We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colne Valley Railway

Yeldham Road, Castle Hedingham CO9 3DZ, England
+44 1787 461174
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
More fun setting fire to money

Awful awful awful. Went for their ‘Halloween’ special. Worst day out ever. Cost around £25 for 3... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2017
Laura T
via mobile
Halloween Flop

What a disappointment. Drove an hour to what was supposed to be a fun packed Halloween event... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2017
Eroger
,
Harlow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 147 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Enjoy a trip on our mile length of line on the original Colne Valley and Halstead Railway. Re-located buildings, signal boxes etc., all lovingly restored by volunteers. Mixture of steam and diesel operating days, miniature 7 1/4" railway, garden layout and new for this year large 00 gauge layout. Visit the working signalbox, exhibition centre, Travelling Post Office and shop. Excellent buffet facilities, large free car park, admission covers all facilities. Dine in style on our Pullman train (selected dates only) and Thomas the Tank Engine events.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good20%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“buffet car” (24 reviews)
“signal box” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 15:30
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Yeldham Road, Castle Hedingham CO9 3DZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1787 461174
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Awful awful awful. Went for their ‘Halloween’ special. Worst day out ever. Cost around £25 for 3. Started with the train ride, it basically just goes to the end of the platform and back...my son is a huge train enthusiast and at 4 was vocal...More

Thank Laura T
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. All our volunteers here at the Colne Valley Railway will be disappointed to hear your comments and that you did not enjoy your visit to the railway. As an historic railway charity aiming to...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

What a disappointment. Drove an hour to what was supposed to be a fun packed Halloween event. Advertised as having games and activities, wizards den, spooky train rides and face painting when in fact the only sign of Halloween was some decorations. The activities were...More

Thank Eroger
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

All our volunteers here at the Colne Valley Railway will be disappointed to hear your comments and that you did not enjoy your visit to the railway. As an historic railway charity aiming to preserve the historic site for future generations our principle aim by...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Fabulous event, great for all ages. My 2 year old son absolutely loved it. We were there for about 4 hours. No hidden extra charges which was great, you can ride on all the trains, including the miniature railway, as many times as you like....More

Thank 80Caroline80
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I know all our volunteers who work so tirelessly in their spare time to keep this historic railway going for future generations will be delighted you had a wonderful day. So you might be aware, we do have a...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

took my daughter and 3 year old on the Thomas the Tank steam day ..fat controller was there as were rusty and dusty train engineers ..fire engine was there with a water hose and small mock house to aim the water hose at ..it was...More

Thank Julie T
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback. I know all our volunteers who work so tirelessly in their spare time to keep this historic railway going for future generations will be delighted you had a wonderful "spur of the moment" day out! Two more events this...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

We had Sunday lunch in the “Royal Carriage Aquila” on Sunday 17th Sept. It was a special occasion, and booked several months in advance, as well as being expensive at £45/head. It was appalling, beyond description really, there are no other words. It's advertised as...More

Thank Stu151
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I know we have already been in contact and as you mentioned we have raised your concerns with our external caterers and they have assured us they will work harder on all areas of service. Our volunteers work very hard...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

While I appreciate the railway is run by volunteers I feel the meal was well below being acceptable the carriage was nice the seating very nice the table nicely laid out the food took ages between courses the starts was ok the main meal came...More

Thank norm129
David A, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal aboard our Pullman train. I am very sorry to hear your experience was not to the standard you should expect. Our catering is provided by an external local company and I have this morning made...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a great day out at the railway last Sunday, Grandsons aged 5 & 8 were thrilled to see be photographed with Marshall & Chase,loved the train ride, model railway & "playing firefighters"! They sorted the post in the TPO & had a lunchtime...More

Thank Janet C
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We only went as Paw Patrol were there. While this was good as Marshall and Chase alternated taking photos for 30 mins the rest was TERRIBLE. We paid £30 for 2 adults and 1 paying child. There's a train to no where with a view...More

1  Thank Nikki841
Chairman-CVR, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

The Railway's volunteers will be disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to our Railway. We work very hard to present the Railway is a good a condition as possible despite all the (well documented) issues we have had over the last three years....More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We came to see both trains and vintage vehicles. Both were very good, and we had a comfortable ride on the train. We also went to see the model, garden and miniature railways, which were excellent. We went into the buffet coach for a hot...More

Thank Glynis C
Chairman-CVR, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Many thanks for you kind comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We travelled here on a day when it was raining hard so the miniature railway not running and the walk through the woods was shut, but we were still charged the full price for a very short ride on a steam train. There was nothing...More

Thank madlyinsane
Chairman-CVR, Manager at Colne Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We are very disappointed that it was raining on the day of your visit which clearly affected your enjoyment of your visit. The rain can affect some facilities but most of the others were still open including Model Railway, Museum, Signalbox, Travelling Post Office as...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Moot House Restaurant
106 reviews
.82 miles away
The Bell Inn
109 reviews
.84 miles away
Buckley's Tea Rooms
44 reviews
.82 miles away
The Wheatsheaf
45 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hedingham Castle
204 reviews
.87 miles away
Spencers Garden
9 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Otten Red Lion
12 reviews
3.68 miles away
Spencers Farm Shop and Fruit Farm
23 reviews
3.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephanie P
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Chairman-CVR | Property representative |
There are usually both full size and miniature trains to ride on, although the miniature railway cannot run if it is raining. There are also interactive model and garden railways, plus many other attractions.
0
Votes