We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Gondola

10,204 Reviews

Banff Gondola

10,204 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Banff
Banff City Sightseeing Tour - Roundtrip from Banff
US$136.71 per adult
Popular: Booked by 1,010 travellers!
Full view
Location
Contact
Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2 Canada
Get to know the area
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
Hiking & Camping

Johnston Canyon Icewalk

284 reviews
Trying to trek along the frozen Johnston Canyon without a guide could be tough in frigid temperatures with icy walkways. Opt to take this guided tour from Banff, and see wildlife, waterfalls, and, of course, a lot of ice. Plus, this tour provides round-trip transport, ice cleats, a hiking pole, a snack, and a hot cup of cocoa to make things super easy on you.
US$71.86 per adult
10,204Reviews136Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 6,809
  • 2,594
  • 572
  • 139
  • 91
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jadybugs wrote a review Yesterday
Calgary, Canada912 contributions118 helpful votes
I think that if you hike up the cost should a) be less then half or b) you should be able to get the discounted price by booking online earlier. Seems a bit steep to me especially since many years ago if you hiked up it was free! I can see charging something but half??
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
jillybean238 wrote a review 8 Apr
Fort McMurray, Canada179 contributions28 helpful votes
This is a must-see, even in the winter. It's a great way to still experience stunning views, even if you are not a strong hiker or if your kiddos are too young for vigorous hikes. Be sure to dress very warmly if you are going in the winter. As Albertans, familiar with the mountains, we thankfully knew how cold it can get at higher altitudes. Even on a hot summer day, bring a coat/wind breaker. It can get windy up there.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew T, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola
Responded 6 days ago
Hi jillybean238, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We have tried to make the boardwalk as accessible as possible to everyone so we are happy that you were able to enjoy it. Great advice in relation to dressing warmly, the weather can be quite different at the top compared to the base so it is always smart to layer up. Thanks again for you review. Matt
Read more
Ritu wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
We did a Banff Gondola ride, and walked all the way to the Sulphur Mountain. Beautiful views and walk. The staff at the ticket sales was great, especially Gandi. He went out of his way to give us information, which was much appreciated.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew T, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Ritu, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the views at the Banff Gondola and will be sure to pass your comments on to Gandi. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again. Matt
Read more
Justin J wrote a review 3 Apr
32 contributions12 helpful votes
Was a quick ride to the top where the views are amazing and the boardwalk hike is a must it can be a bit icy inspection but was easy to navigate. We didn't eat up there but the views from the restaurants were pretty nice and the food looked very well put together. A little pricey but well worth to do at least once while your in banff. Plan for about an hour and half to be up at the top
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew T, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Justin J, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. The boardwalk hike really is a must when in Banff and we would always suggest appropriate footwear. The conditions can be icy during Winter and Spring. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again. Matt
Read more
penny6580 wrote a review 2 Apr
Edmonton, Canada13 contributions23 helpful votes
Gondola ride was beautiful. Layer up, it’s extremely cold on the observation deck and the wind will make your head ache after being in it. Whilst the view is incredible, this seems more suited for a summer activity. The boardwalk was closed (it was clearly covered in several feet of snow). This was disappointing as you pay for it but can’t utilize it. Due to covid, the informative walk through is also closed, which didn’t make sense since there could have been effort made to keep it open by limiting guests a few at a time. It just seemed like an expensive gondola ride with a few minutes on the observation deck. There is nothing else to do right now with the weather and covid.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew T, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola
Responded 1 week ago
Hi penny6580, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we appreciate it. Layering up is a great suggestion, the weather can change rapidly in the Rockies! We always try to keep the boardwalk open but unfortunately when it snows it needs to be closed for everyone's safety, our operations teams work as quickly as possible to get it open but with the amount of snow we can get overnight here sometimes that just is not possible. In relation to our interpretive center at this time the AHS has advised we cannot open it even with limited numbers unfortunately. We are disappointed as well but are doing this to keep everyone safe at this time. Thanks again for your feedback, hopefully we will see you again when we can reopen all of our facilities. Matt
Read more
Previous