We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
opals

If you are looking for boulder opal, or just curious, this is a good place, they sometimes have a... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2017
strobb
,
calgary
Seriously?

It's $50 per person. You have to drive up in your own vehicle. The road is not for the faint... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2016
Bobbi81
,
West Kelowna, Canada
via mobile
Read all 34 reviews
10
All photos (10)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good14%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible41%
Travellers talk about
“bob”(11 reviews)
“specimens”(4 reviews)
“precious”(7 reviews)
About
Canada's first precious opal mine is operated by Opal Resources Canada Inc. Arrange a day trip to go opal digging to unearth your own treasure. Advanced booking required for digging trips.
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
7879 Hwy 97, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3R9, Canada
Website
+1 250-542-5173
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Vernon
from US$75.70
More Info
from US$75.62
More Info
from US$111.54
More Info
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
10
5
3
3
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
10
5
3
3
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bob specimens precious geology operator canadian
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Left msgs drove to vernon location, emailed no replied. I'm writing this 5 days after the fact and still no contact. The idea is great, interactive and fun. However it never materialized. I hope others have a better results.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Alyssa D
Reviewed 11 July 2018

have spent time in his shop and found him and his family to be very very nice and helpful. In fact I had many geology questions unrelated to his mine and he spent a LOT of time talking to me and was very informative and...More

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank mark o
Reviewed 2 September 2017

If you are looking for boulder opal, or just curious, this is a good place, they sometimes have a significant variety of size shape color etc. on dsplay.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank strobb
Reviewed 17 August 2017

That is certainly one of adventures in a life time. I went there twice and Bob, who is the owner and operator of the mine was very hospitable, friendly and motivated to searching, discovery and sharing his knowledge of geology. The place should be built...More

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank LBK Pioneer W
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Booked our excursion last minute with Bob and he was very accommodating. My wife and two boys aged 10-11 really enjoyed the trip up the mountain. It was a wet spring and the wild flowers were amazing, along with the views. Once we arrived at...More

Date of experience: July 2017
8  Thank craigwedman
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We visited on Saturday, September 3, 2016. We communicated with Bob, the owner/operator via email before our arrival, securing a reservation for that date and all needed items to bring. The drive up the mountain was rough, but doable, in our small SUV. The area...More

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank opalseekers
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you. Happy that you enjoyed your day!

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Still advertised, and road signs are still up! Avoid trying to left turn into here as there is no business there any longer. Very frustrating!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank JMR980
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Will have sold our business location but still offer trips to the mine to dig opals mid June to mid September

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

It's $50 per person. You have to drive up in your own vehicle. The road is not for the faint hearted. That being said we started out the day optimistically. We found lots of white rocks but none of it was opal. The guy didn't...More

Date of experience: August 2016
6  Thank Bobbi81
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

You are correct, the road is rough; as you were advised. Rock-hounding is not for the faint of heart and some people and kids just don't like it. The white was common opal. I'm sure that somebody found some precious opal during the day. I...More

Reviewed 14 July 2016

I checked out the website before visiting the area and found they were open until 5pm weekdays. We visited just after lunch on a Wednesday...no one there, the place locked up tighter than a drum. No signs, no nothing. I had the distinct feeling that...More

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Gardiner W
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Hello all. Yes, our business location has been sold and our Vernon shop is closed; however, we are still operating our opal digging day trips. E-mail for reservations and/or information Our product is now available in Whistler BC at Fathom Stone Art gallery on gallery...More

Reviewed 19 August 2015

I am a rockhound and member of three Lapidary clubs in BC. I am not an expert, but I am not naive either. I looked over the specimens of Opal cabuchons, asked for prices on a few and was given prices that I know are...More

Date of experience: August 2015
10  Thank Tracy P
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

The trips need to be scheduled in advance but not for the reasons you so eloquently accuse me of. For the record -- the word is cabochons.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Castle at Swan Lake
396 reviews
.18 miles away
Days Inn Vernon
327 reviews
3.41 miles away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
350 reviews
3.48 miles away
Village Green Hotel
299 reviews
3.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 236 nearby restaurants
Ranch Cafe
16 reviews
3.29 miles away
Browns Socialhouse
160 reviews
3.49 miles away
Temptasian Restaurant
186 reviews
3.13 miles away
Castle Bistro
41 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 90 nearby attractions
Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
133 reviews
3.36 miles away
Historic O'Keefe Ranch
237 reviews
2.90 miles away
Blue Hills Lavender Farm
12 reviews
4.54 miles away
Silver Star Provincial Park
65 reviews
2.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mrslacy24
3 April 2017|
Answer
Response from opalminer | Property representative |
Sorry, probably not the place for you; I'm sure your son would enjoy the day.
0
Votes