Lepe Country Park
Lepe Country Park
4
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
"With over a mile of beach, pine fringed cliffs, historic D-Day remains and wild flower meadows, Lepe Country Park is a great day out with superb views of the Solent and Isle of Wight. There's a full list of events throughout the year that explores all areas of the park from "Pond dipping" to our annual "Marine Wonders" event- there's lots to entertain the whole family. Please check out our website for more information about what's on and all you can see and do on your visit to Lepe.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Tom P
    36 contributions
    Wonderful afternoon walking the Lepe Loop
    A wonderful afternoon spent at Lepe - we're from out of town and unfamiliar with the area so decided to visit and explore. Using the New Forest National Park phone app we found the Lepe Loop trail, and then headed eastwards along the beach to the D Day relics and memorials - a really enjoyable walk with sea, marsh, forest and field combined. With a very warm welcome at the Visitors Centre cafe we were well fed and watered before heading off The facilities at Lepe are great and cater for all ages, everything is well laid out with all types of use and requirement provided for - kudos to whoever made the investment, presume Hampshire Council? Definitely a place to recommend, we are very impressed
    Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great time visiting Lepe Country Park! You are correct; we are part of the Hampshire Countryside Services which is part of Hampshire County Council. Next time you come exploring, make sure to check out Lepe point where you can find the board walk through our conservation area, the sensory garden, and also our bird hide. Best Wishes, The Lepe Team
    Written 11 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written 7 March 2023
  • Boyde G
    Andover, United Kingdom4 contributions
    Car parking fees
    We have been coming here for many years , its a great place to walk or just relax. The cafe on stilts gives you a great view across the pond to the IOW and watching the cruie ships land the IOW ferries. What i do have an issue with is the carparking fees. 1 hour is £2 , 1 hour and 10 mins jumps upto £5, that realy doesnt sound fair. Most people leave at different times , and they would be shocked at the sudden increase of fees. Otherwise Lepe is great place to visit even when it gets very busy.
    Good Afternoon, Thank you for leaving your review. It is great to hear that have become regular visitors to Lepe over the years. Have you thought about investing in an Annual Parking permit? They are £65 a year (£45 with a blue badge). This works out at just over £5 a month for parking, which we find is a really cost effective way for people to regularly visit us. You can purchase one of the passes online, or by coming to see us at the Visitor Services centre in The Lookout. Kind Regards, The Lepe Team
    Written 8 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written 7 April 2023
  • Stewart S
    5 contributions
    Parking charges
    We have been coming here for years, because it has got beautiful views of the coast and I.O.W. but I'm afraid that is the last for us, the cost of the parking has become extortionate, £5 for anytime up to 2 hours is shocking. For example, I can park in the centre of Christchurch for £1.00 for 2 hours. Locals cannot use their parking clocks in the park as the park does not recognise them and are not valid. They say it goes towards the upkeep of the park, but what upkeep, potholes everywhere when trying to park your car by the beach or by the park.
    Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. If you are a regular visitor of ours then we highly recommend buying a parking permit. It is £65 for the year and so works out at just over £5 a month. We hope that this will prove to be a cost affective way for you to continue enjoying the views here at Lepe. Kind Regards, The Lepe Team
    Written 24 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written 11 April 2023
  • Hampshire24
    120 contributions
    Lovely spot, but oat milk surcharge
    It's a lovely spot, but I think that adding a 50p surcharge for having oat milk in a coffee is extreme and fails to reflect the slight difference in price between oat milk and cow milk, especially in an americano. Surely, people shouldn't be penalised for adopting a plant-based diet during the climate emergency. 🤔
    Thank you for your review. Your comments have been passed your comments on to the relevant people. Please be assured that we do our best to provide options for all dietary requirements and the menu is always evolving to support all of our customers.
    Written 21 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 30 June 2023
  • GreatFind_Cotswolds
    Cirencester, United Kingdom268 contributions
    D Day history
    I went for the D Day site. I didn't go to the cafe. Yes, parking is expensive but isn't it anywhere? Google the Lepe D Day tour, and download it. If you use the app, it automatically starts playing the section as you get to it. This is one of the south coasts most important historical sites for D Day. Ladings were practiced and mulberry harbours were made here. It was also the site where the oil pipe ( Pluto ) left the UK shores It's awe inspiring. I was there 3 hours although you could probably do it in an hour.
    Thank you for your lovely review. We are very proud of our history at Lepe and we are so pleased that you got to enjoy our D-Day Audio tour. Next time you visit us, don't forget to check out the ROC post that we have on the cliff top; although not linked to D-Day, it is still a remarkable piece of physical history.
    Written 21 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written 21 August 2023
  • Max
    Devizes, United Kingdom543 contributions
    A special place, but parking is overpriced
    We have been going to Lepe Beach for years. It's a great place to sit and watch the boats on The Solent. However, the parking charges are excessive, particularly as the facilities aren't great. There aren't enough toilets, and they aren't very clean. The nature reserve across the road from the car park is lovely, especially as dogs aren't allowed. It's a great place for a walk, but there are too many inconsiderate dog owners on the beach and along the top. We would have spent the day there, but as it's £7.50 for 4 hours, we left after that.
    Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your visits and in particular our nature reserve. If you visit us regularly then we do have a an annual parking permit which works out at just under £5.50 a month (£65 for the year, £45 with a blue badge). We look forward to you visiting again soon.
    Written 21 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 24 September 2023
  • Annie
    Tidworth, United Kingdom1,110 contributions
    First visit in years
    I have not visited this place for at least 8 years. My partner has never been. What a lovely place to walk, picnic etc lots of history about the war and a cafe as well. The parking was reasonable, we have a campervan and the charge is £6 all day - many places are higher. We stayed for 3-4 hours. Had a long walk. Sat down and had a coffee. Its only an hour from where we now live so close enough to visit more.
    Hi Annie, Thank you so much for your kind feedback - we look forward to seeing you back down here soon! The Lepe Team
    Written 26 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 21 October 2023
  • Philmex1
    Southampton, United Kingdom1,739 contributions
    Hot chocolate and cake at the Lookout Café
    We only live a few miles from Lepe and have enjoyed every visit. On this occasion we visited the Lookout Café and had hot chocolate and cake. It was a real treat and made up for the fact that the weather was bad. The range of cakes is impressive and they cater for customers who have different dietary needs.
    Hi Philmex1, Thank you so much for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you again soon when hopefully the weather will be better. The Lepe Team
    Written 4 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 31 October 2023
  • Alison L
    4 contributions
    Beautiful Lepe
    Beautiful scenery and very clean beach and area. Plea to council to please fill in pot holes all around parking. So many people complaining about giant holes, we all pay enough for parking not to have our vehicles/wheels/tyres damaged when visiting.
    Hi Alison, Thank you for your feedback and we do completely understand your comments about the car parks. We presently have a plan to complete works on the cliff top car parks in mid to late April dependant on appointing a contractor. Hopefully we can confirm exact timings in the next few weeks as we realise the present situation is not reaching the standards our visitors would expect. We will also be looking to work on the beach car park in the next few weeks depending on favourable weather conditions. We hope you will soon be able to see some significant improvements on the main car parks. The Lepe Team
    Written 19 February 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 17 February 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
463 reviews
Excellent
213
Very good
144
Average
50
Poor
29
Terrible
27

Alison L
4 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
Beautiful scenery and very clean beach and area.
Plea to council to please fill in pot holes all around parking.
So many people complaining about giant holes, we all pay enough for parking not to have our vehicles/wheels/tyres damaged when visiting.
Written 17 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Alison, Thank you for your feedback and we do completely understand your comments about the car parks. We presently have a plan to complete works on the cliff top car parks in mid to late April dependant on appointing a contractor. Hopefully we can confirm exact timings in the next few weeks as we realise the present situation is not reaching the standards our visitors would expect. We will also be looking to work on the beach car park in the next few weeks depending on favourable weather conditions. We hope you will soon be able to see some significant improvements on the main car parks. The Lepe Team
Written 19 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

James P
1 contribution
Feb 2024 • Couples
Great views especially from the cafe - currently closed until mid-March. BUT beware of the shocking state of the main car parks. Littered with huge potholes making for a very uncomfortsble and potentially damaging experience. Is it too much to expect that some of the money raised from the exhorbitant parking charges is spent on repairs?. My wife and have been regular visitors but will not be renewing our seasons parking permit or visiting again until tbe main car parks are maintained on a good state of repair.
Written 17 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi James P, Thank you for your feedback and we do completely understand your comments about the car parks. We presently have a plan to complete works on the cliff top car parks in mid to late April dependant on appointing a contractor. Hopefully we can confirm exact timings in the next few weeks as we realise the present situation is not reaching the standards our visitors would expect. We will also be looking to work on the beach car park in the next few weeks depending on favourable weather conditions. We hope you will soon be able to see some significant improvements on the main car parks. The Lepe Team
Written 19 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Su W
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Couples
Crazy, lazy

Staff at lunchtime don’t serve you until there are tables free - but lots of six people tables occupied by just two people.

No idea of customer service - but o guess it means the staff won’t be rushed off their feet.

The menu needs close reading to understand what you are actually eating - but I guess they think that’s cute

Of course the views are great - but it doesn’t seem designed for lunch at lunchtime. Will find a different destination next time
Written 15 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Su W, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that our service failed to meet your expectations on your recent visit. If you would be able to give some more detailed feedback to lepe.enquiries@hants.go.uk to enable us to look in more detail at where we would be able to avoid disappointing visitors in the future that would be appreciated. Again we would like to apologise that your visit failed to meet your expectations of us, Kind Regards, The Lepe Team
Written 16 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Philmex1
Southampton, UK1,739 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
We only live a few miles from Lepe and have enjoyed every visit. On this occasion we visited the Lookout Café and had hot chocolate and cake. It was a real treat and made up for the fact that the weather was bad. The range of cakes is impressive and they cater for customers who have different dietary needs.
Written 31 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Philmex1, Thank you so much for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you again soon when hopefully the weather will be better. The Lepe Team
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annie
Tidworth, UK1,110 contributions
Oct 2023 • Couples
I have not visited this place for at least 8 years. My partner has never been. What a lovely place to walk, picnic etc lots of history about the war and a cafe as well. The parking was reasonable, we have a campervan and the charge is £6 all day - many places are higher. We stayed for 3-4 hours. Had a long walk. Sat down and had a coffee. Its only an hour from where we now live so close enough to visit more.
Written 22 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Annie, Thank you so much for your kind feedback - we look forward to seeing you back down here soon! The Lepe Team
Written 26 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

pat m
Southampton, UK534 contributions
Oct 2023 • Friends
Not been here for 40 years.

What a wonderful discovery. Lovely walk, great for dogs, loved it and will be back
Written 6 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely review!
Written 21 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Roberto C
2 contributions
Sept 2023 • Couples
Overcharged for car park was there for an hour and got charged £5.
The toilets were disgusting and the staff are just useless
Written 28 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Roberto, I am very sorry to hear you have had such a disappointing visit with us yesterday. If you are able to e-mail Lepe.Enquiries@hants.gov.uk with some more details regarding the time of your visit I would be happy to correct any overcharge that you have paid for parking. If you can also provide some more details around your disappointment with our staff on the day that would also be appreciated to allow us to ensure we are hitting the standards we aim for at all times. Kind Regards, Lepe Management Team
Written 29 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Scott S
5 contributions
Sept 2023 • Friends
What an absolute rook. They charge £2.50ph to park but be 2mins after due to difficulty walking to pay meter to pay and you get charged another £2.50. And when you complain you get a jumped up teenager the just saying I know. I will never visit this mediocre at best dump again
Written 28 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Scott, I am very sorry to hear you have had such a disappointing visit with us yesterday. If you are able to e-mail Lepe.Enquiries@hants.gov.uk with some more details regarding the time of your visit I would be happy to correct any overcharge that you have paid for parking. If you can also provide some more details around your disappointment with our staff on the day that would also be appreciated to allow us to ensure we are hitting the standards we aim for at all times. Kind Regards, Lepe Management Team
Written 29 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Max
Devizes, UK543 contributions
Sept 2023 • Couples
We have been going to Lepe Beach for years. It's a great place to sit and watch the boats on The Solent. However, the parking charges are excessive, particularly as the facilities aren't great. There aren't enough toilets, and they aren't very clean. The nature reserve across the road from the car park is lovely, especially as dogs aren't allowed. It's a great place for a walk, but there are too many inconsiderate dog owners on the beach and along the top. We would have spent the day there, but as it's £7.50 for 4 hours, we left after that.
Written 24 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your visits and in particular our nature reserve. If you visit us regularly then we do have a an annual parking permit which works out at just under £5.50 a month (£65 for the year, £45 with a blue badge). We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Written 21 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CEVIN C
1 contribution
Sept 2023 • Couples
Lepe beach and country park are true gems whatever the weather, beach or clifftop walks aplenty.

Adequate parking controlled by ANPR and as an annual parking season ticket holder for the main 5 Hampshire country parks they offer a great choice of varied venues for a day out / walk.

The Lookout cafe near the entrance sells a great quality breakfast at a reasonable price...... just what you need after a bracing walk.

But be aware if you have an intolerance to lactose and need soya milk....... 50p extra for having a tiny jug of milk replaced with soya... where is the cost for that? If you buy soya or ordinary milk in a supermarket they cost approx the same (less than £1.50 each per litre), yet at 50p per shot of 30ml they are receiving nearly £8.00 for this (and saving on milk at the same time, in effect doubling their profit on this item to nearly £16.00). How can this be justified?

Basically a penalty for having a medical condition?

Even better I had black coffee.... so no milk of any type required (more profit)
Written 17 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. Having an annual parking permit really is the best way to get the most out of our country parks, and we agree that the option of a permit that covers 5 of the country parks is great if you enjoy exploring. Thank you for your comments about the pricing; this has been passed on to the relevant people. Please be assured that we do our best to provide options for all dietary requirements and the menu is always evolving to support all of our customers.
Written 21 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 462
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

LEPE COUNTRY PARK: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lepe Country Park

Lepe Country Park is open:
  • Sun - Sat 07:00 - 19:00