and good leader as left us to ourselves until he spotted things we did not and although he was cold stayed with us as we did 1 hour dives. Boat driver also sociable. Shop provides a good snack during dives. Picked up from beach in front of hotel and dropped off there as well.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Axenia17 wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom18 contributions12 helpful votes
Scuba Steve’s Diving were prompt to reply to inquiries via email, unlike other dive centres in the island. Their boat was comfortable, diver accreditation checks were thorough, safety regulations were observed fully and the dive guides were competent. However, this is where the positives end. I visited the island for a week in March, hoping to discover all St Lucia had to offer as a diving destination. Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor the dive centre seemed like a good proposition. Unfortunately, when approached to make a booking, the company refused to offer the customary PADI Pro discount which I have received in every destination around the world as a PADI OWS Instructor. The disappointments did not end there. The centre operates a policy whereby divers of all abilities are bunched together, to the extent that on day two we were a group of twelve divers, some newly qualified Open Water divers with virtually no experience , some - experienced divers and two of us - Instructors. Naturally, as there were only two guides, we were instructed to dive the same profile, rendering our dives unexciting, frustrating and very disappointing. Additionally, Scuba Steve’s Diving operate a 45 minute diving policy, regardless of experience, air consumption or depth of dives. When I queried this policy with the owner, I was advised that it was for safety measures and to prevent nitrogen over saturation.... As an experienced instructor, this explanation is at best laughable, at worst - wrong and misleading. Responsible diving practice amongst qualified divers, using dive computers ensures that every diver is not only responsible for her or his own safety but also, adequate surface intervals eliminate the possibility of nitrogen over saturation. Dive sites visited were neither challenging, nor deep enough to warrant this strict measure. When probed further, the reasons for this policy changed to it being there to ensure that the guides did not dive too much, thereby suffering the effects of DCI... Neither explanation stands to reason but it was pointless discussing this further. As a paying customer, not only do I expect the dive operation I dive with to treat me adequately and ensure that I receive good value for money but a nice touch would be if they also catered for my personal requirements and tried to combine divers with similar experience together, ensuring that they leave happy and satisfied. What I do not expect when I book a dive package is for my experience to be geared towards the needs of the staff and crew. This simply does not ensure great customer satisfaction and repeat business! The atmosphere on the boat was not jovial, in stark departure to my huge experience of dive operations throughout the world and the diving community in general. The guides were competent but most of them kept themselves to themselves during the boat rides to the dive sites. They were professional but under pressure to follow the instructions of the management and return everyone to the surface after 45 minutes regardless. Consequently, the two Instructors in the party were forced to surface after every dive with more than 100 bar in their tanks and dive the profiles of novice divers, which was neither enjoyable nor great value for money. In summary, the dive centre is a decent option for beginner divers who do not have high expectations. My advice to experienced or professional divers is to look elsewhere for their diver needs in St Lucia. The frustration, disappointment and lukewarm atmosphere offered by Scuba Steve’s Diving should be avoided, if possible, as it is atypical of the vibrant, friendly, accommodating and fun nature of 5 Star PADI scuba diving centres in general.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ScubaStevesDiving, Owner at Scuba Steve's Diving Ltd.
Responded 13 Apr 2020
I am sorry to say that a lot of points in your review would not have been written if we had given you the discount you requested before you booked. We see dozens of PADI professionals each year diving with us (in fact on the days you were diving there were other PADI professional customers on the boat, 1 Instructor and 2 Dive Masters), non of whom thought that they were entitled to special treatment just because they were PADI professionals. You booked for 2 days of diving, on your first day we did Superman's Flight and Anse Chastanet. There were 9 divers and a boat passenger that day. 1 of the divers was a DSD diving with their own Instructor so in your group there were 8 divers with 2 dive leaders. On your second day we did the Lesleen M Wreck and the Anse La Raye Wall. There were 12 divers that day 1 of which was an Open Water student with his own Instructor so you were in a group of 11 divers with 2 dive leaders. Our dive leaders dive everyday, so effectively, even the first dive of the day for them is a repetitive dive and we have to make sure that the profile is safe for them. As experienced Instructors you should be fully aware of this and of the need to be very conservative if you dive everyday (which you probably don't) . Basically you are holiday divers, diving infrequently, who just happen to be PADI professionals. Our typical dive profile for the first dive is 60 feet/ 18 metres for 45 - 50 minutes and for the second dive 40 - 50 feet/ 12 - 15 metres for 50 + minutes. If you check your PADI dive tables, the maximum time for a 60 feet/18 metres dive is 55 minutes .Even though you have a dive computer it is not good practice to dive to the limits of your computer particularly if you dive everyday. If you are diving with an operation and joining a group of divers you cannot expect to dive a different profile from the group. If you wanted to dive a different profile we could have accommodated this by putting an additional Instructor on the boat to dive a different profile with you at an additional cost. If you buy an economy class airline ticket but want first class service you would need to upgrade from economy to first class by paying the appropriate fee in this respect we are exactly the same as an airline. You were staying at the Royalton, I need to point out that we provided you free taxi transfers to and from the dive centre each day which would have cost you US$50 per day if you had booked this via your hotel. We also provided you with complimentary freshly made snacks and drinks and of course a full valet service for the handling of your dive equipment all free of charge. Not bad for economy class service!! The morale of this story is you wanted to pay third class prices but expected first class a la carte service.
Read more
Ian Marshall wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
The dive spots for St Lucia are in close proximity to the Pitons, in fact one of the dive sites is right in the shadow of the mountain, which provides a superb backdrop. Most dives are fairly shallow, not more than 60 foot and located in a marine reserve. There were many schooling juvenile fish, which were very spectacular as they swam past but unfortunately we did not see one large fish of any species throughout our 10 dives. We did see 3 Hawksbill turtles though. If I were reviewing the diving alone, I would probably assign 4 stars. That’s the good news, now for the bad news. We were booked to be in St Lucia from 10 – 28 March 2020, just as the Corona virus was starting to ramp up, and pre-booked for 8 two tank days. On our check-in with Shirley, the owner’s wife, I was asked to pay the remaining balance in full before diving had even begun. That should have been my warning of troubles ahead. In our 25 years of vacation diving we have always, without exception, paid the remaining balance once the diving was complete. After the first 4 diving days, we had planned to have 3 days off from diving, and had booked an island tour for one of those days. Shirley, who was the only one in the dive shop the afternoon of that 4th diving day, tried to get us to bring forward our last 4 dive days and offered us some alternative dates. Only one of the alternative dates could have worked for us, but the dive boat was going to have 13 persons on board, which is a lot for their boat. On Friday 20 March we received notice from the US State Department ordering all American citizens to return home. We managed to book a return flight for the next day, Saturday, via Boston, which under the ever evolving scenario regarding flight cancellations, possibly could have been the last flight home with our airline. We asked Shirley if we could have a refund for the 3 days we were going to lose because of our early departure and this was refused twice. Once home, I emailed Steve, the owner, (who himself ironically was stuck in the UK because of the virus) four times asking for a refund. Initially my request for a refund was refused and then I was offered an un-useable credit for the three missed dives. (Unusable because for 25 years we have never returned to the same holiday destination) and therefore the credit offer was of no use to me. So my 2 star overall rating was because of the shop owners, their attitude and disdain towards the customer. There are other operators on the island, shop around.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ScubaStevesDiving, Owner at Scuba Steve's Diving Ltd.
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Ok, so after your first attempt at a review was removed by Trip Advisor because you threatened us with a bad review if we didn’t give you a refund, I see you have posted the same rubbish again minus the threats. So now we will answer your points. Regarding paying up front; when we first opened the business, we used to charge people at the end of their diving. Unfortunately, after being caught a few times by dishonest people with dud credit cards and no cash, we had to start charging people in advance. You were fully aware of this when you completed and returned your booking form and paid your deposit, so why are you moaning about it now? In order to complete and return your booking form you are required to sign and date the form. In the box where you sign, directly under our Cancellation Policy there is a paragraph which says “I confirm the above details and agree to pay the balance due on arrival at Scuba Steve’s Diving, or in the event of cancellation, by credit card in accordance with the Cancellation Policy detailed above” When you return the booking form to us and we charge your 25% deposit, we reserve the spaces for you on our boats. Once this happens, the spaces are yours and we cannot sell them to other people, so when we are full to our licensed capacity, we turn other people away. We reserved 16 spaces on our boats for you on the days you requested. We understand that you had to leave because of the US State Department Travel Advisory and even though the contract that you signed with us clearly states “Please be aware that changing your dive dates at short notice may result in you being charged for the dives you cancel if we are unable to resell your places to other divers. Dives not taken are not refundable” Ordinarily you would not be entitled to any refund due to the extremely short notice of your cancellation. However, due to the unusual circumstances with Covid 19, like many other businesses in St Lucia (including Hotels) we offered you a 100% store credit valid for 18 months for the dives you did not take, even though contractually, we had no obligation to do so. We think this is both fair and reasonable. I am very annoyed by your 2* review as you stated if it had been the diving alone, you would have given us 4*. However, after receiving a deluge of emails from you and explaining what we have just written in our reply above, you finished up by sending a threatening email inferring that if we did not give you a refund we would receive a bad review on Trip Advisor. This is pretty much blackmail, and I am sorry, but we do not give in to this sort of treatment.
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around St. Lucia
from US$120.63
More Info
from US$98.47
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$1,050.00
More Info